Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving to Europe Mainland

• 26-07-2005 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭

I'm thinking of going to Europe, probably France for a week or so with a few friends. It hasn't been organised at all yet and is now just an idea. If there are enough of us, I was thinking I could maybe rent a mini bus because I'm the only one with a full licence :( Now, I'm fully licensed in Category B (Vehicles with seats for up to 8 passengers and max weight of 3,500kg) so this definitely means 8 passengers + Me (the driver) and not 8 including the driver yeah?

For anyone who has experienced this, do you reckon its easier to get used to a car with left hand drive (gearing with your right hand etc) or easier to get used to driving on the wrong side of the road?

How much should I expect to pay for a mini bus over in France? Can anyone recommend something other than a mini bus, maybe with a bit of storage for luggage?

If i was taking my car, what is the best way to get it over there? I hear from Rosslare to France is about €600 for a car :eek:

What other info should I know before setting off?

Any feedback appreciated:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

On the continent it is law to carry a fire extinguisher, spare bulbs and a warning triangle in your car and the Police can confiscate your license if you don't have these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Really? Interesting. I suppose I should get them anyway for here! Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

It's nearly always quicker to use Britain as a landbridge to reach France, but if you're the only driver it's probably a bad idea cos you'll be knackered by the time you reach Calais!

Driving on the right is quite straightforward. Changing gear with your right hand is also easy (I'm right handed, perhaps if your a southpaw it might be different). Make sure you are familiar with the roadsigns of France, some of which may be completely new to you. Check out the situation with right of way on roundabouts too-in Italy and to a lesser extent in Germany (I've never seen one, but I read they exist in Germany) some roundabouts give priority to those who wish to enter the rotary!

If you don't like the idea of changing gear you may be able to get an automatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Squirrel wrote:
    On the continent it is law to carry a fire extinguisher, spare bulbs and a warning triangle in your car and the Police can confiscate your license if you don't have these.
    Depends a bit on which bit of the continent you're talking about.

See http://www.theaa.com/allaboutcars/overseas/general_advice.html and more specifically http://www.theaa.com/allaboutcars/overseas/general_advice.html.

Also be aware of the following, especially the bit about having to have had a valid driving licence for more than a year (and before you ask, NO, a provisional doesn't count!)
    What Age do I need to be to Hire a Car in France - Driver's License

A valid driving licence needs to have been held for at least 1 year and be in Western Script. Most locations in France you must be at least 21 years of age, but this is not always the case so be sure to ask us first!. Driving into neighbouring countries, or completing your rental in a different town/airport may be permitted for a small fee depending on the destination country and location. Additional driver and young driver / minimum age limits also vary by hire locationy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

cormie wrote:
    Now, I'm fully licensed in Category B (Vehicles with seats for up to 8 passengers and max weight of 3,500kg) so this definitely means 8 passengers + Me (the driver) and not 8 including the driver yeah?
    8 including driver, AFAIK.
    For anyone who has experienced this, do you reckon its easier to get used to a car with left hand drive (gearing with your right hand etc) or easier to get used to driving on the wrng side of the road?
    Both are easy - Overtaking on single carriageways is trickier driving RHD on the right side of the road. If you're renting, just get an auto - it'll be a lot easier to get used to.
    How much should I expect to pay for a mini bus over in France? Can anyone recommend something other than a mini bus, maybe with a bit of storage for luggage?
    A Renault Grand Espace has seating for 7. With a roof box, you'll take their luggage too. It'll be a lot nicer to drive than a minibus, but they are expensive to rent.
    If i was taking my car, what is the best way to get it over there? I hear from Rosslare to France is about €600 for a car :eek:
    When I drove to Switzerland last year, I went by land-bridge through England. Stena HSS to Holyhead, 8 hour drive to Folkstone (in a 1972 car - probably 6 or 7 in a modern car) then the Chunnel to Calais. It cost €500 return +petrol and took 11 hours end-to-end. The Rosslare crossing is 16 hours (I think), but that's 16 hours that you can sleep. If you're the only licensed driver, you'll need a lot of sleep. France is vast, but the road network is outstanding so you can cross the country in 10 or 11 hours (e.g. north to south). Of course you're not supposed to drive more that 3 hours without taking a 1 hour rest, so that'll put a dent in your journey times.

Personally, I'd take the car on the Rosslare-roscoff ferry - think of all the wine you can bring back...

If you were heading to, say, Provence i'd fly-drive instead. No point wasting 2 days of your holidays driving.

8 including driver, AFAIK.
    No, the licence clearly states 1+8, that's the driver plus 8 passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I understand many car rental outfits will not rent cars to those under 25 either.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Cork - Roscoff is 12 hours and a somewhat nicer ferry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

parsi wrote:
    Cork - Roscoff is 12 hours and a somewhat nicer ferry.
    Interesting... that makes it a no-brainer in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭useless

Squirrel wrote:

Interesting. So if you hire a car in France from Hertz, Avis etc, is it reasonable to expect that they've got an extinguisher, triangle etc in all their cars? Anyone had any experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

cormie wrote:
    I'm thinking of going to Europe, probably France for a week or so with a few friends. It hasn't been organised at all yet and is now just an idea. If there are enough of us, I was thinking I could maybe rent a mini bus because I'm the only one with a full licence :

Any feedback appreciated:)

Don't do it, even if you can - you'll have a pain in the arse being the only driver. Especially if the lads have a few drinks and you can't because you have to drive - which on a lads holiday is all the time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭the evil belly

or make it very very clear that you expect to be kept with the non alcoholic drink of your choosing in your hand at all times in exchange for driving them around. there's an unwritten rule when myself and my mates hit the pub, the driver's kept in drinks for the night. it's cheaper than a taxi and a bit of gratitude never goes astray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Stephen wrote:
    I understand many car rental outfits will not rent cars to those under 25 either.

I tried renting a car from Europcar in sweden when I was 20. The rental guy was like "well, we don't rent cars to people under 25 but, yeah, I'll rent you a car". So I don't think its a strict rule. But at the same time I wouldn't go chancing my arm.

I found the wrong-side-of-the-road thing very easy to get used to incidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Squirrel wrote:

I thought that was France only? It's bollox anyway. If the car's road legal in Ireland you can take it anywhere in the EU for a holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭the evil belly

in fairness though it's not a bad idea to carry them anyway. don't you need spare glasses in france too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

in fairness though it's not a bad idea to carry them anyway. don't you need spare glasses in france too?

I think that's Spain and Germany only, there was something about this in the Sunday Times just there, on the inside cover of the Driving section, if anyone still has it for whatever reason perhaps they could set us straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Me and a few friends are renting a campervan in a few weeks to drive around europe which is kind of similar to your situation. So far these are the important things we've learned if any of them are any use to you.

- Germany is the cheapest place to rent.
    - All you'll need is a valid full irish drivers licence unless you plan to go to Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Italy, Portugal, or Spain where by law you must have international drivers permit.
    - Most Campervan/car rental places we went to all had pretty much had the same conditions which were over 21(some 23), hold full licence for over a year and a large deposit was also required.
    - Diesel and petrol are more expensive on mainland europe.
    - Always take toll bridges into account when calculating travel costs.

You could always fly to dusseldorf or somewhere closer to france but still in germany, rent a van there then then drive into france. Check out these sites for an idea of costs.

http://www.ideamerge.com/index.html
    http://www.autoeurope.com/

...All you'll need is a valid full irish drivers licence unless you plan to go to Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Italy, Portugal, or Spain where by law you must have international drivers permit.
    No EU country (certainly not in the old 15 states) will expect an International permit if you hold an EU licence, which every currently valid licence issued here will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I think rental companies can get iffy about taking vehicles across borders.
    Interesting... that makes it a no-brainer in my eyes.
    But add back the extra driving time.

Victor wrote:
    I think rental companies can get iffy about taking vehicles across borders.But add back the extra driving time.
    I think it's more than a bit "iffy". It's often explicitly stated in the rental agreement that you're not allowed to take the vehicle into another country, so if you were involved in an accident you'd be on very sticky ground indeed, and I wouldn't be surprised if you weren't even insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

- Diesel and petrol are more expensive on mainland europe.

Not in France, Diesel < €0.97 in Moselle (dept 57) last week (was there for a family occasion), and @ €0.86 in Luxembourg on 23/07/05, last Texaco before Belgian border.

Victor wrote:
    I think rental companies can get iffy about taking vehicles across borders.
    Alun wrote:
    I think it's more than a bit "iffy". It's often explicitly stated in the rental agreement that you're not allowed to take the vehicle into another country, so if you were involved in an accident you'd be on very sticky ground indeed, and I wouldn't be surprised if you weren't even insured.

Don't know where you guys getting this from, but I've never had any bother whatsoever on FR/GB/IE plates with (respectively) FR/GB/IE insurers for obtaining a international insurance cert (the "green card", incidentally required by Law in France if you take you car, btw). I believe that it is mandatory for any intra-EU insurance company you're with to insure you, whether you told them or not, when you're trabvelling abroad, at least third-party - can't remember EU text or Directive though, but I do remember researching that some 12 years ago when I moved to the UK.

ambro25 wrote:
    Don't know where you guys getting this from, but I've never had any bother whatsoever on FR/GB/IE plates with (respectively) FR/GB/IE insurers for obtaining a international insurance cert (the "green card", incidentally required by Law in France if you take you car, btw). I believe that it is mandatory for any intra-EU insurance company you're with to insure you, whether you told them or not, when you're trabvelling abroad, at least third-party - can't remember EU text or Directive though, but I do remember researching that some 12 years ago when I moved to the UK.
    We're not talking about taking your own car here, we're talking about renting a car in one country and taking it across a border into another country. A different kettle of fish altogether. Some don't allow it at all, others don't mind, but you have to make sure you tell them beforehand. Some have restrictions as to what countries you're allowed to take it into, i.e. many rental companies in Germany restrict what countries you can take a car into, and sometimes retrict which types of car you can drive where. See the Avis website for example http://tinyurl.com/8fmot and click on Einreiseverbot. It's mostly in German, but the legend for the map is in English also.

Alun wrote:
    We're not talking about taking your own car here, we're talking about renting a car in one country and taking it across a border into another country.

'Kay :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,499 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

ambro25 wrote:
    the "green card", incidentally required by Law in France if you take you car, btw
    Green card is long obsolete within the EU, as you're automatically covered third party across the EU (so long as you remain resident in your home country, and there may be a limit of 30 days a year)

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

It probably wouldnt be a problem to take it across borders but you would have to tell them and (most likely) pay extra for the pleasure aswell, e.g it costs extra to take a car rented here into northern ireland.

ninja900 wrote:
    Green card is long obsolete within the EU, as you're automatically covered third party across the EU (so long as you remain resident in your home country, and there may be a limit of 30 days a year)

Obsolete or not does not absolve you from the legal requirement in France. I have indeed stated that you're automatically covered at least 3rd-party, though the 30 days limit (or any other duration) is entirely down to the insurer's T&C.

The green card is only redundant to the extent that your certificate of insurance is multilingual. i.e. if your IE insurance cert is all in English, it will not be considered acceptable by a smurf in France (who will insist on the green card version still).

Green cards are usually available free of charge (well, at least in FRA/LUX/GER/UK) from your insurer when you notify themn sufficiently early of your intended trip, or issued to you at the same time as you insurance cert when annually renewed (in FRA). So they can be either issued for the duratino of the trip only, or with a year-long validity.

Alternatively, the reverse of your insurance cert (std A4 letter type-thing) will bear multi-lingual terms (UK ones from Admiral, Ladies Direct, Norwich Union do).

And you can quote me on that, I've had enough cars on FR plates in GB and vice-versa (GB plate in FRA) and been stopped/spot-checked enough times in both countries (and a few others) to know ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I've hired cars in Belgium twice a couple years ago, no need for permit in that country anyway, and able to travel freely to Germany/Holland.
    We got stopped once at a police check on the dutch border, not a word about vehicle condition, only valid driving licence and your passport of course :)

gurramok wrote:
    I've hired cars in Belgium twice a couple years ago, no need for permit in that country anyway, and able to travel freely to Germany/Holland.
    Hire companies in smaller countries and in border areas are probably going to be more lenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭mackerski

To follow up on a few of the previous points:

* Germany has, in the last 10 years, been reintroducing roundabouts. All work the same way as here (but mirrored), you yield to traffic on the roundabout.

* In a lot of countries, especially France, be careful of the "yield to road on right" rule, which applies unless overridden by a "you have priority" sign, generally a yellow diamond. A small one means "just this junction", a big one means until further notice (a big one struck out cancels it).

* Always tell a rental company what countries you will (or might) drive into. Most (of the big ones, anyway) won't have a problem with most of W. Europe, but they will be able to warn you of the stuff you need to have in the car. For instance, both Austria and Italy require you to have a hi-vis vest IN THE CABIN that you must don if stepping out onto a motorway (possibly some other roads) in an emergency. The cops check this and don't accept excuses.

* Some foreign laws will surprise you - in Germany, for example, you may not overtake a stopped bus at any more than walking pace.

* An EU licence is 100% acceptable in at the very least all "old" EU countries and Switzerland. I'd put good money on the new EU states too. Austria certainly doesn't require an international permit.

* If you have the Irish habit of driving in any lane you feel like, any time before travelling would be a good time to ditch it ;)

* If any given country requires cars to carry extinguishers, spare bulbs, hi-vis vests, dominatrix outfits or whatever, then it doesn't matter how road-legal your wagon is in Ireland, you are obliged to carry the stuff. The AA has a decent dossier of the different requirements IIRC.

* Germany does not require you to carry spare specs (though it's no bad idea so far from home).

Dermot

ambro25 wrote:
    The green card is only redundant to the extent that your certificate of insurance is multilingual. i.e. if your IE insurance cert is all in English, it will not be considered acceptable by a smurf in France (who will insist on the green card version still).
    It just so happens it has one sentence on the back saying in French that I'm covered throughout the EU. That's only encouraging them to be officious TBH. We should have it in English (or Irish!) only and tell the gendarmes to stick it up their orifice if they can't understand it, we meet the EU legal requirements nonetheless. :)

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

mackerski wrote:
    * In a lot of countries, especially France, be careful of the "yield to road on right" rule, which applies unless overridden by a "you have priority" sign, generally a yellow diamond.
    Priorite a droite is long gone - at least officially - that doesn't mean some old duffer will yield to you when decades of old law said he shouldn't. I've never encountered a problem on my trips to France though (near 20,000 miles worth)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭mackerski

ninja900 wrote:
    Priorite a droite is long gone - at least officially - that doesn't mean some old duffer will yield to you when decades of old law said he shouldn't. I've never encountered a problem on my trips to France though (near 20,000 miles worth)

Interesting - in Germany it's alive and well, but only on residential streets and small rural roads. But the signs remain, and you still have to watch for them.

Dermot

ambro25 wrote:
    Obsolete or not does not absolve you from the legal requirement in France. I have indeed stated that you're automatically covered at least 3rd-party, though the 30 days limit (or any other duration) is entirely down to the insurer's T&C.

Green cards are usually available free of charge (well, at least in FRA/LUX/GER/UK) from your insurer when you notify themn sufficiently early of your intended trip, or issued to you at the same time as you insurance cert when annually renewed (in FRA). So they can be either issued for the duratino of the trip only, or with a year-long validity.

Alternatively, the reverse of your insurance cert (std A4 letter type-thing) will bear multi-lingual terms (UK ones from Admiral, Ladies Direct, Norwich Union do).

And you can quote me on that, I've had enough cars on FR plates in GB and vice-versa (GB plate in FRA) and been stopped/spot-checked enough times in both countries (and a few others) to know ;)

I dunno about the Green card - I have gone to France each year for the past 5 and got a green card twice up to now. Today I renewed my insurance and told them I would be going to France and I was given a green card with the information that "they aren't necessary but people seem to feel comfortable having them". Now interestingly my new policy starts halfway through the holiday so I will be covered for a while by my existing insurer who doesn't give out green cards....now bail bonds for Spain are a different issue...

Hibernian Certs are monolingual as are Allianz..

ninja900 wrote:
    It just so happens it has one sentence on the back saying in French that I'm covered throughout the EU. That's only encouraging them to be officious TBH. We should have it in English (or Irish!) only and tell the gendarmes to stick it up their orifice if they can't understand it, we meet the EU legal requirements nonetheless. :)

Well that's all fine and dandy and funny and all, until they don't quite fancy sticking anything anywhere and immobilise your car (by application of law) and you then have to walk. And I am not joking, m8.
    ninja900 wrote:

Utter and total bull, sorry. Count yourself lucky. Incidentally, were you driving there on foreign plates? That would explain how you got away without any scrapes...
    parsi wrote:
    I dunno about the Green card - I have gone to France each year for the past 5 and got a green card twice up to now. Today I renewed my insurance and told them I would be going to France and I was given a green card with the information that "they aren't necessary but people seem to feel comfortable having them".

Why go to the trouble of issuing them, if "they aren't necessary"? I've yet to see an insurer do anything out of their "sense of moral duty" (also sometimes known as cutomer service) to their customers :D

That's by the by, anyhow - proof is in the pudding, and getting a pedant smurf (and they're getting vicious over there these days) to check your paperwork over and ruining your whole day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

This exists in austria too. As does the Rechtsregal (right rule). But as mackerski said it's only on small town streets or in rural areas.

Does anyone actually get their headlights adjusted before they go?

ambro25 wrote:
    Well that's all fine and dandy and funny and all, until they don't quite fancy sticking anything anywhere and immobilise your car (by application of law) and you then have to walk.
    But why do the French always get things their way? If they are allowed insist on a policy carrying French wording (which I doubt) then why isn't it the same for every other official EU language?
    Can you imagine the Gardai seizing tourists' cars because their insurance cert had no Irish wording on the back?
    Utter and total bull, sorry. Count yourself lucky. Incidentally, were you driving there on foreign plates? That would explain how you got away without any scrapes...
    Foreign plate doesn't matter, a motorcycle has no front plate.
    Then again, on a bike you have to be prepared for cars to pull out anyway (but French drivers are far better than ours.)

As I said, the blanket "priorite a droite" rule is long abolished, the purpose of the constant "priority road" signs is to remind drivers that they do NOT any longer need to yield to their right.

Where you don't have the priority road sign and explicit road markings at a junction, then you treat it as a junction of equal importance same as here (i.e. be prepared to yield to anything no matter what the rules actually are...)
    Why go to the trouble of issuing them, if "they aren't necessary"?
    Because misinformed policyholders keep demanding them?

Imposter wrote:
    This exists in austria too. As does the Rechtsregal (right rule). But as mackerski said it's only on small town streets or in rural areas.

Does anyone actually get their headlights adjusted before they go?

First 2 times I went I put on deflectors. then I had plastic lenses so didn't bother. You never see the French puttin them on for the Irish roads !

Ambro25 - maybe you could link us to where it says we have to have a green card because the EU say we don't have to have one: http://europa.eu.int/abc/travel/driving/index_en.htm

"A green card is not necessary when travelling in the EU but it serves as internationally recognised proof of insurance and it makes it easier to claim compensation if you have an accident. If you do not take a green card with you, you should carry your certificate of insurance. The green card system currently covers 44 countries and is managed by an association of insurers. Their website gives further details about the green card system and its objectives."

Another european link which I found earlier says that having European plates is enough proof that you have the minimum insurance.

http://europa.eu.int/youreurope/nav/en/citizens/factsheets/fr/car/insurance/en.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭kermit_ie

ninja900 wrote:

Try telling that to the cars on the Etoile in Paris. Priorite a droite still exists on some country roads in France...

kermit_ie wrote:
    Try telling that to the cars on the Etoile in Paris. Priorite a droite still exists on some country roads in France...
    Officially there is only one roundabout in France that has it though, The Roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

mackerski wrote:
    * In a lot of countries, especially France, be careful of the "yield to road on right" rule, which applies unless overridden by a "you have priority" sign, generally a yellow diamond

Be extremely careful in Dutch urban areas - and a lot of the Netherlands is urban ;)

People just take right of way (no punch intended). Not likely to cause loss of life, but still

Also in a crash between a bike and a car, no matter what the circumstances, the car is at fault :rolleyes:
    mackerski wrote:
    * If you have the Irish habit of driving in any lane you feel like, any time before travelling would be a good time to ditch it ;)

Applicable to all EU countries except Ireland

If ignored, in most countries you'll get abused, flashed, undertaken, tailgated. In Spain and Italy, you'll probably get pushed out of the way and in Germany... :D

parsi wrote:
    Ambro25 - maybe you could link us to where it says we have to have a green card because the EU say we don't have to have one

http://www.outilpolice.com/conseils_1.html

Extract (2nd Para) -

"2/ Quels sont les documents que je dois présenter ?
    Lors de tout contrôle de Police ou de Gendarmerie vous devez être en mesure de présenter votre permis de conduire, le certificat d'immatriculation (carte grise) et l'attestation d'assurance (carte verte) de votre véhicule."

translation: "In any spot check carried out by the Police or the Gendarmerie, you must be able to present your driving license, the vehicle registration certificate (grey card) [Edit: the French one is grey, that is] and the insurance certificate (green card) of your vehicle."

My comments in respect of the green card are more provided in respect of ninja900's comments below, although I believe they have import for anyone travelling to and driving in France - namely, having it will make your life very easy, but absence of it may make it quite hard. This from experience, having been spot-checked numerous times myself (being French) on Brit plates, Lux plates and at times with Brit mates in their car on Brit plates (with/without green card).
    ninja900 wrote:
    But why do the French always get things their way? If they are allowed insist on a policy carrying French wording (which I doubt) then why isn't it the same for every other official EU language? Can you imagine the Gardai seizing tourists' cars because their insurance cert had no Irish wording on the back?

They do not 'get their way'. They are applying their national Law to you,while you are visiting their country and you are therefore subjected to their national Law during your visit.

And you are misquoting/extrapolating in your second part.
    You initially suggested telling a Policeman or Gendarme to f*ck off during a spot-check in France.
    To which I replied to the effect that, if they are not satisfied (personally, at the time of the spot check on the roadside, in their professional capacity) that your document proves that you are insured, i.e. you're acting the knob (as you suggested) and making thei job diffiicult and your insurance cert does not contain any French 'equivalents' to the cert particulars, they'll 'make out' they do not understand written English and have a legal right to immobilize your (foreign) vehicle on the spot, until such time as you have proven by any other means, that you do have insurance.

My comments, defo, were provided in the context of your jibe, and simply to hint that, if you're going to travel to and drive in France, you'd be best advised -if you're stopped & checked- to be on absolute best behaviour, because neither Gardai, nor Brits or even US cops these days have anything on the French guys (as they've been rather 'psyched-up' over the past 3 years by the French Interior Minister and are rather full of their own self-importance these days : - no more buying the local Captain and his Missus a nice dinner to 'forget' about that 90 mph on the motorway :D;) ).

Hmm.. I'd prefer an actual official site - that one is run by a Policeman but isn't actually official. Google pages show many many links on Insurance Company websites which say the card isn't necessary. and to be honest I would expect that if as many people as you suggest are having hassle then they would by now have complained to their insurers who would have changed their advice (in order to save themselves hassle).

Thankfully I have never had my papers checked even the time I almost ran down a Gendarme near Morlaix (during the fuel strike and he did just run out in front of me on a sliproad [to warn us that the road was blocked]) !

Look - please yourself, look up URLs, Google the thing to death and be as anal as you want - whatever, I don't particularly care as I'm not out to impress, score points or whatever: it's just personal advice to the OP, for a totally hassle-free experience in France.

I'm basing my posts in this thread from
    (i) personal experience (too many where Police and Gendarmeies is concerned, unfortunately)
    (ii) recounted experience of people I have no reason to doubt (family & friends, both French and English)
    (iii) and relevant hearsay/news accumulated for well over 16 years (since I started driving, really, which was in France...).

Whether it's 150% accurate according to the law/rules/directives down to the last comma or not, well... Who f*cking cares? :rolleyes:

Just trying to clarify things - on one side we have the proverbial "man in the pub" and on the other side we have what the insurance companies and the EU as well as motoring organisations say (as well as personal experience from the men at the tea table ;-) ).

It's the OPs first time driving abroad - he doesn't need to be scared to look at a Gendarme or anyone else. And if it's anal trying to be clear well so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

murphaph wrote:
    No EU country (certainly not in the old 15 states) will expect an International permit if you hold an EU licence, which every currently valid licence issued here will be.

Yes my mistake, i was reading this from a reputable car rental company's website and i missed the 'non-european' bit.
    Many countries require of foreign drivers no license apart from a valid domestic drivers license. However, Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Italy, Portugal, and Spain do, by law at least, require non-Europeans to carry an International Driving Permit (IDP) along with their domestic license. Bulgaria and the Czech Republic require all non-resident drivers to carry an IDP. Is it really necessary that you obtain an IDP to if you plan to drive in these countries? It all depends on the particular police officer who might happen to pull you over.

parsi wrote:
    It's the OPs first time driving abroad - he doesn't need to be scared to look at a Gendarme or anyone else.

Quite agree, though he does need to know that encounter with one is not a black-and-white affair, and that anything to facilitate the man's work (and comprehension, in a 'multi-national' (spoken) context), will make his life easier.

It's all well and good to try and quote EU directives & insurance website details chapter and verse to a foreign cop who does not necessarily understand your language and/or the lingo through your accent - which is my whole point, and if it still ain't coming through and you think it's not worth it, so be it :rolleyes:

If you obey the laws especially speed limits then it's pretty unlikely you're going to get stopped in the first place. Obviously it's in your interest to cooperate as much as you can (I thought it was obvious my reference to doing otherwise was not to be taken remotely seriously :rolleyes:) but that holds true here as much in Ireland, or in an English speaking country, as it does in a non-English speaking one.

Just to follow up a bit:

Rang my current insurer today to tell them I'll be off to France and do I need a green card.

response: No, but we do recommend you bring your insurance cert. You're not going to Spain by the way (the number of times they ask that!) ? No. Ok its just that if you were you'd need a bailbond. (I know..)

So for the first 12 days of my holiday I don't have a green card and for the remaining 9 I have a Green Card from my new insurer..

mind.. boggles..

Just another addition to this -

just back from three weeks in France. I think I got flashed once but was doing 68 in a 70 . One night in downtown Dives-sur-Mer I sort of got stopped by the Police (well they were stopped for summat and were gawking at the car so I thoght it best to stop) . The policeman told me that I had on my front fogs (which I had in order not to dazzle anyone with my unbent dips) and to turn them off. So I did and put on my normal lights and got a bigs thumbs up and a merci monsieur and that was it.

Of course herself said "why did you stop?"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Jose1

Today I called my insurance company (via 123.IE) and asked about the need for a green card as I intend to drive to and remain in Spain for about 6 months. The lady said that there was no need for a green card, but I would require a bailbond. When I suggested that I should receive 90 days free cover under the EU directive 1992, she said 'no', 30 days was all that I was getting!

Can anyone tell me roughly how much I would expect to pay for a bailbond?

Thanks!