Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paedophile too good looking to go to jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

What a lucky kid......

Wish my teacher was like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

She has a good case. If you had a teacher like that at 14 you'd want to give her one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

she's got weird eyes

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Well by that logic, all future criminals need to do is have a quick check in with Carson and the guys from 'Queer Eye' before sentencing and hope the judge notices their new threads and lets them off jail time! :rolleyes:

Seriously, an utterly appalling excuse. If a defence lawyer tried to claim their male client was too pretty to be done for having sex with a 14-year old girl, do you think he'd even be entertained?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

So would you mind your 14 year old daughter being sodomised by a married teacher if he looked like Brad Pitt, would you be thinking "lucky girl". Or are you just sexist?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

a pretty crappy excuse alright. Besides, she's not THAT pretty (then again, compared to female convicts she could well be a goddess).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

total joke imho.
    At this rate only ugly fookers will be locked away, and maybe at some stage they will be locked away for being ugly fookers.
    there should be no difference if pretty or pretty ugly. it's just as bad as when winona ryder was not locked up for shop lifting, allthough she was caught red handed and recorded by CCTV, but got away because she was 'practising' for a part she was working on

lock her up and the the connies deal with her and how pretty she is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

jammy little F**ker. If I had a teacher like that who wanted to "abuse" me I would have gratefully welcomed the chance. Bring it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

a complete joke
    a paedophile is a paedophile whether they do or do not look like jordan
    and what the **** is a 15 year old doing driving a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Kare Bear

The boy told investigators they had sex in a classroom, her house and once in a vehicle while his 15-year-old cousin drove.

If i was that kid id have no probs at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Exactly, the kid probably has no problems, neither would I, but she did break the law.

If that happened to my child, I'd want her locked up too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Further reading

http://www.thesmokinggun.com/archive/0628042teach1.html

http://www.thesmokinggun.com/archive/1203041lafave1.html

The danger to the boy is more extreme than most think. He is likely to become a sexual preditor himself if he doesn't get treatment. What people sometimes don't realise is paedophiles seduce victims a lot of the time. She may have been confused at the time but it doesn't diminish the damage she has done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Diss

I'd hit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Kare Bear

http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-13375745,00.html

Same thing happened in Britan a few weeks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

What's a lascivious battery?

Are they size AA? I might try them out in the remote control off my DVD player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

wish she was my teacher :) the things i would learn from her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

ixoy wrote:
    Seriously, an utterly appalling excuse. If a defence lawyer tried to claim their male client was too pretty to be done for having sex with a 14-year old girl, do you think he'd even be entertained?!
    Yep. He'd be laughed out of court. A female judge would probably impose a harsher sentence for contempt of court.

I do though think that there is a huge difference between seduction and sex with a sexually mature teenager than with say an 8-year-old or a 3-year-old. At the very least, as you can see the comments here, many 14 or 15 year olds would be delighted to have a pretty teacher seducing them. It's a typical teenage fantasy. That doesn't make it right, but it definitely makes a difference as regards any emotional or physical damage that is done to the minor, which after all, is the entire reason why paedophiles are punished.

It's also not fair to call her a paedophile. A paedophilia is a recognised condition where people are sexually excited/attracted to children. Someone having sex with a teenager who looks/acts like a young adult does not necessarily fall into this category, though someone who habitually does it may be borderline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

I think the real question here (and it's a stinker) is whether 14 year old males really "suffer" as badly when "abused" by an older female than visa versa. Does our law, which stresses equality really reflect the true damage to society.
    Speaking personally, if I were 10 years younger (14) I'd have welcomed her advances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Kare Bear wrote:
    http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-13375745,00.html

Same thing happened in Britan a few weeks back.

But I dont think that she could be 'too pretty for prison' however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I just think the most interesting thing about a case like this is peoples' responses. As a male I can't help but think, God I would've loved that to happen to me when I was 15. But if it was a 24 year old male seducing a 15 year old girl I don't think either myself or any other posters would be so flippant with their comments.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭conor-mr2

Her husband must be feeling a bit inadequate. I mean if she has to go off and satisfy herself with a 14 year old it doesnt say much for his lovemaking abilities!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

What's a lascivious battery?

Are they size AA? I might try them out in the remote control off my DVD player.

Ha ha ha ha **** sake hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

Conor-Mr2 wrote:
    Her husband must be feeling a bit inadequate. I mean if she has to go off and satisfy herself with a 14 year old it doesnt say much for his lovemaking abilities!! :D

Oooh, burn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭p~b

if that was me, i'd be failing my tests every year so i can stay in that class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

I guess its true after all, there really are good paedophiles and bad paedophiles.
    I bleedin love to get molested by her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭ShreddedHumans

She is too good looking to go to jail

seamus wrote:
    It's also not fair to call her a paedophile. A paedophilia is a recognised condition where people are sexually excited/attracted to children. Someone having sex with a teenager who looks/acts like a young adult does not necessarily fall into this category, though someone who habitually does it may be borderline.

i might have to agree with you even though my earlier statement might make me seem like a total hypocrite for doing so
    i still think that is extrememly wrong for a woman (or aNy Woman) in her position to take advantage of him like that and she should be punished

seamus wrote:

That's an understandable view to take but the studies are very different. It effects the teenager for the rest of their lives. A teenager is not an adult and while two teenagers having sex is normal and adult can easily manipulate a child (a teen is a child). Paedophiles more commonly target young teens more than children (as you would say). It is fair to call her a paedophile as she had sex with a 14 year old child. No where near what anybody would call sexual maturity. Plus she was in a position of power over him. Mind you Mary was 13 when she had Jesus so maybe God should be done!

As for being pretty , what a joke they put people who are transgender into prison. Can you imagine the risk to a transgender woman in a male prison, that's where they put them as they were born male.

She is too good looking to go to jail

she's really not that hot at all

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

seamus wrote:
    Actually, you're correct. The technical term is "hebophile" I believe - those attracted to adolescents. It's a bit more blurred and not just due to the sexual maturity angle but also because different cultures define that age differently (even different states within the US).

The point about advances being unwelcomed or not though, is pretty irrelevant. Sure if my teacher had resembled Ryan Phillipe, or some such, then I'd hardly maybe have looked for a prosecution. The point is the teenager is too young, and still developing, to fully understand any latter reprecussions that may result. Any responsible parent would certainly wish to avoid this and launch the case.

All of which is irrelevant to the main point of the original thread - the defence is trying to stop her going to prison based on her looks. With that in mind, surely a group of male and female models should get together and form a gang to rob stores? They'd be far too dashing, sauve, and beautifully dressed to be sent to prison. I mean just image what it'd do to their Peter Mark hair and finely manicured hands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

ixoy wrote:
    The point about advances being unwelcomed or not though, is pretty irrelevant. Sure if my teacher had resembled Ryan Phillipe, or some such, then I'd hardly maybe have looked for a prosecution. The point is the teenager is too young, and still developing, to fully understand any latter reprecussions that may result. Any responsible parent would certainly wish to avoid this and launch the case.
    Oh I agree completely. Like selling alcohol to 13 year olds, they may welcome the law breaking but that doesn't make it right. It does make it different though from, say forcing a 5 year old child to drink a naggin of whiskey. As you say though,
    All of which is irrelevant to the main point of the original thread

shellby wrote:

She kinda reminds me of Grace from Grace Under Fire...

14549014bretbig-med.jpg

02-snaps_23-year-old-teacher_debra-lafave.jpg

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

shellby wrote:

Who would have thought that people who post on boards all day would have such high standards!

Heres some more photos.The one on the sky site is fairly complimentary.Shes not that amazing at all.But to be fair shes probably the best looking adolescent molesting school teacher from america that ive seen in a while.

Chester

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

p~b wrote:
    if that was me, i'd be failing my tests every year so i can stay in that class

You said it

Heres some more photos.The one on the sky site is fairly complimentary.Shes not that amazing at all.But to be fair shes probably the best looking adolescent molesting school teacher from america that ive seen in a while.

Chester

still think she is a bit of jordan lookie likie and i don't think that that image is sexy just my opinion
    anyway whether she is or isn't hot i still think that she should be punished and maybe one of those orange jump suit thing's might suit her

another sex offender who might try the same defence

http://www.snopes.com/photos/people/peppers.asp

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Lets be honest most 14 year old guys would absoultely love that especially since she is a pretty decent looking girl. I know when I was 14 I would have loved it. Cant see him having too many problems in later life really other then a giant ego.

I think its different if a adult female seduces a boy than the an adult male seducing a girl. Plus remember it wasnt forced upon the guy he was seduced meaning he wanted to do it.

Maybe it isnt right but I still wouldnt have minded if I was the boy I can tell you that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

in all fairness if a 24yr old male repeatedly assaulted a 15yr old schoolgirl, he'd be labelled a paedophile so the same should apply to females.

Guaranteed this kid is going to commit some kind of sex felony as he grows up, especially since the woman who assaulted him has got away with it.

Poor husband though.....he must be hung like a hamster, out screwed by a 15yr old, that's like a bad pub joke!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Interesting case ... who raised the alarm?

Personally I have double standards on this.

At 14/15 I was going out regularly and had club memberships to places where you would always meet 17-21 year olds. Using this as a reference, I remember my mind set to have been one of a young adult looking to get drunk and laid as with most teenagers - with a higher success rate in the former. Frankly, I doubt sex with a hot substitute teacher would have scarred me any more than with any other random girl/woman. If I could have got it without spending 50 quid on a night out it would have been quite the result.

Also, this was back in the early 90's, kids now are probably far worse.

Now, aside from this guy being something of a schoolboy legend (and yes this is conditional on her being hot, god bless the poor SOB who got molested by that ape woman in West Virginia), I think that a 14/15 year old male in a country where roughly 30% (google american family planning stats) of his peers are sexually active anyway is not going to suffer. I mean he's hardly going to be bullied about it is he? "Haha Matty nailed a hotty..."
    The danger to the boy is more extreme than most think. He is likely to become a sexual preditor himself if he doesn't get treatment.

Like every other young man in the world? Seriously, other than having him spayed and neutered, there is little to stop him becoming a sexual predator. If you are suggesting he is on a one way course to being an abuser or something, I'd be interested in even the rough area of impartial research which shows this for a case of this nature.

A woman would have (our friend in West Virginia excluded) a hard time raping a 14 year old boy whilst his 15 year old cousin looked on, so I can only conclude all parties were happy enough with the arrangement. As such, I think the punishment should tie with the damage done. Hence in this case I see a willing kid, a hot teacher and no justification for a 30 year sentence.

If it was a male/ugly teacher and a young girl or boy, I would feel differently. Though if I was forced to choose between my daughter sleeping with some drunk 15 year old kid or Brad Pitt - I'd go for the latter, at least he has a job and the kids would look well. This may sound disingenuous, but really - if you couldn't protect your little princess which would be worse?

JAK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Kingp35 wrote:
    I think its different if a adult female seduces a boy than the an adult male seducing a girl. Plus remember it wasnt forced upon the guy he was seduced meaning he wanted to do it.
    Thankfully the law isn't as blatantly sexist. Wonder if there are any masculists (male version of feminists) campaigning to see her sewn up :D

Jak wrote:
    Like every other young man in the world? Seriously, other than having him spayed and neutered, there is little to stop him becoming a sexual predator. If you are suggesting he is on a one way course to being an abuser or something, I'd be interested in even the rough area of impartial research which shows this for a case of this nature.

A woman would have (our friend in West Virginia excluded) a hard time raping a 14 year old boy whilst his 15 year old cousin looked on, so I can only conclude all parties were happy enough with the arrangement. As such, I think the punishment should tie with the damage done. Hence in this case I see a willing kid, a hot teacher and no justification for a 30 year sentence.

JAK.

There is a lot of studies about the effects of an adult sexualisation of teens. There are many types of sexual hang ups and fetishes which stem from our early experiences. That's why in some culture feet are sexual objects etc... Being really simplistic about it the teacher has made this boy think being 14 and sex with an adult is the way to go. He will then go onto replicate it later in life. He needs to be given counciling to understand that it is not.

As has already been pointed out a 13 year old might want to drink but to give them the alcohol doesn't mean you did the right thing. One person is an adult and the other is not. It is rape. Sexual predators try to seduce their victims. I really don't want to say this but it's a good example. Ophra Winfrey had consentual sex with her uncle when a child. Now she is an adult she calls it rape, she has actually done a number of shows on the subject. SHowed male and female victims explain how they thought they were in love and that they understand they were being tricked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

General point taken,

However, a 14/15 year old kid having sex with a good looking 24 year old woman is to my mind unlikely to cause damage in the same sense.
    He will then go onto replicate it later in life.

If he goes on to habitually seek out good looking older women he will be no worse off than anyone else. In a year he will be like every other 16 year old kid trying to get laid as often as possible. It's what kids do - it's part of their development. As a society we set rules of engagement for them, but in your own mind when you feel ready you don't give a damn. Now I'm not saying it is ideal, but the rates of teenage promiscuity across the board in the western world would suggest that society is losing the battle to control teen sexual activity. When I was 15 I really didn't think about the legal implications of my actions - there were greater motivating factors at work.

It is genuinely very tricky as people develop at different rates, and so the best tool available is a bottom line age limit. Which I fully support - we need a barrier to stop adults crossing that line. But what about when a young guy like this crosses the line from the other side to sleep with his teacher? You can say he was seduced etc etc. but he was complicit. Frankly if someone told me at 15 that I shouldn't be trying to get laid - I would have told them where to go.

Finally, I know plenty of people who genuinely lost their virginity at that age -generally to older women as the girls of that age were justly more chaste - I still know these people and - although anecdotal - they are generally a perfectly normal mixed bag of singles, couples, married, kids and no kids. Maybe they dress up in gorilla suits and beat each other around the house with table tennis bats to get their kicks - but they still seem happy to me.

JAK.

ps - The ugly cousin turned him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

was there a case in the states where a teacher did the same stuff to a young student and she was sentence and told to keep away from the child. when the young fella reached 18 he married her?

johnnyc wrote:
    was there a case in the states where a teacher did the same stuff to a young student and she was sentence and told to keep away from the child. when the young fella reached 18 he married her?
    I recall something like that alright. About 4 or 5 years ago I think. I'll see if I can find anything on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I suppose there's no accounting for taste at that age.

Sarky wrote:
    I suppose there's no accounting for taste at that age.

Oooh! Saucer of milk for table 2!!!

B.

BaZmO* wrote:
    Oooh! Saucer of milk for table 2!!!

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Gilgamesh wrote:
    it's just as bad as when winona ryder was not locked up for shop lifting, allthough she was caught red handed and recorded by CCTV, but got away because she was 'practising' for a part she was working on

Nobody gets locked up for a first offence of shoplifting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

she is ugly, trashy and looks like a total bitch.
    The "I wish I was in her class" remarks make people sound like total feckwits tbh.
    It is a total joke that she was sentenced differently for being a woman, and much much worse that they took her alledged prettiness into consideration.
    If I was in charge she would be hanged.
    skanktastic indeed.

Jak wrote:
    General point taken,

If he goes on to habitually seek out good looking older women he will be no worse off than anyone else. .

Well obviously not, the point is he won't seek out 24 year old woman he is more likely to pursure 14 year old girls all his life! That's the point.

Sprinkles> Yes there have been other similar cases the most noticable was the woman who had two children by a student and eventually married him. But in that case she was married, was caught let out did it again, served some time, let out did it again, had baby in prison, baby given to teen father. THe story is really ridculious as he wrote a book for profit spent all the money sold items etc... Disowned her then had another kid with her and then married. I got bored following it to be honest.