Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meeting nice girls, where??

• 18-07-2005 9:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭

I know this threads been done before, but have pity cause I feel like ****e right now !

Basically I'm the big 3OH in a few months and just can't seem to meet girls that I fall for. In sterotypical fashion I end up going out with girls that don't float my boat in the hope that something will blossom, knowing full well in the back of my head that I'm wasting both our time, or, I fall for someone who doesn't want to know me (quite rare - the falling part)

Now, I'm figuring the law of averages will swing in my direction at some stage and some girl will be stupid enough to fall for me, but given my rate of meeting girls (perhaps 2 a year) I need to speed things the **** up !

I hate approaching women in pubs/clubs because I reckon the cards are stacked against you. Did the internet thing and I'm not arsed with that anymore. What am I missing? I'm desperate enough to try yoga even !!! I mean whats going wrong here? I'm considered to be very attractive, a little on the small side at 5.6' but I'm quite smart, have good personal hygine, good job etc. I'm not very charasmatic and many would consider me quite, but on a one to one I excel. I've *bags* of love to give the right person but I feel like everyone in my life who knows me isn't telling me something about me that if I was to change would be fantastic! You know what I mean?

Some fresh perspectives anyone? I'm confussed & depressed as hell on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Try speed dating or a lock and key party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

your shy, ya should try to come out of your shell a bit. go out with mates, if ya like a girl give her the eye. let it happen on its own accord. these things cant be forced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Salsa. All the women have a biological clock ticking and are desperate. I hear even a prominant mod goes.

www.afterhours.ie

na, dont let them see ur desperate or theyl walk all over ya and take advantage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Coney Island

The words "Nice" and "girls" never go together.... :rolleyes:

Just kidding, anyway it looks like most of the guys complain about not meeting "nice girls" and most of the girls complain about not meeting "nice guys" ...mmm.....

I know the trick but I can't tell you....can't afford to have one more competitor out there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Maybe girls think you're a bit of a drip? :D

I know if I was a girl (and I've thought about becoming one) and I just read your post, I wouldn't b interested in you.

Don't go looking for a girl, do what you do and have interests in and yea arrange opportunites to come across girls, but don't make it your goal in life...

hey... im a nice girl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Misticles wrote:
    hey... im a nice girl!
    Wow! Dumping him already?

nope, just saying that the words nice and girl can go in the same sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The Salsa dancing wasn't a bad idea. I'd recommend Swing classes myself, I go to one in The Vaults on a Wednesday night a couple of times a month. It starts at 7.30 and you'd be far from the only guy there on your own (if you couldn't drag a few mates along). It's good craic, a drop in class (so you don't need to sign up for a course of lessons, you can just come and go as you please) and there's loads of twenty something women there. Not sure how many people hook up through it and it's not how I'd approach the class at all but it's definitely a chance to meet women :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Ooh that swing class sounds like fun! :D

But to the OP, the best way to meet girls is through mates and mates girlfriends. Going to a pub or club you're just not going to meet girlfriend material.

Also you sound a tad desperate. Don't!! Once you've got a bit of confidence in yourself and make a girl laugh, sure you'll be away!

And don't worry, my dad was 40 when he met my mother, so that's a good ten years!! Don't try forcing it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

\Meeting nice girls, where??

dreams?

dreams?

Larianne wrote:
    Ooh that swing class sounds like fun! :D
    It is!

Honestly, if I recommend it to any more people I'm gonna have to start charging Jamie and Clare (the instructors). I swear, I've no financial interest in this, I just love it!

Forgot to give the website address, it's www.boogiebeatswing.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭hawkmoon269

chump wrote:

I know if I was a girl (and I've thought about becoming one) and I just read your post, I wouldn't b interested in you.

Don't go looking for a girl, do what you do and have interests in and yea arrange opportunites to come across girls, but don't make it your goal in life...

I would have worded it a bit different, but I think you have a point to be honest...

Sleepy wrote:
    It is!

Honestly, if I recommend it to any more people I'm gonna have to start charging Jamie and Clare (the instructors). I swear, I've no financial interest in this, I just love it!

Forgot to give the website address, it's www.boogiebeatswing.com

That's great, thanks for that. My mate broke up with her bf 3 weeks ago and I'm looking for interesting things to do with her to cheer her up. We both like dancing so yay!!

Although it might not be for everyone, as alot of guys don't like dancing...

OOh there's another tip though. Girls like guys who can dance. So if you can, show those moves. IT can be really sexy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

shakenbake wrote:
    I'm desperate enough to try yoga even !!! I mean whats going wrong here? I'm considered to be very attractive, a little on the small side at 5.6' but I'm quite smart, have good personal hygine, good job etc. I'm not very charasmatic and many would consider me quite, but on a one to one I excel. I've *bags* of love to give the right person but I feel like everyone in my life who knows me isn't telling me something about me that if I was to change would be fantastic! You know what I mean?

Some fresh perspectives anyone? I'm confussed & depressed as hell on this one.

You know that the female animal smells desperation at 600 paces or at the bottom of a very deep lake?

Desperation is part of the problem, relax, if every woman thinks they are being appraised as a potential suitor, they'll run a mile, chill and it will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Aupster

chump wrote:

and thats way you thought about becoming one !! lol :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I never believed in all those silly single sayings “like plenty more fish” and all that but one that does really work is “ you wont find that special someone if you go looking, just let it happen” Its soooooo true!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

shakenbake irish women are crap better off with the eastern european lot they are way nicer and have no attitude!

Aw poor Johnny can’t attract Irish girls so he has a go at us instead.

johnnyc wrote:
    shakenbake irish women are crap better off with the eastern european lot they are way nicer and have no attitude!
    It doesn't count if you're paying for it Johnny! :p

TBH, most of the Eastern European women I've met have been very cold... Nowhere near as passionate as our fiery Irish women. Unfortunately a growing number of Irish women seem to want to be New Yorkers and have adopted their ignorance (usually in an attempt to portray themselves as confident), that doesn't mean that there's still not loads of nice ones out there though, they're just harder to find!

Or that's what I keep telling myself anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 GerryManderer

Simply attend a Sunday evening session in Copperface Jacks. If you cannot score with those culchie ladies who are up in "the big smoke" for the day, then may the Lord have mercy on your soul

Kiera wrote:
    Aw poor Johnny can’t attract Irish girls so he has a go at us instead.

see what i mean what an attitude, irish girls are spongers..and when u marry then they get that tank asse and homer belly.eastern europeans look after themselves and are way sexier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://www.matchmakerireland.com/

The MatchMaking Festival starts on Friday August 26th and finishes on Sunday October 2nd 2005. It is mainly concentrated at the weekends but there is also music and dancing during the week.

Good luck!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

johnnyc wrote:

take it to after hours, I will have no sweeping statements in here.
    If you have something against the whole female irish population, I suggest you look at yourself instead.
    back on topic
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Bob Bogart

Your local church is great for finding many new spiritual friends

johnnyc wrote:
    see what i mean what an attitude, irish girls are spongers..and when u marry then they get that tank asse and homer belly.eastern europeans look after themselves and are way sexier

Oh my God, that’s so mean!!! I’ve just left a long relationship and I am hoping now that all blokes don’t think like you!!! Might as well make a shelf for myself and surround myself with cats, eh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Irish Women are lovely, they're our women!!
    Sure they can be difficult, but thats half the fun.

is that a metaphor for u becoming lezzer

sorry about my comment about irish women!

Bob Bogart wrote:

next comment like that from you will result in a banning
    I suggest you read this forums charter
    B

Bob Bogart wrote:

No. It meant that we Irish women are going to be left on the shelf smelling of cat wee if all lads think the way Johnny does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Irish girls are the very finest in the world. ...the fine ones that is.

To the OP, someone has already said it. Stop looking. Just keep yourself social. Be friendly; put yourself out there; meet people. It might happen, it might not, but it you look to hard you won't see the wood from the trees.

ye might have a problem getting a fella if you dont lighten up, it was a joke, Jesus :)

Zulu wrote:
    I've said it before and I'll say it again. Irish girls are the very finest in the world.

Aw, now isn’t that nice!!! Cheers, Zulu x x

Bob Bogart wrote:
    ye might have a problem getting a fella if you dont lighten up, it was a joke, Jesus :)

Oi you! Don’t make me throw you over my knee young man!!

P.S. I'm a long long way away from looking for another man!! :p

Bob Bogart wrote:

jokes are normally funny, no?
    banned
    B

Kiera wrote:
    Oi you! Don’t make me throw you over my knee young man!!

please don't feed the trolls
    as you are new kiera, kindly read this forums charter

now
    back onto the topic of this thread please!
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

whats the average age of the women that would go to that salsa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

My girlpal went to that salsa thing, she said the age ranged from 16 - 60, with a good amount of 30 somethings. Complete mixture basically. So goooo 4 it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

I don't have a clue where to meet nice girls either, original poster. I think if it's going to happen for you it will, or else it won't, simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

some people have said before that going to a Drama class is a good idea?

Laguna wrote:
    I don't have a clue where to meet nice girls either, original poster. I think if it's going to happen for you it will, or else it won't, simple as.
    If you dont help make it happen - it wont - simple as that. In fact if you dont try you deserve to be alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

If you dont help make it happen - it wont - simple as that. In fact if you dont try you deserve to be alone.

That's utter bull**** squirrel, what you're saying is to make it happen contrive situations for you to hook up with people, which in essence is false as no one is actually like the way they behave in clubs and pubs. What I was saying is, no matter how many times and places you go to, you're as likely to meet up with someone as if you go out less often due the same constant unchanging thing, yourself. I just think some people are lucky when it comes to this situation (meeting people) and others simply aren't. And not that I give a **** if i'm with someone, no one DESERVES to be alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭deedee lepoopoo

TBH I only go to dance classes etc. cos they are fun and if guys come to these places with no interest in dancing but just scoring, it kinda freaks me out, I think alot of ladies feel the same way.

Perhaps join something or a group activity that you actually enjoy. Think laterally. You might have an interest in car maintenance, so join a class, you never know, honestly, you might meet a lad who has female friends. Things happen when you least expect it.

I have often been in places I have not intended to be and met many a cool fella. Also, don't be afraid 'cos you're 30. People are getting married later in life nowadays and there is no set formula as to what way you life path pans out. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Also, don't be afraid 'cos you're 30. People are getting married later in life nowadays and there is no set formula as to what way you life path pans out. :)
    Absolutely. There's no problem settling down when you're a little older...

...as long as you're not crazy on having your own kids, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭deedee lepoopoo

Absolutely. There's no problem settling down when you're a little older...

...as long as you're not crazy on having your own kids, of course.

Biology wasn't obviously your strongest subject in (hedge) school. Women can have kids up to 45 and with men, the sky's the limit (just ask Des O'Connor).

Laguna wrote:
    you're saying is to make it happen contrive situations for you to hook up with people
    Its amazing how you seem to know what I meant better than I do :rolleyes:
    What I actually meant was that if you choose to live like a hermit - thats how you will end up. However if you make a bit of an effort to go out and socialise then you will have more chance of meeting someone. This doesnt mean you have to contrive situations or pretend to be something you are not.
    Laguna wrote:
    no one DESERVES to be alone
    I beg to differ - if you live like a hermit and dont give yourself a chance to live a social life - then yes you do deserve to be alone. It should be noted that this isnt necessarily the horror situation you seem to think it is. Some people may find themselves completely at ease with a solitary life.

Life is full of choices - we get the life we deserve from the choices we make. Maybe when your outrage calms you might realise that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

its true.

if you want to improve your chances of meeting a partner, you actually have to get out of your room, leave your pc and go out where you have to interact with other human beings.

for the love of god, give yourself a fighting chance and stop mopping about like some bleedin love sick teenager.
    honestly, get a sense of self, and stop being so goddam lazy. i really do fear for the continuing propogation of the human race.