Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do they train An Garda to be ignorant...

• 16-07-2005 11:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭

...or does it just come naturally?

I've just gotten back from my local station where I had gone to get a photocopy of my passport validated to open an account.
    After waiting for about 10 minutes for someone to answer the knock at the hatch, I was "greeted" by a scowling female who looked as if she wanted to be someplace else.
    I asked could she validate the copy...as is one of her duties as on officer.
    "Why? What do you need it for?" was the answer I was given.
    "I need it to open an account" I answer (I should have told her it was none of her damn business) .
    "Why can't you use your passport?"
    "Because it has to be posted..."
    She looks at me blankly for a second and then scowls again and goes off to find a rubberstamp. It's signed and stamped and handed back to me without a word or any further acknowledgement.
    I thank her and the hatch is closed in my face. I always make a point of being twice as nice and mannerly when someone is ignorant like this...lowering to their level solves nothing.

So WTF? Just cos I'm a twentysomething male, doesn't class me as a suspected criminal. Even if I was, I'm still entitled to request this service and be treated like any other member of the public.
    I have no choice but use the gardaí for this as the only other places that can validate IDs are only opened during office hours.

My whole point in this is that these people are supposed to have to deal with the public everyday...they could at least be trained to be half civil in the execution of their duties.
    Now if I was steaming drunk and shouting abuse at her on a friday night, I could understand the hostility, but as a sober individual on a saturday morning, I think being treated like this is bullsh*t. There's no-one you can even complain to and if there was it's most likely you wouldn't be believed anyhow.
    We complain so much about bad customer service in this country but surely the gardaí provide a public service too, and should act accordingly...
    We have money launedering legislation in this country for a very good reason, thus security checks like this are necessary...why the hell do I have to be treated like a criminal in trying to acquire the necessary documents?
    Any gardaí care to comment? Anyone else been treated like this by the force?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I was getting out of the back seat of a friend's car one night after we'd just parked. Now the car was pretty old, and had no rear seatbelts. As I got out, this 20-ish man came over and started berating me, and my friend the driver, for me not wearing a seatbelt. Turns out he was an off-duty garda, who was on his way into work. He had a jacket on over his uniform, so it wasn't immediately obvious. and when we said that old cars that didn't have seatbelts are perfectly allowed, or were at the time, he lost the plot and called us ignorant and stupid. I was really taken aback at his vehemence over something that we could do nothing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Complain to their boss.... or someone who cares. I don;t think you'll get much compassion here. Anytime I've dealt with the cops, they've been nice and helpful.

Maybe she was having a bad day.... period, hungover, had been working all night. Who fúckin' knows.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Just last night me and my mates were walking down the street minding our own business when the gaurds pulled up.

Two gaurds get out and proceed to search us without even telling us why then one of them goes is it a coincidence that yous are standing outside a house with a broken window I turn around and see that the window was perfectly intact I tell him that the window isnt broken and we were just walking home to which he says dont give cheek he then asked me for my details when I told him my area he replied with lying to the garda is a felony and i was like im well aware of that but that is where I live to which he replies "giving cheek again?" he asks me again for my address I tell him again and once again he starts calling me a lier he brings me down to the station (which is a good bit away from me house) takes down my details (that he already had) and then told me to **** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

we just had cops call over to move a car that was blocking our drive way
    they were very helpful and polite
    they even pushed it out of the way so we could get our car out

could ask for more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Lump wrote:
    Complain to their boss.... or someone who cares. I don;t think you'll get much compassion here. Anytime I've dealt with the cops, they've been nice and helpful.

Maybe she was having a bad day.... period, hungover, had been working all night. Who fúckin' knows.

John

Not really looking for compassion...what's that gonna solve? Hanging around to complain to a superior officer who is most likely going to have a good laugh with her when I leave isn't my idea of resolution.

I really don't care if she was having a bad day...I have bad days too, but if I dealt with clients the way this girl dealt with me, I'd not be doing an awful lot of business.
    I find that in any dealings I've had with uniformed officers over the years, that they're all about average in terms of manners, whereas if you deal with a detective, plainclothes officers or higher ranking members, they seem to be a lot more pleasant. If they're gonna put people like this in the public part of the station, surely that person should be up to dealing with the public...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i remember finding a wallet of a student who lived in skerries, so i brought it up to the station and handed it in, so i thought that was it, but i had to sign something to say where i found it and what was in it, so i done that and then the gard said would you be able to find mr and mrs [secondname] in this phone book, so i started slaging on how do they not have a computer system to instantly check it up on, the gard says no it doesent go as far as skerries, so i found the name and number well after 10 mins and gave it to him and really slagged him about the computer system, then he would joke about him going to put me in the cell with a drunk man for an hour, but the best of all was one day i got a call at home, my dad answered it and said gard whoever is on the phone for you, i wasnt expecting it and wondered whats happening untill the gard said, you know that wallet, well im not that good at matchmaking but i tell ya you may have a chance here, she was some fine looking lady, the same age as yourself.
    So anyway she left me 50 euros for finding her wallet (turned out she got robbed at a niteclub.
    But i find the gards especially the older ones or sargents to be more friendlier than young on the street gards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    he replied with lying to the garda is a felony and i was like im well aware of that
    There's no such thing as a felony in Ireland. And "giving cheek" to a garda wouldn't be one anyway.
    SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    once again he starts calling me a lier he brings me down to the station (which is a good bit away from me house) takes down my details (that he already had) and then told me to **** off
    If they didn't arrest you they can't bring you anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    Just last night me and my mates were walking down the street minding our own business when the gaurds pulled up.

Two gaurds get out and proceed to search us without even telling us why then one of them goes is it a coincidence that yous are standing outside a house with a broken window I turn around and see that the window was perfectly intact I tell him that the window isnt broken and we were just walking home to which he says dont give cheek he then asked me for my details when I told him my area he replied with lying to the garda is a felony and i was like im well aware of that but that is where I live to which he replies "giving cheek again?" he asks me again for my address I tell him again and once again he starts calling me a lier he brings me down to the station (which is a good bit away from me house) takes down my details (that he already had) and then told me to **** off

did you get these two gaurds numbers because they cant bring you down to the station without arresting you and then releasing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Ever hear of being brought in for questioning?

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭The General

Wertz wrote:
    ...or does it just come naturally?

I've just gotten back from my local station where I had gone to get a photocopy of my passport validated to open an account.
    After waiting for about 10 minutes for someone to answer the knock at the hatch, I was "greeted" by a scowling female who looked as if she wanted to be someplace else.
    I asked could she validate the copy...as is one of her duties as on officer.
    "Why? What do you need it for?" was the answer I was given.
    "I need it to open an account" I answer (I should have told her it was none of her damn business) .
    "Why can't you use your passport?"
    "Because it has to be posted..."
    She looks at me blankly for a second and then scowls again and goes off to find a rubberstamp. It's signed and stamped and handed back to me without a word or any further acknowledgement.
    I thank her and the hatch is closed in my face. I always make a point of being twice as nice and mannerly when someone is ignorant like this...lowering to their level solves nothing.

So WTF? Just cos I'm a twentysomething male, doesn't class me as a suspected criminal. Even if I was, I'm still entitled to request this service and be treated like any other member of the public.
    I have no choice but use the gardaí for this as the only other places that can validate IDs are only opened during office hours.

My whole point in this is that these people are supposed to have to deal with the public everyday...they could at least be trained to be half civil in the execution of their duties.
    Now if I was steaming drunk and shouting abuse at her on a friday night, I could understand the hostility, but as a sober individual on a saturday morning, I think being treated like this is bullsh*t. There's no-one you can even complain to and if there was it's most likely you wouldn't be believed anyhow.
    We complain so much about bad customer service in this country but surely the gardaí provide a public service too, and should act accordingly...
    We have money launedering legislation in this country for a very good reason, thus security checks like this are necessary...why the hell do I have to be treated like a criminal in trying to acquire the necessary documents?
    Any gardaí care to comment? Anyone else been treated like this by the force?

Women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Women

OMG!!!!1! Dat was like da best post eva! lol

sarcastic or not? you decide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

They're not feckin robots Wertz!, people are people.... ever hear of different personalities? Fair enough there is a certain degree of customer service needed in a garda station but its not a run of the mill job.....dealing with thick drunk f*cks who puke everywhere, getting threatened, a chance of getting stuck with a needle with every junkie they find. I think the guards do a fine job given the resources provided.

In my experience ban guards seem to have a serious chip on their shoulder so that might account for your experience but dont tar the entire force with the one brush! Anyway who will be the first person you ring if your car got stolen?

They're not feckin robots Wertz!, people are people.... ever hear of different personalities? Fair enough there is a certain degree of customer service needed in a garda station but its not a run of the mill job.....dealing with thick drunk f*cks who puke everywhere, getting threatened, a chance of getting stuck with a needle with every junkie they find. I think the guards do a fine job given the resources provided.

In my experience ban guards seem to have a serious chip on their shoulder so that might account for your experience but dont tar the entire force with the one brush! Anyway who will be the first person you ring if your car got stolen?

Would a smile, a please or thank you cost that much? I mean no-one wants to be working on a sunny saturday morning, but that's their job. If they've never learnt the art of manners, possibly a little less downright ignorance?

I never said the force in general didn't have a very tough job, but this is not a policing matter...it's a matter of the face they present to the public. Maybe if I'd been 20 years older and went in in a suit and tie, I'd have been treated more courteously?
    You may have a point about the gender thing, but I don't want to get into that...on who to ring in an emergency; if there was a choice, they'd be second on the list.
    As for tarring them all with the same brush, I'd have thought that's exactly what they seem to do with young Irish males...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Anyway who will be the first person you ring if your car got stolen?
    The insurance company?

Generally, I've always found guards to be grand in the stations (only been there for passport issues/age card, etc), as anytime i've been there, the lads there are the older ones. Someone else made the point that the more senior guards are (in general) more pleasant and I agree.

The ones on the streets can be very unreasonable at times, but it is a hard job, the stuff they must see, day in and day out, must try the patience of a saint.
    Fair dues to them for getting the job done, but then again, they've as much responsibility not to act the flute as anyone else on the street.

With regard to the original poster, you get that anywhere...how many times have you gone into a pub, ordered a drink and get the order practically thrown at you and a scowl? Or a shop, when you go in and buy something, the person behind the counter...the list is endless and she might have been there all night.

A bit of manners speaks volumes, however, and it costs nothing to show.

MoonHawk wrote:

With regard to the original poster, you get that anywhere...how many times have you gone into a pub, ordered a drink and get the order practically thrown at you and a scowl? Or a shop, when you go in and buy something, the person behind the counter...the list is endless and she might have been there all night.

A bit of manners speaks volumes, however, and it costs nothing to show.
    Granted. Don't even get me started on the "yung wans" that work in the shops...but I still say that the gardaí are trained to deal with the public (am I wrong here?) and are undoubtedly on a much better hourly rate than some shop assistant or bar person...but the service industry in Ireland, at least on the lower levels is a shambles when it come to pleasing customers. I doubt this will change anytime soon.
    BTW I'm not naeive enough to think that the gardaí should be PC robots handing out sweets to street urchins whilst wearing a big cheesy grin, but a little civility goes a long way, even when you're dealing with drink-crazed teens...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

As you said yourself it took a while for the hatch to open. Alot of things go on behind that hatch for example managment of prisoners, interviews, phones ringing etc etc. Maybe she had cells full of prisoners some unconscious some drunk some violent all which she is accountable for.

Everybody gets stressed and overworked time to time in work and acts accordingly... not just gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Was it a guard from dublin or the country?

I have heavy reservations about one of these breeds, though if I said which it might be considered discrimination hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Wow, someone was ignorant to you, i hope you hurried straight home to tell us this. This sort of whinging really pisses me off. who cares? what the hell is this thread supposed to achieve. All im thinkin is "Big deal". If i was in a better mood id prob think, wow, i really really dont care. Like wtf? You went down to get your passport thingy stamped and you got your passport thingy stamped. IT ISNT GODDAM TELLYTUBBY LAND. Not everyone is happy happy happy. Is this really the sort of thing that pisses you off and makes you complain? I mean ffs, is this really the biggest of your worries??? BIG FECKIN DEAL. Bah, i hate whingers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

/me awaits the "ColHol was mean to me" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

ColHol wrote:
    Wow, someone was ignorant to you, i hope you hurried straight home to tell us this. This sort of whinging really pisses me off. who cares? what the hell is this thread supposed to achieve. All im thinkin is "Big deal". If i was in a better mood id prob think, wow, i really really dont care. Like wtf? You went down to get your passport thingy stamped and you got your passport thingy stamped. IT ISNT GODDAM TELLYTUBBY LAND. Not everyone is happy happy happy. Is this really the sort of thing that pisses you off and makes you complain? I mean ffs, is this really the biggest of your worries??? BIG FECKIN DEAL. Bah, i hate whingers

Haha. Hypocrite by any chance sunshine? :D

haha, good point!

Was it a guard from dublin or the country?

I have heavy reservations about one of these breeds, though if I said which it might be considered discrimination hehe.

She sounded like she was from Donegal or maybe N Cavan...but it's got little to do with it IMO.

:D @ ColHol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    he brings me down to the station
    To the best of my knowledge, unless he arrests you, or you down by your own accord (volunteer), he'd have to falsely imprison/abduct you in his police car, and drive you to the station.

Oh, and asking your address can hardly be called "questioning". One question, tho: do they have to tell you that you're being brought to the station for questioning?

=-=

I see you have "Bandit country" as your lcation. Many scum in the area? I ask, as the garda behind the counter has proberly dealt with them all day. And your just another one. What do expect: asked for your life story, or to be treated like everyone else?
    Wertz wrote:
    a little civility goes a long way, even when you're dealing with drink-crazed teens...
    That'd be seen as weakness, tbh.
    ColHol wrote:
    Bah, i hate whingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Do they have to bring you to the station to search you? They don't have the right to search you on the spot without reasonable suspision right?

So what would happen if they said they were searching you and you refused? Can you just say "Bring me down to the station first boyos"? I've been searched a few times without any results but would prefer not to have gone through the bother of showing them the colour of my keys and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

Wertz wrote:
    if I dealt with clients the way this girl dealt with me, I'd not be doing an awful lot of business.

ah jesus wertz u'r not her client, do you have any idea what kind of crap the garda have to deal with, I guess you don't. She could have been headbutted by a scumbag 3 hours ago for all you know. I'm finding your moaning thread ignorant of the real world... BWAAAAAAA

ando wrote:
    ah jesus wertz u'r not her client, do you have any idea what kind of crap the garda have to deal with, I guess you don't. She could have been headbutted by a scumbag 3 hours ago for all you know. I'm finding your moaning thread ignorant of the real world... BWAAAAAAA

I know perfectly well what the gardaí have to put up with. I don't live under a rock. It was 11am...this girl looked fresh as a daisy and didn't look as if she'd been used as a punchbag overnight...in fact she looked like she wasn't long on duty; If she'd been headbutted earlier by a scumbag, she'd have been sent home by that stage.
    I'm not her client? We're all her f*cking clients! These people earn a good wage for the career they choose....part of that career is serving the public in whatever way shape or form laid out in their contract. If they can't do it in a civil manner then they shouldn't be doing it at all.
    Looks like I'm flogging a dead horse at this stage...meh, if you're all happy with your perception of the force, then so be it.

cormie wrote:
    Do they have to bring you to the station to search you? They don't have the right to search you on the spot without reasonable suspision right?

So what would happen if they said they were searching you and you refused? Can you just say "Bring me down to the station first boyos"? I've been searched a few times without any results but would prefer not to have gone through the bother of showing them the colour of my keys and stuff.

They can stop and and give you a preliminary search on the street, merely by deciding that you're either acting suspiciously, in a suspicious area or doing anything else suspicious. It is completely down the officer(s) as to what constitutes "suspicious"...

If you refuse the search it's 99% likely you'll be arrested for failing to cooperate, then taken down the station and searched anyway. If you're not happy with being searched on the street then you can ask for the search to be conducted at the station; a lot of cops might see this as stalling or being purposely awkward.
    The law is a little more strict when it comes to strip search or full body cavity search AFAIK; I think you have to have been arrested/found with contraband on your person, in your vehicle or at your residence, and I'm pretty sure a doctor has to be present during the search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

There is nothing wrong with Gardai. I live with 2 of them and I dont find the rude/ignorant.
    Do you know how much ****e they get? Even off duty??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,474 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I have to say I'm with Wertz on this one. The girl in question had no excuse to be rude to him. Even if she was having a bad day there's no excuse for taking it out on a random stranger, expecially when that random stranger is part of the community you're employed 'to protect and serve'.

Ignorance is ignorance, and there's never a good excuse for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭chern0byl

Gardai are people, and like that really clever man said in that simpsons episode: "elephants are alot like people, some of them are just idiots"....or something close to that.

Anyways, my point. People as im sure you have learned, can be prícks and it isnt an issue solely with the gardai.

jezza wrote:
    There is nothing wrong with Gardai. I live with 2 of them and I dont find the rude/ignorant.
    Do you know how much ****e they get? Even off duty??

Im sure they do get alot but i dont consider them friendly or approachable. I doubt i will ever be friends with a guard.

Sleepy wrote:
    I have to say I'm with Wertz on this one. The girl in question had no excuse to be rude to him. Even if she was having a bad day there's no excuse for taking it out on a random stranger, expecially when that random stranger is part of the community you're employed 'to protect and serve'.

Ignorance is ignorance, and there's never a good excuse for it.
    Fair enough. She should have been polite. But she wasnt. Oh well, is it really that big a deal? Boo-feckin-hoo is what i say to that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

ando wrote:
    ah jesus wertz u'r not her client, do you have any idea what kind of crap the garda have to deal with, I guess you don't.

Does that excuse rude and aggressive bouncers? They have to deal with just as much, if not more crap. I'd be interested in hearing your view on this.

I have to say I'm with Wertz all the way on this one. The wench behind the counter doesn't deserve to be a garda. Our taxes pay her salary. Her salary is paid to her to do a job. Part of that job is to deal with the public. Being civil and mannerly is part and parcel of dealing with the public. It's called professionalism. If I treated my clients like that, I'd be out of business in a week. This garda obviously takes her job for granted and is completely ungrateful for the fact that it is people like Wertz who pay her salary.

And to all the cynical pratts on this thread that are saying idiotic stuff like "Get used to it. That's life. People will be rude, etc."... seriously. Keep a lid on it. The govenrment and public bodies and services get away with enough already without being permitted to be rude to the general public who pay their salaries.

kstanl wrote:
    The wench behind the counter doesn't deserve to be a garda.

If i called you a bastard right now, im sure you would respond to that. So if you think the she was rude, than take it up with her. People are rude everyday, it hardly justifies a moan about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

ColHol wrote:

i totally agree and i was gonna post something along the lines your post but u beat me to it

Wertz mate where does it say that people have to be nice to eachother?

so she wasnt nice to you?.. big deal man it aint the end of the world ..you cant always expect a "smile" or "civility" not in this day and age dude

and you say she was fresh as a daisy?? how do u know?.. you know nothing about her looks CAN be deceiving mate

mind u i have a story about bad coppers lol

i was in shankill there last year and it was pissing rain and we were waiting at a bus stop and we had a bike and the garda stopped and started questioning us i cant really remember much of what they said but they werent the nicest
    i mean what the **** like ? its pissing rain and they hop out of the car and question us in the RAIN?.. i think they must of been taking the piss anyhoo he gets back into the car and drives off with a smile on his face
    and me my mate and sinnead were like woah ok ? neil your lucky ( me ) you could of got down for the amount of pot u carry around i was like yeah man i know!
    ( i was ****ting myself man )

ColHol wrote:
    Wow, someone was ignorant to you, i hope you hurried straight home to tell us this.

Dunno if you watch friends man, but.....there was an episode where someone at work at eaten Ross's sandwich. He ofcourse runs to the coffee house to tell the rest of the group. "someone at work ate my sandwich" to which Chandler responded "what did the police say?

Kinda appropiate for this thread in many many ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭the jew

OFDM wrote:
    There's no such thing as a felony in Ireland. And "giving cheek" to a garda wouldn't be one anyway.

If they didn't arrest you they can't bring you anywhere.
    Imagine trying to tell that to a gard on a powertrip.

chern0byl wrote:
    If i called you a bastard right now, im sure you would respond to that. So if you think the she was rude, than take it up with her. People are rude everyday, it hardly justifies a moan about it.

These are message boards. People will moan. Besides, you can choose which threads you wish to read and which ones you don't. I always find it hysterical when people trash others on forums for moaning when there's absolutely nothing whatsoever making them read the thread!

he aint trashing him about moaning

his moan is kinda pointless when u cant do jack **** about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

chern0byl wrote:
    Dunno if you watch friends man, but.....there was an episode where someone at work at eaten Ross's sandwich. He ofcourse runs to the coffee house to tell the rest of the group. "someone at work ate my sandwich" to which Chandler responded "what did the police say?

Kinda appropiate for this thread in many many ways.

Good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

i totally agree and i was gonna post something along the lines your post but u beat me to it

Wertz mate where does it say that people have to be nice to eachother?

so she wasnt nice to you?.. big deal man it aint the end of the world ..you cant always expect a "smile" or "civility" not in this day and age dude

and you say she was fresh as a daisy?? how do u know?.. you know nothing about her looks CAN be deceiving mate

mind u i have a story about bad coppers lol

i was in shankill there last year and it was pissing rain and we were waiting at a bus stop and we had a bike and the garda stopped and started questioning us i cant really remember much of what they said but they werent the nicest
    i mean what the **** like ? its pissing rain and they hop out of the car and question us in the RAIN?.. i think they must of been taking the piss anyhoo he gets back into the car and drives off with a smile on his face
    and me my mate and sinnead were like woah ok ? neil your lucky ( me ) you could of got down for the amount of pot u carry around i was like yeah man i know!
    ( i was ****ting myself man )

You big gobsh!te carrying large amounts of hash around with you... Learn a lesson from your lucky escape.

wasnt hash it was pot ..big difference

i never actually did learn my lesson im amazed i havent been caught
    that being said iv cut down alot and i dont really carry it around anymore

kstanl wrote:
    These are message boards. People will moan. Besides, you can choose which threads you wish to read and which ones you don't. I always find it hysterical when people trash others on forums for moaning when there's absolutely nothing whatsoever making them read the thread!

How did i trash anybody? I generally use bad words to trash people.... I was only pointing out to the original poster that he is wasting his time creating this thread. If you dont like the way somebody is treating you, then tell them!

chern0byl wrote:
    How did i trash anybody? I generally use bad words to trash people.... I was only pointing out to the original poster that he is wasting his time creating this thread. If you dont like the way somebody is treating you, then tell them!

I hardly see what good that would have done. If anything, it would probably have annoyed the Garda and it could have taken even longer to get his documentation. The bottom line is that Gardai should be civil... in fact friendly... to the law-abiding public. We're the ones who pay their salaries after all.

Saying that there's no point in discussing it on here is a bit silly. It's a discussion forum.

kstanl wrote:
    I hardly see what good that would have done. If anything, it would probably have annoyed the Garda and it could have taken even longer to get his documentation. .

If you have not got the balls to confront someone[who ever they are] when they are being a príck to you, thats your issue.
    If a guard treated me like crap, i ask why.[it only happened to me last night at Oasis]. I wont delve into the details but he was put in his place[after many many empty threats of arrest etc]
    Saying that there's no point in discussing it on here is a bit silly. It's a discussion forum.

A person was rude to me today. Discuss...

chern0byl wrote:
    If you have not got the balls to confront someone[who ever they are] when they are being a príck to you, thats your issue.

Odds are that if I was being a prick to you in person, you'd s**t yourself and say nothing or run away. Stop being a keyboard warrior. Nobody's impressed.

You know as well as I do that confrontation isn't always possible. If someone is harrassing you then fair enough, but if someone is just being moody and ****ty as per the OP's experience and you're depending on them for something, then there's not much you can say to them.
    chern0byl wrote:
    If a guard treated me like crap, i ask why.[it only happened to me last night at Oasis]. I wont delve into the details but he was put in his place[after many many empty threats of arrest etc]

Yeah, good man. So you put a Garda in his place, pissed up in Marlay Park and he bowed down to you. I believe you but millions wouldn't. ;) Besides, if that did happen and you didn't feel that you deserved to be arrested than you would probably be best to protest. I would do the same myself. However the OP's experience was a completely different situation.
    chern0byl wrote:
    A person was rude to me today. Discuss...

Yeah. Like I said, that's what people do on web forums. Is there something about that you're not getting? Why are you contributing here if you're not interested in the subject matter? No need to troll for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

kstanl wrote:
    The bottom line is that Gardai should be civil... in fact friendly... to the law-abiding public. We're the ones who pay their salaries after all.

I'm not disputing that, they should be nice to all but with real world experiences this is just not going to happen at certain times. My sister is a gard and the things she tells me are unreal. Only a few days ago her car was spat on as she was on the way to work. She called backup and 2 of the garda were hospitalized. Later on in that shift she went to a house and found a 19yr old that had hanged himself. I mean common, would you be all lovely duvy 'we must be happy and approachable all the time' attitude after a shift like that?

I've been out a few times drinking with bunches of garda and they are indeed approachable and friendly, infact a tad bit crazy some of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

gards do have a tough job, but no one made them join the force. you get a lot of perks being a gard too dont ye know!

the original poster was giving out about how the gard was ignorant - i dont think that this should be a reflection on all garda... just the complete arse of a woman he was talking to.

kstanl wrote:
    Odds are that if I was being a prick to you in person, you'd s**t yourself and say nothing or run away. Stop being a keyboard warrior. Nobody's impressed.

Yeah absolutely. "Keyboard warrior"...never hear that before. Classic.
    kstanl wrote:
    You know as well as I do that confrontation isn't always possible. If someone is harrassing you then fair enough, but if someone is just being moody and ****ty as per the OP's experience and you're depending on them for something, then there's not much you can say to them.

It completely is. If i was as "put out" by someone like the op was, i will most definitely ask the offender why are you being an asshole.

kstanl wrote:
    Yeah, good man. So you put a Garda in his place, pissed up in Marlay Park and he bowed down to you. I believe you but millions wouldn't. ;)

Thanks, it did feel great. Add it to the fact that 15 minutes pervious i had only broke the law by jumping the fence to get into the gig./such the rebel i am

before
    after

kstanl wrote:
    Besides, if that did happen and you didn't feel that you deserved to be arrested than you would probably be best to protest. I would do the same myself. However the OP's experience was a completely different situation.

No need for a protest, just a little backbone but just enough to let him feel his was still is control. He walked off. I win/minor victories are great. The OP situation was not much different, just no backbone imo.
    kstanl wrote:
    Yeah. Like I said, that's what people do on web forums. Is there something about that you're not getting? Why are you contributing here if you're not interested in the subject matter? No need to troll for the sake of it.

Calling me a troll, i dont see it but christ that was low. You could be right though, this is my 2nd account. imo, discussion forums are for topics of interest and not generall whining and complaining. This thread in general is for your friends, your girlfriend or even your ever attentive mammy.

ando wrote:
    I mean common, would you be all lovely duvy 'we must be happy and approachable all the time' attitude after a shift like that?

No i wouldnt expect her to be, but my point is that they are not, not that they should be.