Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayfair €30 Freezeout

• 11-07-2005 8:33pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I was going to play the Fitz Double Chance tomorrow night,but I am thinking of playing the Mayfair for the first time.Has anybody played the €30 Freezeout yet...?if so any info on standard or numbers would be most welcome.

Anybody else heading into this...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

gonna play as well around 30 runners, ussually less, stndard is very bad alot of newbies. tables and dealers and blind structure is great. more numbers in fitz tournie plus a much better standard of player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

standard was absolutely atrocious last week when i played. Unbelievable. At least four limpers seeing every flop. One guy called an all in with Q high! There was a king and and ace on the board!
    Fitz double chance is well worth the extra few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭kencleary

Hmmm 30 runners. What time does it usually finish up at? I'd be interested in playing a tournament that lets me catch the last train home rather than having to catch a nitelink or worse, taxi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

i will if you will ken. haven't played the Jackal Cleary in a live game in too long! :D

:) Need more details though!
    what time's kick off? my last train is 11.20 so i'd better either be gone by then or go on to win the bloody thing to pay for my taxi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I played two weeks ago, we finished up just after 11, but there were only 9 players that week. 30 is the absolute max they would get, I think, 15 more like it. Any other thoughts on where to play tonight? I am 50-50 between the Fitz and the Mayfair, and need someone to make up my mind for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

well in the fitz you're guaranteed reasonable play and a relatively nice pot for first (45*50)*.42 = 900-1000 allowing for variance in the numbers, as well as a reasonable 2nd and 3rd place prize

or you can play in the mayfair with poor quality players, get outdrawn by a nothing hand and come and complain tomorrow. Of course you may win that tourney and get (30*20)*.42 = 200-300 allowing for variance in the numbers and 100-150 for 2nd with 3rd getting maybe double the entry fee back

So what will it be Paul Door 1 or Door 2?? The decision is yours...

oh, and you may get the chance to play against Karl "Flushing" H and Ken "Kings" Cleary...maybe busting those two would be worth the entry fee ;)

Hmm, it's just like being tempted by two beautiful Playboy models, each willing to do whatever you want to please you...except it's not at all like that and I've been lying out in the sun for a little too long today..:) The sickening outdraws I've suffered recently in the Mayfair have got to end, though, right?

just don't flop quads and ill do my best ;)

What time does mayfair start though? Classy guy that I am, I feel the Cider calling to me and that while not necessarily precluding poker it does make the odds a lot harder to work out and the outdraws a lot more violent :)

8:30 sharp-ish, no entries after first hand is dealt. The plus side of this strict rule is that you can play aggresively and if you get knocked out, just head over to the Fitz, which should be accepting late entries on Tuesdays until 9:45 or so :)

Bah sorry guys can't be bothered hanging around till then. You'll have to wait until another time to gaze upon my hallowed countenance, though i'll probably be on VC later after coming 6th in the 5k freeroll yesterday if you really need some soft action :)

Maybe one of these lesser known Casinos (Silks, Mayfair) should try having earlier tournaments, maybe 7pm kickoffs, for us worker drones who can only pull the rare 3 am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I think ken has a good point there. I dont play as much live as I would like because it either means leaving town after work then travelling back in 2 hrs later or else hanging around from six. Also earlier finishes would be a help, I reckon there would be a market for an earlier ko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 lzhn

jtsuited wrote:
    standard was absolutely atrocious last week when i played. Unbelievable. At least four limpers seeing every flop. One guy called an all in with Q high! There was a king and and ace on the board!
    Fitz double chance is well worth the extra few bob.

Why do people so often complain about playing against poor opposition?
    Surely the definition of poor opposition is players that you can win money off more easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

eh ok, we should love maniac players. So that they call preflop raises with junk. Can't bluff them and it's just risky playing them in tournaments. Obviously in cash games they don't present such a threat. Does this shed any light.
    Also for tournament play, i'd say most people want a challenging game. Or am i alone in thinking that the greater the standard the more learning that get's done?

I think you're right, in poker like in most games the higher the standard of opposition you play against the quicker you learn, and that's a good reason for playing in a better standard of tourney....but if my only interest was winning i'd rather play against poor players regardless of whether it was a tourny or cash game. By definition, a poor player in a tournament is somebody who is unlikely to get far in the thing.

If you're talking about loose maniacs...i don't like playing them either but that might mean that some of them aren't exactly fish. Or maybe it means i need to learn how to change gears. i'm a beginner so don't take my ramblings too seriously........

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Thanks lads....I know all about the fitz Double Chance I love that game but the reason I am heading into the Mayfair for the first time is I am up for work at 5 in the morning so I want to be in bed as early as I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 saxet

Hi Guys, n Gals, (or are there any)??? just reading through the posts, and your breaking my heart, so this is what I propose.
    Why dont all you GOOD and Great players get together and come on down to the Mayfair and let us structure a Tournie for you?
    Any of you who have met Alex Mason our card room manager know that he is more than up for the challenge?
    So what do you think? let us know.
    On the other side can I say that we are only at this six weeks, and it does take time to build it up, so dont call the undertaker for us just yet.
    Would love to be able to make something happen for you to prove our ability, see what you all think.

Orla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I THINK ITS GREAT!

only been down there twice and Ive got 1st and 4th. The numbers will increase over time...

just try and keep the standard the same :) !

saxet wrote:
    Hi Guys, n Gals, (or are there any)??? just reading through the posts, and your breaking my heart, so this is what I propose.
    Why dont all you GOOD and Great players get together and come on down to the Mayfair and let us structure a Tournie for you?
    Any of you who have met Alex Mason our card room manager know that he is more than up for the challenge?
    So what do you think? let us know.
    On the other side can I say that we are only at this six weeks, and it does take time to build it up, so dont call the undertaker for us just yet.
    Would love to be able to make something happen for you to prove our ability, see what you all think.

Orla

Nobody is doubting your ability, in fact any posts about the club have been very positive, everything from the staff to the tables to the structure has been praised.

The fact is that you're up against established clubs with established clientele so you need to do something different.

Some thoughts on my part,

1. Run earlier tournaments, freezeouts starting at 6.30 or 7pm Tuesdays or Wednesdays

2. Guaranteed prize pools, you've added some money to tournaments already, which was a great idea. I think you need to do this for a few weeks to give punters a very good reason to go to your club. Something like a €50 +€5 reg freezeout. Guaranteed €1,500 prizepool, increasing by €50 for each entry over 30 players. If less than 30 then take the hit..only initially not on-going!

3. Make everyone wear badges, Red is for Muppet/Novice, Amber is for Sometimes Muppet/Amatuer, Green is for Rock/Good player. That way we can all avoid bad beats.

Ok, the 3rd one was a joke, but I do intend dropping in at some stage in the next few weeks to have a look myself. I don't think you're doing anything wrong and I don't think anyone is criticising the club, it'll just take time to come together.

I think it's great that the options are expanding in the city.

Iago wrote:
    Nobody is doubting your ability, in fact any posts about the club have been very positive, everything from the staff to the tables to the structure has been praised.

The fact is that you're up against established clubs with established clientele so you need to do something different.

Some thoughts on my part,

1. Run earlier tournaments, freezeouts starting at 6.30 or 7pm Tuesdays or Wednesdays

2. Guaranteed prize pools, you've added some money to tournaments already, which was a great idea. I think you need to do this for a few weeks to give punters a very good reason to go to your club. Something like a €50 +€5 reg freezeout. Guaranteed €1,500 prizepool, increasing by €50 for each entry over 30 players. If less than 30 then take the hit..only initially not on-going!

3. Make everyone wear badges, Red is for Muppet/Novice, Amber is for Sometimes Muppet/Amatuer, Green is for Rock/Good player. That way we can all avoid bad beats.

Ok, the 3rd one was a joke, but I do intend dropping in at some stage in the next few weeks to have a look myself. I don't think you're doing anything wrong and I don't think anyone is criticising the club, it'll just take time to come together.

I think it's great that the options are expanding in the city.
    Allow me to add my voice to earlier start times, 6:30 or 7 would be ideal mid-week.

Hi Orla,

earlier tourneys would be great.

the structure definitely needs some attention:

I was in for the 25 +2 rebuy friday game and found it was a killer.

starting chips were 1500, 2*45 minute levels which were more than generous....i built up a nice chip lead and then once level 3 arrived, levels dropped to 20 minutes and blinds doubled each level. it took all play out of the game and by the time there were only 3 players gone, it was down to a crapshoot with nobody having more than 10 times the big blind....a real shame since the table was great for the rest of the tourney.

and yes i bubbled it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭dsab

Karlh,

were you there last friday (08th of June)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

earlier start times would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Iago wrote:

forgetaboutit
    -Donnie Brasco-

this means i agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭monkey24

karlh wrote:
    Hi Orla,

earlier tourneys would be great.

the structure definitely needs some attention:

I was in for the 25 +2 rebuy friday game and found it was a killer.

starting chips were 1500, 2*45 minute levels which were more than generous....i built up a nice chip lead and then once level 3 arrived, levels dropped to 20 minutes and blinds doubled each level. it took all play out of the game and by the time there were only 3 players gone, it was down to a crapshoot with nobody having more than 10 times the big blind....a real shame since the table was great for the rest of the tourney.

and yes i bubbled it. :)

I played in the mayfair Friday game twice now. I won the first one I played in and came 3rd the second time ( although only 6 turned up then ).
    I thought the structuring of the blinds was fine, maybe everyone likes to play differently but I didn't mind them increasing.
    I am defo going to head in on a few more Fridays and have some friends who are interested as well. The only complaint I would have is that it needs a good number of players to turn up for each tournament.

I can understand some people complaining about wreckless play. There were two hands I seen played by the same guy when he went all in with 2 7 unsuited and Q high, but both times he got beat, so usually it works out for those who have a better understanding of a game, like 2 7 unsuited isnt the greatest hand to move all in with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

and .....

I'm absolutely positive there is a demand out for a STT night.

Fill up your tables with €10, €20, €30, €50 and €100 options ... and watch those punters arrive !

Keep a couple of tables spare, and as people get knocked out, start up another table !

You've seen how many people that post here play STT's ... you might even get HJ to make an appearance, and brave the great outdoors ;)

dsab wrote:
    Karlh,

were you there last friday (08th of June)?

i was yeah, you at the table. only 8 of us i think.

Then I guess it was me who busted you out. AQ vs A4, I think... Good to put faces to names.

Alex told me on Tuesday, that they gonna fill up the tournament schedule soon. He wasn`t sure what exactly will be added, but he was thinking about a 50 Euro F/O and maybe another rebuy. They will go to a 6 day tournament week.

I suggested to him to maybe dedicate one of the three freerolls to an annual tournament, where the winner gets a trip (incl. Ticket to the WSOP). I am sure that would attract huge intrest, as not everyone is willing (or able) to fork out big money for it, but still would like to give it a shot. If you run that for 30 weeks and get 4 tickets each week, it would mean at least one ticket to the WSOP at the annuel final.

I imagine these freerolls would be very busy.

dsab wrote:
    Then I guess it was me who busted you out. AQ vs A4, I think... Good to put faces to names.

the cheek! :)

were you the bluffer at the end of the table that won it?

i went out AK to J10 if i remember correctly.

anwyays, yeah if you run STTs at all levels and keep s couple of lower cash games ready €25/€50 games ready for the dropouts it would be a great night.

Yeah, I won it quickly after you went out. But I am not 100% sure about the hand, I thought that I called your AQ an all in with A4 and hit the 4 on the turn.
    But I might well be wrong.

BTW, I don`t bluff. :D

i know, pocket sixes are a made hand ;)

wp.

Culchie wrote:
    and .....

I'm absolutely positive there is a demand out for a STT night.

Fill up your tables with €10, €20, €30, €50 and €100 options ... and watch those punters arrive !

Keep a couple of tables spare, and as people get knocked out, start up another table !

You've seen how many people that post here play STT's ... you might even get HJ to make an appearance, and brave the great outdoors ;)

I fully endorse this product or service!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Yeah I'd definately make the trek alot more if there were an interest in STT's

I may play this again tonight as once again I am up early for work tomorrow and the Double Chance in the Fitz does not suit, as Its over to late.

Anybody else heading into the Mayfair tonight...?

if you had a e10 STT option that would great. As long as you don't mind cheap students.

Seriously, you would attract a lot of people since there is a big gap between the freerolls (which aren't much use to someone trying to learn the game) and the next cheapest game (e30 freezeout in the fitz on Sun?).

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I intend on going down to the Mayfair to see it for myself soon (now that I'm actually BACK in the country!). I dont want to play a tournie with a 2-300 prize so I'll head on the €100 night (when is that again?).

Orla, I dont think anyone is complaining particularly. Believe me, if we were complaining... you'd know ALL ABOUT IT :):)
    Its good to interact with the community and I'm glad that you guys seem to be doing it pretty well rather then just pimpage. Take the criticisms for what they are, adjust where you agree with them and realise that not everyone will always be happy.
    I'm a Fitz player, mostly because its the only club where I wasnt made to feel like a "punter" or a rube. I welcome competition in the marketplace though as it keeps everyone on their toes and in the end of the day I'm out to support the players more then any club...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bigun

Dev the next 100 is 3rd aug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

Just wanted to make a comment on this tourny and the club. Couple of us went down to have a look and see what the new club was like. I was quite impressed with the set up. The structure of the tourny was great. 30 minute blinds are nice for a small buy-in tourny. The highest the blinds ever got were 400-800. The standard of play wasn't the greatest tbh. People seemed scared to raise but would gladly call for a middler.

There was only one thing that annoyed me at all, that was the way the flop was dealt out. This is nothing about the dealers, which all seem to be quite well trained and know what they are doing for the most part. But the fact that the flop is dealt with one card at a time. The burn is placed down at a 45 degree angle and then the first card of the flop put on top of this with the following 2 placed one after another to the right of this card. The burn cards for the turn and river are then burned into the pot. I don't like this at all. The flop should be floped down all three cards at the same time so i can see all three at the same time and the burn cards should all be burned into the pot so i can see how many cards hav been burnt easily.

I guess if that's all i can complain about it's a good experience overall. But please mayfair see if you can solve this. I don't need the suspense of seeing what the 2nd and 3rd card of the flop is. I wanna know what they all are at once. </waffle>

Yea I agree about the flop.....abit annoying but only a small thing.Biteme were you one of the two that did a deal...?I went out in third

Dub13 wrote:
    Yea I agree about the flop.....abit annoying but only a small thing.Biteme were you one of the two that did a deal...?I went out in third

We didn't do a deal. There was only 130 quid difference or something so we played it out and I won. I was the guy to the right if you were the guy that kept saying you felt like you were in the way between me and Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

How many runners last night, just as a matter of interest.

Must have been 20 runners last night, it was fun.

There were 19 runners, and the Mayfair added 180 Euro to the Prizepool,

First 5 got paid...

Not 100% about 3rd and fourth...

dsab wrote:
    There were 19 runners, and the Mayfair added 180 Euro to the Prizepool,

First 5 got paid...

Not 100% about 3rd and fourth...

that's the prize structure. I kept looking at it last night trying to see if it was even worth while doing a deal

I'm curious to who all these boards people are that were there that i didn't recoignise.

biteme wrote:
    I'm curious to who all these boards people are that were there that i didn't recoignise.

I went out third,I was the one in between you two on the final table.Nice little tournament.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I ended up in there last night and liked the club, its small and intimate. Nothing really more to say about it, the dealers were good but I don't like the "flop" either. Its called a flop for a reason :)
    But thats a minor point, the food was good and also inexpensive too.

Can't say anything against the club really, though those nice long blinds will be a problem if you have 60 runners :)
    Earlier start times would help those with jobs I guess. Lucky I'm not really one of them :)

Horrible standard of play mostly, including myself :)
    I recognised a few faces from the Fitz and I expect you'll see more regular poker players in there when the word spreads.

DeV.

*bumpidy bump

anyone else joining in tonight?

I mite head in again,not sure yet Liverpool are playing tonight.....