Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martial Arts Board Meet and Fight

• 11-07-2005 12:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

Would it be possible to have another "open seminar" from some of the martial arts instructors on boards.ie? I didn't get a chance to go to the other one unfortunetly.

Probably the format would be an hour or two on a saturday or sunday in some accessible gym in Dublin where the MT, TKD, BJJ, T(J)JJ, KM, (what was that street self defense acronym again?), and whoever is interested could come and show the others their style. Maybe give a few people who've been on the edge of "taking up a martial art" could come and have a gander.

Anyone interested? Any weddings, births coming up? Probably a few holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Yeah Id do this again but only if people were gonna turn up!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Why? Nobody turn up the last time?

TBH, I think it's a waste of time if you want to refer to it as some kind of share and share alike thing. You'll get all the lads who are into combat sports going and none of the floating mystics.

If it's just a good ol training session then yes I'd be interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

we can do whatever the people that turn up want to do.

Yeah we can base the session on whoever turns up.

I'm more than happy to try out some TMA stuff. No worries there. The question is are the people who talk about the effectiveness of their TMA stuff willing to give combat sports a try?

i knew columk would make this into it's a chance to prove our martial art is better than yours thing. it won't be like that. it may be hard to incorpate somethning like TKD into a BJJ session, i'm open to any suggestions. i mean i don't have a clue how these things work does anyone have experience of running mixed discipline sessions?

if a good lot turned up, the ninjas could spar or whatever and the grapplers could do there own tning. then have a royal rumble at the end. i baggsy colm. actually and clive.

No Im not turning it into style vs style.

However, the people who talk about MMA people not being open minded enough are the people who dont come to things like this.

I trained Aikido & Karate for long enough to be able to spend an afternoon training TKD etc. Im open letting these people show me what they do.

So all those people who talk all day on the boards about the essence of their art, why not show up and show us in person.

Ok. Hopefully we can get 10 people plus, any less that that would be disappointing. Any ideas for a venue?

Somewhere as close to the city centre as possible.

I'm fairly sure that if we suggest a SBG location certain people wont show up cause they'll blame us for just wanting to "pimp MMA". JK kindly let us have Harold' Cross last time.

Anyone have the use of a big-ish hall on a sunday afternoon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It's a chore making it up to Dublin but if I'm not clogged down with work, I'll go. Set a date, preferably a weekend.

Yeah John I think the weekend would suit everyone.

Seeing a lot of names at the bottom of the page. Anyone else interested in putting their name to a joint training day/class?

It so happens I have my school on a Sunday afternoon if I want it. 20mm jigsaw matting, thai pads, kick shields and focus mitts for those of you who want to focus your Chi. ;)

Make it a weekend that suits me and you're on in Glasnevin, on the Nortsoide of Dublin for once. :D

Oh and it's a TKD school primarily, so TMAer's get first dibs on the dressing rooms. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

It's a bit of a trek for me to get up to dublin and I've a lot of stuff on at the mo I doubt I'd make it. Plus what I do has been designed specifically for The Streets of Limerick (check out LUMA ) and is ultra effective so I couldn't really show ye any of it without charging.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    It's a bit of a trek for me to get up to dublin and I've a lot of stuff on at the mo I doubt I'd make it. Plus what I do has been designed specifically for The Streets of Limerick (check out LUMA ) and is ultra effective so I couldn't really show ye any of it without charging.

seriously?

WOW!
    I'd pay Tim!
    I've PMed you my credit card number.

from the website

Instead we use different coloured rashguards to differentiate between different grades. These rashguards are conveniently available from LUMA HQ at a reasonable price.

roffle. money making at it's best. i'd tempted to say you're full of crap and looking for $$$ but you can fight. so i'm saying, despite the fact you can fight (i'm not sure how well you coach) you're very greedy.

capalistisic martial artistists? as common keyboard MA warriors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

roffle. money making at it's best. i'd tempted to say you're full of crap and looking for $$$ but you can fight. so i'm saying, despite the fact you can fight (i'm not sure how well you coach) you're very greedy.

capalistisic martial artistists? as common keyboard MA warriors?

Tim an excellent coach and any money invested in this type of training is money well spent

To say that it is "money making at it's best" is not untrue but then again
    You buy a Skoda you get a Car
    You buy a Mercedes you get a lifestyle
    The same is true about the LUMA other wise why would they say, "When it's this expensive is has to be good"

it's a pity. sorry to go off topic but is Tim in UL. i mean is he still a student? i've always assumed so. hey tim, i don't think i can afford to book you for a full session but i'll buy you a pint if you come and show me how to do good kicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

If i get up before 12 on a sunday agian and nobody shows up again i would be very disappointed.

sorry mick we're doing our best to get bodies down but some of them are expensive.

why don't we really push the boat out and have it in cork or somewhere? any offers?

i hate jigsaw mats.

Because the majority of us live in dublin. Last time we had a great venue near dublin city center and no one showed up, i'm sure as hell not going all the way to cork for no one to show up. And jigsaw mats are fine, good for slamin'

not for the person getting slammed

Jigsaw mats are grand.

LOL at Tim! Goooooo LUMA!

So who is interested so far? Names please. 96 views but how many people have committed to actually turning up?

I'm in.

don't think i can make it that weekend. sorry lads.

hehe.

People interested:
    Kevin_RC
    TwoKingMick
    Columok
    Dlofnep
    Roper

Is that it from the whole boards.ie community?

I wish my grimlock picture was more angry looking. He should be going grrrrrrrr! At kevin.

"kev" will go i assume. i'll let him confirm for himself.

He better, i imagine riley will too, i'll treaten them both tonight, but so far its 6 bjj guys and you.

i kill you all.

Roper is 70% TKD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭briano

I wouldn't mind heading in. I probably will mind getting thrown about by the MMA'rs, but what doesn't kill you..

(It won't kill me, right? :eek: )

i could, actually i won't, i'd have to charge you my stuff is so lethal it's really expensive.

Wellllll, If its expensive it just HAS to be good...

WOW!
    I'd pay Tim!
    I've PMed you my credit card number.
    Thats the type of positive attitude I'd like to see more of!!!
    To say that it is "money making at it's best" is not untrue but then again
    You buy a Skoda you get a Car
    You buy a Mercedes you get a lifestyle
    The same is true about the LUMA other wise why would they say, "When it's this expensive is has to be good"
    Well said Sabum Healy.
    hey tim, i don't think i can afford to book you for a full session but i'll buy you a pint if you come and show me how to do good kicks.
    Well I have always found it hard to say no to pints...
    BTW, I am still in UL, struggling through a masters. One day I just woke up and realised that after 5 years coaching and instructing that I haven't made nearly enough money from martial arts. Then after discussions with Sabum Healy LUMA was born.

Wellllll, If its expensive it just HAS to be good...
    Hey!!!!
    No unauthorized use of the LUMA slogan is permitted! :mad:

cool. did you have any guys in the judo competition in UL. I think TJ trains with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Kev

I'll go.

What weekend is it on? I might be able to get a few lads up. It will have to be before August though because I'm heading off to Roger Gracie's place for a few weeks to train.

the fellowship has nearly formed.

columok you're legolas.
    i'm gimli.
    kev is frodo
    tim can be samwise
    birano can be the other hobbit.
    twokingmick - i'll let you be aragorn.
    gandalf dloppef
    dudara can be the elf chick.

birano can be the other hobbit.

The only 200+ cm Hobbit ever. But meh, my feet are hairy after all.

ok you're an ent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the place we train is smack bang in le city centre but unfortunately i cant see the lad who holds the keys being to keen on giving room up for outsiders :(

one suggestion: As this is the hollier season so perhaps we could stick up some date suggestions, arrive at one date and then (and this is the important bit) sticky that mofo with the date IN the topic, otherwise ****wit here will forget and i bet other equally *****witted forumites will too :D

Tim is that LUMA a joke or do they actually have a place?

uh-oh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

just quit my job so just name the place and time and i'll join the fellowship, hey kevin since you've got nearly every1 named can i be Boromir
    (yea he dies but look how many times they had to stab and shoot him)

i'll have to buy a new Gi for the session. very cop style, i had to turn in my Gi when i left the Force/Club :cool:

Cade is boromir.

what's you MA background cade?

Wado Ryu Karate-Do, left my club 2 years ago as a 3rd kyu Brown belt so i'd say ive still got the skills of a good green belt :)

as far as i can see from lookin through the style and grade thread im the only practicioner of the style here (please dont shout at me if im wrong :D)

ok. i know a few ppl doing that. looks like a larf. how come u quit?

i had a few reasons, i didnt like the way the federation was changing, college was getting in the way and i was spending more time teaching the new beginners than working on my own technique, so i pulled myself out of the european championships in 2002 stayed around for a few weeks graded for brown belt then walked out 2 weeks later.