Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most likeable nationalities

• 30-06-2005 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭

What are your favourite nationalities? Bit of a generalization here, but I reckon that’s okay seeing as it’s positive generalization. I don’t mean to imply that any nation is ‘better’ than any other, just what nationalities do you seem to get on best with?

Mine, in no particular order:
    Australian/Chinese/German/Dutch/Canadian.

Apologies if this thread is in the wrong place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

If you left out German, you would be A/C/D/C.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

I'd say my favourite is the Chinese ... I worked with them in McDonalds and found them to be very nice people!

I also like the Irish :rolleyes:, the Spanish and the French

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

I like the Scottish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

the english

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Nigerian, Friendly, unopposing, quiet, gentle and considerate folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

Irish, Scottish, Australian, English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

oh, the welsh too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

irish, germans (meeting them at techno nights is crazy), spaniards, yanks, ozzies & dutch are all great fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Icelandic... beautiful country and beautiful people.
    Any Scandanavians are usually very nice.... not a fan of the dutch though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

The canadians and the americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Brazilians, happy fun-lovin people - the ones ive met anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

Australians?? Are ye's ****in crazy?! Loud muthas full of it. Work with a ****load of em. New Zealanders are more down to earth, Croatians are friendly, easy going, and the Dutch are cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Dutch, British (N.Ireland in perticular), Italians, Danish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

you get your good and your d1ckheads everywhere you go you cant pin it down to a single nationality. ive met some irish d1ckheads some english ones and some spanish ones, all in all the only non dickheads ive met have been, nigerians, jamaicans and italians, they are just so easy going! but im sure there are some dickheads from there i haven't met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Macka

Canadians, Scottish, Australians, South Africans and Scandanavians
    I really don't like the French, Italians or Russians (there was a load of them in my old secondary school and they scared the absolute **** out of me, most intimidating people ever)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Neuro

"Born in iniquity and conceived in sin, the spirit of nationalism has never ceased to bend human institutions to the service of dissension and distress."
    - Thorstein Veblen

"Nationalism is an infantile disease. It is the measles of mankind."
    - Albert Einstein

"Patriotism is the willingness to kill and be killed for trivial reasons."
    - Bertrand Russell

"Nations have lost their old omnipotence; the patriotic tie does not hold. Nations are getting obsolete, we go and live where we will."
    - Ralph Waldo Emerson

"Our true nationality is mankind."
    - H. G. Wells

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Feenikusu

Irish, Scottish, Japanese, Italian...I'm sure I've forgotten something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

None in particular. I've met cool english, french, german, yugoslavian, bosnian, itialian, south african, american, nigerian, cameroon, and cork people.

I do like the way Irish people live up to the fun luvin drunken stereotype when you meet them abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Portegeuse peopl are really sound. Not saying other people arent like but I loved Portugal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Like-All Scandanavians/Dutch/Belgians/Greeks/Kiwis/Aussies/Scottish(except huns :D ) Welsh,some English.

Dislike-Germans(dry shi ts no sense of humour) Spanish-Rude-French-Arrogant
    Eastern Europeans-Bitter looking bas tards-Italians-Up Their own arse s. :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

- Albert Einstein

coming from a man who came from america. I dont agree with this quote!

"Our true nationality is mankind."
    - H. G. Wells

ye i like that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Monkeys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Go Finland! Irish people are cool. Some of them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Norwegian and it NOT because I'm from there....... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I resent the notion of "Japanese edition with bonus tracks" / "released in Japan only" when it comes to records/cds. Why? Why not China?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

- Albert Einstein
    coming from a man who came from america. I dont agree with this quote!
    Eh...? He was from Germany....

He saw first hand how ugly Nationalism can become.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

French, cos they're so damn arrogant and thats just great! :D

Kiwis (Nzers), Scottish, Welsh, Italian, Polish, Canadian.

And I've got a bit of thing for the far flung man. I have and have had bfs from 3 of the above :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I like Aussies and Scots. Cant stand the English. Some of them get on my nerves. I like Catalans too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

i love the finns, portuguese and find the japanese hilarious. polish people are cool too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Eh...? He was from Germany....

He saw first hand how ugly Nationalism can become.

ok i was a bit of a dumbass there :rolleyes: but he was an american citezen for 15 years(or so) of his life...

having said that i now realise i was wrong and he is(in some ways) right.

ps. did i mention i was a dumbass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I work with a Polish girl, Romanian girl (both very attractive :) ) and a Turkish lad. They couldn't be nicer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

I like the humans best.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    I resent the notion of "Japanese edition with bonus tracks" / "released in Japan only" when it comes to records/cds. Why? Why not China?
    Way OT but I'm sure you'd get the CD in China pre-release for $1

Haven't yet met a Basque I didn't like, but nationalism implies xenophobia so not a biggie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭zachler

I like Finnish and French most. Portuguese and Greek too.

Dislike Dutch and English. Not crazy about Northerners either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

scottish and the finns are pretty cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Japanese/Chinese are cool, hardworking and very polite, which I really respect. Germans are quite respectable and very disciplined, which makes them good colleagues..
    Scandinavians and Portuguese are great fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

well obviously everyone was typecasting but pet brought the international stereotyping to the next level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I think tbh its very hard to label a whole race because in your life you maybe encountered 3 people from there

Like, the Germans have a reputation for being dull, strict, very work orientated, clean living, conservative etc etc. One of my best mates is of German parentage. His mother is a laid back hippy who doesnt mind us smokin joints in the gaff

The main non Irish in my workplace (I work in a popular large chain take away, shant say which) are Chinese (male and female) and girls from the new EU states. One or two of the Chinese can be very impatient when training in new staff, and when I was being trained on cooking I got the impression I was being talked about between them (in all fairness, the Chinese are the fastest workers in the world. Theyre faster than us, the East Europeans, anybody really. Remember I was in Coyote Lounge one night for my sins, honestly never saw people be served and given change as fast and seemingly flawlessly). And the other day one of them savaged a new girl from E Europe for some very minor mistake. Jesus, some pricks forget they were once starting out in the job too :rolleyes:
    So yes, I work with a few Chinese who can be insular or just downright impatient tossers. But then some of them are fine, and the manager of the takeaway down the road is well friendly, so what does it prove? That like the Irish they have their tossers and sound lads too. But people wrongly judge the whole lot from meeting half a dozen of them. Ive got English mates, but when an English shopkepper once refused to break a 5 into coins without purchase I felt like Michael Douglas in Falling Down when the Korean guy does similiar :mad: And if you judged the English purely by watching interviews with their football fans abroad during WC or Euro Finals, nuking the UK would seem a great idea

Mind you, every Spaniard I ever encountered seemed to be slightly nerdy with a taste in fashion that would get you stabbed in much of Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭cordelia

Canadians: a more polite and friendly crowd you'll never meet. They're even friendly when they get into fights! (This I have witnessed first hand)

Irish: need more be said? :D

Best, friendliest night: when the Canadians and the Irish go out drinking together!!!!!!! Canadians have the same sense of humor and are the only North American country that can keep up with the Irish pint for pint and still walk home. And I should know, lots of family in Canada!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Australians and Chinese are lovely. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

cordelia wrote:
    Canadians: a more polite and friendly crowd you'll never meet. They're even friendly when they get into fights! (This I have witnessed first hand)

Irish: need more be said? :D

Best, friendliest night: when the Canadians and the Irish go out drinking together!!!!!!! Canadians have the same sense of humor and are the only North American country that can keep up with the Irish pint for pint and still walk home. And I should know, lots of family in Canada!!!

Wow they can drink what an amazing ability what is even cooler is that they can do it in the same room as an Irish man unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

OT
    The reason they have special tracks on the Japanese releases is to stop the Japanese buying imports which are mostly cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Scratch Acid

From my limited experience, the Dutch seem a particularly amiable bunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭cordelia

Wow they can drink what an amazing ability what is even cooler is that they can do it in the same room as an Irish man unbelievable.

Yes, isn't it just?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

Germans rock...

as do new zealanders (sp?)

kosovon albanians

kosovon serbians

French

Dutch

Scottish

English

Italian

Russian

CRAP! i cant really say i've met so many people of different nationalities and i can only think of two where the majority pissed me off and it has nothing to do with nationality but more with social upbringing and the people in question...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

English, Aussies and Thai people (esp Thai women!) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

i can only presume that the folks who are praising australians are going on their experience in australia cos most of the ones ive met here are loudmouth whingers,who seem to constantly gripe about how things are better back home,i always had this idea that aussies worked hard & played hard & got on with things & slagged the brits for being "whinging poms" - maybe ive just had bad luck with the aussies ive met. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Czechs and Aussies, a great bunch of lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭RVN10

The dutch are great, but dont start me on the spanish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Asian chicks.

What??