Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nooooo!!!!!!!!

• 27-06-2005 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭

I can't believe this. After buying it on the first day of sale, not even knowing who was playing but already looking forward to a weekend of debauchery, I've lost my Oxegen ticket. :(

Words can't describe how gutted I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

Ah arse! Thats a pain.

Sure it must be there somewhere? Have a good look, iftheres no sign assume some fecker has stolen it and ring the gardai, a full scale investigation must be launched immediately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

good god thats gay. The usual "where was the last place you saw it". It has to be somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Checked the whole house. It was on the mantelpiece, I think one of my flatmates is after throwing it out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

arg. Thats fukkin terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Quick into the bin with you its not too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

It was on the mantelpiece, I think one of my flatmates is going to Oxegen. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Geiger

Ouch, that sucks. Sure you weren't drunk and in the same room as the ticket? Maybe you moved it to a 'safer' place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭mad m

Sleepy wrote:
    I think one of my flatmates is after throwing it out :(

I'd watch to see where he is going that weekend.Did you check the fireplace it may have been blown in when front door opened.

Hardluck Sleepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭rancheros

do u have the receipt thats attached to it, ticket master may be able to cancel and re issue the ticket

rancheros wrote:
    do u have the receipt thats attached to it, ticket master may be able to cancel and re issue the ticket

Doubt they'd do that. Everyone would trade in their receipt and get another free ticket. Then sell it to their mates or ebay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

The ticket checkers at Oxygen aren't going to know what ticket has been cancelled...

You're some cynical man Victor! I'd thought of trying to contact Ticketmaster like that alright but I can't see them doing anything for me, it is Ticketmaster we're talking about here...

I've turned my room over twice but I don't seem to have it there. The possibility of me having "put it somewhere safe" whilst drunk exists but it's one I'm quite skeptical of at the moment! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Sleepy wrote:

I've turned my room over twice but I don't seem to have it there. The possibility of me having "put it somewhere safe" whilst drunk exists but it's one I'm quite skeptical of at the moment! :(

ah the forgetful squirrel syndrome, except instead of hiding nuts you hid your oxegen ticket....

now where would a squirrel hide an oxygen ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Cant you show them the reciept and get a new ticket.

John

Lump wrote:
    Cant you show them the reciept and get a new ticket.

John

how could a cancelled ticket be traced though?

if a new ticket was given and then he found the origional one whats to stop him selling it on
    Geiger wrote:
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Solitaryman666
    Yeah but he said if they cancel the old ticket, meaning it's no good to sell.

The ticket checkers at Oxygen aren't going to know what ticket has been cancelled...

All I'd have is the email confirmation, the ticket was still in the envelope with the receipt attached. TBH, if I'd just received the ticket in the mail recently I'd probably try convincing Ticketmaster that it got lost in the mail but the fact is, I bought it on the day of first release so it'd be a bit obvious!

Still its worth ringing ticketmaster tomorrow and explaining the situation, they MAY be able to do something.....

worth a try!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Son of Belial

There is light at the end of the tunnel. Report it stolen or something to Ticketmaster and to the guards (though you don't have to get the guards in on it). They use this scanning thing now to scan tickets in at the gate by the bar code on them. I wouldn't want to be the fúcker who tries to use that ticket at the gate, it'll be useless to him/her. I remember at Coldplay there were a couple of tickets bought by credit card fraud and the two women who came alonmg with them were questioned. Show the receipt and they'll log the barcode onto their system. I hope this info helps.

I'll call them tomorrow so. Won't get my hopes up just yet though cos at the end of the day it is ticketmaster!

I'll be doing security at it. I'm willing to lend a paw if I can...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

When did they start with this barcode scanning stuff?

It's clever... any gig I've been to they just tear the stub off the ticket or, in the case of Oxegen, take your ticket and give you the arm band...

People I work for went to Stockholm to see Bruce Springsteen there last weekend and the tickets all have your name on them and you're IDed when you go in so they know it was you who bought them...

Stops touting/ticket stealing...

Still it'd be a bollocks if you couldn't go and wanted to give the ticket to your friend or sell it (at face value)

Sleepy wrote:
    I'll call them tomorrow so. Won't get my hopes up just yet though cos at the end of the day it is ticketmaster!

well best of luck,

i was in a panic cos i never got my ticket in time but luckily a friend well semi-friend decided not to go for reasons I really dont care about but sold me his ticket yesterday.

Steveland? wrote:
    When did they start with this barcode scanning stuff?
    Relatively recently I believe. We were all given these palm-pilot things with touch screens and everything to scan tickets, they were the business.

I just hope they're using them at Oxegen. There's a section about lost/stolen/damaged tickets on the website but it's not exactly cut and dried so I'll have to see how much I can sweet-talk whoever's on the other end of the phone!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

ouch hard luck man! im always super careful with concert tickets in case that happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

Lend a paw as in let people in for free, perchance? :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

ya a sigh saying boards this way and no1 will understand but us:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Thats terrible sleepy..

But I'm just trembling with excitement to know how the phone call went..

Dont forget to add the 'Power of Boards' with its 40k users .. potential advertising disaster..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Dr.Feelgood

Best of luck with everything you try man.

Hope you get in!!!

Couldn't get through on the customer support line so I've fired them a nice polite email. I'll save the screaming and pleading for later!

Sleepy wrote:
    Couldn't get through on the customer support line so I've fired them a nice polite email. I'll save the screaming and pleading for later!

Do you still have the receipt though? I thought it was in the envelope with the ticket? That's pretty interesting about the ticket scanning. Excellent if you've lost a ticket but does it add much queuing time?

Good luck getting a new ticket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Sleepy wrote:
    Checked the whole house. It was on the mantelpiece, I think one of my flatmates is after throwing it out :(
    hence why I'm keeping my Maiden/Manson ticket under my stereo! In an envelope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Eh.....Yeah Right!!!:D
    Oh and sleepy I hope you find your ticket or just tie up your flat mates the the night before the gig and wait to see who cracks first!!:D Honest hope ya find the ticket good luck mate!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I used to do this constantly. Last time was with my motorhead ticket. The horrible thing is you'll find the damn thing a day or two after the gig :(

nope! Mines slotted in its little place with IRON MAIDEN and MARYLIN MANSON drawn all over the envelope!

Bambi wrote:
    I used to do this constantly. Last time was with my motorhead ticket. The horrible thing is you'll find the damn thing a day or two after the gig :(
    Dude you do realise that you will go to heaven for not seeing Lemmy and the boys!!!
    And while your up there we will all be at the Monsters of Rock Vs The Clash of the Titans gig in Hell!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 cmaclo

No way so im not the only one! my tickets went missing along with my wallet about 2 weeks ago, i am gutted :mad:

I lost 2 camping tickets.. one of them is my mates and i still havent told her.. shes going to kick my ass! We even bought a tent for the weekend!..

I rang ticketmaster just there last Friday and they told me at an open concert like that theres nothing they can do for me :-(

If you do manage to find some1 at ticketmaster that can help you let me know... i dont have a receipt but its on my credit card...

haha!
    VAL HALA

Le Rack wrote:
    nope! Mines slotted in its little place with IRON MAIDEN and MARYLIN MANSON drawn all over the envelope!
    Good stuff, Thats one reserved seat on the NiteLink (or Fightlink or VommitComet or what ever ya call it) to Hell for you me bucko!!!! See ya there:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭rideordie

damn..thats tough luck..I'm sure you'll find it..and if you do..I'll be working at the food trailer so come and say Hi to me then.. :D you better be there..

cmaclo wrote:
    No way so im not the only one! my tickets went missing along with my wallet about 2 weeks ago, i am gutted :mad:

I lost 2 camping tickets.. one of them is my mates and i still havent told her.. shes going to kick my ass! We even bought a tent for the weekend!..

I rang ticketmaster just there last Friday and they told me at an open concert like that theres nothing they can do for me :-(

If you do manage to find some1 at ticketmaster that can help you let me know... i dont have a receipt but its on my credit card...
    Dude phone your credit card company, dont they have insurance for certain things like that,they might cover that eh???

rideordie wrote:
    damn..thats tough luck..I'm sure you'll find it..and if you do..I'll be working at the food trailer so come and say Hi to me then.. :D you better be there..
    Free food aswell dude you rock!!!:D

Nope, don't have my receipt but I've got the confirmation number. I've a good feeling I'll be told the same as you cmaclo, not gonna get my hopes up (hence the sig). Just gonna keep turning over every room in the house til I find it. If it's not there it's in the dump somewhere :(

RedRaven wrote:
    Dude phone your credit card company, dont they have insurance for certain things like that,they might cover that eh???
    Not a bad idea RedRaven but they can't replace tickets to a sold out gig. :(

RedRaven wrote:
    Good stuff, Thats one reserved seat on the NiteLink (or Fightlink or VommitComet or what ever ya call it) to Hell for you me bucko!!!! See ya there:D
    *me drums fingers together* Excellent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭rideordie

Everyone who's going come and say Hi to me at the food trailer..I don't know exactly where it's gonna be but I hope where it was last year...just by the stage so I get to see all the bands :D and get payed for it.. :D

Sleepy wrote:
    Not a bad idea RedRaven but they can't replace tickets to a sold out gig. :(
    Yeah but Two tickets and camping etc. worth a few quid no???

I'm such a plank. I'd brought them home to Galway because I didn't trust myself not to lose them and then forgot that I'd done it...