Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill 16

• 22-06-2005 1:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭

While I find the Dublin fans the most entertaining fans in the country, I was disgusted with a certain section of the Hill with their antics last Sunday.

Real Dublin fans are noted for their quick wit and singing not the scences we all witnessed last weekend. I'm surprised this hasn't received more attention in the national media.

I can see a situtation where the scenes we see in certain soccer matches (crowd trouble) will eventually become more prevalent within the GAA. This should be stamped out now before it becomes a major problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

why is it just dublin fans? or are you just singling out one event?

every county has a portion of fans that are all the same.

*note: I dont know what yore referring to as I didn't see the game.

this better not turn into a dublin fans [ or any other fans ] bashing thread.

Be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭McClane

why is it just dublin fans? or are you just singling out one event?

Throwing fireworks on the field when the opposition is taking a penalty, throwing bottles and other misc stuff. Booing at the opposition freetakers which strangely enough was LOUDER then the actual chering when Dublin scored.

Obviously this doesn't represent all dub fans but this scumbaggery has no place in GAA. It was appaling to see it in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

this better not turn into a dublin fans [ or any other fans ] bashing thread.
    Why not?

Whats wrong with discussing the perception the rest of the country has with summertime dublin supporters?

Fireworks bottles - at a gaa match!!! FFS! But god forbid one word is written in the papers about it.

After all Irish media is dominated by Dublin publications.

This booing opposition free-takers has to stop.

I would personally love to see Dublin win an All-Ireland for what it would do for the game but I have a real problem with the scum-bag element also present.

All it needs is for players and media to condem it. make a statement like we appreciate dublin support but do not want all to be painted with the same brush or something.

why not?

why tar all dublin supporters with the one brush cos of a minority? or any other supporters for that matter?
    Whats wrong with discussing the perception the rest of the country has with summertime dublin supporters?

again, they are in the minority. I fail to see why they would affect you so much.

Fireworks on the pitch, missiles being thrown, booing of opposition freetakers.

And not a single WORD about it in the media.

Thats why it annoys us so much.

so it's a media issue. I'll move this to news/media if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

I sat on the cusac as among amony Dublin 'Genuine suporters' last summer During Dublin Roscommon - I was wearing my Roscommon Jersey - needless to say my Dublin Girlfriend was ashamed to call herself dublin at the insults i got.
    I am up for a banter and slagging at matches with mixed crouds but there no need for the hate and insults that were being thrown. These were not tracksuit wearing scumbags but well dressed joes.
    I have never got this sitting with any other crowd -
    kaimera - nobody is saying it's all Dublin fans - but it's definately a larger proportion than any other fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

kaimera wrote:
    why not?

why tar all dublin supporters with the one brush cos of a minority? or any other supporters for that matter?

again, they are in the minority. I fail to see why they would affect you so much.

My original post staed 'a certain section of the hill' Obviously these people are in the minority and should be kicked out of Croke Park before it escalates. Surely you condemn fireworks being thrown on the pitch and constant booing of arguably the best corner forward in the game at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I would personally love to see Dublin win an All-Ireland for what it would do for the game
    This i dont understand. How would it be good for the game? I fail to see the logic in this, it would be great for the game in Dublin, theres also 31 other counties, who if they won the All-Ireland it would be great for the game there.

Now i think anyone who was in Croke Park last sunday knows the craic. It was a disgrace the way the Dublin fans on the Hill behaved. Im saying of course the majority of the fans on the hill because obviously i couldnt see every single one of them. In fact, the majority of the Dublin fans. The boos when wexford were taking free kicks were deafening, and this is not something i have ever come across when anyone except Dublin have been playing. This is disregarding the bottle throwing and fireworks by the way.

Dublin fans are obviously very enthusiastic, and its great to hear the songs and chants when they get going (from a Kildareman!), but its the unsporting behaviour of theyre fans which really tarnish their reputation, and make the rest of the country hate them. Also they have the media in their pocket, but thats another story.....

of course I condemn the action of those who engaged in the activites but it's not just Dublin fans that behave in such a way.

I just dont want this to turn into a bash all dub supporters thread okey dokey?

keep the thread going but do not tar all supporters. Choose yer words carefully.

of course I condemn the action of those who engaged in the activites but it's not just Dublin fans that behave in such a way.

Throwing fireworks and bottles etc on the pitch ? I have never witnessed this except when Dublin are playing. Everyone else 0 Dubs 1

Shouting insults at THE BEST corner forward (Any player) in the country every time he gets near the ball, i've never seen this done unless they have done something unsporting (Like Colm Copper against Limerick). Everyone else 0 Dubs 2

Literally deafening booing at the opposition everytime they take a free ? I have never witnessed that except from Dub fans. Even in Soccer matches you generally have to do something wrong/unsportsmanlike to deserve that. Everyone else 0 Dubs 3

Random insults thrown at your own players/ref/opposition. Witnessed this quite a few occasions, although in all honesty and fairness its rare enough you hear people shouting at the opposition unless they deserved it/fouled their team players. Everyone else 1 Dubs 4

And what really pisses me off about Dub fans. Insulting behaviour toward the oppositions supporters who are watching the game beside you. I have NEVER seen anyone else do this apart from Dubs. Where do they think they are ? Man Utd vs Arsenal in old trafford ???

Everyone else 1 Dubs 5.

Again i'm not dubbing all Dub fans like this, just the "Summertime" ones and no it isn't just scumbags either.
    This is the reason i am always glad when dublin get beaten out of the championship early. Thats no kind of behaviour for the GAA especially with the numbers of "bad apples" the Dubs seem to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Thanks for defending us there Kaim. In most of the above instances I agree, the fireworks and bottles being thrown onto the pitch really annoyed me, and there is no place for it. As for the booing of Mattie Fords free kicks, I think you are making mountains out of molehills. That is just the Dubs being cheeky. Egan, I am sorry but I think you are lying, exagerating or are over sensitive, as I have not witnessed the kind of taunting you describe, except at Meath matches, which I often leave ashamed of being a Dublin fan. Having said that Meath fans are capable of equally appalling behaviour. I am getting kinda of sick of being called a knacker or scumbag every time I log into this forum. I have been posting here longer then the vast majoirty of you, and in fact I constantly rquested a GAA forum on boards until one was eventually set up.

Yeah, it must be stressed that the fans in question arent the "real fans". You'll get a real fan in Clones on a cold sunday in the middle of february, but the ones who turn up in summer, with an "us against them" mentality, and assume a rivalry between every county they play arent real fans imo. Ive encountered both types etc, but i still feel that Dublin have a v v large proportion of these when it comes to championship time.

Waylander wrote:
    Thanks for defending us there Kaim. In most of the above instances I agree, the fireworks and bottles being thrown onto the pitch really annoyed me, and there is no place for it. As for the booing of Mattie Fords free kicks, I think you are making mountains out of molehills. That is just the Dubs being cheeky. Egan, I am sorry but I think you are lying, exagerating or are over sensitive, as I have not witnessed the kind of taunting you describe, except at Meath matches, which I often leave ashamed of being a Dublin fan. Having said that Meath fans are capable of equally appalling behaviour. I am getting kinda of sick of being called a knacker or scumbag every time I log into this forum. I have been posting here longer then the vast majoirty of you, and in fact I constantly rquested a GAA forum on boards until one was eventually set up.
    Nobody is calling you a knacker. We are reflecting on your fellow dubs, who really tarnish the Dublin team. And the booing really was deafening, theres an element of being cheeky, but every single free taken, and the waving of arms at the back of the goals, every single time is just bad form, and if this is the future of the GAA its disappointing

Waylander noones labelling you a scumbag etc. Nor the mjaoiryt of dub supporters but from my own experience and i do go to a lot of games the behaviour of a large percentae of dub fans is absolutely sickening.

You just DON'T do that kind of **** at GAA matches. And as for booing Mattie Forde, thats not a mountain out of a molehill and i don't care if its "dublin fans being cheeky". Thats no excuse if its right or wrong. You don't get extra privileges because your from Dub, theres no excuse for that behaviour.

Granted i've never being to a Meath mach so i can't commet on Meath supporters but i go to loads of matches in Munster/Connacht and theres nothing like that crap going on ever. I go to a few Leinster matches too and honestly whenever theres a large dub following i am sorry i ever went to it.

I have being to Dub matches when they haven't had a large following and they are absolutely sound people, the same as anyone else in the country but whenever theres a big match there always seems to be a very large contigent of scum.

Again, i'm not labelling you anything nor the majority of dubs, just this contigent of scum that seem to show up whenever ye're doing well.

Note: Keyboard at work sucks hence the bad spelling.

kaimera wrote:
    keep the thread going but do not tar all supporters. Choose yer words carefully.

Another case of Dublin fans with the media in their pocket ;):D

:) i take what I can

Waylander wrote:
    Egan, I am sorry but I think you are lying, exagerating or are over sensitive, as I have not witnessed the kind of taunting you describe, except at Meath matches, which I often leave ashamed of being a Dublin fan. Having said that Meath fans are capable of equally appalling behaviour. I am getting kinda of sick of being called a knacker or scumbag every time I log into this forum. I have been posting here longer then the vast majoirty of you, and in fact I constantly rquested a GAA forum on boards until one was eventually set up.

I am neither lying, exagerating or over sensitive
    In fact it was water of a ducks back.
    I have no reason to lie???

If it occurs at a Meath match is'nt possible that it could happen at another match?

I never called you a scumbag /knacker

ColHol you have to bear in mind that there are usually alot more Dublin fans then any other counties, so there are bound to be more halfwits. Not much can be done about this. As regards the booing I really do not think it was that bad form, and I think the throat infection and the flu Mattie had in the run up to the game had alot more to do with his relatively quiet performance, as opposed to dubs booing him. There are sveral Dublin fans who post here regularly, none of them have ever shown themselves to be scumbags on these boards, and all have shown themselves to be knowledgeable about the game. I cant speak for Al, Rooster, Flukey etc, but personally I feel that their are certain posters on this site who take pleasure from trying to lay the boot in to the Dublin team or Dublin fans. Without these record attendances that Dublin fans consistently give the GAA Croke Park would still be a glorified shed, and we would not have the magnificent stadium that is currently there. Maybe soneone should start a thread patting the Dublin fans on the back for a change instead of laying the boot in!

Waylander wrote:
    Without these record attendances that Dublin fans consistently give the GAA Croke Park would still be a glorified shed, and we would not have the magnificent stadium that is currently there. Maybe soneone should start a thread patting the Dublin fans on the back for a change instead of laying the boot in!

And what about the 31 other counties that contributed im sure the majority of fans were not dublin fans if that's the point you are making

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

It sounds like Mcclane is not from Dublin to be honest. Go away cultchie! :p

No my point is that Dublin fans, more consistently than any other county, fill the stadiums, and all they get is grief. This is fact!

In answer to you question about Meath fans, you can rest assured that Dublin and Meath fans have a special place in each others hearts. Both sides save their best materials for these encounters.

Waylander wrote:
    No my point is that Dublin fans, more consistently than any other county, fill the stadiums, and all they get is grief. This is fact!

Now who's 'over sensitive' :D

ColHol you have to bear in mind that there are usually alot more Dublin fans then any other counties, so there are bound to be more halfwits.

Waylander the point i'm making is tha these people who cause the trouble have probably never been to a GAA match outside Croke Park and only turn up when the championship is on and dublin r doing well.

I know its not the majority of ye but if u think that booing opponents fee kicks and booing an oppositions player simply because hes a great player is "alright" .. well. You don't honestly believe that do you ?
    There are sveral Dublin fans who post here regularly, none of them have ever shown themselves to be scumbags on these boards

We're not clasing all dub fans, i wouldnd't call those people fans. From now on i propose a name for them besides "dub fans" because clearly they don't represent all dub fans.
    Without these record attendances that Dublin fans consistently give the GAA Croke Park would still be a glorified shed

ergh you obviously mean excluding the SF and AI ?

TBH whether Dublin fans fill Croke Park or not it is no excuse for their behaviour, also keep in mind that we are only pointing out the majority. Im sorry waylander, but in my experience the good Dublin fans in Croke Park seem to be in the minority.

Also there was a very high demand for tickets in Kildare and Laois, a lot of people couldnt get any. Do you think that the majority of of tickets were allocated to Dublin? I do, esp. after hearing the savage boo's and cheers. Thats understandable i guess, there is a greater population in the city of course. But what im trying to say is just because Dublin are given more tickets doesnt mean theyre the only ones who could fill a stadium. Leinster Final 2003 proves that.

As for all the grief they get, dont you think its deserved? If the majority of fans behaved themselves they wouldnt get grief. The taunting, booing etc is expected from Dublin fans at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Haven't seen the game at all so I can't comment on it. I do think though that there are alot of Dublin 'fans' who don't have a clue about GAA but are interested in going for the drink and craic.

There's nothing wrong with that but in return we'd appreciate it if opposing fans didn't have to put up with their loutish behaviour.

That said, in defence of Dublin, the worst unsporting behaviour I've seen was actually from Meath fans. When Cavan lost the All-Ireland semi final to Kerry in '97 and were travelling home through Meath, a number of Kells residents made up signs slagging the Cavan team and came out to spit at cars and roar abuse at supporters. That's by far the worst I've seen and it wasn't the Dubs.

Also, maybe one or two of you should travel to Clones when some of the Northern teams are playing. Some of their supporters don't give a crap what they get up too there because the Gardai can do feck all to them.

I've seen cars thrashed, Paddy wagons travelling through the town to have pint glass after pint glass thrown at them and tables, chairs and all sorts of outside furniture destroyed. None of which I've seen at Croker.

Its in the minority alright and Dublin seem to have the most of these supporters but these things can happen anywhere. All it takes is a few dumbasses.

Now, that's the last time you'll probably ever see me stick up for Dublin so enjoy it lads! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭ergo

Ok, the booing and hand waving of free kicks is bad enough and there should be no place for it

but throwing a firework from directly behind the goal as a penalty is about to be/being taken (admittedly I was in the upper Canal so couldn't see how close exactly it all was).....

.... well I have never seen such unsporting behaviour, even in the foreign supposedly intimidating fortresses I don't think they'd set off fireworks behind the goal in the run up to a penalty

maybe I'm wrong,

anyway,I was disgusted by it, so glad he scored the rebound

undoubtedly the Dubs bring colour and noise but there's no need for that

having said that, the atmosphere during the second half wouldn't have been half as good if the "neutrals" weren't all actively shouting for WX, hoping to see the Dubs lose and maybe silence the Hill

and yes I know it's a small(ish) minority of fans/ can't tar every Dub with same brush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

With the way my job shift works i dont get many Sundays off......but I got holidays for the last two Dubs games and I was on the Hill for the last two Dubs matchs! And i managed to get Sunday in 3 and a half weeks time off too! :D

The time against Meath there was a flare lit twice!......There were quite a few people around me muttering what the FU*K is that idiot doing!......dont know about the rest of the Hill....obviously cos i couldnt hear them!
    As for the chants ......G. Geraghty your a W*nker! G. Geraghty your a w*anker.........they were IMO deserved.....he played fairly dirty...especially off the ball!

As for the Dub v Wexford match!!
    The same type of muttering... what the FU*K is that idiot doing!....was heard when the fireworks were launched.......some of the younger guys thought it was funny.....ie 16-19 year olds!
    As for the empty coke bottles etc etc being used as missles!......can anyone explain why there was no net up behind the goals on the Hill end????? That would have stopped the missiles!

The chants for M. Forde your a w*nker....were unfair...good clean football player!!

As for the waving and booing when a player from a non Dub county is taking a free at the Hill 16 end is a lil bit of a grey area!
    In rugby the whole statium goes quiet...in soccer, the fans of the team taking the free stay quiet....but this is GAA, big difference to the other sports!....so its a bit of a grey area in that sense!
    When Mossy Quinn was taking some of his frees (fair enough towards the end after Sherlocks goal) the half the Dubs were singing Come on you boys in blue and doing the actions to it and the other half were sushhing the other half.....just as off putting!!!
    Well IMO if ya cant take a free with a bit if booing - you shouldnt be taking them! :D
    Also the "Summertime" fans is a major influence on how the Dubs are preceived......they are out for the drinking session.......and probably account for 30% of the fans on the HILL on occasions like the previous 2 matches!
    They do give us genuine fans a bad name :mad: but the genuine ones will always go back for more....good times or bad! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Being the person who started this thread, I believe I should set a few things right.

Fisrt of all I don't the believe the majority of Dublin fans are scumbags. I would go as far as to say that 90% of them are good decent fans. It's the 10% that are causing all the bother.

Personally I have nothing against Summertime fans (except when one denies me a ticket for a big game).

I never meant to tar all Dubs with the one brush. Being originally from Kildare I know plenty of them and they're A1.

I suppose my point was really to say that this cr@p needs to be nipped in the bud. Other fans will follow suit when they see the Dubs throwing fireworks etc. The GAA is a family sport and I'd hate the see it ruined by the likes of what happened last Sunday.

hawker wrote:
    Personally I have nothing against Summertime fans (except when one denies me a ticket for a big game).
    I hate that too......damn them :D
    I suppose my point was really to say that this cr@p needs to be nipped in the bud.
    I agree.....but the Guards just looked up and said to themselves :mad: .....ah its too far up and we'll only get abuse!
    If that was England....the bloke (im assuming it was) would have been kicked out on his arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I agree with Curran.

[rant]

Personally, I don't give a damn about the culthies, townies, or whatever the f*ck they're called, when in Croker, but if the scumbags (those who hrow sh|t) get away with it, we'll have an "English Hooligan" element soon enough in Croker. If the rest of the Dub fans don't help stop the scumbag element within Hill16, they'll get tarred with the one brush, as if you look over to Hill 16, you don't see those people sitting quietely, you'll see flares, missiles being lobbed at the pitch, and a large scumbag element.

[/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

If the Dubs are sick of "getting the boot in" against them, then the fans on the hill have got to be pro-active and sort this out sooner rather than later. A "True Blue Hill 16 Fan Club" should be established and awareness should be raised...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Speaking as a true Blue Dub I wish the GAA had done what the insurance companies told them...shut down the hill and cover it in seating.
    I worked security in Hill 16 for many seasons and IT WAS A NIGHTMARE.
    drunks, mupits impossible to handle. Peoples demeanour and behaviour change in that kind of environment. At least with seating this is controlled and safe.

And before anyone starts screaming take it from someone whos been there done that. Children being walked on, heart attacks etc. I was that guy trying to clear the way for doctors, ambulance staff/ medics etc. while getting abuse from drunks who's only interest is to get plastered.

I've taken out people waving about large fireworks (while pi**ed), and you right, the cops will get grief for this, funny though it's the cops fault when young Johnny gets scarred for life because we dont take the firework/person out of there.

These are a tiny majority who spoil it for the rest of the fans in the hill, but there's very little can be done to control it without some very heavy handed security / garda interferance which would spoil the great family feeling thats in the rest of the venue.n And yes there have been occasional fights/throwing incidents in the other areas of the venue...but tiny in comparison to the hill.

We have a world class venue, and the best fans in the world (ask any of our Aussie fans who come for the Aussie rules).

mcguiver wrote:
    We have a world class venue, and the best fans in the world (ask any of our Aussie fans who come for the Aussie rules).

that's a great point you make

I even said it to a friend after Sunday's game, that I wish I could have brought an Australian along to show them what real atnosphere is like (I mean throughout the whole stadium, especially in the 2nd half, excluding the firework and bottle throwers)

spent a year in Australia where so many of their live sporting events esp rugby union and Aussie Rules are completely wrapped up in drinking in the stadium and the game is often co-incidental eg, the 2nd half could start and you wouldn't notice any change in the atmosphere,

and the Australians can be fairly unsporting eg, cheering louder for an opponents miss than for their own team's score

completely off topic but, I hope it doesn't get like that here, especially with licenses for the whole of Croke park to be drinking coming in apparently

Drink was available last sunday ^^

mcguiver wrote:
    very little can be done to control it without some very heavy handed security / garda interferance which would spoil the great family feeling thats in the rest of the venue.
    Maybe if the Garda and Security got heavy handed occasionally it might nip it in the bud!
    Like i said....i was on the Hill last Sunday and 2 Garda and 2 Security guys just pointed up in the general direction of where the Firework came from!.......Like WTF is the point in that!.......Get your arse's up there and im sure there would be a few people who would glad point out the culprit and have him / them fooked out of the grounds and into a cell for the nite until they sober up.......they wont be bringing in fireworks again, if they even come back!!!

And TBH i dont think a bit if heavy handedness would be even noticed around the ground!...Might see a bit if it happened either side of the HILL from the near ends of the Hogan and the Cusack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

ColHol wrote:
    TBH whether Dublin fans fill Croke Park or not it is no excuse for their behaviour, also keep in mind that we are only pointing out the majority. Im sorry waylander, but in my experience the good Dublin fans in Croke Park seem to be in the minority.

Also there was a very high demand for tickets in Kildare and Laois, a lot of people couldnt get any. Do you think that the majority of of tickets were allocated to Dublin? I do, esp. after hearing the savage boo's and cheers. Thats understandable i guess, there is a greater population in the city of course. But what im trying to say is just because Dublin are given more tickets doesnt mean theyre the only ones who could fill a stadium. Leinster Final 2003 proves that.

As for all the grief they get, dont you think its deserved? If the majority of fans behaved themselves they wouldnt get grief. The taunting, booing etc is expected from Dublin fans at this stage

What a load of nonsense, ColHol. What planet are you from? 40,000 Dubs in Croker and the good ones are in the minority. Nice.

As for the ticket situtation, again you're just spouting nonsense, because you are ignorant of how these things work. Each county board got the entitlement they asked for. Ticketmaster had their share, which obviously anybody could buy, and that still left a substantial number with the Leinster Council that were given out when applied for. Tickets were still widely available on Friday on Saturday. So everyone who wanted a ticket got one - unless they left it till Sunday before deciding, then they may have missed out - but to say Dublin get an unfair allocation is just idiotic nonsense.

Anyone above who said Dublin are the only fans to boo opposition freetakers is a liar. And thats a fact.

Personal abuse towards opposition players is certainly also not just a Dublin thing. I have travelled up and down the country following Dublin, and some of the racist chants I've heard directed towards Jason Sherlock have been truly unbelievable. Every county has some element of nasty individuals.

But there is no doubt there is an element of scumbags who support Dublin. 4pm+ throw-in times are a disaster as it encourages these yobs to drink more before the game. Not sure why there was no net behind the goals last week (thankfully Shane Ryan didnt shoot or where I was in the top left hand corner of the Hill would have been a danger area), but it gave the scumbags free reign to do what they want. What happened last Sunday was disgraceful and unacceptable - and embarrasing for the decent Dublin fans.

Fine. The facist regime in boards GAA still exists so.

I'm a GAA man. The image of the sport affects me.

Those "minority" (lets say half a dozen) supporters made some noise out of them booing Mattie Forde last week.

Cheeky my backside. Ignorant, unsporting maybe.

on the Dubs winning an all-ireland. It goes back to the 'meejia' thing again. The media are Dubs so they would never shut up about it which would make for great exposure on a world level.

Dublin is also the most heavily populated part of the country.The more participating in the sport the better

on the Dubs winning an all-ireland. It goes back to the 'meejia' thing again. The media are Dubs so they would never shut up about it which would make for great exposure on a world level.

How can you say the media are Dubs? The 3 decent daily papers in the country, Times, Indo, Examiner, have zero bias towards Dublin and few Dublin born GAA writers. Now if you want to buy one of the other rags (i've no idea whether they are biased or not and do not care), thats your right, but you have to know its full of crap, no point crying about it. And RTE have about two Dublin people involved between commentating, presenting and analysing out of about 15. How the hell would that qualify as "media are Dubs"? Just because some people say it doesnt mean its true - everyone needs to remember to use their own brain to make up their minds, rather than take myths as being the truth.

And I havent read or heard one person in those 3 papers or on RTE saying Dublin look like All Ireland winners. Most in fact say they wont even win Leinster.

facist? *shrug*

So far you all you've done is whinged about the few supporters who caused a bit of a disturbance* the double header Leinster_Semi_Finals.

any suggestions on how to prevent it?

there have been one or two posts about it...

*note: I do condemn the firework etc but it was only one hence "bit of a disturbance. It could have been worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I think the thing with the media is the attention that surrounds a Dublin match. Take last weeks game for example. The 4 main articles in the indo's football section on the monday were Dublin related. There were other matches on too but instead we get treated to match ratings for the dublin game before we get a report on another just as important game.

I realise they are trying to sell papers, but real GAA fans (Dublin or not) would like to read about all the games and not just the dublin one. The same media saturation occurs the week before the game.

As for the fans behaviour I think all counties fans are guilty of doing most of the things mentioned. The fireworks and bottles being the exception. That should have been dealt with.

ColHol wrote:
    Drink was available last sunday ^^

was drink available everywhere in the stadium?

I never went to buy anything so didn't notice what the stalls were selling and didn't notice anyone around me (in the upper Canal) bringing back rounds of drinks...

I think it definitely was in the upper Cusack I read in some paper

anyway, I'd be worried if going to Croke Park became more of a drinker's day out like going to Aussie Rules/Rugby is to many Australians with the game being a side issue, that would worry me

although, in fairness a lot of people aren't exactly sober walking in there but I'd say the majority are and are there for the sport (at the moment anyway)

*note: I do condemn the firework etc but it was only one hence "bit of a disturbance. It could have been worse
    nice to put in a little note of half-asses condemnation at the end. I mean it was probably only a little bottle! Sure fireworks are a bit of craic and are no harm in a crowd of ten thousand people at a gaa match.
    So far you all you've done is whinged about the few supporters who caused a bit of a disturbance* the double header Leinster_Semi_Finals.

So I'm not allow say booing and bottles on the pitch are a bad thing unless I come up with a way of solving it!!!
    :confused: oh the lord!!!

as for whingin! - My sincere apologies. I thought I was expressing an opinion. Ill try not to point out any problems with the jackeens from now on.

Maybe you should put a sticky up top "Dublin supporters are brilliant and good" where contributors can only discuss the good things about bottle throwing. Would certainly line up with past policy in here.

I have seen other counties fans throw bottles, in fact I can't remember who it was, but I am fairly sure I saw it last season at one of the games. Fireworks I have not seen before. In relation to Dublin fans policing other Dublin fans, I do not think that is very realistic, it would be a recipe fpr disaster. If the garai have legitimate concerns about going into the hill to haul someone out, I do not see how you can expect Joe Bloggs to do it. I suppose the nets were taken down behind the goals so that they could get straight into setting the stage up for this weekends gigs on Monday morning. Lemlin I was not criticising Cavan fans, and you are correct you did slate the team for a bad performance, you also said you thought they still had a chance to win Ulster, despite not being able to beat Antrim. If a Dublin fan talks like that you cannot wait to jump down their throats. That is where I am coming from.

nice to put in a little note of half-asses condemnation at the end. I mean it was probably only a little bottle! Sure fireworks are a bit of craic and are no harm in a crowd of ten thousand people at a gaa match.

I wasn't implying they were no harm. I stated previously that this has no place in GAA and I AM against it.
    So I'm not allow say booing and bottles on the pitch are a bad thing unless I come up with a way of solving it!!!
    :confused: oh the lord!!!

as for whingin! - My sincere apologies. I thought I was expressing an opinion. Ill try not to point out any problems with the jackeens from now on.

Maybe you should put a sticky up top "Dublin supporters are brilliant and good" where contributors can only discuss the good things about bottle throwing. Would certainly line up with past policy in here.

I'm not a Dublin supporter. However, it's very evident that there are those who post here with a grudge against Dublin and their supporters without good reason.
    Yes, they may have more of a 'bad' element amoung them but they are the most populated county. That should not make it ok to jump at every Dub supporter.

I apologise for my last post regarding yore 'whinging'. I dont know what yer real issue is.

mar shampla, I wonder had it to be a Laois/Kildare/Wexford fan who'd thrown the firework onto the pitch, would we be having this thread at all.
    A :: yes. but without the underlying 'hatred'. [sorry if thats harsh but as an impartial, it does seem that way]

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

ok first off the booing I have no problem with. It happens in every sport. Yes thats right EVERY sport and those of you who deny it are just lyers. Take Ireland Israel for example(I was at the game). When Israel had to take there penalties they fans were booing like crazy and waving there arms around trying to put the player off. But I suppose they were all Dublin fans it just happened to be a soccer match. Get off your high horses when it comes to booing. Everyone does it its a fact. The player should be big enough to ignore it and get on with the game. As for throwing abuse at players thats just light hearted banter. When the game is over its forgotten about.

As for the hill slaging off non dubs who go into it. Its also just banter. Nothing malicious is ever done its usually only a chant of "get off the hill" or "hill 16 is dublin only". If you cant take taht kind of banter(which in all fairness the person should know is gonna happen before they go onto the hill) then simply dont buy a ticket to hill!! For example in the last match there was a Wexford girl who got those chants and she just took it as a bit of craic and was laughing about it. thats all it is.

Now for the bottle throwing and fireworks that is bad form and shouldnt have happened. But then again to say its just dubs is another joke of a statement. It has happened in other places before so dont tarnish dub fans on the basis that you saw a bottle thrown in one match. Id say most counties have thrown a bottle at some stage.

As for the ticket situation. It was explained above but yeah each county gets assigned the allocation they want. For example in Dublin its usually run through the GAA clubs with club members putting there name down for tickets which then gets allocated to the club. You get the tickets that you ask for its your own counties fault if it doesnt get enough tickets or its your own fault if you dont manage to get one. Tough luck mate.

Finally I agree there is some bad eggs in the Dublin fans but that is a very small minority and everything is getting blown way out of proportion on the basis of two idiots one who threw a bottle and one a firework. A serious grudge seems to be held against dub fans so im gonna bear that in mind with everything thats said here and take it all with a pinch of salt. Most people here just wanna slag dub fans for the sake of it which I think is wrong.

If that happened at a soccer match, in old Trafford etc the club would be fined. Or SOME action taken. Nothing has been done and i haven't even read aything about it in the papers.

If you really think that it was a "bit of a disturbance" then my suggestion would be to have all Dublin matches in Mayo, Donegal etc. As far away from Dublin as possible so the least amount of scumbags can travel. Failing that, listening to some of the dubs here who are shrugging it off as "normal" i am simply going to hope that ye get beaten out as early as possible every year.

I wasn't of this opinion at first, i honestly thought it was just the scum element but now when theres people saying it was a small affair and we're making too much out of it ? I really didn't expect that from anyone who'd call themselves a GAA supporter.

It was NOT a "bit" of a disturbance, it was an absolute disgrace for a GAA match. Anyone who is shrugging it off like it was a "small" deal have being going to too may matches in England.

ok first off the booing I have no problem with. It happens in every sport.

I have yet to be at a GAA match where the crowd boo's the oppositions best player for no reason, or the oppositions freetakers for no reason. I have seen crowds boo the oppositions player for a reason, such as an off the ball incident the ref didn't catch eg like Limerick and Kerry, the Cooper incident.

Other then that i've never seen it and i am not lying. almost every match i go to i get talking to the opposition supporters and i think i can speak for everyone when i say that even when we're playing against a team, take Wexford for example, even if it cost us the game, i would always give credit where credit is due. Watching Mattie Forde is a privilege, watching the game is a privilege. I would never boo the opposition for no reason and i have never seen it happen apart from with Dublin fans, and i state aain that i have only witnessed this at big Dub matches when the "summertime" gang attend. (someone mentioned Meath but i wouldn't have much interest in their matches so maybe they do, i don't know)
    Nothing malicious is ever done its usually only a chant of "get off the hill" or "hill 16 is dublin only"

And you think thats acceptable ? I enjoy talking to oppositon supporters during a match. Its one of the best things about the GAA.

Well Mc Clane some supporters have a sense of humour and take these things as they are intended. The issue you are making of the booing is ridiculous it is only noise. Your point about Old Trtafford is also way off, as at Old Trafford Man Utd own the ground and are responsible for policing it etc which iswhy they are held liable. Dublin do not own Croke Park, the Leinster Council do, and therefore it was their responsibility to safegaurd players and fans. In relation to the bottle and firework, evry Dublin fan that has psoted in this thread has deplored the act, but it has happened in other matches with other teams without this kind of reaction. The fact that you cannot remember these instances only really goes to prove our point that the likes of yourself can't wait to stickthe boot in on Dublin.

Regarding your idea Dublin fans should travel away to matches so they dont go, again it shows what a short memory you have, in the last few years we have played in Thurles a couple of times and Clones, each time there was a full contingent of Dubs in the stadium.

Your point that you have no interest in the behaviour of Meath fans, again displays a bias against Dublin, as I do not see why you should have any more interest in Dublin matches then in Meath matches?

was drink available everywhere in the stadium?

anyway, I'd be worried if going to Croke Park became more of a drinker's day out like going to Aussie Rules/Rugby is to many Australians with the game being a side issue, that would worry me

I believe now that anyone who wants one can buy a pint in Croker. Not sure exactly where all the bars are though.

There should be no problem with selling drink in Croker. On TV you can regularly see games in the US, Australia and even England (cricket) where fans are not just allowed buy drink but allowed to drink in their seats. It never seems to lead to any trouble, you have your 2 or 3 drinks and enjoy the game.

The problem lies where you have people coming into games with 5 or 6 or more pints already in them. That doesnt appear to happen in other countries.

Dry your eyes!