Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new look front page

• 22-06-2005 11:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭

i like it
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

looks good,
    see if i can get used to it,
    thought i was on the wrong site for a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Change, strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Got a bit of a shock when I first saw it, but I like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Don't like having to scroll down :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

solid job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Very nice, well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

the horror the horror...

actually not that bad except there feels like there is this huge GAP to the middle left which is a bit meh(under help desk etc) thats all that bugs me. otherwise great job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I like the new look. It's very clean. But lots of people are going to be very scared.

Although I'm not too crazy about having to scroll down now, everything used to pretty much fit nicely on one screen.

It's good to see the blogs featuring so prominently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

It's too big imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

nicely done .

your gonna just repeat that in every *NEW PAGE* thread are'nt you monkeyfudge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭spartacus93

Kinda like it brighter, and stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i likes it.....much clearer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Get rid of those icons on the homepage - or at least reduce them. Like blah said I don't like having to scroll down to see the latest posts either :(

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Heh, that was weird...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭7thSeal

Wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Scrolling is not cool.

nice one, looks grand, thought the other way was just as good though, but i like it, fair dues lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭hostyle

At last. Eye candy for boards. The old layout was so 2003.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

i have to say well done to the guys who implemented it, great work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

the chat room doesnt work....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Jasus Give us a warning :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭DigiMarc

I agree the big icons look terrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Can't say I'm a fan at all.

they now should have a competition to fill that really annoying gap under the help desk,faq section....i vote for random photo of boardsie user everyday(will create untold spam threads)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

crappers.Went away for a second, and came back to new boards. I like it though.

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    your gonna just repeat that in every *NEW PAGE* thread are'nt you monkeyfudge?
    Ha.. you caught me out there. I did change it slightly. This was the directors cut of the post.

I just thought this would be a far more sensible thread to post in rather than the WTF?!?! thread in after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

i for one do not give a fúck about blog posts.

take them off the front page!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Citizen_Erased

Don't like the layout at all , the previous one was just perfect but when your username turns up in huge bold font , that is dreadful. Bring back the old one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

koneko wrote:
    Scrolling is not cool.

No scrolling on my new 22" monitor....woot! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

weemcd wrote:
    i for one do not give a fúck about blog posts.

take them off the front page!

yes and if this was taken away people would not have to scroll down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

...and its in italics too, yuck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

I second the motion to dump the blogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Crazy. Just hit refresh and got a hell of fright.

Good work though... totally unexpected but looks nice! Good to have the old heads back too.

woah....supermerge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

I'm not too crazy about having to scroll down now, everything used to pretty much fit nicely on one screen.

Same 'complaint' here.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

i like it alot very cool

woah...it shrunk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Thanks for all the comments, and compared to previous front page changes they've been very positive.

Of course, it is still in flux but the new page will allow us to integrate better with our forum software, reusing buttons, etc.

There are more latest posts being displayed, 20 as opposed to 15, which explains (some of) the scrolling down.

However, I've turned down the cellpadding so you should now see more at the top of the page.

I've reduced the username size too... Hope this helps.

John.
    --

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

/me focussed on the negative and ignored the positive. I like the look and layout of it - it's very professional looking. I just don't like the size of the icons - and if they were reduced a bit then there'd be no scrolling to see the latest posts. Couldn't give a monkey's about the blogs :D

hehe... In my Firefox Tab the title of the front page looks like it says Ireland's Largest Bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Down with this sorta thing. Too ugly vB imo.

The old, old www.boards.ie/new from last year was soo much better. What ever happened to that one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Snaga

three thumbs up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

Ooh, fixed already, that was quick :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Yeah, with the name fixed, its perfect now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Very pretty! Well done!

still that annoying gap for me...gonna have to put a sticker over it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

i dont like it at all, can you not let the user choose which they want??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

Ya I Love It! Thumbs Up To Ye For Doing A Good Job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

I like it I must say Its more friendly and fun than the other which is what the community is all about really. The icons above the user name are a bit too big though.

Good to see the old heads back as goodshape said!