Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problems with my PC, Please Help?

• 17-06-2005 12:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭

Hi lad`s i seem to be havin a few probs with my pc so if anyone could help me out it would be great.

First thing is my computer wont shut down or restart by itself i have to switch off the power and i dont think i should do that too often.

Seacond thing is some programs just crash for no reason most are fine just some, like i dl the new divx bundle just there and hit install and it crashed. so at this stage something must be up.

As i said any help would be great lads all help is good help cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

Difficult to answer your question without a little more detail... lets start with the simple stuff...

1. What is your operating system?
    2. What programs crash and which ones dont crash?
    3. Are you getting any error messages from any of the crashing programs or your operating system?
    4. Do you have anti-virus program(s), are they up to date, and have you run them to make sure you dont have a virus etc?
    5. Have you adware / spyware programs (such as spybot or adware etc), and have you run these to make sure you are free of adware etc?

The more info you can give, the easier it will be to sort out the problem.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

lots and lots of virsues?
    i got so many my comp eventually just stopped working...why wont it shut down what happens?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

Gandalf23 wrote:
    Difficult to answer your question without a little more detail... lets start with the operating system...

I use XP

lots and lots of virsues?
    i got so many my comp eventually just stopped working...why wont it shut down what happens?

Ya i was thinking that but i got norton and it updated to shi7 and it says my system is ok so i don know norton could be wrong

AND THANKS FOR THE QUICK HELP LADS!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

ricey wrote:
    I use XP
    hmm this is worse than i thought :D

ricey wrote:
    Ya i was thinking that but i got norton and it updated to shi7 and it says my system is ok so i don know norton could be wrong

AND THANKS FOR THE QUICK HELP LADS!
    no probs..
    i suggest you get a few more along with norton anti virus because that is the worst software out there in my opinion...
    get a few more like avg,adaware etc use em..
    what error messages you get?what happens when you try to turn it off?

Gandalf23 wrote:
    Difficult to answer your question without a little more detail... lets start with the simple stuff...

1. What is your operating system?
    2. What programs crash and which ones dont crash?
    3. Are you getting any error messages from any of the crashing programs or your operating system?
    4. Do you have anti-virus program(s), are they up to date, and have you run them to make sure you dont have a virus etc?
    5. Have you adware / spyware programs (such as spybot or adware etc), and have you run these to make sure you are free of adware etc?

The more info you can give, the easier it will be to sort out the problem.

Like emule can never get that to work or the new divx coded package its just some random programs. the divx program crashed when i was trying to install it and emule whenever i start it up.
    i get no error message just the program is not responding.
    Have norten fully updated and spybot and adaware all say everything is cool.

I dont rate Norton too highly. I used it for about 5 years and it never picked up a virus. I changed to avast a few months ago, and lo and behold on its first scan found a virus and a couple of trojans Norton was missing...

Ricey, have you updated WinXP with the latest service packs and security from MS?

When i go to restart or shut down everything goes grand but you think its restarting but it just dont your just sittin there lookin at the desktop.

if you cant turn it off/on all the time it could be a switch problem...

ya i have all the ad progs and all the windows updates.

Might just change my anti-virus program do.

whats the best to use?

if you cant turn it off/on all the time it could be a switch problem...

No i can turn it on just not off.

One of the WinXP computers in work was doing that too. When we updated with all the MS updates it was OK for a while.

The bad news was that eventually we needed a total re-install of windows on the machine...

Il tell ya dat dont sound good!

What anti-virus program should i try to see if it is a virus??

ricey wrote:
    ya i have all the ad progs and all the windows updates.

Might just change my anti-virus program do.

whats the best to use?

The best free ones are avast or avg

Have a look here http://www.firewallguide.com/anti-virus.htm

back up everything and reinstall widows if its no hassle then see if everything is fine.it should be.i recently lost my wholo hd so back up when ya can i say.

free.grisoft.com/

Ya iv been thinkin bout that but i got like 120gb of stuff i want, try burn that to dvd`s
    the taughts of it are puttin me off.

Il try a new anti-virus program and c if that helps.

gl with that...if ya can put it on dvds all the better.

back up everything and reinstall widows if its no hassle then see if everything is fine

This might be a bit drastic. My advice is to let this post sit here for a day or two... someone else might suggest a solution in the next day or two.

Reinstalling Windows should be your last option...

how do you reinstall windows? prob stupid question just never done it.

recovery cds you get with the comp..

''This might be a bit drastic. My advice is to let this post sit here for a day or two... someone else might suggest a solution in the next day or two.

Reinstalling Windows should be your last option...''

i said if no hassle cos it would be no hassle for a lot of ppl,like me with these huge bundles of blank dvds staring at me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

mcafee is the best virus software IMO... could be that u have a service or program that won't shut down for u when windows is trying to shut down...try starting in safe mode and then shutting down...if this doesn't work your fecked....also www.annoyances.org is a good troubleshooting site

I agree ya but iv wanted to clean my hd so i think il be doin that anyway.
    as for a windows reinstall....?

ricey wrote:
    how do you reinstall windows? prob stupid question just never done it.

Ok... reinstalling Windows DEFINATELY a last resort!!!

Reinstalling Windows is not for the faint hearted... and when you have 120gb of stuff...

Ricey, give this post 24 hours and see what happens. Someone more techie than me might have a simple solution. You might also pick up something with the virus scans. Also try a scan with MS Anti-spy and a rootkit program called "bibeta".

Do nothing hasty yet my friend...

anything weird in your task manager????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭airetam_storm

A large removable harddisc - EVERYONE should own one :)

-Get Spybot - Search & Destroy, Zonealarm and AVG 7
    -Google anything you dont recognise in task manager
    -Update XP to service pack 2 + updates
    -As a last resort, and only if you have a spare harddisc larger than 120GB lying around, get a program like DRIVE IMAGE and make an image of your current drive just like a cd image, - then format and reinstall

\edit\ with a disc that big you should always partition it into atleast 3 parts - A games drive - an image\documents\large file drive - and about 10GB to WINDOWS + programs

ya wait a bit but if ya have to eventually,reinstalling windows is simple did it the other day...finding the damn cd was the hard part!

A large removable harddisc - EVERYONE should own one :)
    i REALLY want one any price guide ya got there? ;)

its not that i only got a x2 dvd burner its the time not that i dont got loads and loads but fek that.

ya wait a bit but if ya have to eventually,reinstalling windows is simple did it the other day...finding the damn cd was the hard part!

In my opinion this is the "nuclear option"... always a last resort

ya the task manager is screwed programs that i shut down are still showing up there along wit a load of shi7 i aint got a clue about.

ya but usually quicker for me cos ya have to get some1s help off the net otherwise ;)

have u tried removing everything from your add/remove menu that isn't a part of xp...somethin is stopping you from shutting down

ricey wrote:
    ya the task manager is screwed programs that i shut down are still showing up there along wit a load of shi7 i aint got a clue about.
    in tasks or processes?

processes

ricey wrote:

Do a cut and paste of whats running in task manager for us all to see

Gandalf23 wrote:

well said

copy and paste the processes is it? cuz i cant seem to do that.

print screen and save as a pic

Gandalf23 wrote:

Alright sound.

ricey wrote:
    copy and paste the processes is it? cuz i cant seem to do that.

Print screen should work... PrtSc key... maxamise the task manager screen and put in to your post as image

try capturing the window

press ctrl+alt+print screen that copies your window and the u can paste that into mspaint or something and post it as an image up here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭airetam_storm

Maxtor 100GB
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=307390&cks=PRL

But preferably Maxtor 300GB
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=307392&cks=PRL

Komplett are usually the place to go for general stock

\edit\ just do it yourself by googleing the unidentified items

Maxtor 100GB
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=307390&cks=PRL

But preferably Maxtor 300GB
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=307392&cks=PRL

Komplett are usually the place to go for general stock

\edit\ just do it yourself by googleing the unidentified items
    cool !

lol how many ppl were typing print screen at the same time!

the top half
    [IMG][/img]untitled2wc.png

oh man that 300 gig one looks good must get money...

ha sorry bout the size what can you do.

like them divx programs crashed earlier and are still there.

lsass.exe is a whore of a virus that could be it...one of our pc's in work has that and apps are freezin all over the place...http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.sasser.b.worm.html has the solution afaik

what happens when u try to end the divx stuff