Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Anyone got an MP3 of this track or any others actually by Doi-oing?

Bosh...

Hey Felixdhc,the only track i have by Doi-Oing is - Hotel (Krasnapolsky A-Dam mix) 1995
    i will upload it later,mediafire is down at the moment.

and i have the - Must - Gotta Get (Loose) EP. ill upload that allso ;)

paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

locked 1 wrote: »
    WAT A TUNE MATE EDCASE IN THE PLACE

Great tune alright, anybody have that Ed Case mix where he starts with that tune, had it years ago but of course lost it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭craig_b

Meteor Seven - Signs of Life - great tune

nice one mate, fckn cracker of a tune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Westwood

whats up fellas. would be grateful if someone had the tracklisitng for the last night of the asylum. and theeee best ever set ever imo. Fooking classic, us ballyer boys used to skip to this ****e back in the day. man you've no idea!!!
    It was a religion. Ed Case in Ya Fooking Face...

Edcase last night of the Asylum
    Side (a)
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/...a%20asylum.mp3
    Side (b)
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/...asylum%202.mp3

anyone has tracklisings for this it would mean the world. I know a few obvious ones. and had some on 12 myself back then. but these tunes never die and should be heard in pure cdq again
    nice one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Jaysus, anything else by these, forgot how fckin good they were then.... years since I've heard them!!! Excellent tune..
    Savage tune!!
    I looked into getting some stuff from the Northern Exposure 2 Album came out. 1 of the choons I looked for was Doi-oing - Blue. Could never get it though - I used to buy stuff from hard-to-find in the UK but it just never seemed to come into stock!

Doi-oing - Blue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 soulsurf

Don't know if it's been posted already but here it is...

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Ub4AzeZAiQA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

would love to here some mixes from the big man himself:D

Can anyone id this track for me please? - its wrecking my head:mad:

http://media.putfile.com/track-id-32-28

thanks in advance
    paddy

Paddy this is the track you're looking for http://www.discogs.com/release/477332
    I have it somewhere and I'll dig it out for ya if ya want.

Someone was also looking for Bomerang - So Damn Tuff
    Not sure what mix though but they're both cracking.
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/ytt5znwmzbr/Boomerang - So Damn Tuff (Babylon Mix).mp3
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/1zjdiugummq/Boomerang - So Damn Tuff (Full On Mix).mp3

Also, someone was talking about "Mad Sound Disease - MoonBoom" on Inner Conscience Records. It was an Irish label and there was only one other release and it was by the Banana Boys incognito.

It was this one here http://www.discogs.com/release/64316
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/jwmjaymncdi/Mind Over Music - Jacobs Ladder (Act of God Remix).mp3

I actually knew the girl (Emily) that done the chanting on the track, well actually I knew her brother from going to the Olympic way back when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

BaZmo have a listen to these two mp3's,
    see can you here that tune you were looking for.

Stu Allan

http://www.mediafire.com/?mtnmwhf4tzm

Slipmatt

http://www.mediafire.com/?jyidzjwlhbg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭moany

Meteor Seven - Signs of Life - great tune
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=AN94XU-9vzI

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Bosh...

Hey Felixdhc,the only track i have by Doi-Oing is - Hotel (Krasnapolsky A-Dam mix) 1995
    i will upload it later,mediafire is down at the moment.

and i have the - Must - Gotta Get (Loose) EP. ill upload that allso ;)

paddy

Cheers mate, got that and nice one!

Excellent stuff, how I love the internet!!! Nice one mate.
    joker77 wrote: »
    Savage tune!!
    I looked into getting some stuff from the Northern Exposure 2 Album came out. 1 of the choons I looked for was Doi-oing - Blue. Could never get it though - I used to buy stuff from hard-to-find in the UK but it just never seemed to come into stock!

Doi-oing - Blue

Yeah I remember looking years ago for anything by Doi-oing, their early tune was excellent too. It was the usual crack with Abbey and that then, it will defo be in next week... I fell for that for fckin ages!!! Although he did deliver on occasion, I always remember when I dropped in and he presented me with a copy of Lemon 8 - Model on the original red vinyl, still a prized possession to this day -

Another Billy promised for ages and eventually got me was the Noom X remix ep, I was mainly after the Acrid Abeyance remix of Ab-Chic, excellent tune...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Westwood wrote: »
    whats up fellas. would be grateful if someone had the tracklisitng for the last night of the asylum. and theeee best ever set ever imo. ****ing classic, us ballyer boys used to skip to this **** back in the day. man you've no idea!!!
    it was a religion. Ed case in Ya ****ing Face...

Edcase last night of the Asylum
    Side (a)
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/...a%20asylum.mp3
    Side (b)
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/...asylum%202.mp3

anyone has tracklisings for this it would mean the world. I know a few obvious ones. and had some on 12 myself back then. but these tunes never die and should be heard in pure cdq again
    nice one

1.PUNCHENLLA - SAN TRANCISCO
    2.STEREOGEN - HOLD ME
    3.Peter Perfect feat Justin Robertson - anthill
    4.Tranceparents - Child 7 in progress
    5.Pop - Strada
    6.MARMION - SCHONEBERG
    7.Mijk's Magic Marble Box - Spring - The 4 Seasons Of The Mind
    8.303 records Side A
    9.DAMC + DJ Brendon - We Are The Future
    10.Dj Ketema - Virtual Orgasm
    11.DJ RE-DO - DOWN UNDERGROUND
    12.Velocity - Lust
    13.Twisted Systems Murdock Most Foul
    14.Lionrock - The Guide (45Rpm)
    16.Paragliders___Paragliders__Humate_Mix_
    17.Komakino - V - Look At The Sky
    18.Onda Del Futuro - Amore Senza Fine
    20.Omega Force - Our Love
    21.Baby Doc & The Dentist - Nagasaki

if ya find out the 2 missing ones giz SHOUT.

Great tune alright, anybody have that Ed Case mix where he starts with that tune, had it years ago but of course lost it!

tripple xxx:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 pasamaquaddy

hi lads,
    would any one please know the names of the two missing tracks 15 and 19 on the "ed case last night of the asylum" track list a cupla messeges back ????? please id love to get them,

and by any chance could any one tell me how to find "chinley du da day" on vinyl i cant find any reference to it on the internet at all with that name, is it spelled wrong ?? or does any one know what label its on or any other info on how i can locate it ???????

thanks very much

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

hi lads,
    would any one please know the names of the two missing tracks 15 and 19 on the "ed case last night of the asylum" track list a cupla messeges back ????? please id love to get them,

and by any chance could any one tell me how to find "chinley du da day" on vinyl i cant find any reference to it on the internet at all with that name, is it spelled wrong ?? or does any one know what label its on or any other info on how i can locate it ???????

thanks very much

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

This is the one here mate, 2 for sale, price aint too bad, i'd advise ya to be quick, as i haven't seen this for sale for quite a while

http://www.discogs.com/release/467481

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

BaZmO* wrote: »

Also, someone was talking about "Mad Sound Disease - MoonBoom" on Inner Conscience Records. It was an Irish label and there was only one other release and it was by the Banana Boys incognito.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/jwmjaymncdi/Mind Over Music - Jacobs Ladder (Act of God Remix).mp3

I actually knew the girl (Emily) that done the chanting on the track, well actually I knew her brother from going to the Olympic way back when.

Thanks Bazmo, Lookin forward to downloading this tonight, a nice long track aswell.

Mad Sound Disease was Liam Dollard?? True? Was anyone else involved with him? Did they have any other tracks?

I dont remember hearing Moonboom on a night out anywhere:(

Do you know any DJ's that played it back in the day?

Cheers,
    Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Paddy this is the track you're looking for http://www.discogs.com/release/477332
    I have it somewhere and I'll dig it out for ya if ya want.

Someone was also looking for Bomerang - So Damn Tuff
    Not sure what mix though but they're both cracking.
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/ytt5znwmzbr/Boomerang - So Damn Tuff (Babylon Mix).mp3
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/1zjdiugummq/Boomerang - So Damn Tuff (Full On Mix).mp3

Big thanks bazmo! really appreciate you IDing that track for me. if its not to much trouble the mp3 would be great! this has to be the best oldskool thread on the net :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭DEVOTION

NovaGSi wrote: »
    Thanks Bazmo, Lookin forward to downloading this tonight, a nice long track aswell.

Mad Sound Disease was Liam Dollard?? True? Was anyone else involved with him? Did they have any other tracks?

Cheers,
    Mick

Liam Dollard remixed the track.

BaZmo have a listen to these two mp3's,
    see can you here that tune you were looking for.

Stu Allan

http://www.mediafire.com/?mtnmwhf4tzm

Slipmatt

http://www.mediafire.com/?jyidzjwlhbg
    No Al it's not on either of them. Although, I dug out this (http://www.discogs.com/release/6534) and one of the tracks on it sounds very very similar to the one I was talking about. I'll upload it later, but tbh I think the chances of id'ing the track are very slim unless someone happened to upload the tape that the mix was on.

Cheers,
    Mick
    I never heard it played out either and I never played it myself, but I seem to remember it being pimped a lot in Abbey Discs so I'm sure it did.

Big thanks bazmo! really appreciate you IDing that track for me. if its not to much trouble the mp3 would be great! this has to be the best oldskool thread on the net :D
    No worries Paddy. It's a fairly obscure track but I've always loved it so that's why I remembered it straight away. I'll upload it later when I get chance, either tonight or over the weekend. Finding it is the difficult part!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Cray92

Cheers,
    Mick
    Hows it goin,yeah i heard moonboom out a couple of times in the temple of sound summer of 94.Of course it was played by the man himself and the place used to be rammed when he played,all the old sides heads used to go in to see him so it was always a savage nite when he played there.Sounds great with a good sound system which there was in the temple.Meself and the mates started to go there on regular basis since the Asylum closed in july that summer.What a change in scenery that was goin from the asylum to the temple of sound with different crowd and plates of fruit be handed around and the plush surroundings.Two great Dublin clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Yeah I remember looking years ago for anything by Doi-oing, their early tune was excellent too. It was the usual crack with Abbey and that then, it will defo be in next week... I fell for that for fckin ages!!! Although he did deliver on occasion, I always remember when I dropped in and he presented me with a copy of Lemon 8 - Model on the original red vinyl, still a prized possession to this day
    Another Billy promised for ages and eventually got me was the Noom X remix ep, I was mainly after the Acrid Abeyance remix of Ab-Chic, excellent tune...
    Those 2 are great choons alright - I had that Acrid Abeyance one at 1 stage.

Ah the auld coloured vinyl, I remember having a bit of a collection of it for a while - red, green, clear, white, but one of my most cherised was a blue one:
    Best of X-Trax

Didn't listen to the whole thing when I bought it, brought it home to discover it had this monster track on it - DJ Misjah & Groovehead - Acid Energy

I knew this track already but didn't know the name - it was on a Billy Nasty tape I had with other savage tunes like

Psilocybin - Delicate Substance

Chrissy Ward - Right And Exact (Pizzaman Sex Vocal Vibe)

DEVOTION wrote: »
    Liam Dollard remixed the track.

along with Trevor Mcdonald was.nt it.if anyone remembers him.

aceberg wrote: »

Isn't he a news reader:p

Only joking, yeah, that name sounds familiar.

Cheers,
    Mick

this has to be the best oldskool thread on the net :D

100% right:)

Thanks for all the info on Moonboom lads.

Out of here for the weekend, enjoy.

Cheers,
    Mick

Trevor McDonald is indeed the news reader, the guy you're talking about is Fintan McDonald. http://www.discogs.com/release/778532

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

dave mcdonald

knird evol wrote: »
    dave mcdonald
    I was thinking that it was Dave McDonald too but the Discogs link says Fintan

just checked the vinyl.it's fintan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

BaZmo it would'nt be this tune, would it?

Jaysis Al you're nothing if not persistent. Ha! No it's not that either.

Here's an upload of a track that was on the same mix tape (I think?) and it is very similar to the track I'm on about, in particular the blippy sound in the main hook. In fact it's possible that the one I'm talking about is a B-Side of this.
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/nonzmzmrnrt The Scientist - Exorcist

And this is for Paddy. Forgot how good this track is, Enjoy!!
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/mnj3uqymxi2 Forwards In Reverse - Hey Buddy [Catso Mix]