Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tony Quinns Educo Seminars ?

• 14-06-2005 1:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

Not sure if i am posting this in the right section but:

Has anyone been on one of Tony Quinn s Educo seminars. They cost 18,500 euro for 2 weeks. They aim to help you improve your life ,well being, wealth etc.
    Some people are saying its all a scam, others say its what you make of it!!

Just wondering if any of you or members of your family/friends have been on one of these seminars?
    Would appreciate your comments....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

I dont know anyone who has beenon one, however i would be wary of someone who says give me 18k and I will make you happy or improve your wealth.

how much of your 18k do you get back if your life or wealth doesnt improve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

wtf? 18 grand? fúck that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

E18,000 could be better spent in my opinion. Get a full health check. Join a good gym. Hire a nutritionist. See a councellor for any isusses you might think you might have.
    Should still come out on top instead of the money you would spend with Tony Quinn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

stts wrote:
    Not sure if i am posting this in the right section but:

Has anyone been on one of Tony Quinn s Educo seminars. They cost 18,500 euro for 2 weeks. They aim to help you improve your life ,well being, wealth etc.
    Some people are saying its all a scam, others say its what you make of it!!

Just wondering if any of you or members of your family/friends have been on one of these seminars?
    Would appreciate your comments....

Yes a friend of mine got totally brainwashed by this chancer Tony Quinn. He went on the seminar which was financed for him by his father (another Tony Quinn junkie) by re-mortgaging their house to pay for it. They were convinced that going to the seminars would change their lives but all that happened was that his mother left his father because of the re-mortgage. Aside from that, the end result of the seminar seemed to be that my friend believed that he could be successful at whatever he wanted though he was given no tools to help him achieve anything. He ended up going out and buying a huge and totally impractical car for his job because 'Tony says it's all about image' Just to give you an idea of how far this brainwashing went, my friends father once stated that he thought Tony Quinn was the new Messiah :eek:

That's what you get for 18,500 from Tony Quinn. Just go on holiday - don't give Tony Quinn your money please!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

A friend of mine's mother got hooked on those things. She was following the guy all over Ireland and the UK, throwing money their family didn't have into the obnoxious gets already bulging pockets. Nearly wrecked her marriage and her daughters still don't trust her to leave town for a weekend without one of them tagging along to make sure she's not off wasting more money at one of his seminars.

18500 would pay for an awful lot. It's equivalent to the tuition fees for three years of post-graduate education, a brand new small car or even a round the world trip for two.

If you want "improve your life ,well being, wealth" take a look at how you're proposing to go about it: by spending the best part of a years salary in 2 weeks. To improve your life and opportunities to make wealth, pay for some education (graduate diploma / masters / MCSE whatever takes your fancy), go on a nice holiday and use the rest to buy/upgrade to a decent second hand car.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

stts wrote:
    They cost 18,500 euro for 2 weeks.

Appalling
    that's a total rip off!!
    preying on peoples insecurities and low self esteem, I cannot believe he gets enough suckers to make this work for him. More money than sense I suppose

They aim to help you improve your life ,well being

anyone can do that if they really want to, read some books, get some hobbies, exercise, use your brain and work it out for yourself
    hey – for half that amount I’d put some time in and help you out myself!

there is no such thing as 'a quick fix' in this life, people these days expect everything to happen for them right this second without putting any effort in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

stts wrote:
    . They cost 18,500 euro for 2 weeks. They aim to help you improve your life ,well being, wealth etc.

...by showing you how to persuade half wits to pay €18 grand for two weeks of bull****. If you want to make money... be like tony and sell cheap fixes at top prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I know a family who flew over from California last week to take part in it...They did some a little bit odd....nothing off the wall but just very eccentric. (Don't know them personally but they were staying in a Guest House i work in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

I'm in the wrong profession!

PM me if your good at spinning a line of bull****. We can go into business... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

i'd say buy the tapes first theyre only 15 quid.

Seriously Tony quinn might have been "on to something" when he started out but hes into everything now.He can seemingly cure Haemoroids & hurricanes by positve thinking.
    His "movement" just seems to pick & choose certain aspects of philosophy,yoga,bodybuilding,self help, mysticism,religious cults & Snake oil cappet baggers.

leave well alone-
    ( if i had this cash to spend on a self help seminar i'd be Happy enough!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

A guy in my class in college went off to one of those in January or February. It was in Barbados and cost a similar amount to the figures quoted. When he came back he was a completely different man. He was living in cloud cuckoo land and an object of serious amusement to us all at first from the sh!te talk he was coming out with but then we actually started to worry about him when we copped on he'd been brainwashed and was actually treading the line between sanity and insanity. Several lecturers actually asked me what was up with him after listening to him rant in their classes and were very worried when they heard what had brought about the change. He began to believe anything was possible and took every opportunity to rant about his newfound philosphy.

He continously ranted on that the secret to success was "Conceive, believe, achieve". Famously just before a MCQ test on our computers the guy beside him said "jaysus i'm fecked for this. deffo gonna fail" Our brainwashee said "Just visualise 100% on the screen and everything else will fall into place" Brainwashee got 20. :D

What was most worrying was the strength of his conviction for the newfound philosophy. He reckoned carbs were bad for us and prevented muscle-build up!! Because he used to try convince us of this "Conceive believe achieve" craic some of us often challenged him but he would be willing to argue incessantly in favour of it regardless of how nonsensical his points were.

He kept ranting onto us that he was going to become an actor, move to Hollywood and win an oscar which we passed no remarks on. Until after Easter he didn't come back to college. He didn't answer his phone or e-mails even to his closest friends. Weeks later someone bumped into him and discovered he'd dropped out of college (doing Commerce at UCD ffs) to go to Acting School. All because he believe if he visualised winning an oscar it would happen. So if in a few years time you hear of a blackhaired dude from Navan winning an Oscar PM me and i'll let you know if it's him because obviously I don't want to name the poor eejit here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

There was an exposé on these seminars in either the Sunday Tribune or the Sunday Independent a few months back (can't remember which one) - it might be worth your while going to a library and doing a search. Their conclusion was that it was a money-making scam.

Look, take a step back and ask yourself: what knowledge can this person have above all other human beings throughout history? Why would he have some secret snappy answer to making life easy, better? Even if he did, is he justified in asking for such enormous sums of money to share this knowledge - doesn't this avarice reflect on what kind of a person he is? Wouldn't it be more prudent to go to a good old-fashioned counsellor or advisor who could help you deal with whatever problems you think you're having (whether financial, emotional, whatever) and would charge you less extortionate amounts for their services?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

Agree with all thats said up there re TQ. I know some people who were involved with the seminars, trust me you're better off staying away.

There are however reputable performance consultant companies that provide a excellent service and follow up afterwards. I can give you some details by PM since I dont want to risk the moderators wrath of giving names. They're not like the TQ brainwashing crap and many Fortune 500 companies including the one I work for have used them in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

People are willing to pay this guy 18.5K to improve their life via talking to them?

Hmmm.

Give that money to a reputable local charity. It'll make you feel good and might make you feel like you are making a difference. You will probably see the difference too or at least hear about it. Also your life might have more meaning for you because you are helping people that need it.

Much easier, and they don't require you to sit and listen to them for 2 weeks. They'll just put your money to good use.

Just my 2c. If you are looking for a quick fix through money, the above is about as good as I can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

If anyone is considering spending 18 THOUSAND euros on a course like this, they could use some therapy tbh, something not right there...

Hey, and guess what, they have 18k sitting around they could use to pay for it!

koneko wrote:
    Hey, and guess what, they have 18k sitting around they could use to pay for it!

Go through the proper channels and you can claim it against tax :)

So it's "free" kinda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Win win situation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

These "Life coaches" are a load of crap. Penn And Teller have a show in the states called "BullShít". They done an entire show on these kind of people. They are the biggest scamers ever. While they tell you, "You can do anything" They also get you hooked so you will come back for more of the same. Its a compleat joke.

No one can tell you how to live your life to its fullest. This is something you have to find out for your-self. As people have said, there is alot more you can do with 18+ grand that will make your life better.

If you have 18+grand to send on these things, why do you need to go to one to find out how to make money?

I deleave someone above said. Now adays people are looking for the "Quick fix". Well that is very true and it is what these Asshóles are counting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭joc_06

simu wrote:
    There was an exposé on these seminars in either the Sunday Tribune or the Sunday Independent a few months back (can't remember which one) - it might be worth your while going to a library and doing a search. Their conclusion was that it was a money-making scam.

Look, take a step back and ask yourself: what knowledge can this person have above all other human beings throughout history? Why would he have some secret snappy answer to making life easy, better? Even if he did, is he justified in asking for such enormous sums of money to share this knowledge - doesn't this avarice reflect on what kind of a person he is? Wouldn't it be more prudent to go to a good old-fashioned counsellor or advisor who could help you deal with whatever problems you think you're having (whether financial, emotional, whatever) and would charge you less extortionate amounts for their services?
    it was the independant and i read it. If i ever see that quinn guy in the street i'll kick his teeth in.
    This guy is a chancer and has ruined peoples lives with his lies and chicanery.

Im for fvck sake one of his fav stories is how he was having a dream and in it he heard gods voice and saw ppl kneeling. Then he looked for god but couldnt see him. When he looked back at the ppl he realised they were kneeling before him and god voice was actually his voice.

Fvcked up or what. I telling ye. Stay away from this guy and dont have anything to do with him. He preys on the weak and vulberable and has made millions doing it.

I really would love to meet him and kick his arse all over dublin.

Actually that is now my lifes number 1 ambition. Id gladly pay 18.5k to do it too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yeah - he's exploiting vulnerable people. Really angers me. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I can see where TQ comes from. I also do a similair course. The way it works is: if it costs alot, people thinks it works. So, for €3,500, I can help you. The course takes about 15 minutes, and the following points are covered:
    • What is your bank details?
    • You can do anything you put your mind to!!!
    • How much money do you have?
    • How much more money do you want to give me?
    • Do you know any more silly niave f*ckers like yourself that will pay me?
    • How long have you believed in this?
    For this 15 minute course, phone....

=-=

I wonder how much money I could make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

stts, I'd encourage you to educate yourself about Tony Quinn before you hand over a cent. You are not going to get anything concrete from the Educo-ists (as they call themselves) - they will just tell you things like that you are guaranteed to feel "66% happier!" when you come back from your seminar. Or, perhaps you'll be like the lucky guy on the TQ website who gained 2 pounds of muscle?

There are some excellent informative sites on the internet about this cult. The first is a discussion forum, posts can be quite emotional at times but there is some really astonishing information on the site.

http://www.factnet.org/discus/messages/6/1812.html?1083692506

The second is Dialogue Ireland, and they have a dossier of information on Quinn, including the Tribune and Sunday Indo articles on the man.

http://www.esatclear.ie/~dialogueireland/frameset.htm

There are other sites out there, but these are the best.

Please keep us posted on your decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 stts

Thanks for all your comments guys, to be honest i dont have the money for this at the moment.I have met some people who have been on these seminars and they seem to be doing very well for themselves. Im just hoping that some people who have actually done an educo seminar would like to leave a comment,i think it would be good to hear both sides of the story.

stts wrote:
    Thanks for all your comments guys, to be honest i dont have the money for this at the moment.I have met some people who have been on these seminars and they seem to be doing very well for themselves. Im just hoping that some people who have actually done an educo seminar would like to leave a comment,i think it would be good to hear both sides of the story.

Well ask yourself these:

1) Is confidence something that can be taught or is it something that can be learned?

2) Belief in one's self or another is a very powerful thing. Is this not what he gives to people? Why pay for something that can be found for free if you just make a little effort?

3) To continue from above. Belief is potentially a very dangerous thing. It's power is underestimated in today's culture, or at least is not spoken of. Do you trust a stranger enough to "believe" in them? Isn't belief something that should be earned and not given freely?

4) Why do you feel the need to attend such a semenar? You are responsible for your own life. There is no quick fix for this. If I offered to take responsibility of your life for you at a fixed yearly fee, and in exchange I told you how to think and live, would you take me up on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

simu wrote:
    Just for academic interest I googled for Tony Quinn and scam. Came across this as the first result (edit: I see that's already been linked to). Some interesting points there, some of which are made by people who claim to have been on the er, events.

Personally, from reading something of the guy (sparked by that Indo article that simu mentioned as well as that feel-good-about-yourself stuff that was pushed through letterboxes some time before) some time ago, I'd happily say that in my opinion he's a charlatan, liar, fraudster and a tax dodger (the latter through being a tax exile which wouldn't bother me if I didn't think he was a charlatan, liar and fraudster to boot). Eighteen grand would buy any of us quite a bit of training or education from reputable sources if we were prepared to put in the time and effort as well as the money. That would be a far better disposal for the cash IMHO but frankly I reckon you'd be better off spending it on coke, hookers and candy floss than tossing it towards Mr Quinn.

sceptre wrote:
    Eighteen grand would buy any of us quite a bit of training or education from reputable sources if we were prepared to put in the time and effort as well as the money.

I think you've hit the nail on the head there mate.

My main problem with modern culture is this belief that time and effort can be avoided by paying for it. Convenience superceeding achievement.

Although, there is a slow backlash happening I think. More and more people are approaching life with an appreciation for things that people have taken time and put a lot of effort into. A hand crafted and hand carved piece of furniture, a finely cooked meal at a good resteraunt or even something as simple as freshly ground coffee in the morning instead of instant.

People I think are slowly revolting against convenience culture at some levels. Long may it continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 KennyG2

So many people have been brain washed by this guy, he's playing on peoples mindsets. When you're down anything sounds good, and the more expensive the better it has to be.

Have you spoken to your doc? You could try life coaching, theres a good guy in town [The person I Spam boards about] I've been to him and he's brilliant. Worth a chat with at least.

best of luck

Gar

i have to say the vitamin C calcium supplement that he stocks is pretty good. gets rid of the oul cold/sore throat quick time. personally i view the seminars the same way id view a big poker game. im open minded but i wouldnt part with €18500 without seeing serios results

KennyG2 wrote:
    So many people have been brain washed by this guy, he's playing on peoples mindsets. When you're down anything sounds good, and the more expensive the better it has to be.

Have you spoken to your doc? You could try life coaching, theres a good guy in town [deleted] I've been to him and he's brilliant. Worth a chat with at least.

best of luck

Gar

is life coaching not the same thing????? fair enough 18k aside but how long before mr [deleted] asks for 18k

is life coaching not the same thing????? fair enough 18k aside but how long before [deleted] asks for 18k

My problem with life coaching is that it is a little too similar to having a "parental figure".

Adults shouldn't need that really. Maybe I'm just being cynical though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

i think you should go for it.

COme back and tell us how it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Think the poster who started this thread thought maybe he would get a bit of free advertising in for the former bouncer Tony Quinn in order to recruit a few more gullible people and maybe make about 5 GRAND commission on the deal. Then again I might be wrong.
    Quinn tells you to "align with me, submissivness is the only way" Cop on folks theres enough people out the screwed up enough to think hes Jesus.
    Don't throw your money at him after all the might have barred your Da , and kicked your Ma out of the disco for all you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Well either way the thread is locked now.