Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever seen a cockroach in person?

• 13-06-2005 11:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭

No doubt I'm jinxing myself now and will be attacked by a legion of the little feckers in the morning, but has anyone ever seen a cockroach in person?

In my 3 decades on this planet I've seen all sorts of disgusting insects but thankfully never a cockroach. Does this make me "special" or are there other Irish cockroach virgins out there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

from the front page:"Have you ever seen a cock......" :eek:

yes i have, my old house in cyprus was full of 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

One in a hotel I stayed in in New York :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

yeah, big fooker, real roudy too

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

nope never!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I've never actually seen one either.. and I've traveled all over the planet to places you think you might see one... like Central and South America.

I've never been stung by a bee either, if that's any help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Seen loads and loads in Hong Kong

see atached pic

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Yep, was over in Chicago on a J1 visa. Found one in the food storage room of the cinema that i worked in. It was about as long as the palm of my hand :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

herobear wrote:
    from the front page:"Have you ever seen a cock......" :eek:
    Couldn't have done that if I planned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

herobear wrote:
    see atached pic
    your printers out of paper and you've windows updates ready to install

meanwhile, interesting theme on firefox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Should prob look into tabbed browsing too. Anyone cool wouldnt be caught DEAD with two firefox windows open.

azezil wrote:
    your printers out of paper and you've windows updates ready to install

meanwhile, interesting theme on firefox

the printers disconected and its my sisters laptop, so meh....

all that red came from my photo editing software somehow *shrugs*

also, i do use tabbed browsing but im knackered after slayer and its nearly 2 am, so nneh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Once in Ireland, all the time in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

I've been in New york for a week and still havnt seen one...never seen a cockroach in my life...i have been forwarned by relartions over here i am lucky...but if i do want to see one just go to the laundry room. Might do that now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Dip n' Strip

OFDM wrote:
    No doubt I'm jinxing myself now and will be attacked by a legion of the little feckers in the morning, but has anyone ever seen a cockroach in person?

In my 3 decades on this planet I've seen all sorts of disgusting insects but thankfully never a cockroach. Does this make me "special" or are there other Irish cockroach virgins out there?

I have seen many many cockroaches they really are gross!! and they run around the place! The one good thing about them is that they run away from you the minute you go near them. I have seen them right through the USA. But the one place you see them for def is in Texas!!! They are everywhere, And they are huge mother f**k*rs. they reproduce like CRAZY. Also they are in the same family as Craw Fish and Lobsters, they are eaten like their family members un some countries. MMMMMM Crunchy on the outside soft on the inside!! COCKROACHES :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Yeah, currently in texas - corpus christi and yes the place is hoaching with cockroaches. They don´t get into the house, but will if you leave the door open. They do get big and they look a bit different from normal roaches I have seen in ireland. I just spray them with bug spray from a distance before I startle them with my closeness. Problem solved.

I am more concerned by fireants though coz they sting bad and where there´s one theres a hundred.

There´s also the brown recluse, the most poisonous spider in america, but you REALLY gotta go trying to get stung by this though as its called a recluse spider for a reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭R33F

We have Domestic and Bush Cockroaches here.

The Bush ones are huge !!

When Mrs R33F moved from Eire to Aust. She saw here first cockroach and ran around screaming for ages :D

http://www.insectfarm.com.au/pets.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 lizbeth

You have to be careful with the big ones, as they'll fly at you if you're not careful! They're usually just called "Tree Roaches" here. When I see one, I usually find a guy to stomp on it for me, as I don't like having to clean the bottom of my shoes, and the *crunch* just creeps me out *ick*. Guys seem to make a sport of it for some reason...

Oh and with the brown recluse.... You might want to get in the habit of checking your shoes before you put them on. They like shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

so do scorpions! Nah, not a cowboy!!! in a town and never walk in long grass without shoes and long trousers. I also never lift logs/planks and poke at stuff. I also back off if I hear a rattle or see a wedge shaped snake head....... We got water moccasins here which bite, but not much in the way of toxic invertebrates except fire ants. Roaches are big and annoying but don´t unduly concern me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I was just commenting to myself the fact that I haven't had a cockroach in my bathroom since I sealed up the most likely entrances. I usually get cockroaches every month in my kitchen which is typical of an Athens city centre apartment. Luckily they are only the small 2-3 cm types that don't fly.

Then I saw the mother of all brown cockroaches in my bathroom sink sniffing around. I don't usually kill cockroaches but this one took a great deal of spray to kill. As mentioned, the flying cockroaches are awful, we had them in the UAE and when you opened a cupboard they would fly out at you! ick

I doubt you would get many cockroaches in Ireland though, I never saw any there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭newgrange

I've seen cockroaches here, but in New York I saw a HUGE one - must have been 12cm long.
    Yuk.

They are supposed to be one of the creatures that would survive a nuclear war. No idea where I heard that - sounds like a throwaway remark from a teacher a million years ago at school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

"After a nuclear war we'll have two things left on this planet: twinkies
    and cockroaches."

Cockroaches can survive the nuclear fallout apparently, not the bombs themselves.

Interesting thing about cockroaches, apparently they feed off their own faeces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭joe.

They can also live without their heads for up to a week. They die due to lack of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭seo-ireland

I had loads in my apartment in Malta. You'd be taking a shower and suddenly you would see there little antennae sticking out of the overflow and moving around. I am shivering as I write.

I also had baby lizards running around that apartment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

I've seen really small ones over here in Ireland, but huge ones in the Canary Islands.. jaysus, you had to be out really early (around dawn) to see them all scuttling about the streets. Normally you wouldn't notice them as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

I shared a house with some in Australia, nice fellas, little bit on the dirty side but they usually ate a lot of that given time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭freewing

nice one , Ive got the itches now (all over ) :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

images of joes apartment come to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

seen lots in a bathroom in india but...Ive never seen any in Ireland. I was under the impression that we didnt have them here and this thread has gotten me thinking that we do but they maybe too small to notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

when i lived in spain there were a good few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Damn, on the "Latest Posts" section on the index page, the title of this thread was -

Have you ever seen a cock... (31)

How disappointing.

Heheh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Yup, saw loads in new york n in spain, n a few other places. They'd come up from the subway grates in NY.....they're horrible. They totally freaked me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

only once... in America... all over a womans cooker.

Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Yes I have, the mini ones. Not the American ones.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

More juvenile antics:

/sniggers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

yep, while on holiday in tennerife. Massive thing, about the lenght of my hand.

So we took a can of deoderant and a lighter and tried to torch the wee beastie.

the blasted thing JUST WOULDN'T DIE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Isnt Chesney Hawks a cockroach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I dissected one in science many years ago. Saw a little bástard in New York last time I was over. That one got in due to us being a bunch of drunken filthy feckers with an overflowing, uncovered bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

In a hotel in the states, picked him up and flushed him down the loo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Lived in an apartment in brisbane for a short while back in 2001.

Was in the kitchen chopping carrots for de dinner, and the missus in the living room starts screaming :eek: . And I mean, REALLY REALLY SCREAMING.

So, think some drunken bum, had broken in, or sommit, i run out with the chopping knife, and she is standing on the couch pale as, em?, well, um.. very pale.

She'd picked up the paper to check the telly pages, and when she opened it there were two little cockroach buggers sitting there having a snooze :D lol.

IO had to act hard and get rid of them, creepy little feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

i was living in Boston last year and my apartment was infested with them! they werent too big though. it took about two months for us to get the exterminator in!

when the kitchen was busy there would be no sign of them but at night they would come out. which was weird when you would get up for a drink at 3 am and turn on the light, you could see at least 50 of of them scurrying away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

i saw one in greece a few years back. was packing my suitcase and it was just there on the floor. i stood on it and threw things at it but the fecker refused to die. sprayed it, set fire to it and it still moved. eventually just put a glass over it and got in with my packing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I've never seen one in Ireland but have seen plenty of the bastards in the middle east... big ones too.

gick

I hate the sight of them... There's nothing as disconcerting as sitting down on the jacks for a nice big dump, only to glance down and see a big bastard of a cockroach in the bowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

how could i see a cockroach in person... this all a bit too kafkaesque for me. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

We had them in our place in the states..one morning I saw one running along so I caught it in a glass, the next day it was still alive so we sprayed some paper with roach killer and slid it under the glass to gas it to death, after a day it dropped it's eggsack and we were afriad babies would hatch so we flushed the roach+sack down the loo... :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Stayed with a mate in his grandparents' apartment in Tenerife about 10 years ago. We went out the first night and when we came back there were 3 big roaches in the kitchen because we had left the water boiler on and they're attracted to the heat, apparently. Didn't repeat that mistake. A couple of days later I went down to the building where the communal bins were kept to throw away our rubbish. I opened the door and just about everything, including the walls, was covered in roaches, there must have been hundreds of them. Never went near that place again for the rest of the week as it really freaked me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Christ!! Could you imagine being locked in there :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

pukey-mcpuke!!!!!!! - they'd go in your ear and lay eggs in your BRAIN!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Cockroaches are probebly the creepiest insect.