Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proposing

• 10-06-2005 6:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

A 'friend' of mine (no really it is actually a friend!) wants to propose to his girlfriend soon but doesnt want to do it in the normal "cheesey" way (his word, not mine).

I think he's referring to not over a romantic candlelit meal, not up in a hot air balloon etc etc etc.

Does anyone have any suggestions for something a little different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

He could knock her up, and then say,
    "I spose a weddin is da righ thing ta doo loike!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Get a friend of hers to pack clothes for a weekend and then have a car pick her up and drop her to the airport, have her friends there and maybe family and propose at the front gates then fly her to Paris for the weekend. then maybe knock her up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

He could get her wasted and then ask her, she's guaranteed to say yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

joejoem wrote:
    Get a friend of hers to pack clothes for a weekend and then have a car pick her up and drop her to the airport, have her friends there and maybe family and propose at the front gates then fly her to Paris for the weekend. then maybe knock her up?
    That plan would work so much better if Chloroform was involved somehow.

I remember I was in Captain America's on Grafton street one quiet sunday afternoon drinking long island ice teas with some friends at the bar, and this guy who was sitting at one of the tables signaled for the music to be lowered and then he got down on one knee.. and the girl just bolted out of the restaurant. Her friend was sitting there too and ran out after her, I think he left shortly after. It may have all been an elaborate ploy to get away without paying the bill though... but it certainly didn't stop me cracking up laughing at the guy...

haha.... proposing in the best god damn steakhouse on Grafton street... genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DBK

Tell her that you've been invited to a fancy dress. Hire out a clown suit or something crazy and propose in that. Works every time.

toiletduck wrote:
    He could get her wasted and then ask her, she's guaranteed to say yes!

Ha ha ha in a night club, a really dingy one that smells like pee, and wait until she is throwing up, hold her hair back for her, slip your finger in her bum and say "how about it, wanna spend the rest of your life like this" and then produce a ring - make it a brack ring or a childs one you get with Kinder Ssurprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

double bungee jump and propose on the way down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭IANOC

tell him to say to her "im going to propose to this girl, and im afraid she might reject me or think im full of cheese, what do you think"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

He could always say to her, really quickly: heywillyoumarrymeifsosaywhat
    And then she'll say "what", and bob's your uncle-in-law :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

haven't a clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭keevita

qz wrote:
    He could always say to her, really quickly: heywillyoumarrymeifsosaywhat
    And then she'll say "what", and bob's your uncle-in-law :D
    i fell for that one once. look at me now... barefoot and pregnant again. woe is meeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Dont do it in Public! First of all if she refuses, both you (sorry, I mean your friend) and her will be extremely embarassed. Second of all, she may not want to marry your friend but care about him enough not to want to embarrass him and will say yes just to avoid an awkward situation.

Get another friend to ask for you - will ye marry me mate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

steal loadsa the big shop letters and get them to spell "will you marry me" in the garden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 HOT_ALPHA_MALE

Threaten her with marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

set up a little treasure hunt for her and at the end the prize is 'Will u marry me?' hmmm... make sure u ( or your friend, whoever!) has a nice big rock to go with the proposal, so at least she has something to pawn if she says no and it aint a total waste of time. ;) But if she's a bit thick, scrap the hunt as she won't get the clues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

He's asking her to marry him but he doesn't want to be romantic? Is he just getting married as a business contract? Sheesh! :rolleyes:

(one assumes) he knows his girlfriend better than the rest of us, he's the only one who can know what she'd like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Um call me weird but...

Do people still do this proposing out of the blue thing these days? I would have thought that it was a topic that would come up now and then during a relationship and so, that most members of long-term couples would have some idea of how their partner felt about it. Marriage isn't just an excuse for a party - it's a serious financial move to take and needs to be thought out carefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

I proposed to my girlfrend (who is now my wife) 'out of the blue'
    We knew we would marry at some stage, but hadn't decided when, where aor anything like that.
    So that christmas, i bought her a rock, and the rest is history....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

The wedding itself might be a financial move worthy of some consideration, but the legal arrangement of marriage is fairly beneficial in the long term from a financial standpoint! Tax benefits, economies of scale, etc...

The modern way of Irish living (have a kid or two, buy a house, THEN get married) has taken most of the romance out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Oh I know that marriage is very important for legal and financial reasons, but I don't see why that should stop any romance, even if it's something you've spoken about before. My cousin proposed to her bf last February 29th, my old housemates got engaged on their anniversary a couple of years ago, they'd all discussed it to some extent beforehand, yet it was still romantic, there was still one of them arranging to get a ring for the other and then organising a nice evening in in which to pop the question. I just don't think that romance is destroyed by beig aware of yer situation. If it is then maybe ye shouldn't be getting married.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

prospect wrote:
    I proposed to my girlfrend (who is now my wife) 'out of the blue'
    We knew we would marry at some stage, but hadn't decided when, where aor anything like that.
    So that christmas, i bought her a rock, and the rest is history....

there ya go.
    bring her out to a someplace posh, then over the after dinner mints, whip out a big slab of granite, smack it down on the table and violla, instant spouse!

Tell him to stand butt naked and say to her, Ive hidden a ring somewhere in my body, if you fing it I'll marry you. I'll give you a hint, it doesnt smell good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

how about just on a lazy Sunday morning, you know those days where it's nice outside and you're just lying in bed, all snuggled? and say something like "I could do this forever" - check her response, and then ask he if she wants to do it forever, til death us do part etc etc.... ( you can make up the rest...!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

joejoem wrote:
    Tell him to stand butt naked and say to her, Ive hidden a ring somewhere in my body, if you fing it I'll marry you. I'll give you a hint, it doesnt smell good
    Do you have an engagement-ring-up-the-bum fetish or something? Why mention it twice in one thread?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

fozzle wrote:
    Oh I know that marriage is very important for legal and financial reasons, but I don't see why that should stop any romance, even if it's something you've spoken about before.

I'm not against romance - I think it's prudent to discuss it beforehand. That's all I was saying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

simu wrote:
    I'm not against romance - I think it's prudent to discuss it beforehand. That's all I was saying!

You'd be amazed of the potential brownie points that can be earned :)

My hubbie sussed me before he proposed, to make sure the ring he had on hold was the correct one.
    The conversation ended with, 'Right so we'll get engaged next year so!'.

That was on the Tuesday, little fecker proposed the following Friday on a park bench in Brussels. :D

Major brownie points earned from both mothers and me for him picking the ring out himself.

I'm not expecting another romantic gesture for at least 10 years! :)

Something sweet would be nice, if she likes the beach, and evening stroll along the beach to pop the question would be lovely.

ionapaul wrote:
    Do you have an engagement-ring-up-the-bum fetish or something? Why mention it twice in one thread?!

I think its from a repressed childhood memory of being an alter boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

At the Dublin Wax Museum or at Dublin Zoo would be my suggestions...

but hey... what do I know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭emmagean

thanks for the suggestions....some of them anyway.... :)

i should have mentioned that they have discussed it before and both want to get married. He wants to be romantic but at the same time wants to do it slightly differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

Well I was once told of a story of an amazing proposal. Picture St Paddys week fireworks festival night, the bridges are closed and the sky is full of colour... This guy begs and begs the steward to let him and his girlfriend to cross the river as they have to help a friend or something...they run across the river, fireworks booming into bloom, the guy stops, gets down on one knee and proposes.

Now that's pretty. Not very helpful to the OP tho..

Take her out for a walk or something, up the mountains, (mwah hahahaha no escape) :D Or take her to a park for a picnic-summer and all....Otherwise, just surprise her out of the blue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Hire a pony and the rest will sort itself out! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Why not have your friend bring his girlfriend to where they met for the first time & propose to her there, etc...

Or does she listen to the local radio station regularly, place an advert on it so that she hears the proposal when she wakes up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

Project Goatse onto the bedroom ceiling with "will you marry me?" written in his...you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

man, i saw the worst thing the night of the faroes match! after the match there was a band, and a bloke comes up wit a speech "believe it or not, we met a month ago on a blind date...blah blah, im askin for your hand?" . she hid behind the pillar until he had to drag her up and her reply was "eh..i need a smoke!". disaster!
    although, when the bar was closed he went bak up, gave a whistle to get everyones attention and shouts "She said YES!". ah, the power of 3 more smirnoff ices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

LadyJ wrote:
    Hire a pony and the rest will sort itself out! :D

a pony ... what the hell, now i'm confused (and a little bit scared)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Everyone loves ponies! She won't be able to resist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

you said nothing cheesy?
    well, me ma was watching TV one night and me da came in from the pub (not drunk may I add!), ma was lying on the sofa he knelt down beside her and gave her a Terry's Chocolate Orange, and then the ring I think.... I was only seven so I dont remember too well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Piste wrote:
    Dont do it in Public!
    No! Do it in public, prefarably on National TV, prefarably on the Late Late Show so we can all have a good laugh if she refuses!

...but have the pre-nup in the back pocket ready to whip out if she says yes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭melancholymaidn

i think the treasure hunt idea is really funky! go with that!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

prospect wrote:
    He could knock her up, and then say,
    "I spose a weddin is da righ thing ta doo loike!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

No! Do it in public, prefarably on National TV, prefarably on the Late Late Show so we can all have a good laugh if she refuses!

...but have the pre-nup in the back pocket ready to whip out if she says yes!
    How would we get a laugh outta dat? None of us watch the Late Late Show any more! :p

Personally I've always liked the idea of doing it as sunrise somewhere beautiful where it's just the two of ye... but then again, I'm a big softy.