Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

things that you wished you knew when you wer'e 20!

• 05-06-2005 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭

well seen as im only just turned 20 in March please enlighten with with your words of wisdom! :D

what do you wish you knew when you were 20 years old? any philosophys/ ideas/ things about the opposite sex...? enlighten us...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭She-Ra

never underestimate a persons ability to screw you over even if they're not gonna gain from it! call me nieve but i only got the real meaning of this when i was 21 (i had a sheltered upbringing lol)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Boys are mean.

Silverfish wrote:
    Boys are mean.
    also smelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

I'm gonna feel really old and decrepit saying this...
    ... but I wish I'd known I should have started a pension fund when I was in my early 20's. I have to purchase extra years in my pension plan now so that I'll have a decent income when I retire :(
    </stuffy "one foot in the grave" rant>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

She-Ra wrote:
    never underestimate a persons ability to screw you over even if they're not gonna gain from it! call me nieve but i only got the real meaning of this when i was 21 (i had a sheltered upbringing lol)

what happened to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

i know everything already :D

simple enough really... i trusted someone i shouldn't have and got burned because of it.. now i'm cautious freak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Concentrate on your studies.
    unless you want to end up in some dead end job like me, that is.

It's a vicious cycle though... the late teen/early 20s years truely are the best of your life. seems like a shame to waste them studying :p

ye but its so hard not to trust people when ther'e nice to you and have known you for a few months..

probably just a bad egg, i wouldn't let it put you off. im sure there's lots of nice fellas around...!:)

Tman theyr only as good years as you make them, living in the library isnt a life either... im a firm believer that there's always a way out even if it appears to be a dead end job. eg colleges take a lot of mature students , in my year they make up 20%of the student population...

tman wrote:
    Concentrate on your studies.
    unless you want to end up in some dead end job like me, that is.

It's a vicious cycle though... the late teen/early 20s years truely are the best of your life. seems like a shame to waste them studying :p
    i didn't waste time studying.. i lived it up and now regret it coz only NOW i have to start college.. how do you study after so long?!?!?

is it really difficult going back as a mature student?

i don't know... i'll tell ya in Sept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

There is always an apprenticeship:) You'll be paid peanuts for the first 2 years, but after the 4th year you'll be raking it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

snorlax wrote:
    Tmanim a firm believer that there's always a way out even if it appears to be a dead end job. eg colleges take a lot of mature students , in my year they make up 20%of the student population...
    that's my plan :)
    save up for a couple of years and then try going into sound engineering or somesuch.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

tman wrote:
    that's my plan :)
    save up for a couple of years and then try going into sound engineering or somesuch.

I've just finished a sound engineering course, you'll need a lot of money and a lot of time and be prepared to work really hard.

But it was definately more interesting than my original degree :)

sound engineering, cool:)! did you do it in DIT?

No, I did the one year City and Guilds (part 1 and 2) course in Pulse Recording College. It's just off Camden St and is attatched to a working study so you get to use all their rather cool equipment.

Now all I have to do is find a job. :rolleyes:

right beside the palace and the bleeding horse..!

would you get any opportunities to work in the film industry/ special effects or the like?!

I'd love to work in radio, tv or film. I'm not that into working in a studio recording bands.

I'd love to try my hand at foley, but I'll have to find a way to get into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

* Study while you can - when you get older it gets harder to concentrate.

* Never think you know more than everyone else - people will surprise you

* People are generally idiots - Counting on people too much will get you ****ed over

* Any fool can give up a job - not every fool can get one

* Have fun while you can because the older you get the less you're able to

* Don't worry too much about getting old - it'll happen and there's nothing you can do to stop it. There's always loads to look forward to.

* Younger women seem immature when you hit 20, but when you get closer to 30 you remember how agile they are ;)

* Never listen to advice that people give you on message boards. It's usually all BS

hmmmm... sounds good anyway... but should we ignore as bs?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

If you are attracted to someone a lot, your critical faculties can be impaired when dealing with them.

it is incredibly important to be truthful and critical about your feelings for someone. don't say anything absolute while you are horny because you mightn't mean it when you aren't.

don't waste time with peope who don't acccept you for who you are

total dedication does not equal invulnerabilty. Take it easy on yourself.

it is easier to be happy by taking simple pleasure in simple things, than to chase dreams.

hope these aren't too trite, corny or obvious :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Your penis does not have control over you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

especially as shes a girl :)
    but untill 20 i think it does ^^

value your friends as you will see less of each other as you get older with people going to diff places etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Enjoy the bands you're into now. In years to come it'll all feel so meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

were doesn't take an apostrophe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Wear sunscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

At 20, I didn't even know what I didn't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭babaduck

Don't get married till you're at least 30 - most people in their 20's aren't mature enough and you can spend these years enjoying yourself!

Start a pension plan now - it seems like a waste of time when you're 20 but it is SO worth it in the long run (and I didn't.... sob!)

Don't get into debt. Only take out a bank loan for a car & try not to have a credit card. If you do have debts, pay them off asap or it will affect your credit rating in the future (v. important when you get a mortgage)

Travel!

One night stands are normally very forgettable

Always behave nicely to people because what goes around comes around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

women love sex as much as men.

self confidence will take you further than anything else.

its not about what you know, its about who you know. learn this one fast. never miss an opportunity to meet people who have influence.

have the self esteem to know when you have made a huge mistake, and put it behind you and move on. especially when you have put so much effort into something. usually a relationship.

if you want something, then go and get it.

god helps those who help themselves. people who wait for things to happen or come to them, wait a very long time.

for the love of god, stop thinking youre ugly/fat/stupid/whatever. every other person between 15 and 25 usually thinks the same thing about themselves, and dont have too much time to worry about what you are like! and no one cares anyway

every dog does indeed have its day. its better to remain humble and understated, than to have your own words flung back in your face, you arrogant wanker :)

any person can have any other person, if the situation is right. if the situation is right, you can do anything. you just need to learn what the situation is, and how to manouveour it.

never be afraid to be knocked back. have the self confidence in yourself.
    as confucious said:
    it is not the mark of a man ot be knocked down, but to keep getting back up.

while you are staring at some chicks breasts, some woman will probably be looking at your package. yes, they do it as well.

women fart. its life.

dont put people on pedastals. they will always disappoint you. put people on an even footing, and you will be treated as an equal.

always tell yourself the truth, and accept it, no matter how hard it is to swallow. even when you spend all your time lying to those around you.

and finally, from hamlet:
    neither a lender nor a borrower be, for loan oft lose both itself and friend, and dulls the edge of husbandry.
    spend only what you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Treat people how you like to be treated.

Enjoy your times with your firends, but try to figure out who are your true friends before it's too late.

Drink as much as you want, eat whatever you want, but come 22, you'd better cop on, as by 23 , 24 your muscles wave at little white flag and overnight your a fat bas tard0.

Travel, even it it's just around Ireland, get out there and see what you've been missing.

Pension plan as has lready been said ( i've had one since i was 19, thank god for the company forcing me to take one).

Savings ... if you can stick say about eoo eurons into a 5 year plan ... and do what i did. forget about it completely, then in 5 years time it will come as either a nice suprise , or a god send ( the latter for myself). and of course it will of incressed in size ( was about 700 odd for me).

have fun with your memeory , it starts to go after a while.

I'm sure there's more but i can't remember any :p

and i'll leave you with the 4 rules that my grand dad believed would make a perfect life.

1. Family that loves you.
    2. Job you love to do.
    3. Job that pays you very well.
    4. The people in the job are all nice and you get along grand with them.

I've only ever had 3/4 , thing is it wasn't untill i had left that i realised this :(

She-Ra wrote:
    hmmmm... sounds good anyway... but should we ignore as bs?!

My last comment was actually a veiled statement to say not to take advice at face value. Don't do what everyone tells you to do. Take all advice with a pinch of salt, and use what you feel is appropriate to you.

If you just listen to what everyone tells you without thinking for yourself you'll end up in a lot of trouble, while standing in a circle of people with huge smiles.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Self-confidence is the key to a happy life and there is no reason for you to be less confident than the man beside you, he has just as many insecurities as you do, he just 'seems' to handle them better (once you truly believe that one, the world is your oyster and no other person on this planet can faze you)

never regret anything you have done

never 'settle'

if you want something badly enough, it's yours

you only live once, make sure your life is as happy as can be

Just adding to Ber there, on her comment of never regret anything...

I find that though this is what you strive for, you may still regret things. The thing to remember is that 99 out of 100 times, the things that you regret are the things you DIDN'T DO rather than the things you did.

So do everything you can while you still can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

As you get older, you will need (and want) more sleep. By 25 i was getting almost the same excitement out of the prospect of an early night as i used to at 20 looking forward to a mad night out.

I wish at 20 i'd have been less hung up about my appearance, tbh i look back at pictures now and realise i looked great, perhaps better than i do now - but the difference is now i'm comfortable in my body and don't really care.

Cleanse, tone and moisturise - and use a moisturiser with a good SPF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

Try everything once. And, yes, drugs are very much included in that. You might as well kill the brain cells while you have them to spare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭skye

Give you parents the respect they deserve - only when you get older that you realise how much they have done for you and love you....

Save some money - even if it's just a little each week - you will need it in the future ( house deposits are huge!! )

Live every day as if it's your last....

Enjoy life to the full and don't worry about what other people think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

For every intelligent, nice, entertaining person you meet, you'll meet at least four complete and utter knobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

I wish i knew sarky when i was 20 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

snorlax wrote:
    well seen as im only just turned 20 in March please enlighten with with your words of wisdom! :D

what do you wish you knew when you were 20 years old? any philosophys/ ideas/ things about the opposite sex...? enlighten us...!

Money is the most important thing in the world.
    The key to a successful career is sticking with the same complany (i.e. people become managers because they have been there for years, not because they are talented.)
    Coming into work on time is more important than being good at your job.
    Women are very easy to "control" (sorry, can't think of a better word.) Just act confident. Don't be a pussy.
    Life gets a bit ****ter as you get older.
    Education is very important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

OLDYELLAR wrote:
    I wish i knew sarky when i was 20 :D

Yes, I feel every 20 year old girl should get to know me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Sarky wrote:
    Yes, I feel every 20 year old girl should get to know me...

Rarrr ah im 21 now out of the running , damn :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

snorlax wrote:

When I was twenty, oh, years and years ago... I remember thinking that I wished I was sixteen again... nostalgia; it's not what it was in the old days!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 phenix0

snorlax wrote:

a rose is a rose is a rose...... :)

phenix0 wrote:
    a rose is a rose is a rose...... :)

:D , is that a metaphor?!

we should make this thead a sticky for all the young people that use boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

you gotta know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em, know when to walk away and know when to run. You never count your money when your sittin at the table, coz theres time enough for countin, when the dealings done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭seo-ireland

Travel. There is so much more than home.

College isn't necessarily the way to go. Give a man the Internet and bucketloads of time and he can learn a lot more then he ever could in college (I speak from experience).

Don't become somebody's b**tch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭steppen

self confidence will take you further than anything else.
    If this line is the only piece of advice that you take from this thread, then this has been a worthwhile investment of your time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

women love sex as much as men.
    hmm i know thats true but i find it hard to believe still..

ColHol wrote:
    you gotta know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em, know when to walk away and know when to run. You never count your money when your sittin at the table, coz theres time enough for countin, when the dealings done
    whats the name of that song.i want to purchase it legally.