Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your favourite martial art?

• 04-06-2005 10:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

I was just wondering what the most popular martial art in ireland :confused: Whats your favourite? Please reply to this thread and tell me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Hmmm...

How about..

You ...

Use the search function....

Also : Check out the sticky grading forum. Generally ppl practise what they thinkg is their favourite.

And there has been plenty of these threads, as above search for them.
    When your in this thread, you can see title above your first post,
    User CP, FAQ, Memberslist . Click search.. advanced be best for ya, more specific.

Mear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Now, now Mear, be nice to the newbies.

But yes, best you do a search... was a poll up only recently, so I'm sure yo should locate that.

Anyway, Mixed MA, BJJ and Tae Kwon-Do appear to be the most popular against use boards users. I myself do TKD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

mines vasch_ro san do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Im real nice.
    Gave about 4 constructive points.
    And didnt use profanities.
    Improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

If your talking about Ireland? I would say it would have to be between TKD and Shotokan Karate?

With TKD getting the nod due to the masses of kids doing it around the country :D

I don't have a fav anymore I love them all ;)

Though I do teach TKD and respect the link to Karate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Kenpo Karate seems to be very popular in the Dublin area.

I think this is because it was one of the first styles of karate brough to ireland in early 1960s.

Kickboxing popular too
    though I hate the way the point fighting sport karate has sort of taken over the kickboxing name. I think this takes away from what kickboxing really is or as they used to call it in the USA in the early 1980s Full Contact Karate.

Kickboxing popular too
    though I hate the way the point fighting sport karate has sort of taken over the kickboxing name. I think this takes away from what kickboxing really is or as they used to call it in the USA in the early 1980s Full Contact Karate.

Very true man! Bill Wallace, Benny the Jet, Joe Lewis and even Hee IL Cho were fighting a very different kinda Kickboxing back in the day!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu if I had a favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Fiona Cronin

Just to let you guys know i wanted to know your opinions on the most popular martial art not the facts!! Tanx to all the people who replied.

dlofnep wrote:
    Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu if I had a favourite.
    What is Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu like is it much like non-brazilian types??

Meh, there are literally hundreds of types of jiu-jitsu. Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is very ground emphasised. Some traditional jiu-jitsu's incorporate more throwing and less ground game although it will be included in it's syllabus. Some incorporate more ground game and less standup. It depends on the style of jiu-jitsu. Judo is a great example of this.. It's a watered down jiu-jitsu and it was originally just a throwing art, when Kano's school lost to a jiu-jitsu school that had mastered the ground game, he incorporated it more into his training.

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is arguably the most effective form of jiu-jitsu in the world. It's training is not kata based and is more resitance tested trained. Although it's still fundementally a jiu-jitsu and alot of the techniques are in old jiu-jitsu's handbooks, the brazilian or gracie stlye of jiu-jitsu has evolved alot differently than it's eastern counterp-parts. The Gracie's have made brazilian jiu-jitsu their own and improved upon it for the last 100 years.

Just to let you guys know i wanted to know your opinions on the most popular martial art not the facts!!

Sorry Ma'am! We just stick to the facts :cool: :p

My favs are Krava Maga, backed up with kickboxing (really turned on to Thai now I am at this stage) and mixed with anything else that will work.

BJJ is excellent too, from MMA persepctive though I have not got around to learniing it yet, But i will soon!
    actually did some jujitsu in canada years back. and the verison I dabbled in was for street stuff (teachers were cops (the mounties) and max security prision offers) . it ws very like KM but with more throws. though they did do a bit of the hand on the hip punching :-(

Also love JKD concept but sure with all of the above mixed, its my verion of JKD! :-)

though they did do a bit of the hand on the hip punching :-(
    Ah but....

No hang on!! Thats for another thread :D
    Also love JKD concept but sure with all of the above mixed, its my verion of JKD! :-)
    Ahhh Grasshopper! You have not concentrated on the finger and missed all the heveanly glory :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

I suppose it depends on the individual, but i think a lot depends on where they live and how easy it is to get there initially, but generally I think Irish people will do all sorts as long as there is a physical side to it, red blooded mad celts and all that!!!

Anyway my favorite is Muay Thai!!!!

Hope you find what your looking for!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

dlofnep wrote:
    It's training is not kata based and is more resitance tested trained.

Just for the record the only form of Kata I have come across in 2 forms of Jujutsu are sword ones :)

Really enjoyed Tae-Kwon-Do before my legs gave up on me :) It's a great sport.

Training in Jujutsu now its very practical and covers standup, clinch and ground.

Heard great things about BJJ and I reckon its the next martial art I'll move on to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Souless

heh theres no such thing as a bad martial arts so any that you do will be experience. With that said I would have to say that my favourite martial art is Kenpo. With that said I would also really love Judo.

Hi everyone tanks for giving me your opinions on your favourite martial art. i found out that everone almost has a different opinion its great! Tanks again
    Fiona ;)

I think its important to keep yourself open to all aspects and teachings of MA. Ok, I may only train in TKD, but I am also open to the teachings, techniques, concepts, and styles of other Arts.

memphis wrote:
    I think its important to keep yourself open to all aspects and teachings of MA. Ok, I may only train in TKD, but I am also open to the teachings, techniques, concepts, and styles of other Arts.
    That is so very true. Thank you for your opinion :)

I love the art of throwing pints into myself too! LOL ! :D

Training real hard and then mess it up by going for 3 pints after the session! ha ha :eek:

no harm in that!!

you could end up in a live situation then and pressure test your delivery :p

3 pints only? Man your only an amatuer. I spend many a night after training and that excersing the biceps! I love my beer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,378 ✭✭✭✭walshb

memphis wrote:

Well Memphis, it looks like you chose the easiest martial art of the lot. The one with the minimum amount of contact, least amount of stamina required....a bit like dancing, but not as tough....Maybe if you tried your hand at something decent like Boxing or Muay Thai.....you'd be a better judge of what martrial arts is all about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Well Memphis, it looks like you chose the easiest martial art of the lot. The one with the minimum amount of contact, least amount of stamina required....a bit like dancing, but not as tough....Maybe if you tried your hand at something decent like Boxing or Muay Thai.....you'd be a better judge of what martrial arts is all about
    Completely ignorant comment.

walshb wrote:

Seen plenty of blokes getting knocked out in TKD. Do you box or practice Muay Thai?

Dent, I boxed for ten yrs with about 80 fights and I have to say from what I've seen of TKD, which is a fair bit, to me it's a mess. More posing and threatning than actual fighting. The fitness levels needed are nowhere close to most other sports. More time spent looking at each other. This is from the Olympic level as well, which should be the pinnacle...I wouldn't consider my comments ignorant at all, it's my view and I'm entitled to it....

walshb wrote:
    Dent, I boxed for ten yrs with about 80 fights and I have to say from what I've seen of TKD, which is a fair bit, to me it's a mess.

OK so what do think its wrong with their fighting style. Have you fought in any fights where kicking was allowed?
    walshb wrote:
    More posing and threatning than actual fighting. The fitness levels needed are nowhere close to most other sports. More time spent looking at each other. This is from the Olympic level as well, which should be the pinnacle...

This sounds like WTF which is in fairness a sport. The same could be said for Fencing or Kendo.

To be honest I think boxing is boring to watch I much prefer to watch sports like the UFC or K1 boxing.
    walshb wrote:
    I wouldn't consider my comments ignorant at all, it's my view and I'm entitled to it....

Didn't say you where ignorant. You are entitled to your view but it would be nice if you explained your criticisms a bit better instead of ranting.

walshb wrote:

Fair enough, perhaps your right. That's your opinion and I respect it. All to their own, etc.

However, I think you miss my point. I said i only train in TKD, but I am very much open to the principles, concepts, and teachings of all other MA's. With my most experienced being 24 years in the Art of Life.

Dent, I wasn't addressing you when I said that my comments were not ignorant. Ranting????, where are you getting this. I've been involved in the premier combat sport on the planet, the toughest most competitive and regulated combat sport of all. This Doesn't mean I think other martial arts are useless. I happen to think real Muay Thai is brilliant, and tough as hell. By real, I mean the type that takes place in Thailand, not some back alley mickey mouse wannabe Thai club. The majority of them are ran by 'tough guys' and 'posers'. IO also happen to think that some combat sports are mickey mouse, that's a view, not a RANT....I've seen TKD and it doesn't compare to boxing or Muay thai. I've also seen a hell of a lot of Kenpo, another load of messers, I've also seen Jujitsu, another load of messers. You happen to think boxing is boring, fair enough. I guess watching the greatest sports star of all time (Ali), dancing and throwing beautiful crisp combinations at guys for 15rds can be a bit dull, can't it. And that Tyson guy at his peak,. what a bore...Ray Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Ray Robinson etc etc etc etc...terribly boring in the ring. I guess two guys padded up to the eyes with protection, jumping up and down staring into each others eyes, now that's exciting isn't it Dent??

walshb wrote:
    I've been involved in the premier combat sport on the planet, the toughest most competitive and regulated combat sport of all.

Sorry buddy, Mixed Martial Arts is alot tougher than boxing or Muay thai. There are alot more aspects to consider.
    walshb wrote:
    I've also seen Jujitsu, another load of messers.

Messers? Now there is an ignorant statement. If you are ever in Waterford, drop by for a free class and I'll roll with you. We'll see who's a messer.

dlofnep wrote:

Messers? Now there is an ignorant statement. If you are ever in Waterford, drop by for a free class and I'll roll with you. We'll see who's a messer.

Roll wit me, no thanks mate...I'm not into that messing. Street fight maybe, but believe me, you better be damn quick, because I am. You happen to think MMA is tougher than pro boxing, that's your opinion. I disagree....I'm not going to try change your mind either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I "USED to box" I "USED" to be involved in the toughest combat sport in the world.

Past it then?

Walshb, I see you've graduated from that into internet warriorhood. Congrats, all that training...... must have been tough on the fingers.

walshb wrote:
    Roll wit me, no thanks mate...I'm not into that messing. Street fight maybe, but believe me, you better be damn quick, because I am. You happen to think MMA is tougher than pro boxing, that's your opinion. I disagree....I'm not going to try change your mind either

What weight are you? If you are near my weight I'd be more than willing to compete against you in a full contact fight. Stand-up & grappling. No skin off of my back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

More posing and threatning than actual fighting. The fitness levels needed are nowhere close to most other sports. More time spent looking at each other. This is from the Olympic level as well, which should be the pinnacle
    OK, so you're talking about WTF, my frame of reference is ITF style, which is a completely different sport. I agree there is a lot of posing in WTF and I not a fan of it. Competing in ITF at any reasonably high level takes a great deal of fitness; competitors have to fight numerous high paced 2 round fights in quick succession. No, it's not as tough as boxing or Thai but it a difficult sport to do well in all the same.

walshb wrote:
    Dent, I wasn't addressing you when I said that my comments were not ignorant. Ranting????, where are you getting this.

When you make catch all statements without elborating on any of your points
    I'd call it a rant.
    walshb wrote:
    I've been involved in the premier combat sport on the planet, the toughest most competitive and regulated combat sport of all.

Its certainly not the toughest. That title go's to Thai Boxing. Its also corrupt as hell and I lost repect for how its run a long time ago.
    walshb wrote:
    This Doesn't mean I think other martial arts are useless. I happen to think real Muay Thai is brilliant, and tough as hell. By real, I mean the type that takes place in Thailand, not some back alley mickey mouse wannabe Thai club. The majority of them are ran by 'tough guys' and 'posers'. IO also happen to think that some combat sports are mickey mouse, that's a view, not a RANT

OK so anyone who fights Muay Thai rules outside of Thailand are not doing real Thai. Must be pulling kicks, punchs, elbows and knees then. Reckon you should sign up you'd take them all.
    walshb wrote:
    ....I've seen TKD and it doesn't compare to boxing or Muay thai. I've also seen a hell of a lot of Kenpo, another load of messers, I've also seen Jujitsu, another load of messers.

Seems you have seen a lot of things. Have you actually done any Jujutsu. Probably have a lot of trouble when kicks, clinch and ground game are thrown into the mix. Saying that your super fast and you would avoid it is nothing short of delusional.
    walshb wrote:
    You happen to think boxing is boring, fair enough. I guess watching the greatest sports star of all time (Ali), dancing and throwing beautiful crisp combinations at guys for 15rds can be a bit dull, can't it. And that Tyson guy at his peak,. what a bore...Ray Leonard, Hagler, Hearns, Ray Robinson etc etc etc etc...terribly boring in the ring. I guess two guys padded up to the eyes with protection, jumping up and down staring into each others eyes, now that's exciting isn't it Dent??

Eh I said I watched UFC and K1 Boxing. Never seen anyone padded up the eyes and jumping up and down in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

fedor_randleman.gif

Ah, ju jitsu posers indeed.

Boxing, scientifically proven to be the quickest way to make yourself ugly and stupid.

Slam!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

sorry to be OT but how the fook does fedor get up from that slam. going on ur back is no problems even for kids but going down on ur kinda spine is bad mojo man. doesn't he get up and arm lock him in about 3mins?

Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you. Fedor is half robot, half man. Nobody can defeat him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

He felt it later, i guarantee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

remember he took a grade a smack from the squat japanese guy. nearly put him on the floor. fedor rocks. he'd batter anyone in ufc i think.

He felt it later, i guarantee.

How dare you Mick! Fedor feels nothing!!! :mad:

remember he took a grade a smack from the squat japanese guy. nearly put him on the floor. fedor rocks. he'd batter anyone in ufc i think.

That was against Fujita.. Yeah, he was rattled but he is good at recovering really quick. He's also good at making pizza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭EPO_MAN

walshb wrote:
    Dent, I wasn't addressing you when I said that my comments were not ignorant. Ranting????, where are you getting this. I've been involved in the premier combat sport on the planet, the toughest most competitive and regulated combat sport of all.

Don't be mean to dent. He has seen off many a boxer in his time.

I think you are a lout!!! You steam in - pig ignorant and lay the abuse down. Did you ever think? "maybe the martial arts clubs I saw were muck I might ask the guys on boards if they know a tough one for a tough guy like me???"

either way I do jujustu and also recently kickboxing. I find them both tough and draining - in different ways.

Anyway to my point. I've been unfortunate to work doors for a while ( 7 years ) and I've known many boxers in that time and trained with afew too.
    The doormen who were boxers were in awe of how I could remove from a premise somebody (bigger than me some of the time) with ease while they were pounding away and getting tired (especially if the guys could fight back) it was my jujutsu allowed me to do that.
    then again I admired their knockout style - hence the kickboxing.
    But my jujutsu works....I've tested it on the streets...unregulated and at times frightening...
    Admittedly I also had an iron will, strenght and fitness.
    But I still have my looks!!!

So do us a favour take the challenges laid down to you by the other guys...then come back and talk the talk again.
    I know many boxers as vastly experienced as you who'd think you are a complete flute!

I'm surprised ye are even entertaining this guy. Let him have his say. Fair enough I think he's pig ignorant coming in here mouthing on, claiming its his "opinion", which by the way he is quite entitled to, but he fails to back up his points, gives no examples, and then digs himself an even bigger hole with the bullshido he's being coming out with.

I'm not even gonna get involved. People like this are not even worth the air between us. He claims to be a hard man and that... and I'm sure he is. But that's the difference between me training in TKD than being a boxer. Boxers are fighters, and some feel the need to prove themselves (no offense to other boxers here). While what I get from TKd is not about the fighting, its about an art, a way of life, a way of making me feel good about myself, knowing right from wrong, and knowing that I can fight if I choose to fight. I think TKD is about knowing the situation, about waking away, about not getting involved in a fight. Its more an avoidance, but its also there to defend yourself if needs be.

Anyway, I've had my say, that's my 2cent in the box. I rest my case!

I remember the 1st ever UFC years back before the athletes started training in all ranges. the worst performance in it was the Pro Boxer, he last about 3 secs, if my memory serves me correct.

As for TKD, I did WTF olympic style pure sport orienated for near 3 years back in uni days, and I tell you it was tough. There was no showmen where I was training and at tournments there was plenty of knock outs. lots of Knockdown Full contact karate guys used to compete in the tourneys too. Funny thing in Canada the WTF guys fancied themselves as tougher than the ITF ers. Maybe its different over here?

Re Proper Thai in Thailand. Well have trained there, which was a brilliant experience, and great. I actually had better and harder training up in bridgestone this afternoon from paddy c than I got in fairtex. The thais kicks were awesome but the boxing end of it was not a priority for them at all.

As for BJJ, I think its a must to have BJJ skills for the ground work. I do not have any BJJ experience, but I will get around to it before end of year.

Anyway this thread was cool until that lad started on about boxing again. All this was discussed in another thread the other day which became seriously boring...sort of like a broken down record!

Memphis is right he is enjoying what he does, most important of all it makes him feel good, and thats what counts. Life could be about feeling good and making others feel good too.

If you have to start tearing others down to make yourself feel good...maybe counselling could be an option?

Riled a few of you lads up. Memphis, who said anything about being a hard man. I said I used to box....big deal...Boxing is absolutely nothing about being a hard man. The most disciplined and respectable sports people are boxers. They have the utmost respect for each other. A hell of a lot more than these scumbag premiership soccer players for example. Now I happen to think it's the toughest combat sport in the world. Most sports people themselves will agree that boxing is the toughest. By sports people I mean those who actually compete in a regulated competeitive sport. The big problem with a lot of these so called martial arts is that there's far too many organisations and far too many people calling themselves champions of this and that. That's not good for the martial arts division. Every bloody day of the week youy hear of some guy in Dublin or Cork or Limerick or Liverpool or Manchester claiming to be world kickboxing champ or world TKD champ. Then you find out who these guys fought and beat and you begin to laugh. I'm not saying all martial arts are like this. Muay Thai and Wrestling and Judo for example seem to be very competitive and they are tough no doubt. Now guys chill out and don't be so sensitive. I've just brought in a different view point to a lot of you guys. I maybe wrong, and you maybe wrong...Don't take it so personal......

Millionaire, this thread is still good if you allow it to develop. Is Boxing a martial art...I believe so. Let the thread develop. If we all had the same opinions, I think it could get seriously boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Actually this thread is about peoples favorite martial art, which was a more interesting topic before the flamebait arrived.