Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

80s Movies

• 30-05-2005 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭

Watched "The Breakfast Club" (a classic!) and "St. Elmo's Fire" with Herself over the weekend. Haven't laughed so much in ages - mostly at the hair!!

What's your favourite?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

galactus wrote:
    Watched "The Breakfast Club" (a classic!) and "St. Elmo's Fire" with Herself over the weekend. Haven't laughed so much in ages - mostly at the hair!!

What's your favourite?

those two are the best of the Brat Pack movies

also like
    Ferris Bueller's Day Off
    Pretty In Pink
    Sixteen Candles
    Class
    Some Kind Of Wonderful
    Weird Science
    Mask
    Short Circuit
    Gremlins
    Cloak & Dagger
    Repo Man
    Blue Velvet
    Talk Radio
    Heathers
    Foxes
    Out Of The Blue
    Fast Times At Ridgemont High

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Aliens, Robocop, Terminator.....

Ah, they just don't make them like they used to :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Conan
    Robocop
    Aliens
    BeverlyHills Cop
    Terminator
    Indiana Jones

edit: almost same line up MobileInfantry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

Some great movies there!

Repo Man is always intense :) And what can you say about Blue Velvet (neighbour). :D

They definitely don't make 'em like that anymore.

Conan is an under-rated classic. Aliens*, Terminator, Indiana Jones etc. All great movies. Empire Stikes Back too.

Don't want to change the rules (it's all good!) but I was originally thinking more along the lines of John Waters / Brat Pack movies.

For me, it's all about that 80s hair! :cool:

Haven't seen these : Foxes, Out Of The Blue, Fast Times At Ridgemont High (nlgbbbblth's mentioned them) but will try and dig them up.

Trading Places and The Blues Brothers deserve mentions of course.

They really definitely don't make 'em like that anymore!!

Mask is 1994 according to imdb.com! :)

* Still prefer the original Alien though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I think you're thinking of The Mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

rocky
    back to the future
    the running man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Rabies wrote:
    Conan
    Robocop
    Aliens
    BeverlyHills Cop
    Terminator
    Indiana Jones

edit: almost same line up MobileInfantry :D

C'mon, ya forgot Commando! Funny Film! :D

I love alot of John Hughes films - Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Planes, Train & Automobiles, Uncle Buck, The Breakfast Club (up till its starts getting all mushy and sentimental), The Great Outdoors & National Lampoon's Christmas vacation (writer), Pretty In Pink.

Then there's Clue, Back To the Future, Weekend at Bernie's, The Money Pit, Private Benjimin, Dragnet, Batman, Beeltejuice, Short Circuit, Indiana Jones, Trading Places, Coming to America, Big Business, Labrynth, Big, The Three Amigos, Ghostbusters, Tootsie.

Can't think of any more at the moment!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Blade Runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bonzai bob

oh the memories,,

eh, what about the GOONIES!! Stand By Me, Maneqine(SP) etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Dr.Feelgood

Total ReCall

Was on last night its deadly

"see you at the party Ricter"

Or of course.

Stir Crazy
    See no Evil Hear no Evil

bonzai bob wrote:
    oh the memories,,

eh, what about the GOONIES!! Stand By Me, Maneqine(SP) etc

Damn, Yeah the Goonies and Manequinn (?)

Lets not forget that babysitter movie, i can't remember the name now, i think it goes under a couple of different names for some reason. Babysitter on the run or something!! aarrgh, i can't think of it, i can see the old stupid video cover of them all walking up the side of a building with the little girl and her Thor hat:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

Larianne wrote:
    Damn, Yeah the Goonies and Manequinn (?)
    MANNEQUINE, the film, the song...magic
    Working Girl
    Dont Tell Mom the Babysitters Dead
    Three men..
    Filofax
    The Secret of My Success
    Big
    Splash
    The Money Pit
    Turner and Hooch
    The 'Burbs
    Rainman
    Die Hard
    The Princess Bride
    Raiders of the Lost Ark
    Field of Dreams
    Dirty Dancing
    The Outsiders
    Police Academy
    Short Circuit
    Flight of the Navigator
    Parenthood

Big
    Turner and Hooch
    The 'Burbs
    Rainman
    Die Hard
    Raiders of the Lost Ark
    Police Academy
    Flight of the Navigator

Some of the greatest movies ever, i may pay a visit to play.com:)

Filofax!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes yes yes!

and eh, Andrew mcCarthy! Oh YEAH! :D

Couldn't bring yourself to write Three Men and a Little Baby?? Almost didn't see it there!! lol <snip>.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

Total ReCall

Or of course.

Stir Crazy
    See no Evil Hear no Evil
    Lol I am watching it right now, it has to be one of my fav movies.

bonzai bob wrote:
    Teen Wolf, HOW COULD I FORGET!!!!!!!!!
    The Great Outdoors
    Honey I Shrunk The Kids - < What a movie

Damn!! Teen Wolf. Was looking up the DvDs of it and they made a sequel!!! Yrst you can get a box set of Teen Wolf and Teen Wolf 2 from Play.com lol

Willem D wrote:
    Lol I am watching it right now, it has to be one of my fav movies.

I love when yer one starts kicking Sharon Stone's ass! you go Girl!!

Willow
    The Lost Boys
    Romancing The Stone

"Joan Wilder, THEE Joan Wilder?!?!"

Larianne wrote:
    I love when yer one starts kicking Sharon Stone's ass! you go Girl!!
    heh heh,

'Consider that a divorce':)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

scarface
    superman II and III

Jumpin Jack Flash

bonzai bob wrote:
    Jumpin Jack Flash

Damn you get in there before me. Good auld Whoopi. Best bit, when her dress gets caught in the shredder!

Watched Supermen III yesterday. That one used to scare me, the auld hag turing into a robot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Larianne wrote:
    Damn you get in there before me. Good auld Whoopi. Best bit, when her dress gets caught in the shredder!

Watched Supermen III yesterday. That one used to scare me, the auld hag turing into a robot!!

ye i watched it aswell, Richard Prior....wat a legend.... ;)

Big Trouble in Little China, do you have green eyes Larianne?
    A Fish Called Wanda
    Blind Fury
    Adventures In Babysitting < Thats the one i was trying to remember earlier!!
    An American Werewolf in London
    American Ninja
    The Abyss

bonzai bob wrote:
    Big Trouble in Little China, do you have green eyes Larianne?
    A Fish Called Wanda
    Blind Fury
    Adventures In Babysitting < Thats the one i was trying to remember earlier!!
    An American Werewolf in London
    American Ninja

Never saw most of them, maybe a bit of A fish called wanda. What's Big Trouble in Little China?

:eek: you have to buy it!!! Cheesy as hell but a true CLASSIC!

http://www.play.com/play247.asp?page=title&r=R2&title=169155&p=57&g=72&pa=sr

You buy now!:)

The Golden Child.

Pardon all my posts, don't mind me, i'm just reliving my childhood

bonzai bob wrote:
    :eek: you have to buy it!!! Cheesy as hell but a true CLASSIC!

http://www.play.com/play247.asp?page=title&r=R2&title=169155&p=57&g=72&pa=sr

You buy now!:)

I'll look it up on IMDB.com

oh yeah, Real Men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Big Trouble in Little China - ah what a movie

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0090728/

Rent or buy it - its a classic

bonzai bob wrote:
    The Golden Child.

Pardon all my posts, don't mind me, i'm just reliving my childhood

No it's good. I was thinking of get a whole load of DVDs to start a collection. As my collection at the moment is only 3 DVDs!! lol

And it's cool coz you can get alot of the 80's movies cheap!

Yeah, god bless depreciation!:D

Check on eBay, you'd get loads. I think i'll pick up a couple of classics now:)

Just looked at the Trailer to Big Trouble in Little China. Never seen that before in my life. Go on the Kurt Russell! lol Looks funny though.

They defo don't make them like they used to! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

favs from the 80's are

1. st elmos fire
    2. the breaskfast club
    3. brusters millions
    4. the goonies
    5. big business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

empire if the sun :)

galactus wrote:
    Mask is 1994 according to imdb.com! :)

no, Mask is 1985
    directed by Peter Bogdanovich

stars Cher and Eric Stoltz (as Rocky Dennis)

The Mask is 1994

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭telecinesk

And "The Sure Thing" followed by "An American Werewolf in London" cos Jenny Augitter gets them out. Real classic stuff. And Bladerunner too.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    no, Mask is 1985

The Mask is 1994
    such a sad film. Great one tho

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Back to the Future
    Dirty Dancing
    Gremlins
    The Princess Bride
    Beetlejuice

Remember the part in Back to the Future 2 where Marty goes into the future, and everyone has flying cars, hoverboards, self-drying clothes, stuff like that? Weird to think that was how they though 2015 might turn out - that's only 10 years from now!
    I always loved the idea of a cooker where you put in a teeny little frozen pizza, pressed a few buttons, and instantly you had a full-sized, fully cooked pizza... Mmmmmm

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    no, Mask is 1985
    The Mask is 1994

I stand corrected...doesn't sound like my cup of tea at all though!

Don't know how I could have forgot Blade Runner (the original with the voice-over is one of my all-time faves*) and Superman II ("kneel before Zod!"). Best. Superman. Movie. Ever.

Might as well throw in Supergirl. Go girl!

Surprised no-one mentioned Dune. Takes at least two viewings to understand what the hell is going on plus some of the special effects are a bit ropey but one day All Movies Will Be Made This Way (tm). Davis Lynch is a genius (sometimes).

Finally: SpaceHunter, Adventures in The Forbidden Zone (in 3-D). with Peter Strauss and (eek!) Molly Ringwald. Comments from imdb.com would have you believe its the worst movie ever made but don't let that fool you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭DayDreamer

My favourites from the 80's were...
    -Maybe Baby
    -18 Again
    -Girl's Just Wanna Have Fun
    -Can't Buy Me Love

Will post the rest when they come to me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭DayDreamer

Grrr this is driving me mental :mad:

I'm trying to remember a film from the 80's but can't remember what it was called for the life of me!

Anyway it was about this fella that was mad about this girl and his best mate tried to help him get her ...the best mate was a girl ..tomboy drummer with short hair! Anyway in the end I think he realises himself & the best mate are meant to be together!

Ring any bells?

galactus wrote:
    Surprised no-one mentioned Dune. Takes at least two viewings to understand what the hell is going on plus some of the special effects are a bit ropey but one day All Movies Will Be Made This Way (tm). Davis Lynch is a genius (sometimes).

David Lynch is possibly the best director ever
    Twin Peaks is the best TV programme of all time
    while Blue Velvet, Lost Highway and Mulholland Drive are unbelievably good movies.

I like Dune, but along with Eraserhead it's probably his least good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

Trying to pick mostly ones that aren't already mentioned - some really good selections so far :D

Big Business
    Mannequinn "Nothin's gonna stop us nooooooow"
    Troop Beverly Hills
    The Peanutbutter Solution
    Howard The Duck
    Monster Squad
    Alice Through The Looking Glass - the jabberwocky FREAKS me out! :eek:
    Superman III - aaaah the scary robot woman!! :eek:
    Garbage Pail Kids
    The Wizard - how did Nintendo get away with all the blatant promotion! But seriously, who DIDN'T want one of those game gloves?? :)
    BMX Bandits
    Flight of the Navigator Pure genius
    The Neverending Story
    Krull Another movie full of freaky bits :eek:
    Clash of the Titans the stop motion animation Medusa, nightmares! :eek:
    Short Circuit
    Explorers
    Karate Kid II
    Little Monsters
    The Prince's Bride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

Twin Peaks is the best TV programme of all time

Definitely ONE of the best series I've ever watched, and definitely close to being my all-time favourite, I just wish they'd hurry up and release S2 on DVD already!! 2006 at the earliest now :(

Total ReCall

Or of course.

Stir Crazy
    See no Evil Hear no Evil

Not an 80s movie! Released in 1990 but still a goodie.

"In a few minutes you'll be dead and I'll be home in time for cornflakes!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

DayDreamer wrote:
    Grrr this is driving me mental :mad:

I'm trying to remember a film from the 80's but can't remember what it was called for the life of me!

Anyway it was about this fella that was mad about this girl and his best mate tried to help him get her ...the best mate was a girl ..tomboy drummer with short hair! Anyway in the end I think he realises himself & the best mate are meant to be together!

Ring any bells?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0094006/

Howard The Duck! Yes! I can still remember the theme tune... end bit used to scare me though. Think it bombed in the cinema.