Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Matter if a guy has car?

• 26-05-2005 11:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭

Curious, after chat with few women in mid twenties I've got a question...Ladies, would the fact that a guy doesn't drive/bus it about bother you? Say he's 26/27? Or is this the case for immature folk?
    Hardly a personal issue, but I'm curious all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

Not for most women that i know, myself included.

It's more of an issue if he's still living at home, unless there's a very good reason for it.

"Can't afford to move out/saving for something specific/family reasons"...those i understand. "Mammy washes and irons my shirts and puts food in front of me" - that's a deal breaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

cuckoo wrote:
    Not for most women that i know, myself included.

It's more of an issue if he's still living at home, unless there's a very good reason for it.

"Can't afford to move out/saving for something specific/family reasons"...those i understand. "Mammy washes and irons my shirts and puts food in front of me" - that's a deal breaker.
    How about if he lives with his mother in a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Eh, I don't own a car. I really don't see the point in owning a cash absorbing item when I live in the city centre within walking distance of everything.

Then again, I like walking. So maybe I'm strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sharza-

A car does matter for most women, though most will lie.

However its not a big a deal that it would stop someone going out with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

wtf has a car got to do with ANYTHING? if you both live miles away from eachother then one may be handy but what the hell has it got to do with ANYTHING? i have a car but if my gf even mentioned she had a problem with me not having one (other than for a realistic, practical reason) she'd be dumped lickety split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Moved from PI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

cars are goddamned expensive. if a woman doesn't want you because you don't own a car, forget that gold digging biatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

If a girl would only go out with a guy unless he had a car, then she is a muppet!

Jees, cost of petrol, cost of insurance, etc.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 bumblebeetuna

I have my own car so no it probably wouldn't bother me but if I had to keep picking him up and drive him places it would probably get to me after a while...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

How about if he lives with his mother in a car?
    For some reason that just makes me think of knightrider, except Kitt is going "Put on a coat Michael, you'll catch your death in that stupid leather jacket!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Depends on the girl, I know a few girls where if you don't have a nice car (not an 86 micra) and your daddy's not in at least 2 tribunals then you don't get a look in.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Curious, after chat with few women in mid twenties I've got a question...Ladies, would the fact that a guy doesn't drive/bus it about bother you? Say he's 26/27? Or is this the case for immature folk?!

wtf?
    is this the 1950's or what
    buy your own car if it bothers you that much! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

hotma, is that some sort of MILF site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

lol :D

What about moped, do they turn girls on

Ah no. Honestly what do ye girls think on lads on mopeds

AdrianII wrote:
    lAh no. Honestly what do ye girls think on lads on mopeds

wanna be bikers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

So is thats a definet No no

Not that i have one or am thinking of getting one, i hate the things (loud, slow and look crap)

Its just that i have to laugh when i see lads flying round town on them thinking "im the man".

Any body share these views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

/me rubs car

My car is necessary because if I live miles outside the city and the bus service is very crap.
    If I was living in the city I could easily get by without one, I have before.
    A girl wanting you for your car is very crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

no it doesn't matter at all if you have a car or not or get the bus (unless you still live with your mammy at that age, but then that would be the problem and not the lack of car).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

nesf wrote:
    Then again, I like walking. So maybe I'm strange.
    lol you said it not me, jking ;)
    What about moped, do they turn girls on

I think Skangerssssss. Almost all mopeds bar those half classy looking 1's

If a woman wouldnt date you because you dont have a car... its $$ in her eyes tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

AdrianII wrote:
    Its just that i have to laugh when i see lads flying round town on them thinking "im the man".
    There are some little tossers with them all souped up with the muffler removed, so it has this pathetic high pitched whine "sounds deadly man"

many just have them because they are dirt cheap to insure, petrol lasts forever, cost of the moped is cheap, weaves in and out of traffic, goes as fast as they would want to go on a motorbike, and you can't go that fast in most cities anyway.

[HTML]would the fact that a guy doesn't drive/bus it about bother you?[/HTML] I don't understand this at all, what is the "bus" comment, if a guy walked to work instead of getting a bus some women wouldn't look at him? bizzare stuff.

Are there guys out there who be "bothered" if a girl didn't "drive/bus it about"???

Would the girls who are "bothered", look down on their female friends in the same position, or is it a sexist issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

matters to some of them.
    advise not getting a car if possible: to eliminate the possibility of finding yourself with the kind of silly bitch this matters to.
    no point having a car if you live within a couple of miles of city centre. bike is as almost as fast - much faster during rush hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I was seeing a girl a while back, who, although I don't think it mattered to her that I had a car, she was definitely impressed. She was certainly impressed with the roomy back seats heheheh]

3 Door Saloons - Sporty, yet roomy :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

I won't go out witha giurl unless she buys me a car and buffs it with over sized novelty super suddy breasts.

....mmmm suds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

"silly bitch this matters to."

I don't know. My sister definitely was impressed when her date taxi'd her home in his large 1.8L Rover - she doesn't know much about cars, but the size of the thing impressed her, it's an executive car.

Now, my sister isn't shallow or a "silly bitch", and she will claim that it "doesn't matter" about the kind og car a guy drives (or IF he drives) yet, she will admit, she was impressed by this car. To her, it gave the impression that this man was could take care of himself, was independant and thus, a potential breadwinner. Women find such traits attractive in a man, despite how shallow it may seem. She is actually kind of embarrassed to admit it but... yes, the car did make a difference in her overall first impression of this man. People have to remember that we are still neanderthals in truth, despite our intellectual prowess!

They are now married, happily I will add!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

im gettin a car in october so ill be independant. boys cant drive anyway

jezza wrote:
    im gettin a car in october so ill be independant.
    Great another 'lady' driver, just what we need.
    jezza wrote:
    boys cant drive anyway
    Men do the driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭anna20

apparently if a guy owns a car it increases his attractiveness by a 1/3........interesting. wonder if the same applies for a girl??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

anna20 wrote:
    apparently if a guy owns a car it increases his attractiveness by a 1/3........interesting. wonder if the same applies for a girl??

Not if she drives one of those awful new Beetles.. eurghh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

anna20 wrote:
    nope cos all the nice cars have rotten lads driving them!
    and im gettin a peugot 206! in october!! woooo

well i wasn't intending to insult anybody's sister.
    Dagon: Yeah you make good points. Personally, I don't want to be seen as a breadwinner until/unless i want to have kids.
    Depends on environment what sort of effect it has. Was engaged to american before. Being in mid 20s and not being able to drive is totally bizarre to Americans outside of the big cities. Most of them have big cars in their teens. Wasn't a big deal while we were here, but in America it made me feel a bit silly.
    Being influenced by possession of car doesn't necessarily mean gold-digger either. Was on date with one girl who certainly wasn't one of those, and who said she liked a guy to have his own car.
    On the Neanderthal thing: Suppose it's all about territoriality. Girls are drawn to the guy whose territory it is if they are comfortable generally. If you have your own car then you can spend a lot of time in your own territory, totally uncontested.
    However, a woman who is able to disregard these sort of factors is probably going to be more loyal, less demanding, more their own person - so more likely to be the sort of person i would be interested in at this time.
    So perhaps instead of saying "eliminate the silly bitches", I should have said "narrow it down to particularly cool chicks".

edit:
    atcually the first time i was in the us on a j1, I started going out with a girl partially because she had her own car. Didn't influence how attracted I was to her, and I was attracted to her, but it was extremely useful because where we were staying you were virtually stranded without one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

if a girl drives does it make her less attractive? ... I suppose a car could be considered an accessary .... If a car makes a man more attractive then anything he owns makes him attractive. I'm sure the same kind of woman that goes for a man that has a nice car would just as easily go for a man that has a nice house but does not drive.

I think Dagon hit the nail on the head with the provider thing. I personally would not be attracted to a man because he had a car... not even if it was the bat mobile "chicks love the car"... If that was the case I'd have a sugar daddy!

Something that made me think though ... if girls like guys to be 'the provider' and have a car ... do guys want girls that are helpless and don't drive?

Damm primal instints.

KlodaX wrote:
    ... if girls like guys to be 'the provider' and have a car ... do guys want girls that are helpless and don't drive?
    Personally no, I don't want to be her taximan....
    But i'm sure some men look for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Well I live in the congestion zone in London, and most my friends have cars at home, but noone has them in London. Too expensive. To park near my area is £5 an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

course it does
    I wouldn't go out with guy who didn't have a car
    a girl has standards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Eve e

No,it doesn’t really matter but I draw the line at been given a crossbar home from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Beruthiel wrote:
    wtf?
    is this the 1950's or what
    buy your own car if it bothers you that much! :rolleyes:

No, this is the year 2005. He doesn't indicate anywhere that it bothers him that much, just that he wants to know people's opinions. And maybe if it did bother him he would not be in a financial position to afford a car. Think before you dispense your advice. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As said, at a base level, it does give a girl an indicator of a man's possible ability to provide. There are few women who won't give a man in a nice car a second look (unless he's a posing tosser). It's an instinct thing.

But whether they actually matter or not is a different issue. There are valid reasons and there are not valid reasons.

Valid reasons: She may have to drive him everywhere, always drive over to his, etc if he doesn't live close to work/shops/bus. At the start of a relationship, this is not something you'd want to be doing for the rest of the relationship. If circumstances changed in an established relationship, fair enough.

Not valid reasons: She thinks he's poor.

Any woman who chooses not to go out with a guy for any of the not valid reasons wouldn't be worth the amount of effort you'd have to put in anyway.
    Something that made me think though ... if girls like guys to be 'the provider' and have a car ... do guys want girls that are helpless and don't drive?
    Not exactly, and you can't blanket everybody. I think the majority of guys though, like to at least be given the illusion from time to time, of being the manly one, the provider in the relationship, even when the girl is more than capable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

nesf wrote:
    So maybe I'm strange.
    Maybe?

Kernel wrote:
    No, this is the year 2005. He doesn't indicate anywhere that it bothers him that much, just that he wants to know people's opinions. And maybe if it did bother him he would not be in a financial position to afford a car. Think before you dispense your advice. :rolleyes:

my post wasn't directed at the OP
    it was directed at any female who thought that way

perhaps you should read my comment properly next time before you despense your advice :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Beruthiel wrote:
    my post wasn't directed at the OP
    it was directed at any female who thought that way

perhaps you should read my comment properly next time before you despense your advice :rolleyes:

I think you're telling a little fib there love. Maybe the fact that you quoted the original poster is a giveaway that you were referring to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

kjt wrote:
    Almost all mopeds bar those half classy looking 1's
    The classy ones are called scooters, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

Where does a good bicycle fit into this? :(

I'll be stuck at home with mammy and daddy (only we use first names, always have) and sister and brother and other sister and other brother until I'm 28 (at least). This is because I'm college full time and will be until at least then (probably more like 30 if I do a postgrad, but I'll probably delay that in order to move out).

:eek: - fvk 'em, I'm gonna be a fit 30 year old SOB when I finish:cool:.

i moved out of home when I was 18 and I went to college full time.
    Plenty of people move out of home before they finish college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

tinkerbell wrote:
    Jees, cost of petrol, cost of insurance, etc.!
    Thats the point to a degree, if a guy will spend money on a car, hee will spend money on her.

It's part "female seeking out the male that can provide for her (and her children)", part "shallow bitch".
    KlodaX wrote:
    No, they want them to have boobs... thats it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

No, I don't really like cars much. They're not half as cool as they look on TV and I hate the way people overuse them once they've bought one. I mean, it's cool to use your car if you're going on a trip but if you're just going out to buy the paper, do it on foot no matter how bad the weather is!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Ah bollocks to walkin - hate it. I'm overweight and heavily unfit but have no desire to change that through the taking up of walking - walking is just too goddamned slow - takes too long to get anywhere and i'm a busy man - time spent walkin when i can drive is time wasted imho...(oh and **** bicycles - weather sucks). Ba Humbug! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

never had a car myself, ive never felt the need for one. i can get public transport to anywhere i need to go and a bit of a walk is nice. i can see how they are handy sometimes but i wouldnt be too pushed either way, if they were really cheap id probably have one.

i wonder if advertizers aim some of their adverts subliminaly at women not so much advertizing the cars but perhaps advertizing men in cars, thus contributing to the phenomenon of a car being seen as something that makes a man more attractive, indirectly causing more men to buy cars.

maybe not but just a thought that popped into my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Steven

Kernel wrote:
    I think you're telling a little fib there love. Maybe the fact that you quoted the original poster is a giveaway that you were referring to him.

That's not the impression I got :/
    stagolee wrote:
    never had a car myself, ive never felt the need for one. i can get public transport to anywhere i need to go and a bit of a walk is nice. i can see how they are handy sometimes but i wouldnt be too pushed either way, if they were really cheap id probably have one.

Agreed, on all points. However, it is a bit of a pain when you have to be somewhere early and the bus passes you full of passengers, or doesn't pass at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

cuckoo wrote:
    "Mammy washes and irons my shirts and puts food in front of me" - that's a deal breaker.
    Damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Eh, to be perfectly honest any woman who would refuse to go out with me because I don't own a car I wouldn't use is far too shallow to even get me to talk to her for longer than 5 minutes. Sounds harsh, but i've issues with people being with someone purely because of their money/possessions.

It's a factor definitely, and no one likes to be going out with someone whose definition of love is leeching money off their partner.

If I thought I'd get use out of a car, then yes I'd buy one. But since I know I wouldn't get much use out of it (I rarely need to get a bus, nearly everything is within an hours walk of me and I'm happy to walk so long as the weather isn't a blizzard or something).

Plus a guy not owning a car does not mean he lacks the funds to purchase one ;)