Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RESULTS - Boards.ie Heads-Up Championship

• 20-05-2005 8:57am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Post your reasults and I will update the list.

Round 2
    2.1 NickyO'D vs. Amarillo Fats
    2.2 okidoki987 vs. karlh
    2.3 Dub13 vs. bohsman
    2.4 DapperGent vs. LordJimbo
    2.5 Juan Pablo vs. PokerEvents
    2.6 padser vs. DaveyDevil
    2.7 roundtower2 vs. podgeen
    2.8 roryc vs. ocallagh
    2.9 ionapaul vs. Culchie
    2.10 CoD vs. Hyzepher
    2.11 johnor vs RasTa
    2.12 threebeards vs. DocO

Round 2 Results
    Roundtower2 beat Podgeen
    karlh beat okidoki987
    Pokerevents beat Juan Pablo
    johnor beat rasta
    CoD beat Hyzepher

Round 3 List
    Roundtower2
    karlh
    Pokerevents
    johnor
    CoD

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Dub13 beat Waylander 2:0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Dub13 wrote:
    Dub13 beat Waylander 2:0.
    That was quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

ionapaul beat hallelujahjordan 2:1 - three very good games and a lot of sneaky slowplaying was seen on both sides :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

nice one paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

my guy Dave, is at uni and cant get home due to work and he cant play via his uni connection, so he's giving me a bye thru to the next round .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

okidoki987 2 musician 1

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

CoD wrote:
    my guy Dave, is at uni and cant get home due to work and he cant play via his uni connection, so he's giving me a bye thru to the next round .

I am sure we could find someone to take his place - Lafortezza?

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I think aidankk was first on the list of replacements, there was about 3 or 4 people wanting in if I remember correctly.
    I suppose the first person to post here can play CoD. Games have to be played by Wednesday remember. Or by Thursday at the latest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

DocO 2 Frank Bruther 0

V gud match. first was long and a bita craic, second i flopped a full house of queens and tens and beat a k, fortunately enuf for me. both novices to the heads up but well enjoyed.
    unlucky mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

padser beat vamos 2-1

First game very cagey with padser not getting value for a poker of 10's. Def could have gone either way though. Lasted about 30 hands. Really swung around.

Second game was lost on the first hand. HeI caught him bluffing so much in first round i was sure he didnt have the set he was representing. Went all in and although correct he did have higher pair.

third game lasted about 20 hands. Finished up with Vamos going all in for 960 on K5 and coming up against KQ. No help form the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

karlh beat lenny leonard 2-0

v ul in no. 2 lenny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

karlh wrote:
    karlh beat lenny leonard 2-0

v ul in no. 2 lenny!

As the crappy saying goes, that's poker! Hope you go on to win it now, at least then I'll have been beaten by the best!

only 9 matches out of 23 played so far. If they have to be played by wednesday everyone better get their matches sorted out pretty soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭podgeen

podgeen 2 marq 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

waiting for madsl to get back to me re our game; read your private messages richie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Devil 2 Bookable 0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

NickyOD 2 Imposter 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

LordJimbo 2 BigDragon 1

GG Jimbo.

unlucky dave

BigDragon wrote:
    LordJimbo 2 BigDragon 1

Oscar will be hapy with that....I think alot of money was on you Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Juan Pablo 2 Fathead 0

gg Fathead

Dragon, wtf (wp Jimbo ;) )! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

CoD 2 - 1 aidiankkk

was close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

destroyed by JP hammered. me needs a lot of work for next years tourney.......gg JP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

DapperGent 2 - 0 Hectorjelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Go Dapper! Cooking dinner while playing again I assume ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

pokerevents 2 -1 biteme

i got caught bluffing a little too much. gg though apart from speed blinds on VC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

DapperGent wrote:
    DapperGent 2 - 0 Hectorjelly

The book will very much have to be reviewed now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Juan Pablo wrote:
    Go Dapper! Cooking dinner while playing again I assume ;)
    lol.

That feckin Nicky fellow only called/raised when I was bluffing. He also conveniently folded preflop when I had good hands. Aarrrrgghh. Not a bad game although I was a tad lucky with the game I won.

Oscar, don't forget my PS$! Should lighten your bankroll for Vegas a little. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Ok bet results so far

I owe Imposter 17.50
    Vamos owes me 15
    Fathead owes me 5
    Iago owes me 10
    Juan Pablo owes me 10

You can pay me either in the club or pokerstars account oscarf

If you finish in the money at the WSOP do we all get our money back...?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭johnor

BrendanB 1 vs. johnor 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

roundtower2 beat accensi0n

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

CoD wrote:
    CoD 2 - 1 aidiankkk

was close

wp cod, good game must have a few more of this type of compedition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Amarillo Fats 2 Careca 1 :(

Some unreal cards. i was getting low and amarillo went all in preflop. I though he had big slick and needed to double up. Called with 22. He turns over 22. lol.

Last hand. board 883. Check check. Turn 6. I check raise all in this bet. Called. Me 89. AF 810. Good game though. played Rob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

bohsman i already stuck five into your pokerstars account on the day i wagered, can you check if it went, if not i'll try again...cheers

Imposter wrote:
    lol.

That feckin Nicky fellow only called/raised when I was bluffing. He also conveniently folded preflop when I had good hands. Aarrrrgghh. Not a bad game although I was a tad lucky with the game I won.

Oscar, don't forget my PS$! Should lighten your bankroll for Vegas a little. :p

The flops hit me in the face in the first game. Second game you rolled me over. 3rd one was tough but I was lucky enough to get an early lead. Wierd that the best hand I saw in the 3 games was 99. Nice to see some of the big names out of the way so early! :D

"Ok bet results so far

I owe Imposter 17.50
    Vamos owes me 15
    Fathead owes me 5
    Iago owes me 10
    Juan Pablo owes me 10"

Anyone else looked like a pretty good bet

Hector Jelly 3/1Fav out
    KP Nuts 4/1 out
    ocallagh 4/1
    Shortstack 4/1
    Juan Pablo 5/1
    BrendanB 8/1 out
    Marq 8/1 out
    LennyLennard 8/1 out
    DaveyDevil 9/1
    Nickyod 10/1
    Biteme 10/1 out
    Pokerevents 10/1
    Spiritus 10/1
    Hyzepher 10/1
    BigDragon 10/1
    Anyone else 15/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Any white smoke from the Shortstack/Bohsman game ?

I still have a fiver on myself at 15/1. I wanted to put 50 but oscar was having none of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

Ah it was closer than close..
    Well played careca

Thats grand fathead, delighted to see big dragon go out by the way

Still no result between myself and shortstack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I'll be online tomorrow evening so can everyone try to have all the games played by Thursday 9pm (ish). I'll post up the Round 2 matchups then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

ocallagh 2 MadsL 0

Two 'orrible beats;

Game 1:

I'm SB - complete with KQo
    Niall: raises
    I call
    Flop 4Q4
    I move all-in
    Niall thinks and calls with JJ
    Rivers a J

Couple of interesting hands in that game;
    I got AA, immediately followed by Niall gets AA next hand!
    Also had a AAA flop in the game too..

Game 2
    We're pretty much at the all-in moves only stage of the blinds;

I have JJ, complete the SB
    Niall raises
    I move allin
    Niall calls with Qh5d (leaving him with about 1800 I think)
    Four hearts!

That said, Niall played a class game and deserved the win. The beats just rubbed it in... :D

Well done Niall - GL in the next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

First game was a horrible beat... sry richie! your overbet on the flop was a good one and should have secured you the first game!

Second game blinds got so high (200/400 with 4k chips between us) it could have swung eiter way. if your jacks held up you'd have taken the lead and more than likely the second game!

very well played richie and sorry for the bad beats!

Bohsman 2 1 Shortstack

Mike won the first one easily, I outdrew him my A4 hitting a board of 7744 against QQ in the second oneb and caught Mike bluffing with 2nd pair to win the last one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

well done Oscar, If you keep hitting cards like that the WSOP is yours :D

I think I tried to finish the last one too quick when I moved on the flush & straight draw when you had the rockets. Should have protected my lead and waited for a better spot.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'm still interested in playing as a reserve if its needed. Been so busy lately I didnt see this comp!!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

DeVore wrote:
    I'm still interested in playing as a reserve if its needed. Been so busy lately I didnt see this comp!!

DeV.

to be honest i havent been paying attention either. can i play too or is it too late. pm me if i'm in coz i dont read the posts very closely.
    Dev u and me can have our own comp. wanna split it?
    yeeah, co-winners, (only me more so by 1%), yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Well done on the $200 win tonight Des...

I had the weirdest night of poker ever. First the heads-up described above.

Then entered the NW Ballina Freeroll (260 odd runners - 1 ticket) I swear 3/4 of the field decided to watch the match instead. Twice I was playing headsup against a single active player and a full table of disconnects. Twice I knocked them out to leave me the only live player at the table :D:D
    Raise, collect blinds. Raise, collect blinds. Rinse and repeat. I had 10 full minutes of just doing this, had a chat with a host - asked him what the story was, he just told me to enjoy the free chips...

I had entered the $10 freezeout with $300 added too, thinking that the freeroll would be the usual crapshoot speed thing..10 min blinds and with all those disconnects took agaes to get to the final table, at which point I was at the final table of the $300 game too, uh oh.

I hate multitabling at the best of times, but two final tables - ugh!

Then, my wife rings :eek: So I'm juggling two final tables and a long involved conversation about the flat we are moving to (problems) and the job interview she had today..

Result: 9th in the freeroll and 7th in the $300. Gah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Gah indeed. gah! freerolls and tiny rebuys will break our hearts. unless we win 'em! gah!