Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iAudio X5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,854 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Hmmm... well what would be a selling point for me is being able to connect an external hard drive (which don't need drivers) say a 300GB hard drive and be able to play the files using the X5 and not have to copy the files to play. That would just kick ass.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

One of these is waiting in my office for me, arrived today. Will play with it tomorrow and give some feedback :D

Lucky you!! Let me know how Suzanne sounds on it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Felixdhc wrote:
    One of these is waiting in my office for me, arrived today. Will play with it tomorrow and give some feedback :D
    sweet can't wait to see what you think of it, any chance of some pictures too?

Sure will, will be one of the first transfers :D
    Along with some techno, trance, house, rock, metal....need to get a feel for its all round abilities!

Yeah, no probs, will take some pics of it.

Its typical, was out of the office this afternoon and got a call to say it had arrived. Was tempted to drive back out but would have taken an hour in heavy traffic so somehow had to contain myself till the morning!

one thing with the pictures could you place another everyday object in the picture so we can get an idea of size, that would be brilliant.

i'm seriously thinking of purchasing one of these betsy's.

I'll picture it with a pack of smokes and a lighter, that should give an idea of size.

Until I add my own pics, found this site this evening with some good shots.

http://www.dapreview.net/gallery/thumbnails.php?album=138&page=1

Attached one shot comparing size against iPod & Rio Karma.

Feels like Christmas Eve as a child tonight, don't know if I will be able to sleep tonight :o

It's a nice one alright! Tell me if it says Color Sound on the one you get though! The Karma is a nice lil thing, I had a go of my friends and it's got some nice features, like gapless. Very nice when changing songs.

yeh i saw that color sound writing on it, me don't like one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

nice pictures here too

http://www.akihabaranews.com/en/revue_48.html

I'd be interested to know how good the connection between the player and the subpack is. Apparently theres no kind of locking mechanism, it's just a friction hold so it could easily fall out, which would be bad if you wanted to record a gig or something.

Too tired to say much now but here are my first thoughts :rolleyes:

Its a great player, sound is amazing, actually beats my Rio Karma in that dept. Build quality is great, really sturdy and well built.

Although, as it does not support ID3 tags I have spent the night sorting my music into files for easy management on the player (a horrible task).

To answer your questions, yes, it says "Color Sound" on it - believe me, it will not bother you if you get your hands on one.

The subpack is losely connected and I guess could be an issue if out somewhere recording. Although there is a built in mic too.

All in all so far I LOVE this player. I think I can safely say its the best toy I have ever got my paws on :D (then again its only been a day!)

Feck, pics I took are too big file size. Will take more tomorrow lo res and post.

JetAudio Screenshot.JPG:
    File Too Large. Limit for this filetype is 490.6 KB. Your file is 1.74 MB. :mad:

cool, get tagscanner, it can sort mp3s into folders by the tags:)

cormie wrote:
    cool, get tagscanner, it can sort mp3s into folders by the tags:)

Must get that, serious pain trying to rename all my music!

Some pics.

Cool, now have you got an external hard drive with mp3s that you could test out hooking up to the USB OTG and seeing if you can play MP3s from it without copying them please:)

no, no external drive with mp3s! Do have one but in work. On hols now for two weeks so wont be able to answer that for a while!
    Don't know if it will work though because I hooked up a digital camera and to view the pics I had to copy and paste, although I might have been doing something wrong :o

That tagscanner is great, thanks for the tip!

The X5 really is the dogs. The more I use it the more I really cant believe how good it is. The sound is just amazing and it is so easy to navigate. I thought that the file storing would annoy me after the Karma system but I actually prefer it now. Its handy being able to file different genres or by artist etc. I have a folder for DJ mixes and then sub folders for the genres. Then all artists arranged in different alphabetical folders.

they are great pictures.

i'm seriously thinking of selling my h140 now.

Just resized some more pics.

what version of the x5 is this is it the L version with the long battery life or just normal?

Its the 30GB X5L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

Enjoy! Its a lovely little thing, hopefully i'll get my hands on one later in the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭OhPinchy

lads based on what I read here I did some more research on it and I'm convinced the iAudio X5 is the Daddy of all MP3 players so I wanna get my hands on one asap.

Where do I get one though?

I'm gonna be in the US for a week from next weekend but from what I can make out it seems its only available online and I'm having the usual problems trying to order with a non-US credit card and getting it shipped to a different address to the billing address. Even ebay is letting me down.

Anyone know of a way I can order it online from the US and either have it delivered to me over there or have it delivered to here? Or are there any shops in the US where I could walk in and buy it?

Pauln and felixdhc – where did yous get you iAudios and how much were they? And are they as good as theyre cracked up to be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Sarunas

Yeah, where did you guys got it from and how much did it cost you?

Seems lots of people who have iH320 want one...

I got mine through kinda being in the business.

Bcool in the Pavillions Swords will have a selection of iAudio by Friday this week. They will have the X5L 20Gb too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Sarunas

Got iH320 today... Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

You should be able to bring it back :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭hopeful

FYI BCool in town have 2 x 20gb X5L in stock.

Well actually they now only have one :D

How much did it cost you? is it the L?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭hopeful

cormie wrote:
    How much did it cost you? is it the L?

Its the 'L' version and my credit card is still in shock :eek:

It was 389.99
    One word of note is that has a two prong power adapter but a shaver adapter works just dandy.

First impressions are good. Seems easy enough to navigate around it and the menus are pretty obvious. Sound quality excellent thus far but not had a chance to listen for long. Easy drag and drop transfer from PC and speedy transfer under USB 2.0.

Nice :D