Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heads Up Odds

• 18-05-2005 10:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭

6/4 Imposter vs. NickyO'D 4/6
    6/4 okidoki987 vs. musician 4/6
    4/5 careca vs. Amarillo Fats 5/4
    6/4 karlh vs. lennyleonard 4/6
    4/5 Waylander vs. Dub13 5/4
    2/1 DapperGent vs. HectorJelly 1/3
    4/6 Shortstack vs. bohsman 6/4
    4/6 BigDragon vs. LordJimbo 6/4
    2/1 Fathead vs. Juan Pablo 1/3
    4/5 PokerEvents vs. biteme 5/4
    4/5 Vamos vs. padser 11/8
    1/10 DaveyDevil vs. Bookable 10/1
    5/4 assensi0n vs. roundtower2 4/5
    4/6 Marq vs. podgeen 6/4
    4/6 roryc vs. willis 6/4
    7/4 hallelujahjordan vs. ionapaul 1/2
    1/3 ocallagh vs. MadsL 2/1
    1/3 kpnuts vs. Culchie 2/1
    4/5 CoD vs. Dave 4/5
    1/2 BrendanB vs. johnor 7/4
    4/5 Spiritus vs. Hyzepher 4/5
    4/5 RasTa vs. Red 1. 4/5

Im sure PPP will be more than willing to open a book :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

bohsman wrote:
    1/5 DaveyDevil vs. Bookable 10/1

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Feel free to get on, I will lay that bet

What about odds on overall winners?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

What about odds of winning it outright?

Some of them odds above are nice. I'll take any of these for 5€:
    2/1 okidoki987 vs. musician 4/6

Hector Jelly 3/1Fav
    KP Nuts 4/1
    ocallagh 4/1
    Shortstack 4/1
    Juan Pablo 5/1
    BrendanB 8/1
    Marq 8/1
    LennyLennard 8/1
    DaveyDevil 9/1
    Nickyod 10/1
    Biteme 10/1
    Pokerevents 10/1
    Spiritus 10/1
    Hyzepher 10/1
    BigDragon 10/1
    Anyone else 15/1

Imposter, Ill take those bets, probably shouldnt take money against myself but if you insist

I'll make the other 2 with you but I don't like the idea of you gaining if you lose. I'll take that with anyone else though.

How do you want to pay me :) Could make it 5$ each and go through Pokerstars?

grand $5 on karlh and okidoki, reckon that 2/1 is a misprint but done is done

Don't know how you could include the Boards TLB leader in the "anyone else" bracket. I'll take kpnuts and myself. 5 PS$ on each. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

PPP might put up a page and betting facility for us? Most of us have accounts there anyway, and it is a sportsbook site.

NickyOD wrote:
    Don't know how you could include the Boards TLB leader in the "anyone else" bracket. I'll take kpnuts and myself. 5 PS$ on each. :D
    You make no sense :rolleyes: :p

What about odds for "everyone else"? There's a few left out of the main odds that have a chance imo (and no I don't mean me)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

you can only really have odds on the winner. as it would be very easy to fix round one games, were both players put money on one of them, and one of them agrees to lose :)

The Max bet Ill take is $5 so if someone wants to fix a match for that few money fair play but cant see it happening,

Nicky Ill take your money aswell :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

10/1 on Dragon is too good a price to pass up, put me down for €10.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

All I can say is that I am insulted by my 10/1 offering - especially considering some of those above me - have they even heard of Head's Up!! ;)

Hyzepher

• Registered Users Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I'll stick a fiver on myself at 15-1.

Can someone work out how fair that book is? ;)

as long as theres no arbs in there...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Some of them odds above are nice. I'll take any of these for 5€:
    2/1 okidoki987 vs. musician 4/6

Mother
    Imposter I would have laid you the 2/1 :D

bohsman
    I'd change some of the odds quick before the lads from PP wake up

1/5 and 10/1
    6/4 and 4/5
    in a 2 horse race is an under round book (or whatever the technical term is)
    but basically somebody can back both of them and not lose!

Maybe try 1/5 and 5/1 or 1/10 and 10/1
    and
    6/4 and 4/6 or 5/4 and 4/5

okidoki987 wrote:
    Mother
    Imposter I would have laid you the 2/1 :D
    I think you've a better than a 2-1 chance to win it. That's all.

Actually just thinking the HU boards game we had was won by moi so I should be insulted by not being on the list! ;) (ok there was only 5 of us, but I beat Mike in the 1st round)

Are you taking e/w bets?

bohsman
    I had a quick look at the book.
    Seeing as there's 46 runners, I think 15 runners at 10/1 and less looks a bit skinny (PP would like a book love that in fact :) )
    It works out around 290% whereas a PP book would be around 110% (I think).

Modified, dapper and JP your bets are taken aswell

4/5 Vamos vs. padser 11/8

Should go 4/5 and 5/4 or 8/11 and 11/8
    that's assuming you don't want to take any margin on all these ;)

Imposter
    If you wanted to back Hectorjelly to win it outright, you would be better off backing him in each round as 3/1 to win it outright would be equivilant of backing him to win each match at 1/3 (assuming 5 matches only).
    The further a tournie goes on, the better the odds should get as only the stronger/better/luckier :) players should still be in and therefore in a semi final you should have something like 4/6 and evens the match rather than 2/1 and 1/3.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Can I lay a 50euro bet on myself as a total outsider........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

bohsman wrote:
    Hector Jelly 3/1Fav
    KP Nuts 4/1
    ocallagh 4/1
    Shortstack 4/1
    Juan Pablo 5/1
    BrendanB 8/1
    Marq 8/1
    LennyLennard 8/1
    DaveyDevil 9/1
    Nickyod 10/1
    Biteme 10/1
    Pokerevents 10/1
    Spiritus 10/1
    Hyzepher 10/1
    BigDragon 10/1
    Anyone else 15/1

Bohsman, flattered and all as I am at being listed in the top 10, there's no doubt that my odds are far, far too short. Anyone who plays predominately live will have a serious lack of heads-up experience, due to the nature of deal-making at final tables i.e. usually the top three or four split the money and that's the end of it. Honestly, getting to the second round would be a huge achievement!

I reckon the online STT regulars here will have a huge edge over the live regulars... maybe the Irish HU champ might have a chance too, although I think his first round draw is far from easy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

For Hector to be 3:1 he would need to win 25% of this type of tournament. With all due respect to the jellied one he is not quite that good!

I'd say the favourite in this should be no less than 10:1 with the outsiders no more than 100:1

I'd put each match as 4/6 the fav and 6/5 the underdog. 1/2 and 6/4 for the extreme match ups. No one had that big an advantage in a best of 3 HU situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

PPP Boss.... time to put up a book !! ....I'd say you'll get a bigger market from this than The Eurovision (Song?) Contest .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,880 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

€5 on me not to qualify for saturday nights eurovision final.