Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On The Prowel grrrgrr

• 17-05-2005 8:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭

I ran into Avril Lavigne last night in Bruselles. I was just wondering has anyone else seen any alleged celebrities in any bars around town, excluding Lilles or Renards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

what time was she in there at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭shacko

It was gone midnight she is tiny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Seen Gazza, Dean Stockwell (Al from Quantum Leap) and Liam Gallagher in Bruxelles over the years (hey, I been drinking there a long time!).

In town, seen Sinead O'Connor (lovely looking), Samantha Mumba (lovely looking) in my local, the two from Eurovision (Donna loved me) a couple of weeks ago also in the local. U2 in the VIP bar of the Kitchen. Few others, but I cannot remember because I was drinking at the time, and those brain cells are long since departed. ;)

Ahh, **** it, they're only celebrities in fairness. Wouldn't you rather meet someone interesting or someone with something to say. I'd like to have a few beers with Jesus for example, at least he is famous for doing something! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

i saw Samantha Mumba in UCI Tallaght. I saw Neil Morressy(sp) a la Men Behaving Badly in Stephens green, he was with some footballer as well but i don't know who it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

shacko wrote:
    I ran into Avril Lavigne last night

Is she ok?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

shacko wrote:
    I ran into Avril Lavigne last night in Bruselles

Did you give her one or was she with a skater boy?

skywalker wrote:
    Is she ok?

haha, very good. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I saw damien duff going to the cinema with some bird in town. The savoy its on o connoll street. Also saw brian o'driscoll, Gary lineker, Bill clinton in my golf club. oh and that mad dude who used to always be on all those pop idol things, saw him comin out of la petite strip club :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Meet Brad pitt in brusells ( spelling :confused: ) a few years ago , he was doing stuff for his Pikey roll in Snatch.

Meet Bill Clinton when he was still pres, but that was at work.

Gone drinking with Dr. Cox from scrubs in Tamango :eek: .
    Natali Imbuglia ( my friend hand't copped on who it was till she left) in The Bailey.

Neil Jordan (Director) in a pub i can't remember the name of but know where it is.

ummm, Melinda messanger she is nom noms , but a little small.

In England i've ended up drinking with a few footballers , just a good laugh.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Last year in Lisbon I was walking past a stadium on the way home after a night out... and bumped into the new guitarist of Limp Bizkit. He was surrounded by a load of teeny boppers and seemed to be loving it. He was telling one girl "go on give me your number and I promise I'll call you". Myself and my friends didn't believe he was in Limp Bizkit as I thought that they had a weird eyed guitarist.... but apparently he left..... so one of the girls there unravelled a poster and pointed at the young fellow in front of us and said "look it is him!!"

Ok!

Has anyone seen anyone in the last couple of days i heared Brian May was in Bruselles Sunday. An Peter O toole is supposed to be propping up bars all over town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Too many to name... Sure Dublin is such a small city it's hard NOT to bump into celebs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I see Samantha Mumba every now and then in Westwood in Clontarf. I go more than she does though, ergo, I should look fitter. I don't though, I can't figure it out.. I don't think she's particularly attractive though.

I met Michael Stipe in O'Connors Jeans on Grafton St. once. Went up to say hi, and he greeted me with 'sorry I don't give autographs'.. uppity git, I'm not even a fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

i beat Mondo from Fair City in a game of pool once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

Aisling O'Neill from Fair City at a session in Stillorgan
    Ray from Big Brother near the cinema in Dun Laoghaire
    'N Sync and Britney Spears at a roller skating rink in Orlando years ago
    Maurice Gibb from the Bee Gees around the same time while working in Ruby Tuesdays in Orlando (left a nice tip)
    Saw Freddie Murphy in the car beside us while stopped at a red light in L.A.
    A friend of mine was in the toilets in Tonic in Blackrock the other week and apparently Colin Farrell was also there. He asked said mate not to sell anythin to the papers - dont know if he was only talking about the fact that he was even there or the size of his manhood...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Megatron wrote:
    Gone drinking with Dr. Cox from scrubs in Tamango :eek: .

I've seen him a good few times in dublin......doesn't he have a house here or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Lets see

John Bruton
    Mary McAleese
    Former German chancellor Helmut Kohl (he went flyin past in a Merc when i was on the bus once, recognised him when it showed him on tv that night at some EU conference in Dublin)
    Daniel O`Donnell (quit laughin :) )
    Former daytime tv legend Derek Davis (in some hotel he was doin a promotion or whatever.i roared out "mam hes massive" upon sight of his big ass.)
    Ray Darcy. Seemed like a nice guy
    One of those tv chefs, Rankin or somethin, he was cookin in Dunnes in Blanch
    The PM of Canada back in about 1994
    I could swear I seen the beardy Attenborough brother standing outside those film studios in Wicklow, Ardmore or something
    Ive seen Anne Doyle around town shoppin at least 3 times
    Nearly certain I saw Joe Duffy from the top deck of a bus. He was at a wedding at a church, near that mosque around the Stillorgan/Clonskeagh area. If i knew he woulda done such a sh1te homecoming show for the irish squad in 2002 ida taken a shot at him
    Saw someone who was the spit of Ricky Tomlinson (Jim Royle). Very like him, but anytime ive seen him on tv not acting he is quite well dressed. This guy was dressed exactly like Jim.
    Some blonde yoke from Fair City
    The guy who does the weather on UTV
    Think I seen the baldy slaphead from News 2 on the bus yonks ago.
    The guy who played Father Stone in Fr Ted. My mother actually knew him years back from work (they worked in the same factory or something). Gave her a lift a few times, she said he was as quiet and had as little to say as his on screen character :D
    Packie Bonner, talent scouting at a schools soccer match. He didnt even give the crowd a wave when they shouted at him, the prawn sandwich eatin prick.....
    Heres a tenacious one, alot of people seem to have seen Paul McGrath whenever these threads appear every few months. Heres a tenacious link- I saw McGraths kids at some hotel about 8 years back. Reason I know it was them is because someone said they seen Paul about the place, and Ireland wasnt as multicultural back then of course.
    We looked around but didnt see him, I dunno where he was at, we probably shoulda looked in the bar :D

So were not allowed to include seeing people at concerts.......well, I saw Robbie Williams tour bus, it cut right infront of us at McDonalds on the Navan Road. Roadhoggin git

Fcuk me my last two are stretching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

morrissey & siobhain fahey - (on seperate occasions) in the welcome inn (parnell st) a few years ago siobhan fahey was drinking with 2 blokes one of whom was in my class in school?? never knew why - i think his dad was a session musician or something.
    i used to work in a shop on grafton street years ago i came back from lunch one day & barry manilow was blocking the doorway to the stores area- i had to ask him to move he was wearing sunglasses (to avoid being spotted i think)& was quite tall,his hooter was unmistakable though.
    I nearly killed bob geldof when i was cycling down dawson street one day too he just stepped out of a car & didnt look, i think i shouted something like " watch yer arse bob!" although that was about 15years ago..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Lars Ulrich(Metallica drummer) drove past me and my mate as we were leaving their gig last summer. We left just before the crowd,so we could get a bus home and a few cars with tinted windows went by, followed by a sh1tty peugot with himself in the backseat coverin his head with a towel. He waved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

karlh wrote:
    you should have just beat him, forget the pool

Last September in Zurich I was walking around the FIFA headquaters when a car passed and stopped about 10 metres ahead. Out pops Sept Blatter (FIFA president). He looks at me, I splutter "hello", him "hello" and smiles... I wander off in a daze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I saw Chris Pontius aka Part-Boy! in a chipper in Blackrock, getting a veggie meal.
    Saw Joe Dolan!!!!!!! in the mens room at croke park,
    saw samantha mumba in river island on grafton street,
    met the barenaked ladies after their gig in the olympia, went for a drink,
    had lessons from Dave Hingerty, former frames man,
    met Ronnie O Sullivan in Koo in bray,
    saw Eamon Dunphy in the back of a taxi in temple bar
    met Jack Charlton at some bank of ireland thing before the 94 world cup,
    saw Rachel Hunter at brown thomas on grafton street,
    saw brian O driscoll, shane horgan, dennis hickie and simon easterby in whelans I think...I was so drunk, I felt like punching one, just so I could have the Irish backline chase me down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Cianan2 wrote:
    Lars Ulrich(Metallica drummer) drove past me and my mate as we were leaving their gig last summer. We left just before the crowd,so we could get a bus home and a few cars with tinted windows went by, followed by a sh1tty peugot with himself in the backseat coverin his head with a towel. He waved.

he would want to hide!
    lucky bastard than ran into avril.....at least thats one way to meet her :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Ran into Ewan Mcgregor in town ages ago. It was before star wars, so he was introduced as "the guy from Trainspotting"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭hannable80

went for pints with fred durst in vegas , he was a bollox so i told him his music was ****e, wasnt to impressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Party Boy seems to be in Dublin a lot, so many people I know have run into him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I saw some famous people on TV once...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Blisterman wrote:

He is/was going out with an Irish girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

I've met

-Mondo from Fair City
    -Denise Welch (was Natalie in Coronation Street)
    -Some fella from a boyband called Broken Hill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

About 10 years ago,maybe 8 actually,Robbie Williams was in my local.
    He got locked and emerged singing "When ya walk through the storm hold your head up high...."
    I'll never forget it! Twas hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

we saw simon casey in the cinema.he was sitting in front of us. and my boyfriend started throwing popcorn at him and his girlfriend :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

I was in amsterdam last year,it was lashing rain so was in a shelter area and a guy and a girl ran in too,started chattin to the girl (as u do) and then she started laughing and he started whispering "shut up" and she started laughin again and then i asked "whats wrong with him?" and she said "ah he just dosnt want me tellin you that hes leo" . i didnt no wat was going on at this stage then he threw his hat at her and took off his glass's and said "you can go **** yourself" i called him a wanker and she appologised for him and went off.
    It was only after one of the girls i was with told me it was Leonardo di Caprio

My claim to fame :cool:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I was at Neil Hannon from the Divine Comedy's wedding
    Saw Ardal O'Hanlon at a Divine Comedy concert (he later came onstage and sang 'My Lovely Horse')
    Saw Samantha Mumba in the Powerscourt Shopping Centre
    Saw Bryan from Westlife on Wicklow Street
    Saw Sonia O'Sullivan, also on Wicklow Street
    Saw the other two blonde guys from Westlife in the Stephen's Green Shopping Centre
    Saw Ray Darcy in Jervis Shopping Centre
    I sat in front of Bono at a carol service in my school (his daughters go to the same school as me)
    Pat Kenny, Ryan Tubridy and Adi Roche all visited my school to give talks
    I met Maeve Binchy in a bookshop
    I saw Carrie Crowley in a garden centre (I'm really scraping the bottom of the barrel now!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Met Dom from Muse in New York. Met Ash at a Late Late show rehearsal. Duncan Stewart from Our House at the gate to the old campus in Maigh Nuad. Thats about it from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

karlh wrote:

I also refused him from a club last summer,what a twat he was!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

I saw paul mcgrath last friday and saturday pissed off his head in dun laoghaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

I met Penn from Penn and Teller in templebar a few years ago, beat that! Also my girlfriend met Kelsey Grammar (frasier) in stephens green a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

I actually had a pint with Billy Joel and didn't even know it!! Only copped when a woman started singing "Uptown Girl". This was in the old Norseman before it got turned into a plastic paddy bar. He was a nice and unassuming guy. Even when his "cover" was blown he stuck around and chatted to the locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭open_book

which side of bruxxelles was avril on the metal side? what was she wearing was she just sitting there? were blokes chatting her up left right centre? ahh the mad confusion shes so sexy tell us more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I met James Cameron and Linda Hamilton on Grafton Street a few years back....nobody knew who they were except me and a buddy. Went up to them and said hello...nicest couple...James asked me my name and then said "RuggieBear, you're going to love my next film....it's called Titanic and it's going to be great!!!!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i met the late great Dermot Morgan(fr. ted) in the jervis shopping centre.
    ive seen Samantha Mumba in every pub in Dublin!!okay..maybe not every pub!
    met Mary Mcaleese last year.
    met one of the cottons out of eastenders in majorca.
    sarah from coronation street last saturday in bondi niteclub
    i saw kerry Mcfadden in the airport last summer.
    And that pr*ck that presents winning streak,derek something

at least i can die knowing my life was fulfilling...... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

met howard marx in a coffee shop in amsterdam and proceeded to get quite ****ed up having meaning of life conversations with him. nice dude. intense but nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

as I have mentioned before, i got a chance to chat with kylie minogue at feile 95
    have met most of the RTE personalities at different telethons in 1988 and 1990 including Gay byrne, pat kenny Gerry Ryan, Dave fanning etc,

Ive met naomi Campell in Dublin once

yer man from the eurovision, Charlie McGetigan was on the Dublin-Cork train once with me we chatted for most of the journey, he was going to cork i was getting off at limerick Junction.

I met Ali G in coventry I have a picture here somewhere I will try to get it scanned and will post it here .

Blisterman wrote:

I think his girlfriend is a Dub, that might explain it!

I've also remembered that I met Bryan McFadden and Kerry in the Racecourse (they used to always be there). Kerry had nice tits, but she was smaller than I thought, and her head was small.... Colm Meaney, saw him on Dawson Street, met Craig Charles, and Clive Barker (weirdest accent ever). Dunphy used to be in the Viper Room pissed up quite often, but I haven't been there in a long time, so dunno if he still goes there. Also met many footballers and sportsmen all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

Kernel wrote:
    I think his girlfriend is a Dub, that might explain it!

True. They met in the Mad Hatter a while ago during the Meteor Awards. I went to school with her. They're married now but if you ever see a repeat of MTV cribs you'll notce the Irish accent on her.

Anyone seen the great Peter O Toole Proping up any bars latley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

NikNik wrote:
    if you ever see a repeat of MTV cribs you'll notce the Irish accent on her.

and he has a copy of the evening herald on his fridge afaik, from a time he was arrested or something.

Memory hazy, must lie down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

NikNik wrote:
    .....if you ever see a repeat of MTV cribs.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Well i couldn't say i actually met Colin farrell but... i walked past him on Monday at his grandad's funeral, would have been good if it was on better terms, could have had a chat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭sound_wave

i met Elijah Wood while I was having a few pints in Prague in an Irish bar while Inter railing. He was filming for a few weeks and came to the pub every Friday or so we were told. We hung around waiting to see if he did and he came in the door at about 12.00. the pubs close relatively early so the bar stayed open. Cupla pints later there was a knock on the door of the pub, it was the police, who "fined" the pub cough*bribe*cough. The bastards has the cheek to do a whip around to pay the fine and there was Elijah sitting pretty on his fortune.
    Needless to say I told the barman to feck off when he came looking for money off me.

Im sure i have a photo around somewhere with Frodo in it. Ill dig it out.

Edit: Found it: http://members.boards.ie/spacemonkeymafia/27-Prague.JPG