Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin - Longford 15/05/05

• 16-05-2005 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭

Fantasic win for the boys in blue yesterday with them scoring from every angle. It was a little embarassing to watch them forfeit easy points in the last 5 mins to take shots on goal, but who can blame them? It was "only" Longford, but putting 29 points over any team is a feat.

(I do like Croker... mind if we borrow it lads?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

The new hill is something else,a big improvement on the old kip.It's hard to judge the result as longford on played for about 50 mins then gave up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

Trojan wrote:
    Fantasic win for the boys in blue yesterday with them scoring from every angle. It was a little embarassing to watch them forfeit easy points in the last 5 mins to take shots on goal, but who can blame them? It was "only" Longford, but putting 29 points over any team is a feat.

(I do like Croker... mind if we borrow it lads?)

a good win for Dublin alright, should make them think they are invincible alright!!

dublin did not get a workout even so i would not read anything into yesterdays match. dublin (like laois and a few other teams) need to meet good opposition so they know what their strengths and weaknesses are. yesterdays match was just a training session imo.

at least kildare got a fright, they know where they have to improve.

--laoisfan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I love the way that every year Dublin win games against a few easy teams and then the supporters began to believe they can take on the world.

It doesn't appear to be as bad this year yet, but the championship is still in its infancy, and I do believe that Dublin will beat Meath.

That said, roll on the Dubs against Armagh, Tyrone, Mayo or Kerry! The big guns always tend to sort them out.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Good win for Dublin, they look to be in very very good form. I think the most Dublin will do is get to the quarter finals. Don't think they'll go any further. Great display but they're turning on the style too early. Championship winning teams are always ones that can grind out results, not win by 100 points. Whether Dublin can do this or not is yet to be seen.

Longford should be ashamed of themselves after that display. No county should put on such a terrible display at the championship stage. Especially one as promising as Longford, whose minor team done well at All Ireland level in recent years.

Trouble with Dublin is that alot of their players are athletes and not technically gifted footballers, see Ciaran Whelan for a prime example.

I know its early but I fancy Armagh. They weren't spectacular against Fermanagh yesterday, kicking 22 wides, but as Pornapster said, the good teams grind out results.

I've fancied them since well before the Championship started and believe they might struggle in the smaller, easier games but will really show their class when the going gets tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

Longford were easy opposition but you can only play against the opposition you're given. I was reading a few pre-match reports and while all reckoned Dublin would win, their predictions varied from a 6 or 7 point margin to a 2 or 3 point win. Seems they were slightly off the mark ;)

They were saying as well that our full forwards can't score. Keaney and his 1-4 seemed to think otherwise; Brogan (who was moved up to full forward I think) as well with his 1-3.

Like I said, Longford were easy and the victory margins are going to get a lot smaller but I really believe Dublin are the best team in Leinster at the moment. They're unlikely to win an All-Ireland but they could well make the semis.

But will Keaney and Brogan be fit to knock over that many scores when they are faced with a half decent back line, like that of Laois or Kildare??

I refuse to rate Dublin until I see them against some decent opposition. Like I said, in the past supporters have got over confident when they've beaten teams like Louth and Leitrim. Its teams like Westmeath and Kildare who'll test them, and they aren't even great teams.

Dublin may indeed win Leinster but that will only be because of the poor quality of football in the province. I couldn't see them winning Munster or even Connacht, and there are few Ulster teams they would beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

If you look around the threads on this forum you will not see one Dub stating that they will get much further then the Leinster final. It is a wonder Dublin fans start shooting their mouths off whne the likes of you find it so difficult to say that it was a good result. I agree, everyone expected Dublin to win at the weekend, but by a few points only. They won convincingly, and it was a good result. I am not saying that they are now set up to win the All Ireland, merely that they had one good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

"I love the way that every year Dublin win games against a few easy teams and then the supporters began to believe they can take on the world. "

I love the way Other people assume things about dublin when clearly they dont know what their on about. has any one heard a Dublin fan or player claiming a chance at Sam this year ? I havent.

Im an optamist and i like to think Dublin will over achive and on their day they could beat anyone.. but no one (like last year) is being over confident. we are very aware of our status. ofcourse its our fault that being the major city in Ireland we get most of the media coverage. imagine a media organisation hyping something up ?

If anything dublin were dissapointed we didnt get a tougher challenge from Longford as we need the practice for the Meath game. Dublin have the capability to win leinster this year..I wouldnt dare hope for more until we see them against real oppisition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I was surprised by the margin of Dublins victory, especially given that Longford have some very talented players! I think that they are a team that could do well this year and possibly reach the quarter finals of the all-ireland series! However I hope that they do not win Leinster as they are in the same side of the draw as Wexford who I am tipping to win Leinster!

"If you look around the threads on this forum you will not see one Dub stating that they will get much further then the Leinster final. It is a wonder Dublin fans start shooting their mouths off whne the likes of you find it so difficult to say that it was a good result."

I never said it wasn't a good result. To the contrary, I think it was but Dublin had a good result against Louth last year, and look where that got them. And the Dubs I'm talking about are not necessarily people on Boards, I'm talking about the Dubs I go to college and work with. Life doesn't begin and end on Boards ya know!!

"I love the way Other people assume things about dublin when clearly they dont know what their on about. has any one heard a Dublin fan or player claiming a chance at Sam this year ? I havent."

As stated above, I live in, go to college and work in Dublin and I've heard plenty saying that this is their year now that Lyons is gone. So I know exactly what I'm talking about.

"Im an optamist and i like to think Dublin will over achive and on their day they could beat anyone.. but no one (like last year) is being over confident. we are very aware of our status. ofcourse its our fault that being the major city in Ireland we get most of the media coverage. imagine a media organisation hyping something up ?"

I totally agree with this point. The Herald and the Sunday World in particular tend to hype up Dublin. An interesting point I heard one person make is that Dublin are like the English national soccer team. They've got a star player who is vastly overrated (Ciaran Whelan = David Beckham) and are expected to win every competition they enter. That said, when they don't, the media overly attack them and their star player.

"Dublin have the capability to win leinster this year..I wouldnt dare hope for more until we see them against real oppisition"

I agree with this but I don't think they'll go much further than the quarter finals. That said, they will find it tough against the better teams in Leinster like Laois, Kildare and Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Lemlin wrote:
    As stated above, I live in, go to college and work in Dublin and I've heard plenty saying that this is their year now that Lyons is gone. So I know exactly what I'm talking about.
    I doubt that very very much. I live in Dublin, work in Dublin, drink in Dublin and look at pretty much every internet site that talks about Dublin, and I have not come across even one Dublin supporter saying this is our year for Sam. Very few are looking beyond Leinster, and most arent even looking beyond the Meath match.
    How many is "plenty", or did you just make it up to try and justify your original post? Or maybe they were just pulling the pish because they knew thats what you expected to hear.

Most Dublin fans that I spoke to on Sunday after the game, and that I have seen comment on the game had pretty much the same feelings:

- overall happy with the performance
    - good to see so many forwards taking good scores
    BUT
    - Longford were dire
    - concern over the half back line and corner backs
    - will midfield be as effective if they come up against a midfield who actually compete?
    - will forwards kick points as easy when pressure is on?

Still a general optimism that we can beat Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

IMO (probably get slated but sure here goes) I reckon there are only a handfull of teams for leinster this year.

I am going for a Laois-Dublin final (assuming they are on opposites side of the draw, too lazy to check, perhaps somebody will correct me if I am wrong).

Outside of Laois, Dublin possbily Westmeath (taken a step back imo, have not improved since winning last year), Kildare (you just never know with them), Meath and Offaly (last 2, real outsiders imo).

So there ye go.....let the slating go!!!

I reckon Offaly will really test Laois when the meet next....expect Laois to win but would not be surprised if Offaly cause an upset on the day.

--laoisfan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

laoisfan wrote:

Outside of Laois, Dublin possbily Westmeath (taken a step back imo, have not improved since winning last year), Kildare (you just never know with them), Meath and Offaly (last 2, real outsiders imo).

So there ye go.....let the slating go!!!

Laoisfan what about the mighty Wexford? Who have shorter odds than either Offaly or Kildare with Paddy Power, made the league final this year for the first time since 1946 and whom the last three Leinster champions have had to defeat on their way to the championship! I am predicting a Laois vs Wexford final, with Wexford winning but Laois going further in the all-ireland series!

aye in my opinion Dublin, Laois and wexford are the real contenders ( I think Laois are the strongest while wexford have momentum and the dubs are dark horses with their new management) . While Kildare and westmeath have the ability to cause an upset with any of the teams . I expect nothing more that a hearty challenge from Offaly and carlow... Louth, wicklow and longford can try again next year.

I doubt that very very much. I live in Dublin, work in Dublin, drink in Dublin and look at pretty much every internet site that talks about Dublin, and I have not come across even one Dublin supporter saying this is our year for Sam. Very few are looking beyond Leinster, and most arent even looking beyond the Meath match. How many is "plenty", or did you just make it up to try and justify your original post? Or maybe they were just pulling the pish because they knew thats what you expected to hear.

Plenty is a wide majority that I know. Most are true Dublin suporters but I do admit a few are the bandwagon brigade (didn't even know Dublin were playing Longford but will have their blue jerseys on come a big game and swear that they'd bleed for their county!)

And I've heard several say in my local that the Dubs are gonna go all the way this year because Lyons is gone and Caffrey will get the tactics right. I even heard this talk Sunday night after the Longford game, and I know the difference between someone having a laugh or messing and being serious.

I also admit though that many have said they'd be happy just to get out of Leinster. I'm still sticking by my guns though that you can't rate Dublin until they've faced decent opposition.

Laoisfan, I think Kildare will have a say in how Leinster turns out as well. Let's not forget that they are a wounded animal after last year's early exit from the championship and look how that factor from the year before drove Westmeath last year.

Btw, how do ya do that ting with the quotes to quote someone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I'd agree Laois and Wexford are the favourites but i'd say both Offaly and Meath are contenders too. I don't think WM will be up to it this year, but I hope to be surprised again. Dublin have an outside chance but no more than that imo. I don't think Kildare are up to much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

QUOTE:

I Life doesn't begin and end on Boards ya know!!

If you come onto a forum to start bitching about something, people are probably going to assume they have the right to reply, using that forum as an example. Like Rooster, I have yet to hear a Dub say that this is our year for Sam. Even though you say you thought it was a good performance by Dublin, when a Dublin fan said the same thing you shot him down for it.

As for Kildare, I think they are a poor team, and do not expect them to feature in the Leinster shake up at all. I would agree with Al that Laois are probably marginally stronger then Dublin and Wexford but do not think there is much between any of the three teams.

I didn't shoot anyone down. I said it was a good performance but a team cannot be judged for a performance against a very weak team and that Dublin would really be tested against a half decent side.

I'm from Cavan and if they hammer Antrim Sunday week then I'll know that Antrim are a poor team and that Cavan will really be tested against Tyrone in the next game.

I wasn't bitching about anything. I was stating what I've noticed this year and in recent years. If you notice I said "it doesn't seem to be as bad this year yet".

If anything, I think the media is the reason why people around the country tend to have a mentality of "them" against "us" in regard to Dublin. Outside Dublin the team are disliked because of all the media coverage and the hype that surrounds players like Ciaran Whelan. That said, that is not the fault of the team but the media as pointed out above.

way to back down form your origional statement

"I love the way that every year Dublin win games against a few easy teams and then the supporters began to believe they can take on the world. "

I know certian Cavan supporters that have unrealistic expectations and claims about their county on this very board :) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I believe that Dublin can take on the world, and will win the Sam this year.

I'm not backing down at all. After Dublin win maybe one or two more games, or maybe even after the Meath game, you'll begin to see what I'm talking about then.

If you notice I said games so, when the media start the hype, that's when the supporters will begin theirs.

I haven't seen any Cavan supporters on this board with unrealistic expectations. The only Cavan supporters I know on this board are myself and Pornapster and I think both of us have very realistic expectations.

Alany wrote:
    I know certian Cavan supporters that have unrealistic expectations and claims about their county on this very board :) .
    Who is that then?! :p

I will love it when we beat Meath, I will *love it*.

Trojan wrote:
    I will love it when we beat Meath, I will *love it*.
    Shhh... Don't jinx yourselves! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

Oh for God's sake! Does it matter if people get overexcited? Is there something wrong with premature celebration? Football is a sport - it's meant to be enjoyed. And if some people enjoy it by being completely unrealistic, let them! It's not as if they're committing some terrible crime against humanity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

/me does a jig.

ahh...gotta love the Championship season :)

Lemlin wrote:
    I haven't seen any Cavan supporters on this board with unrealistic expectations. The only Cavan supporters I know on this board are myself and Pornapster and I think both of us have very realistic expectations.
    PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Ulster SFC

14: Armagh v Fermanagh = Armagh - 2 points

QUARTER-FINALS:

15: Armagh/Fermanagh (14) v Donegal = Armagh - 2 points
    16: Monaghan v Derry = Derry - 3 points
    17: Tyrone v Down = Tyrone - 5 points
    18: Cavan v Antrim = Cavan - 5 points

SEMI-FINALS:
    19: = (15) v (16) = Armagh - 3 points
    20: = (17) v (18) = Cavan - 2 points

FINAL:
    (19) v (20) = Cavan - 2 points
    kaimera wrote:
    /me does a jig.

ahh...gotta love the Championship season
    I prefer congress season ;)

I forgot that the "sports" fans in here wouldn't get that...

Imposter wrote:
    Come on Imposter, I don't represent even a minority of Cavan supporters. I'm always known for my silly optimism and you should also know this. Most of it is tongue in cheek anyway.

I know there are tough teams that Cavan would have to go through to win the Ulster title, but at the time I posted that Cavan had a relatively full strength squad. And most people in Ulster knows that Cavan at full strength are always hard to beat. Tyrone didn't have it easy in the 2001 Ulster final, Armagh didn't have it easy last year either and we only had 14 men for the whole game! Derry were very very lucky to make it to extra time against us last year too. Now a year on Cavan are more experienced and more capable to challenge for Ulster.

And what I think is most surprising is that people seem to over look the strength of Cavan's U21 team this year which shows the strong young players coming in to help the older senior players like McCabe, Larry Reilly etc.

Now it is obvious that we have a chance, because we have a good team. If we get players back from injury I think we might have a chance. But don't confuse my tongue in cheek optimism with that of some Dublin supporters. I know of a few Dubs that live up here that have this attitude.

At no point has Pornapster said that he expects Cavan to win Ulster. There's nothing wrong with hoping though!

Btw, Breezy, didn't say that there was anything wrong at getting overexcited. Just said I love laughing at the Dublin supporters when they do.

It was so funny in 2002 when they were sure they were going to win Sam and then Armagh stepped in. The look on the faces of the Dubs I was watching the match with said it all.

Lemlin wrote:
    At no point has Pornapster said that he expects Cavan to win Ulster. There's nothing wrong with hoping though!
    You mean he's not taking the competition seriously. :eek: Fair enough I suppose i'll have to disqualify him ;)

Sure I'll beat you all with my other predictions anyway! ;)

I Think I will Join Kaimera in a Jig of Joy for the Championship season...

a Dublin V Cavan All Ireland final it is !! the Dubs to win by 22 points !

Trojan I imagine will predict the Dubs to join the premier league next year, get bought out by a billionaire and win the Champions league ?

Nope, everyone knows Cavan will beat Dublin by 14 points in the semi (we'll be winning by 10 at half time so bring on a few subs and just mess around with yas!) and will beat Kerry in the final for revenge for '97.

Alany wrote:
    Dublin V Cavan All Ireland final it is !! the Dubs to win by 22 points !
    I'd take that, this year anyway! I think Analy's 2 key is broken though. Surely he meant to type 2 points, because there isn't a hope in hell that Dublin would beat Cavan by 22 points in a Championship match! :D

yeah I would take a 2 point win.. infact the more I think about it.. im sure now dublin will win the all ireland . Well im glad thats settled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I'm a Dub and a GAA fan, and a big one at that.

Cavan were once the team in Ulster, but that was over 50 years ago. Cavan have 5 All-Irelands, the last being in 1952. Their last Ulster title was in 1997 and before that in 1969, so they have done very little in modern times. I don't think either of those two statistics are going to change this year.

Dublin have not done a lot either, but they'll get further than Cavan, though probably not all the way. They could win Leinster. Their tie with Meath is a while off yet. Sunday week will be interesting with Offaly v Laois and Kildare v Westmeath marking the real opening of the Leinster Championship.

At this stage my money would be on Armagh as one of the teams that I will be sitting in Croke Park on All-Ireland Football Finals day watching, and then seeing taking Sam home. But then a lot could change between now and then. That is, after all, the joy of the championship!

Lemlin wrote:
    It was so funny in 2002 when they were sure they were going to win Sam and then Armagh stepped in. The look on the faces of the Dubs I was watching the match with said it all.

Where do you dream this krap up Lemlin? :mad:

The look on the faces would have been utter disapointment at not getting what most reasonable people would have said would have been a deserved draw by missing a late, relatively easy, chance. Nothing to do with a certain All Ireland out the window (that was 1992 BTW, and you'll never come across a Donegal supporter who'd say we werent very generous in defeat.)

Dublin had a 50/50 chance of beating Armagh, but had they won that game every single Dublin fan knew that they would have gone into the All Ireland final as massive underdogs. The hope would have been that Kerry would have been full sure of winning and therefore gone into the final over-confident - as they did against Armagh - though I doubt that would have happened against the Dubs.

I assure you Rooster that I didn't dream it up at all. I was watching the match in an electrical store in Dublin where I was working at the time and a huge crowd had gathered.

And I'd listened to it for weeks about how Dublin were guaranteed their first All Ireland in many years. As an Ulster man, I was glad to see Armagh go through.

let me ask you how you think cavan people would have reacted...would thy have been happy ?

for someone who has lived in Dublin so long you don’t seem to understand much about us. its the same i find with a lot of "out of towners" ... Never seem to quite understand our ways .. then leap to conclusions.

Did you here about the Dub with the inferiority complex ? He thought there was someone almost as good as him ...

Isn’t that the general consensus ? lack of cultural understanding IMO.

I would of had nothing wrong with people accepting defeat graciously but it was the litany of excuses that I heard for the next few weeks, and even months off some, that annoyed me.

First it was that there was a lot of unfair off the ball tussling by Armagh players, then it was that so and so should have been sent off and then it was the referee's fault. Yes, there were some that admitted Armagh had won fairly but I found a wide majority that were willing to argue that Dublin should have won but for some conspiracy. 3

Cavan people wouldn't of been happy but at least we would of accepted the deat and got on with it.

I assure you Rooster that I didn't dream it up at all. I was watching the match in an electrical store in Dublin where I was working at the time and a huge crowd had gathered.

Lemlin,are you for real ?
    I can just see the moral dilema these "hardcore" dubs had you speak of "do i buy a toaster or do i go to an all-ireland semi final ?"
    I don't think i know any genuine dublin supporter who knows his football who had a problem with armagh winning that game.
    However 2003 was a different ball game alltogether !

It wasn't just those people that I'm talking about. And, in case you hadn't noticed madmorphy, not everyone can get tickets to an All-Ireland semi-final.

That's my point exactly, what was wrong with Armagh winning in 2003? Besides Stephen Cluxton making a fool of himself, which was no Armagh players fault.

It wasn't just those people that I'm talking about. And, in case you hadn't noticed madmorphy, not everyone can get tickets to an All-Ireland semi-final.

Maybe not,but surely they could go to a pub or watch the game at home.

As for the game my recollection of it was 35 mins of football with dublin 3 or 4 points ahead.Big joe obviously realised he couldn't win the game playing football so sent the lads out for a boxing match,McKeever and mcEntee in paticular.First Darren homan received the treatment then senan connell.
    My biggest gripe would be with the ref who clearly saw what was going on and did nothing,eventually sending off McKeever after the third sly punch.
    As for cluxton he deserved to go,but i'd say he did it more out of frustration at what he could see as we were right behind him and we could clearly see it.
    As i said armagh fully deserverd their win in 2002 no problem,2003 they had to resort to boxing to win it.

That's the sour grapes I'm talking about. Being physical is part of Gaelic football. The Dubs were three or four points ahead but they couldn't kill off Armagh. In fact, that's the problem they've had against several teams in the past few years.

Armagh came back out and they were a better team, even before Cluxton was sent off they were coming back into it. Steven McDonnell was superb that day and McGeeney showed Dublin how real football should be played.

And don't get me started on Ciaran Whelan, Paul McGrane ran rings round him.

Lemlin wrote:
    That's beautiful. Doesnt require any comment from me.
    Lemlin wrote:
    And I'd listened to it for weeks about how Dublin were guaranteed their first All Ireland in many years.
    No you didnt. You definitely dreamt it. Or just made it up.
    Lemlin wrote:
    I would of had nothing wrong with people accepting defeat graciously but it was the litany of excuses that I heard for the next few weeks, and even months off some, that annoyed me.

First it was that there was a lot of unfair off the ball tussling by Armagh players, then it was that so and so should have been sent off and then it was the referee's fault. Yes, there were some that admitted Armagh had won fairly but I found a wide majority that were willing to argue that Dublin should have won but for some conspiracy.
    I cant decide whether you are a tool or a troll. We've been talking about the 2002 All Ireland semi-final, not a qualifier in 2003. In 2002, we were nothing but gracious in defeat, and any Armagh man would tell you that. Or if you are trying to say that lots of Dublin people were saying that we were definites to win the All Ireland in 2003 - then you'd just be plain lying.

And Whelan v McGrane is 1-1. Whelan had by far the better of things in 2002, but McGrane got the better of him in 2003. But maybe your view was obscured by kettles? And lets no forget that of the 4 midfielders in 2003, it was Homan (and not McGrane or Whelan) who was the dominant force - up until the time he was taken out of the game that is.

If you read the above posts Rooster madmorphy is talking about the 2003 qualifier as well as the semi final in 2002.

And the people I talked to were gracious in defeat in neither. I'm not just talking to the immediate reaction of the people in that electrical store. That's the only immediate reaction I could gauge.

I'm also talking about the feelings of people for weeks after. Dublin may of deserved a draw in 2002 but there was no conspiracy against them then, or in 2002, they just lost the game.

Madmorphy shows my opinion of Dublin fans exactly when he says "However 2003 was a different ball game alltogether !". 2003 was no different. Dublin lost the game same as they did in 2002. This is the argument made by people that I'm talking about.

And have you ever spoken to anyone who ever played in that game? Oisin McConville leases my local in Cavan and he's told me may times that there's nothing he and the Armagh team love more than beating Dublin. Why? Because the entire team are so up themselves.

I know a member of the Dublin panel as well (just the panel, has bearly started a game in the first 15) who thinks he's the best thing since sliced bread. Swears to be a die-hard Dubs player all his life but a few lads I know actually have proof that he went for underage trials with Meath but they weren't interested!

Why you may argue that every county has its fair share of players who are bigheaded, I'll admit Cavan do, but I've heard of few players willing to go for trials for the county's biggest rival and then swear allegiance.

Lemlin wrote:
    That's the sour grapes I'm talking about. Being physical is part of Gaelic football..

Granted gaelic football is a physical sport,off the ball striking of an opponent however is not allowed !

Everyone knows Armagh brought a new brand of "Physical" play to the game that only Kerry and Tyrone have really adopted and made their own.. but I also know that They fouled Dublin out of the game that year, its not sour grapes... its just the way it was.
    we still accepted our defeat... as we did the many before that.