Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my setup is almost there...for now

• 15-05-2005 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭

got the g major the other day... serious stuff

its by far the best effects unit (multi or stomp box) i have ever used..

u have a huge amount of control over every single aspect of every parameter of every effect...its just mind blowing.

the chorus/flanger/phaser is as subtle or as insane as u like and can give u a totally professional sound.

the pitch shifter is really good plenty of control on the whammy and the shifter itself...pure 80s tho that might be a bad thing to some people...

the delay time is 1600ms which for me is loads and loads and loads... but its so rich and full a sound and makes everything else sound really digital.

its kinda tough to get used to but once u do its a piece of piss... i have it hooked up to an fcb1010 and a flextone III and i can control every effect on both the amp and gmajor with a single button...quite spectactular!!!

the verdict : sell all your effects and buy this (except your wah and distortion :p )...well worth 370 yo yo's

i'm looking at getting a power conditionor and a wireless rack unit now..woo i love spendin money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bonzai bob

cool, glad it all worked out for ya. Care to post some samples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

i'm workin nights this week but i'll get some samples up maybe wednesday... the dave gilmour solo patch i done up is just amazing... played just that patch for 3 hours yesterday... i know.. sad!!!!

so this g major is controlled by the midi pedal board?

What other **** is on it? It's very expensive! I'm still looking out for a DL4 and this doesn't cost much more.

bonzai bob wrote:
    so this g major is controlled by the midi pedal board?

indeed it is...

here is the effects on it... i tried a dl-4 last week and i personally would go for the gmajor

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

jcoote wrote:
    (except your wah and distortion :p )

Awww nuts... Well, still have my wah :D

Glad you like the G-Major. I'm stuck with the ME-50 for the time being. It suits me for now...

the me-50 is a good yolk tho!!! i have to go buy a new wah and a ge-7 but hey thats not that bad

Aye, it's decent alright. Want the GT-8 or maybe the GT-Pro though... Mmm, rack mount...

yes rack mount is worthy of an mmm or 2... the gt pro looks sweet indeed...the gt-8 i don't think theyve really done anythin overwhelming compared to the gt-6...a little off topic but i'm not overly impressed by the flextones distortion

meh, i can't really justify spending 400 on a multi fx and then another hundred or so on a pedal board, i won't need THAT many affects. The DL4 will satisfy my experimental urges when i get it me thinks.

jcoote wrote:
    yes rack mount is worthy of an mmm or 2... the gt pro looks sweet indeed...the gt-8 i don't think theyve really done anythin overwhelming compared to the gt-6...a little off topic but i'm not overly impressed by the flextones distortion
    i've never really understood the whole 'digital amp' thing. When i get an amp i'm getting valves man!!!! grrr.

Hmmm, Dropping €500 on a effects set up plus a rack case... It's a bit far beyond my reach at the moment :(

Ah, you have that uber DS-1 now for your distortion :p

yeah its not cheap for effects but i really do use them a lot and i had a few bob so feck it i can't think of anything better to spend my money on...anyway i got 250 for the gt-6 so that took a good sting out of it... yeah i'm gettin a ge-7 to make that ds-1 scream like a an anal virgin... the one thing i will say is the jc120 setting on the flextone is amazing and suits my style superbly...bob the dl-4 is the perfect experimental delay unit i'd go for it

Ah, it's nice to be able to spend the money when you have it :(

I'm very boring experimenting wise. Nice clean, nice distortion and that distortion with delay added. That's usually all I use along with whammy and wah. Started using my Cry Baby again. It really doesn't like clean tones but it loves distortion.

the standard crybaby does the opposite..nice clean and crap dist...do u have a whammy or is it the ps on the me-50 u use

Na, it's the ps on the ME-50 but I just call all pitch shifters whammy's. I've actually hurt my ear drums using my CryBaby through amps that were too loud while playing to hard. Sore!

**** that is that loudness from the crybaby yeah is it really that high an output

Yup. It's a powerful beast of a thing. I might have to look at it again, maybe increase one of the resistors, probably the volume one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Or just play louder. That's what I'd do

No, it's too loud. That's the problem!

You think it's too loud, that's your problem ;)

Everyone knows everything improves with volume, it works by the inverse square law*

I know none of the Crybaby's have them but is there any wah's you can set the volume on?

*the truth of this statement is negligable.

TBH, it's such a way that you could have your amp drowning out the drums and your ears surviving quite happily. You play a clean passage and use the wah, you will hurt your eardrums and they'll still be sore for a couple of days after!

Check the Morley wahs and the Ibanez Weeping Demon wah.

does it sound bad at high volumes like or is it just too lud simple as that...would it overpower your distortion like...what dist are u usin these days anyway

feylya wrote:
    TBH, it's such a way that you could have your amp drowning out the drums

I want my amp drowning out the traffic outside :p

thats some serious volume... could u not use the eq on your me-50 to sort out that

TBH, I probably could. It's grand with distortion on the ME-50. It's just the cleans... Probably cos I've no compressor or noise gate. I need to do some more work on it but after my exams which start in seven hours, thirty minutes...

bummer hate that...good luck wit the exams anyway... no comp/ng on the me50 no???

Cheers. Aye, there is comp and a NG but not on my clean tone. Tbh, I've only just started using the wah pedal again since you wanted it :p I don't even have to plug out the instrument cable any more. The battery doesn't waste :D

how does the battery not waste??? thats typical :D ah well at least its not lyin there... i am gone out of using the stomp boxes and 4 (yes 4 ) times i left the cable plugged in and wasted the batteries..pain in the hole but the were rechargable so thats something i suppose... why no comp on your clean..to maintain the purity of the tone is it

I dunno why it doesnt waste. The way I have it true bypassed by disable the battery. Don't think I was too sober when I modded it...

And the "clean tone" is some eq, reverb and chorus, nothing else. It's nice, if a little loud :p

good man good to see your clean sound involves chorus... thatn worked out well with the wah tho saves money on batteries... my clean sound would be the same as that but a really small bit of delay would be in there somewhere...must let u hear the chorus on the gmajor its really deep and wide (unlike some things :D)

I love playing with the stereo chorus on the ME-50. Plug in both the amps and move them apart. 100W 2x12 Fender and an 80W 1x12 Peavey, both up loud. Mmm, that's fun :D

Aye, I'd love to mess around with the G-Major for a while.

yeah stereo chorus is great.. a really nice one on the gmajor is panned chorus or leslie chorus... sounds like the chorus is tryin to jump out of the amp... its not really easy to use i have to say...maybe because it has such good control over parameters and it has alot in it

Ah, the Leslie. Lovely stuff. There is nothing better than subtle chorus and some reverb on a clean channel. It has to be subtle though!

yeah u don't wanna sound like hank marvin..that guy had the most poxy tone ever imo... some really light tremelo is nice on a clean channel

Aye. Of course, it all depends on what you're playing...

ah yeah i hear ya... might be buyin that jc120 of mr magpie on gigsmart..won't give me a price tho...thats the guy i sold the gt6 to

Ah cool. TBH, I'm just gonna have to live with a nice tube amp and a few effects. I couldn't lug around two amps. Although, a guitar with a piezo in the bridge, direct to the PA with the magnetic cleans as well.... Oh YEAH!!!

yeah i lugged around a 4x12 for ages so two combos would be a piece of piss...yeah that would be nice... som pa's sound amazing with the right eq and reverb settings...way better than half the amps floating around dublin gigs

Mmm, Marshall MG250's. ****ing AMAZING man!

Ah, I don't even like moving a 2x12" combo. Must get some castors for the bottom of it.

not to gone on them tbh...my next upgrade ampwise will definatly be tubes... ha ha u lazy ****er and i was gonna ask u to be my roady when i go on the road as the new guitarist for dream theater..ah well :D

Hmmm, late night sarcasm about amps doesn't translate well online :p

Yeah, a nice tube amp would be...nice. Peavey Classic 30 or save for an ENGL? Hmmm...

Meh, screw roady. I'll be your guitar tech :p

don't think even u would fancy setting up petrucci's rig...i know i wouldn't

i'd sell my penis for a powerball .. didi u see alex lifesons new h&K triamp signature...i'd love that now almost above a powerball or a herbert

I'd love messing with Petrucci's rig!

Haven't seen it. Any links? I don't know about taking it over a Herbert. The Herbert has blue lights! BLUE John, BLUE!!!

**** blue paul these ones are PURPLE...

check this ****

Purple eh? Bit gay isn't it? I mean, purple?

its only gay if it sounds gay too... i had an sg with PINK silk and fur on the inside of the case but it sounded like a caged animal once u hit the distortion...so i want that amp... 3k for the head with the floorboard on thomann...right i'm off for the dinner now..back in an hour

6 channels? Why in the name of all that's loud would you need 6 channels?

http://www.hughes-and-kettner.com/scripts/products.php?mode=prod&pk_type=customtube&lang=en&id=97

Hmmm, must look into amp design/repair. For the craic like.

feylya wrote:
    6 channels? Why in the name of all that's loud would you need 6 channels?

Six channels is major overkill. I'd be happy with one at the moment that wasn't:

A) Crappy solid state (as opposed to well made solid state)
    B) Not a bass practice amp
    C) Can't think of another option

Pie is always a good third option. Always!

And Roland MicroCube!

I was looking at the microcube the other day. As much as I want one I really need something I can gig off. I was thinking of going whole hog and getting a Twin Reverb at the end of the summer