Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waz up Ireland?

• 02-05-2005 5:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭

Just wondering what people are doing at the moment? I post while I'm at work. Great Job!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

Nice for some, do you not get the day off because it's May bankholiday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

*Angel* wrote:

They get Memorial Day at the end of May instead I think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I am looking for a script of Macbeth online so I can begin work on redesigning it as Blackbeth, the brother misled by his three biatches.

Also listening to This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Sarky wrote:
    I am looking for a script of Macbeth online so I can begin work on redesigning it as Blackbeth, the brother misled by his three biatches.

Also listening to This.
    Sounds almost as good as Black to the Future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Sarky wrote:
    Also listening to This.

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭paulcr

*Angel* wrote:
    No I don't work at a bank...Oh you mean a National Holiday like the 4th of July. No. I'm just an IT guy doing nothing waiting for something to break down.

im in the wired internet cafe just north of oconnell street blowing my wages on paddypower.com. Cross your fingers for no goals stevenage V hereford, 20 mins to go :)

What's paddypower.com?

paulcr wrote:
    What's paddypower.com?

Online bookmakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

paulcr wrote:
    What's paddypower.com?

A Turf Accountant.

madmorphy wrote:
    A Turf Accountant.

I checked it out. Is this the site where you could have bet on the next pope?

paulcr wrote:
    I checked it out. Is this the site where you could have bet on the next pope?

Well it might be a good while before the next pope... :)

Nevermind the last fella
    www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_type_by_main_market&category=SPECIALS&ev_class_id=45&id=520

Ah the dubs are at 9-1 for the all-ireland.Worth a tenner i think :D

madmorphy wrote:
    Nevermind the last fella
    www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_type_by_main_market&category=SPECIALS&ev_class_id=45&id=520

Ah the dubs are at 9-1 for the all-ireland.Worth a tenner i think :D

What's the all Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

paulcr wrote:
    What's the all Ireland?

Gaelic Football.......... :)

http://www.gaa.ie/

What's the all Ireland?

The All Ireland Football Championships
    See http://www.gaa.ie

madmorphy wrote:
    A Turf Accountant.

Checking the odds on American Footall futures. Minnesota Vikings are at 25 -1 on paddypower.com and Vegas has them at 17-1. Might be a good bet there.

paulcr wrote:
    Checking the odds on American Footall futures. Minnesota Vikings are at 25 -1 on paddypower.com and Vegas has them at 17-1. Might be a good bet there.

whats the biggest bookmaking chain in the USA mate?When i visited NYC some years ago i was amazed to find no bookmakers there (in Manhattan) any ideas why?

jonny68 wrote:
    whats the biggest bookmaking chain in the USA mate?When i visited NYC some years ago i was amazed to find no bookmakers there (in Manhattan) any ideas why?

Isn't bookmaking still illegal in many states? Apart from track betting...

Wertz wrote:
    Isn't bookmaking still illegal in many states? Apart from track betting...

surely not.............. :eek:

jonny68 wrote:

Gambling is not legal in every state. I think NYC has OTB betting but not bookmakers. You'd have to find them at the local pub, etc. The same is true with all states except New Jersey and Las Vegas. Most of the betting of not related to cards/slots, etc. is done off-shore or through Vegas.

Any of the big casinos in Vegas will post odds. But you need an account and a local to place the bets otherwise you're betting off-shore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Vikings have no chance next season, Chargers are worth a punt though. 22-1 with Paddies.

I find that incredible that a country like America where you can literally buy guns over the counter that in some states there are no bookmakers......... :eek:

Ireland - 1
    US - 0

Vikings have no chance next season, Chargers are worth a punt though. 22-1 with Paddies.

You need a QB to win.....San Diego has a One Hit Wonder.

Only need half a QB when you have LT.

jonny68 wrote:
    I find that incredible that a country like America where you can literally buy guns over the counter that in some states there are no bookmakers......... :eek:

You can't really buy a gun over the counter there is a waiting period (7 days). But you can buy a shotgun/rifle over the counter.

Only need half a QB when you have LT.

I'll give you LT...but he's not enough. It's a long season and they'll be playing a tougher schedule this year. Not that pansy-ass line-up from last year.

paulcr wrote:
    You can't really buy a gun over the counter there is a waiting period (7 days). But you can buy a shotgun/rifle over the counter.

You say that like it's perfectly okay, do you not think that is wrong?

jonny68 wrote:

They've got the mafia to thank for that.
    I'm pretty sure that even gambling in a friendly (lol) poker game is an arrestable offence in most states.

*Angel* wrote:
    You say that like it's perfectly okay, do you not think that is wrong?

Well, I don't agree that a person should be able to buy/carry a hand gun. A rifle or shotgun/rifle is pretty hard to conceal.

But in general no I don't think its a good idea. There are far to many guns in this country. The gun lobby is very strong here so you won't see anything changing about our gun purchasing habits.

How hard is it to buy a gun in Ireland?

paulcr wrote:
    Well, I don't agree that a person should be able to buy/carry a hand gun. A rifle or shotgun/rifle is pretty hard to conceal.

But in general no I don't think its a good idea. There are far to many guns in this country. The gun lobby is very strong here so you won't see anything changing about our gun purchasing habits.

How hard is it to buy a gun in Ireland?

Banks get robbed with big sticks instead of guns, so yeah it's pretty hard to get you hands on a gun.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Which Ireland is it you live in matey?
    there was a gang of 23 lads arrested last week for robbing a fcuk load of banks with sawn off shotguns and pistols--they've been at it for about 3 yrs.

in Limerick/Dublin, there's someone shot every week--not to mention the North

i'd say it's very easy to get guns, it's just that it's legal in US

Sure you hear about guns in the papers, but personally I've never seen a gun in person and wouldn't have the slightest idea how to get one. You need a gun licence to get one legally. It's harldy a gun culture, sure the coppers don't even carry them. You read the papers too much.

Well, it seems you can't agree on whether its easy to obtain a gun in Ireland.

But you're certain that it is easy in the US. By the way I can't remember the last time someone robbed a bank with a gun other than a handgun.

Do you use the word geek or dork?

Personally I use nerd. Although Geekus Maximus is my favourite.

Is that how you refer to rather odd persons? Or do you use another term?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Weirdos, tbh.

Nah, something very Irish. Like you would only hear in Ireland. Like US slang "homie", "home-slice", homeboy", "Maq Daddy"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭tovalee

like eejit?

Langer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Spa or sap. Cock-knocker is my fave! teehee

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

How about: top o' tha mornin' to ya?![/FACETIOUS]

Ah no, something like "what are you at?" for "what are you doing"...tho that might not be necessarily Irish, i'm fairly sure you dont say it in the US [ta be sure].

Auf

LadyJ wrote:
    Spa or sap. Cock-knocker is my fave! teehee

Hee, can't get over this...LADY?!

Knob-jockey's another one.
    How dya like them apples? :D

LadyJ wrote:
    Knob-jockey's another one.
    How dya like them apples? :D
    So whats with the cock-knocker, knob-jockey. Is that like a dip-****.

paulcr wrote:
    So whats with the cock-knocker, knob-jockey. Is that like a dip-****.
    Pretty much!It's a fairly general "Idiot" comment. :D

How about: top o' tha mornin' to ya?![/FACETIOUS]

Ah no, something like "what are you at?" for "what are you doing"...tho that might not be necessarily Irish, i'm fairly sure you dont say it in the US [ta be sure].

Auf
    Never heard anyone ask "what are you at?" more liking to hear "Que Pasa" WAZZZUP HEMMIE DOG.

LadyJ wrote:
    Pretty much!It's a fairly general "Idiot" comment. :D

Like crank-yanker?