Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Txt Spk

• 26-04-2005 1:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Please, oh God please can immediate sanctions be made on 'text typers' on Boards.ie. Have these people actually forgotten how to spell, or do they thinks its amusing for others to make out their indecipherable crap.

Like this
    lads try d rds website its advertised on dat

or
    d owner orders in whichever dvds ye want he dnt get em all in in case dey dont sell and hes left wit em

What does that even mean???
    Post edited by Shield on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

gimmick wrote:
    d owner orders in whichever dvds ye want he dnt get em all in in case dey dont sell and hes left wit em
    What does that even mean???
    "The owner orders in which ever DVDs you want.
    He doesn't get them all in, incase they don't sell and he's left with them.
    "
    Wot prt ov dat dint u unrstnd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

Text and l337 are actually banned from a number of forums (fora?). I suppose its up to the moderators on a forum by forum basis, I for instance have banned it from Outdoor Pursuits* on the basis that its interrupts the flow of conversation. That been said I do allow some shortcuts as long as its understandable.

*This will probably start some spammage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Whats 337???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

gimmick wrote:
    Whats 337???
    Just more abuse for the English language...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L33t

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

kill them all machine
    kill them all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

I don't get the L337 thing either I've seen it put down a few times now.

Anyone willing to explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

LEET as in Elite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Try here *Page*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭jonski

Don't ban them , get their Ip's and trace them down , then burn them slowly , real slowly , oh and pluck out their eyes ...and finger nails......and douse them in water and then set them alight again...a few times . Maybe I am going overboard..but I don't think so . "lol" and "ppl" can stay , kill the rest...................................slowly.............they mostly come out at night......mostly.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I support the mass bannage of such behaviour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Stalfos

I also cant stand txt typer's even when they sent me a text message, Dont even use a full stop.
    Can we make a rule against typing like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Here here. I too would like to jump aboard the "ban txt spk" band wagon (or ban wagon). I hate it even on mobile phones, there's no need for it.

On an internet forum where character sets and message length is not an issue it's just plain lazy. If a poster cannot be bothered to type clearly then why should anyone bother to try and understand them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Im against it too. Actually I find it easier and faster to type using normal words as I know where they are on the keyboard. If I started to txt type Id be feckin ages making a post. Bannage!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

/me screams at other posters in this thread

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I can scream back you know! :p

*weeps bitterly*

Ellipsis

Hear! Hear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Amz wrote:
    *weeps bitterly*

Ellipsis

Hear! Hear!
    Their their, don't cry ;)

Me fail English, that's unpossible!

That isn't even funny.

GET OUT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Personally I hate "lol".

I'm glad I shared this part of myself with you wonderful people on this lovely Tuesday Evening. Ah bless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

Myth wrote:
    Personally I hate "lol".
    Laugh out loud, so do I!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Well, I hate txt spk, but I think AFAIK(AS far as I know) & TBH(To Be Honest) should be allowed, their just abbreviations and i think ther're ok.

But seripusly, kill txt spk: Hate when my mates text me like that!

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

JBoyle4eva wrote:
    Well, I hate txt spk, but I think AFAIK(AS far as I know) & TBH(To Be Honest) should be allowed, their just abbreviations and i think ther're ok.

But seripusly, kill txt spk: Hate when my mates text me like that!

I'm not convinced on abbreviations, especially when I went around for a day trying to work out what IIRC meant before I googled it.

Also I think TBH is over used here. I've seen some posts with a link and then TBH or even just TBH on its own.

But anyway, back on topic. I hate text speak and repeated violaters should be shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

tbh, tbh is over used on the whole internet tbh.

tbh people put it at the end of every sentence for some strange reason tbh.

(not that i do it of course)

i agree that a ban on "txt speak" should be brought in but abbr, should be allowed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭|Referee|

Cremo wrote:
    tbh, tbh is over used on the whole internet tbh.

tbh people put it at the end of every sentence for some strange reason tbh.

(not that i do it of course)

i agree that a ban on "txt speak" should be brought in but abbr, should be allowed

Hey Cremo go watch Arrested Development and STFU!

|Referee| wrote:
    Good one ...

:bigrollyeyes:

Arabel wrote:
    I'm not convinced on abbreviations, especially when I went around for a day trying to work out what IIRC meant before I googled it.
    Yeah but once you figure out what it means - it's quite handy.
    I think IIRC should be added to the dictionary tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

|Referee| wrote:

yeh cheers, and i don't like getting private messages like this...

Hair Serum
    so u hv a fkng prb wit th wy I spk,
    U prk
    I ht u
    die die,
    I wan't to see you burn!

can you translate please first, before i begin to protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Now you see, it is the completely pointless use of apostrophes that makes me want to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭Vexorg

Any form of private abuse to any member is a pretty serious offence, I dont we need members like this.

V.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Ah.. this brings me back to the days when IYFEG was the only abbreviation in town (or was it just the only one I remember?). Oh yeah and BOFH was big too...

.. and now what have we ? IMHO, IMVHO, LOL, TBH, TLC , the dreaded txt spk and much much more...bandwidth is plentiful now so no need to compress our messages..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭jonski

I think I have changed my mind on this one , while txt spk is most annoying , inet abbreviations are part of forums . If you go to another country you learn the language , if you come on the internet , you learn the language . Txt spk is inet kiddies trying to be 1337 :) whereas I believe abbreviations came about from irc( internet relay chat , before any has a go at me ) and have become acceptable on most parts of the inet . To do away with them is to try and be aloof , to pretend that we are somewhere or something else . This is a discussion board on the internet , treat it as such .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

y0u f001$ 80w 4nd 83 hum813 83f0r3 my m4d 7x7 $k!11$

http://www.uni-weimar.de/~schulz3/leetgenApplet/LeetGenApplet.html

parsi wrote:
    Ah.. this brings me back to the days when IYFEG was the only abbreviation in town (or was it just the only one I remember?). Oh yeah and BOFH was big too...

.. and now what have we ? IMHO, IMVHO, LOL, TBH, TLC , the dreaded txt spk and much much more...bandwidth is plentiful now so no need to compress our messages..

In my day, I had to walk 15 miles in the snow until we even got to learn about what txt spk was. You kids these days have it so easy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Blaster99

I stick anyone who can't write properly on the ignore list. Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Arabel wrote:
    Also I think TBH is over used here. I've seen some posts with a link and then TBH or even just TBH on its own.

TBH really annoys me. It seems to become part of a standard reply when you disagree with someone:

Q. Has anyone got any Chinese recipes?

A. Indian, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭zenith

I too support text speak banning. Kill them all.

No punchline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

while i can handle the odd bit of txt speak, the thing that gets my goat is this penchant for writing the way inner city kids talk

dis, dat, dere etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

so u hv a fkng prb wit th wy I spk,
    U prk
    I ht u
    die die,
    I wan't to see you burn!
    It's the extra apostrophe that just makes it for me.
    while i can handle the odd bit of txt speak, the thing that gets my goat is this penchant for writing the way inner city kids talk

dis, dat, dere etc etc etc
    Don't ever drive through Buttevant (it's in Cork by the way). They probably still have that series of anti-litter signs that I only ever saw there that read "Don't Drop Dat" or something similar. You know, for kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

Reminds me of the Philadelphia ad - mst mt agn smtme ha ha ha!
    drives me nuts, the only time I do any text speak on my phone is when I've run out of characters, then I change the 'to' to 2 and 'and' to '&' but that's about it, I even do the space after the comma, it's just habit, so I agree with everyone else, ban them all!!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

sceptre wrote:
    Don't ever drive through Buttevant (it's in Cork by the way). They probably still have that series of anti-litter signs that I only ever saw there that read "Don't Drop Dat" or something similar. You know, for kids!

It's still there .. along with the potholed main street, the devilish bends, the slow driving muppets, the "double-park your car in the main street" brigade and all the others who make driving through Buttevant such a pleasant experience...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

parsi wrote:
    Buttevant

*sniggers a la Beavis and Butthead*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

2FAST 2FURIOUS!!!!1

:cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Steven

Pfft. Amp, don't you have some console modders to oppress? ;)

A ban on excessive text speak would be fine as long as no one goes around 12 clicking offenders, but you can't expect people to give up the wonders of irc derived abbreviations (except when preceded with the word "Jesus" *shudder*). Tbh, iirc, lol and imho deserve their own entries in the dictionary. Well, a really extensive dictionary anyway.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

I concur with regard to tbh, lol etc.

Text talk isn't to bad, in moderation. But if you have to decipher a post, thats ridiculous. I don't think a ban is useful though, we'd lose half of boards.ie members. Maybe a warning. And a lesson in forum posting etiquette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

Maybe you should have a text speak police? Like the sigpo...if you see someone writing extenisively in this gibberish you report them. Or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭The General

i m her 2 say dat who cares bout txt spk, ha ha