Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing Back Bosco!

• 19-04-2005 7:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭

anyone want bosco back so bad it hurts?
    starting a campaign to have a dedicated Bosco forum....any suggestions/support more than welcome?Peter from Bosco lives in cork i think...maybe we could get onto him :D

Are you going printing a Bosco t-shirt 11 votes

Yes!(go on ya good thang)
    0% 0 votes
    No(ive forgotten my childhood)
    100% 11 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

I love bosco.. in fact, I dream of him.. he is one hot guy!!
    I think your right.. his daddy Peter is from cork.. youd see him on the telly from time to time.. dont know if he is living in cork anymore though :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭namaimo

Peter isnt that the guy who played one of the cult members in fair city?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Bosco? He got kidnapped didnt he? The guards didnt even start an investigation. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

Bosco rulz! I mean the magic door bit was great! I agree, BRING BACK BOSCO! or atleast make a forum to him

All in favour of a shrine on boards for Bosco, say ai! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Bosco sucked the sweat off a dead man's balls. The puppet was crap, the show was poorly conceived, and the presenters were right creepy. The only valid reason to bring Bosco back is to feed the puppet to a rabid dog.

That being said, the guys with the long necks were kinda cool.

adam

Wha? How could u not like Bosco?!? When i was little i could not wait to see Bosco everyday! :) He's my hero!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Bright Smile

BRING BACK BOSCO!!!!
    People, have we forgotten our roots? have we lost touch with the young children inside us, excited because the Bosco "make and do" day was today, or because Peter with the blonde hair was presenting??? Do we no longer appreciate the chipped Bosco mugs and plates lying unused in our cupboards?....have we forgotten the words:
    ""woof" said flaherty,"
    and the excitement of the Magic door? Do we no longer think that Seamus and Sheila McSpud on those freaky blue supermarket shelves are the best thing since sliced ham? HAVE WE LOST THE MAGIC THAT IS, THAT WAS AND THAT WILL EVER BE, OUR WOLLY WOODEN FRIEND????
    LETS START A BRING BACK BOSCO CAMPAIGN- ALL THOSE IN FAVOUR???
    http://www.comp.dit.ie/coleary/courses/ft2282/notes/4/bosco.jpeg

ITS THE BOSCO REVOLUTION!!!

Bring back, oh bring back, oh bring back my Bosco to me, to me! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

ye are all very scary people indeed! Bosco was pooh!

The two things i liked from it were the mcspuds and the mala people (what were they called?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭CathalMc

There was something creepy about him alright. He was disturbingly fond of those boxes. I found this:

http://student.dcu.ie/~flynnr4/bosco/

Gallery explains alot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭curliq

cathalmc, wha're ye on?! bosco was genius, man!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

bosco was a legend i even have a bosco suit with the red wig and the green jacket tis class, usually comes out a sessions.

that f*cking red door freaked me out though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

BOSCO!!! BOSCO!!!! BOSCO!!! BOSCO!!!
    I even have the BOSCO SOUNDTRACK on a 12inch record dealy!! Now thats vintage Bosco!!!

The Bosco soundtrack?!? Fantastic! What a groovy addition to a house party dance-mix, I MUST HAVE IT!

What was with the boxes anyway? Was it some government plot to get kids accustomed to the idea of spending their days in little cubicles...

Just think, theres some poor soul going around with

"made little men figures out of mala and made them go about some crazy adventures"

on his CV...

tee hee hee!!!!!!!!!
    yes yes people the Bosco soundtrack!!
    I bunch of my friends came up last week to listen to it having discovered I have it!!!
    That was a fun day...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hoochiemama

theres a girl that reads the news on Today FM and her mam was the puppeteer of Bosco so one day Ray D'arcy (i think it was him) asked her to ask her mam whether Bosco was a man or a woman and she went and asked her and she said that Bosco was a hermaphrodite :eek:

NOOOOOO he was a little boy!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

One of my teachers in school used to be on Bosco. :D

you see this evil stuff about Bosco is what the Bosco Revolution is fighting against people....he was not a hermaphrodite, no WAY! he didnt go off the rails and he didnt have a drugs problem!!!
    i propose the Bosco forum cld have :
    a permanent "anti-rumour" thread
    an "ask Bosco" thread
    a "where are they now" thread
    and naturally loadsa other threads but theyd be the bestest ones!
    We could all have Bosco t-shirts and special handshakes, so that when we'd see someone on the street with them, we'd know that they were part of the movement (very Che Gevara, dont ye think?) they would all have to be red tshirts....have to stop, this bosco stuff is taking over my life....

mmmmmmm.............bosco................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

I would tend to support this motion.

Teh (wo)man him/herself:
    http://wasted-days.com/wdps/bosco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I preferred Fortycoats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Bosco is proof that the Irish do everything half-assed. Even mind-altering drugs. Now Magic Roundabout, there was a PROPER headf*ck...

Or how about Around The Twist? Anyone remember that? I'm not sure do I have the name right, freaky austrailian thing. There was a lighthouse or something involved. There's one episode imprinted on my mind, it was an eating competition to eat massive bowls of spagetti bolognese or something... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wayfarer

I remember one episode of Bosco featured a giant cornflake which FREAKED me out!! :o

AAHH I member that round the twist thing!!!!!
    But people come on BOSCO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Seriously though Fortycoats was WAAAYYY better. Imagine what you could do with 50 pockets!!!!

See....

/me walks off

oh yeah I love pockets!!! there great! I had a pair of jeans once that had about eight pockts or was it aound ten..... but it was a lot and it was fair handy!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

I'm pretty sure one of the Bosco presenters died of an overdose either of cocaine or heroin.

All the better!!!!
    Well not really........
    but all the more fun.....
    before the death bit....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'm pretty sure one of the Bosco presenters died of an overdose either of cocaine or heroin.

See? I'm right!

those sweet, smiley, blondie type presenters prolly looked like sh*te once the camera went off alright....lol, i want a bosco puppet....
    does anyone else agree on the tee shirts thingy??? it wld be very priory of sion-ish! :cool:

sounds a bit dodgey. Which would you be more scared of, a bunch of tall scary looking dudes in black suits and sunglasses coming down the street or a bunch of people in Bosco tshirts. The Bosco gang would become a menace to society! (We should totally do this!)

YEAH!! oh, if we all used the same picture....
    all on red or what colour would ye say??? we could try and get pjamas in green and white stipes....
    Freddie Fox everyone....
    OHHHH,on the back we could have captions like "uafasach" and "knock knock"!!!
    it would take off like the ppls rep of cork tshirts id say :D

bright smile I like where this is going!
    We all have the same picture ona green, white, or red tshirt whichever suits you best (gotta keep the people happy) and have meybe the pic someone here has as their sig and just have those phrases dotted on the back of them in different fonts!
    and and andthen well have a "Bosco Pyjama Party" wel like rent out the helix or something so EVERYONE can come! and well all have the stripey pjs and each our own bosco teddy/puppet!
    and play the bosco soundtrack all night!!!

We have it! the more people see the tee shirts, the more they'll remember they're youth....we'll bring the country to a standstill and have a National Bosco day, where all they'll show on rte2 will be bosco and den re-runs....
    take a look at these pics and vote as to which would be the best for the picture:

http://www.comp.dit.ie/coleary/courses/ft2282/notes/4/bosco.jpeg
    This is kindof the idea:
    http://student.dcu.ie/~flynnr4/bosco/gifs/t-shirt2.gif
    (but of course we are pro the little stud muffin)
    Do we want a square full pic of just a head? I think a square would be easier unless someone can produce JUST a head, otherwise we'll all have different pics as somepeople wont know how to isolate just the head when getting their teeshirt printed!

I like the square one and it'l keep things simple!
    do we want a catchy logo on the front cuz if we do we'll have to think of something good!!!

uafasach would be kinda good cuz he always said it...but maybe that should be on the back incase ppl think we dont like bosco(which could be our secret identity actually, itd be like,"we're wearing this tshirt cuz we don'tlike bosco" but we actually do :cool: !!!! i dunno, suggestions ppl?!we could have knock knock....oh my god, the PRESSURE!!!!

ooh we could put the open the door, see whats behind thing under the pic on the front and then when you turn around there could be all these little images and catchphrases!!!!!

Wow. Bosco Parties. Wow! How amazing would that be! I have the odd feeling we'd all have to drink ribena or something though, alcohol just wouldn't work :(

CathalMc wrote:
    Wow. Bosco Parties. Wow! How amazing would that be! I have the odd feeling we'd all have to drink ribena or something though, alcohol just wouldn't work :(
    ah shucks!! (swinging fist in anger)
    ah well you may grow old in umber but you can stay young at heart forever!
    ROLL ON BOSCO

How about big red wigs? Are we DEDICATED enough to take that final step for our hero?!!
    bastard.jpg

yeah gimmie a wig Ill do it Iv had every oter type of hair!

Where should we have the Bosco party... it seems like we'll need a place with... em... boxes!

oh good thinking! (sorry I wandered of to the TV forum)
    hmm boxes you say?
    an old lidl warehouse maybe?

just found this... and was appalled...

"Bosco is a Bollox! Bosco is a Bollox!"
    What Zig and Zag were caught shouting (with Ian Dempsey laughing in the
    background) when the cameras returned prematurely from a commercial
    break during 'Dempsey's Den'.
    Zag was tossing the Bosco puppet around.

*hyper-ventalating with shock*

NOOOOO it cant be Zig & Zag were my heroes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have a tape from about 94 where they went to Lapland with Ray to visit Santa!!!!!!

Im back!!! its late and im a wickle wired!was out and kept talking to ppl about bosco, its a GREAT conversation starter!!!! its a universal subject which every 18-30 yr old has an interest in in my opinion!
    tshirts with teh pic cathalmc had there?i think theyd be the bomb ......
    ya any phrasing like that sounds good to me....something bold and noteworthy, easily read.....(can you imaging travelling the world and meeting someone with one of these on in new zealand or somewhere?!) yet striking to a fellow ex viewer....possible options include :
    • knock knock on the magic door (I like it!)
    • ufasach
    • woof said flaherty

i do believe however that we should all have the same on the front so that it can become a cult thing....
    we could put 3 lads on faisean paisean with the tshirts on and theyd all buy the bosco tshirts for the girl too...
    natuarally, they wld be the most wanted feature of the summer of 2005....wouldnt that be just madness? id love it.... i think im going to go for red...then i cld wear it to work during the summer with a white tshirt under it...how bout ye? oh, should the writing be in black or white?
    at christmas i was getting a tshirt printed for someone and the printers said it was easier to get lighter colours onto lighter tees....this is so complicated...id like the writing in white.
    id such a good night and coming home to bosco made it even better! :D