Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homophobic new pope - "gays are evil"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

You forgot to mention he's also an Hitler Youth old-boy... I not making this up.

Marvellous. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Eoghan-psych

eskimo wrote:
    There is NO excuse for this. It is an utter disgrace.

http://www.outrage.nabumedia.com/pressrelease.asp?ID=39

You sound surprised.

That's the lovely hypocrisy of christianity - love everyone. Except you. And you. And you. And all of them. And those two over there. And those funny looking people at the back - don't love them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Well it he was conscripted but deserted and found himself in POW camp, so give him credit there.

Or, "Love eachother... But not too much!!! You two blokes at the back, you've GONE TOO FAR!!!!!!" :rolleyes:

The only catholics this moron is going to appeal to are nearly dead. This guy is a throwback.

The biggest problem facing the catholic church [and I'm speaking as a non-catholic here] is relevance. The church authorities need to make catholicism fit in the modern world - it is *not* the 16th century any more. Adhering to conservative doctrine is only going to achieve two things:

1. Liberal catholics will be alienated from the church [oops, too late].
    2. Conservative catholics will be alienated from, well, everyone [oops, too late].

Oh, wait a minute - wasn't the new pope supposed to *address* those two problems?

And people wonder why the catholic church has taken a nosedive in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

SebtheBum wrote:
    You forgot to mention he's also an Hitler Youth old-boy... I not making this up.

Marvellous. :rolleyes:
    Only thing is though, you can't really judge any Germans for being in Hitler youth, unless they were in particular positions of power or influence within it. In those days, it was a matter of join the Hitler youth, or watch your Father lose his job and be beaten to a pulp.

seamus wrote:
    In those days, it was a matter of join the Hitler youth, or watch your Father lose his job and be beaten to a pulp.

True. I was being flippant.

Besides, he was only 5 when the Nazis swept to power, and was only 11 by the beginning of the war anyway, so we shouldn't judge. I wouldn't like ppl judging me on the decisions or actions I made when I was 10 years old...

You could blame his father though. ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

eskimo wrote:
    There is NO excuse for this.
    How did you vote BTW ?

Oh that's right they didn't consult you for some reason, I wonder why.

You accuse them of applying a value system different to yours to thier own organisation (members can leave at any time) and the cure in your eyes is to let your value system be imposed on their organisation. Hardly fair, you want them to change.

If you had at any time corresponded with your local cardinal regarding these issues then I apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I feel let down and very disapointed that such a person is elected pope in these enlightened times. But their is very unfortunatly a neo-conservative trend around - just look at dubya and those gulible yanks.
    Originally Posted by Eoghan-psych
    The only catholics this moron is going to appeal to are nearly dead.

at 78 he will be joining his "god" soon, maybe within a month, rumour has it Pope John Paul 1 was poisoned for being too conservative. And from what i've read in dan browns books i'd nearly belive it. As of for gays being evil, they are born that way and can't help it as its natural to them, although i don't belive they should be allowed to get married but they are members of society nonetheless, it is not for a nazi like ratzinger to judge them or any other person for that matter. I for one am now deeply questioning my faith and will definatly listen to what jehovas witness's have to say before slamming they door in their face next time round.

He is way too conservative and should at least lift the ban on Contraception for to prevent the spread of disease. Isn't life more sacred than some old farts ideas of whats wrong and right.

Regards netwhizkid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

How did you vote BTW ?

Oh that's right they didn't consult you for some reason, I wonder why.

You accuse them of applying a value system different to yours to thier own organisation (members can leave at any time) and the cure in your eyes is to let your value system be imposed on their organisation. Hardly fair, you want them to change.

If you had at any time corresponded with your local cardinal regarding these issues then I apologise.

You are absolutely right, but wasting your breath with the anti-God brigade. Leave them to their shallow lives.

I bet they even think they are free without the Church. haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

netwhizkid wrote:
    rumour has it Pope John Paul 1 was poisoned for being too conservative.
    Dave may be laughing at a different thing to what I'm laughing at but just fyi: JP1 was rather liberal as they go (judging from his tenure as Patriarch of Venice), particularly with regard to the likes of humanum vitae. I'd suggest reading the odd non-novel for info on things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

*have visions of JC talking about the fig tree.
    Mark .11 13-21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

oops i got liberal and conservative mixed up, :rolleyes: how could that happen are they using mind control in Benidects speach me bad. But according to this if your into prophecies he'll be legs up in 4 yrs. I reckon dubya was reading this and is trying to get head start on "the big war"

Regards netwhizkid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭almostagassi

I think this new pope will be great, he will further alienate the church from modern civilisation. it will lose its relevence and people will forget about it. even very orthodox followers will get fed up of their stupid teachings and abondon it like the irish nation did.

the real question will be how much the vatican will fetch in a few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

will definatly listen to what jehovas witness's have to say before slamming they door in their face next time round.

lol and they arent conservitive, with their view on gays and contraception are here

http://www.watchtower.org/library/rq/index.htm?article=article_10.htm

"He is too anti-gay for me"
    *Quickly joins a religious group that is even more anti-gay*

Never mind the fact that u can never have a blood transfusion, celebrate your birthday or xmas etc cause its all anti god.

It amazes me how much $hite is spoken here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

While I dont agree with many of the Popes views those are his beliefs. Who are we to say that a man should change his beliefs just because it doesnt fit with the modern world. No one would make you change your mind, why should you make anyone change theirs.

I am Catholic, I dont agree with alot of what the Pope says, but I am not so shallow as to lose my faith because I have a differance of opinion with someone. I believe in the Creed. As far as I'm concerned the Creed IS Catholicism. Dont be so narrow minded and look beyond the Vatican.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

jank wrote:
    It amazes me how much $hite is spoken here.

I agree wholeheartedly.

"I'm gonna give up my faith because I disagree on one or two issues with the Pope" - wow, what a strong sense of faith you have there. I happen to disagree with the Pope on most of the issues you mentioned, but that doesn't mean I'm throwing in the towel. If liberalism truely is a better way (and I believe it is), then I have no doubt that its virtues will shine through and sooner or later, all its obstacles will be overcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

netwhizkid wrote:
    it is not for a nazi like ratzinger

Did you even read Seamus' post?
    Seamus wrote:
    In those days, it was a matter of join the Hitler youth, or watch your Father lose his job and be beaten to a pulp.

or even do your own research?

From wikipedia

After 1938, the Hitler Youth was a compulsary organization, mandatory for all young German men.

He was also drafted into the anti-aircraft corps when he was 16 and deserted.
    Using that term flippantly lessens it's impact when it should be used.

If you're going to castigate the man for anything, do it for what he does believe in rather than what he doesn't\didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

Ratzy not content with the tired subject of gay-bashing, took a leaf out of the book of certain people in the North of our fair Isle, and proclaimed the following with regards to "rock" music -
    "Rock", on the other hand, is the expression of the elemental passions, and at rock festivals it assumes a sometimes cultic character, a form of worship, in fact, in opposition to Christian worship.
    However, in the ecstacy of having all their defenses torn down, the participants sink, as it were, beneath the elemental force of the universe

I'm not sure what to make of this, it's all a bit much now that I realise that my defences were being torn down beneath the elemental force of the universe any time I listened to anything with a distortion pedal...

At least he got something right...
    On the one hand, there is pop music, which is certainly no longer supported by the people in the ancient sense (populus). It is aimed at the phenomenon of the masses, is industrially produced, and ultimately has to be described as a cult of the banal.
    Music and Liturgy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭utopian

A thread bemoaning the fact that the Pope is hostile to homosexuality?

In other news, bear shíts in woods...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

netwhizkid wrote:
    As of for gays being evil, they are born that way and can't help it as its natural to them

Christianity including the Roman Catholic Church is fundamentally based on the doctrine of Grace. Grace is the free gift of God whereby through a living faith in Jesus and His resurrection, our sins are forgiven without recourse to our own capabilities or record.

Fundamental to Grace is the idea of Original Sin, whereby human nature is not actually good as liberalism claims but is bad, as history shows. Given a difficult moral option and an easy immoral option, humans tend towards the immoral. We are not instinctively good. Let's all go visit Rwanda or East Belfast if you disagree.

So let me express my point in the form of a drama, starring Pelagius, a British theologian who would line up with the liberals today and Augustine, a doctor of the Roman Catholic Church:

Pelagius: God would not punish us for how we are born.

Augustine: Yes he would, which is why grace is required.

For those not familiar with church history, what is my point?

In decrying Ratzinger for not being with it, you are calling for a Pope who would destroy the essence of Christianity. If Christianity (literally the following of Christ) is based on the life of Jesus who claimed to be Christ (Messiah, peacemaker of God), then the Gospel (Good News) that Christ brings is eternal and unchanging. If He isn't Christ, then we're wasting our time and there shouldn't be a Pope.

The Roman Catholic Church is now growing at a faster rate than any other Christian denomination in the world. I am not a Catholic but I am very amused by all these hand-wrining lapsed and collapsed Irish Catholics who presume with a West Eurocentric picture of the world that is stunningly and appallingly arrogant that if the RCChurch is in decline where they are then it must be dying. Get over yourselves. There are literally millions of people the world over coming to faith through the RC Church.

Also, if you are not a practicing Catholic, then what right have you to be "upset" or "let down" or "dismayed" about the Cardinal's choice? What do you want the RC Church to be? Would a better option than Ratzie be to go down the road of Anglicanism into schism and true irrelevance. The only true authority a church can ever have is moral authority arising out of their belief that they have Truth. If you disagree with Ratzie's assertion that he has the Truth, then argue with him. But let's not have this crap about different kinds of truth and a new kind of truth for this so called "enlightened age".

Finally, the Charter of this board says,
    "Don't start off with a conclusion which your audience is bound to disagree with!" Don't break the charter or we'll edit.

Rant over.

Kernel wrote:
    You are absolutely right, but wasting your breath with the anti-God brigade. Leave them to their shallow lives.

I bet they even think they are free without the Church. haha.

How many catholics are happy with the new pope?

I've asked a few, and they share my opinion. Actually they are the source of my opinion. The biggest problem facing the catholic church is that catholics are being alienated from the church. That is undeniable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

I for one
    am VERY happy with the new Pope, he is a man of imense talents and intelect, he is strong on the fundementals of faith, and is not afraid to tackle problems head on. He is the right man for the job at the right time. the LAST thing we need is some softee whimp dancing and prancing to the non believers whims!... All these lapsed weaklings rant and rave about church this church that..why should it change ,,just to suit them??..they wouldnt come back even if you allowed smoking weed at the back while listening to Metalicca!,,,so lapsed folks cut the bolloney about why people are leaving the church etc.
    The fact that so many have left is a problem for THEM they will one day face their maker, some have legititimate anxietys about church law on this or that,.,.,but why dont they read the chatecism and see what the true teaching ACTUALLy is?..Ive read it from cover to cover,,,JP2 Sighned it into law if ya like and its the most genuine guide to what the RCChurch truly stands for. Read the bit about gays,,etc they should be treated with respect and givne the dignity that every human is entitled to, but their sexual behavior is NOT acceptable. Its amazing how many people jump up and down like spoiled kids ranting and raving, just coz they cant take the truth,,,and this country?..Ireland a nation of complete turn coats,,,running away from the hard truth to bury their heads in a secular lie.
    Regarding "the Black pope* etc, well it's obvious its not the man's skin colour that makes him evil but the colour of his heart, there WILL be an evil Pope just as prophesised in revelations as the "false prophet" and if you read St Malachy's prophecies again its turned out right...the Pope after JP2 is the olive branch : Benedict the peace maker!...The last Pope who by the looks of things will reighn in opposition to the false Pope , probably in exile will be Peter the Roman "petrus romanus",,,thru the tribulation and Anti Christ he will feed the lambs etc...So as the fella says..watch the world stage and the signs of the times.

by the way I luuuv rock music and see no problem with that, unless its that dreadful satanic nasty crap that so many youngsters are drawn to :)

ciao'...Baggio....

Baggio wrote:
    I for one
    am VERY happy with the new Pope, he is a man of imense talents and intelect, he is strong on the fundementals of faith, and is not afraid to tackle problems head on. He is the right man for the job at the right time.

The right man for the job?

Yes, if that job is defined as alienating the entire developed world. He has today stated that his aim is to unite christians - you *really* think the best way to do that is to alienate them? I don't, nor do any of the christians I've listened to over the past while.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

netwhizkid wrote:
    I feel let down and very disapointed that such a person is elected pope in these enlightened times. But their is very unfortunatly a neo-conservative trend around - just look at dubya and those gulible yanks....at 78 he will be joining his "god" soon, maybe within a month, rumour has it Pope John Paul 1 was poisoned for being too conservative. And from what i've read in dan browns books i'd nearly belive it.
    By using the word his you have lost all right to feel let down. Who let you down ?
    And as for considering a the world's largest and oldest organisation to be conservative - they probably don't want to change a winning formula just to keep the neighbours happy.

Speeking of the neighbours, Islam is doing quite well in the league of world-class religions and isn't exactly bending over backwords to accomodate either. Compare that to the fun & games in the Anglican world esp. the states where they try to accomodate.

In God's Name - is a better book about it - also they've charged 4 people with the murder of yer man that was hanging about Blackfriers? bridge.

Yes he IS the right man for the job.
    ..alienating people??..well didnt Christ himself have the same hassle when he preached to a large crowd on the riverbank??..many left and went away dissapointed he turned to the Apostles and said.."will you leave aswell?" Peter answered " Lord where shall we go?..YOU have the message of eternal life"!...so did Christ start shouting come back lads Ill change it all for ya's!!..dont make me laugh. Just because many run off on the wrong path doesnt mean you dig up the the right road just to suit them?!

ciao'..Baggio...

By using the word his you have lost all right to feel let down. Who let you down ?
    And as for considering a the world's largest and oldest organisation to be conservative - they probably don't want to change a winning formula just to keep the neighbours happy.

Winning formula? Really? That's an odd assessment given the dwindling status of the catholic church in today's world.
    Speeking of the neighbours, Islam is doing quite well in the league of world-class religions and isn't exactly bending over backwords to accomodate either.

You are conflating the issue. Islam is not a unitary system - just like christianity. There are various sects of Islam which fit *much* more easily [in relative terms] with modern society than others. Consider the difference between sects advocating and demanding a chador versus those happy without any covering, and everything in between.

Winning formula? Really? That's an odd assessment given the dwindling status of the catholic church in today's world.

The RC Church is growing faster now than ever.

You are conflating the issue. Islam is not a unitary system - just like christianity. There are various sects of Islam which fit *much* more easily [in relative terms] with modern society than others.

Islam is by definition, a singular system. It literally is submission to the Koran. That is not a system that settles well in a secular European society. Proof can be seen in the difficulties France has had with its Muslim population and that to a less legislative degree, in Scandinavia and Germany. This statement is surprisingly ridiculous and counter to evidence. I'll stop being a little off-topic now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

> The RC Church is growing faster now than ever.

Certainly not in Ireland, where it's dying on its knees.

> Islam is by definition, a singular system.

Wrong.

Islam, in most variants, is a decentralized relgious offering, with each local mullah having a good amount of control over how he wishes to interpret his own holy books, in the shape of the Qu'ran, or of the Hadith (the sayings of Mohammad). Roman Catholicism, upon the other hand, is an entirely centralized offering, with its own global government (the Curia), its own governing Canon Law, and with a strict line of obedience from rank'n'file churchgoer, up to the pope, who stands in for god, locally. There is no such requirement for obedience in Islam.

Interestingly, the mechanisms of state which operate in principally-islamic and princlipally-christian nation states follow similar understandings, giving rise to the unfortunate problem that the notion of central authority + government, as understood in the fully democratic countries, has yet fully to take root in many islamic countries.

> It literally is submission to the Koran.

Wrong again.

"Islam" means "peace" and the primary object of Islam is submission to the "will of god" (whatever *that* is; it's as meaningless in an islamic sense, as it is in a christian sense), with other sub-requirements in the shape of the five 'Pillars of Islam' (and others). BTW, the Qu'ran has a neato way of avoiding the possibility of contradictions, such as the genesis one in the other thread. Is anybody sufficiently clued-up about Islam to say what it is?

> This statement is surprisingly ridiculous and counter to evidence.

I'm afraid, pursuant to my above two refutations, that your assertions are counter to the fact, and not just the evidence :)

- robin.

robindch wrote:
    I'm afraid, pursuant to my above two refutations, that your assertions are counter to the fact, and not just the evidence :)

- robin.

Dagnabbit - you beat me to it.

More sad bitter tones from the none believing folks:
    Excelsior never said it was growing in Ireland, he said worldwide, which is true,,,so this country has turned it's back on it's inherited faith and it's dying on it';s knees here?..hmm interesting every mass i attend in the area I live in is jammed...contrary evidence there. But even if it is dying here - thats a problem for the people of this country too!, ...if they are soo weak as to turn their backs on a faith just coz theyv a bit of wealth, or because SOME MEMBERS OF CLERGY WERE GUILTY OF DREADFUL ABUSE, *AND LETS NOT FORGET THE MAIN CULPRITS OF THIS CRIME, MARRIED FATHERS,,,,and also include some SOCIAL WORKERS, AND A FEW guards!*,,, the lapsed folks left BECAUSE of these things?..bolloney the vast majority left because they wanted to...because many have no beliefe at all,,the scandals are a conveniant excuse to many...God knows why???..why not just be honest and say I believe in nothing and thats it...why alll the so called reasons??
    The moral fiber in this country is getting into a huge mess and gets worse by the day..never as many murders, rapes, muggins, robberies, attacks on old people, teenage pregnancies, abortion jaunts to the UK,,,and this is just beacuse we're more affable?? or because the big bad church is to blame??..naaa sorry its coz people have no fear of doing wrong, and the conscience and soul of the country have been torn away ...we've come a long way eh?..another crock of crap .
    I dont care if they keep leaving the church... as Ghandi once said "if you are a minority of 1 against the whole world...the truth is still the truth"
    ciao'...Baggio...

robindch wrote:
    > The RC Church is growing faster now than ever.

Certainly not in Ireland, where it's dying on its knees.

Oh well. I guess the .2% of Roman Catholics who live in Ireland should dictate the teaching of the church that claims universiality?

Your portrayal of Islam is most patently of a non-believing apologist. The Koran is not open to interpretation. Whatever sense there is in a theologically liberal Christian reforming their positions, there is no sense in a Mullah trying to diverge from the clear thrust of Islam. On top of that, Christianity is to Islam as Braeburn is to Granny Smith. Catholicism is to Islam what apples are to oranges. Whatever value this has in terms of whether Benedict XVI is homophobic, I know not.

No doubt, a convoluted argument can be made by non-believers that Islam means peace. Muslims however seem pretty sure that it means submission to Allah. That is the arabic translation of the word. The Koran is the perfect and unalterable and sufficient statement by Allah to the world. The Koran, in Arabic, Was and Is and Will Be. Crudely, it is Allah's incarnation. To be Muslim is to be in submission to the Will of Allah as represented in the Koran.

Forgive me if I take my teaching on Islam from muslims and not from disinterested skeptics.

All this is very nice but has Papa Ratzie actually shown himself to be homophobic? Would the thread starter or some similarly viewed individual care to convince me that the Pope is actually prejudiced against individuals when he calls a behaviour evil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

Baggio wrote:
    by the way I luuuv rock music and see no problem with that, unless its that dreadful satanic nasty crap that so many youngsters are drawn to :)
    The Ratzer will reprimand you for bringing your soul into moral turpitude by listening to such stuff. Revere and pay homage to his glorious hymns.

Ahh peanut,
    ..tiz nice we can laugh at it too eh?...:),,hehehhe good one

ciao'..Baggio...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I agree that we do need to give the new Pope time - personally I was very disapointed that they did not try to install someone in the Papacy that had a liberal agenda (am a practicing, if a-la-carte RC). On the ground the church is run differently - there is a lot more compassion, realism and debate, this should continue, it is why I have personally stayed in the hope that the Church moves officially with the times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Installing a ‘conservative’ pope is the most logical outcome in a church whose growth area is in developing/third world countries that are as a whole conservative in their outlook themselves.
    I personally can never understand the mock indication from people when they hear the Catholic Church is against homosexual acts (not homosexuals as most people seem to state), this is the same as people complaining that the head of vegetarian society is against the eating of meat.
    And while there is no debating that there has been a definite fall in the attendance of mass goers I suspect that does not correlate the numbers which profess to be catholic.
    The nature of boards like these is that they only voice extremist views from both camps and are totally unrepresentative of the views of the silent majority which continue on practising their respective faiths in their own manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Call_Me,Stan

I wasn't feeling great about this Pope til I read up on him in the Herald today.

I think he's probably better then John Paul II.

I'm not Catholic, btw.

> I guess the .2% of Roman Catholics who live in Ireland
    > should dictate the teaching of the church that claims
    > universiality?

Good question, but I'm fairly sure that, along with you, most would certainly wish to! Certainly, all of the catholics I've spoken to in the last day or so seem to think that they should be. Perhaps not all that differently from any other religiously-uniform subgroup within a population?

> Your portrayal of Islam is most patently of a non-believing
    > apologist. The Koran is not open to interpretation.

I'm afraid that both the Hadith and the Qu'ran are wide open to interpretation, though slightly less so than the bible, IMHO, since both are far more liberal documents than the bible ever was, or was ever assumed to be. And what appears to be your own very incomplete knowledge of either seems to come a source quite some distance from Islam itself, or indeed, the Qu'ran.

This is one of the reasons, btw, why islam is currently succeeding in infiltrating more countries than christianity, since islam is wide open to local interpretation, and local interpolation, and doesn't require (as I said earlier), the rank'n'file to look up to some elderly chap in a far distant city and accept their instructions from him, but instead from a local guy whom many are likely already know and trust. Christianity, btw, as a societal meme, could learn a lot from this -- decentralized power structures are always more efficient distributors than centralized ones, as communism showed.

And as for being a 'non-believing apologist', well, thanks for the compliment, if that's what it was. FWIW, I am neither a practicing, nor a lapsed, muslim, but instead somebody who's had to sit through interminable, and grossly intemperate, anti-muslim rants delivered by various deeply uninformed and deeply prejudiced (christian) family members, and decided to go off and check a fact or two himself, and found the ranters wanting in all respects. I did, perhaps naively, expect a higher degree of information about pending memetic threats to christianity to be present here, but it seems not to be.

> Catholicism is to Islam what apples are to oranges.

I've no idea what you mean by this -- please expand?

> No doubt, a convoluted argument can be made by
    > non-believers that Islam means peace.

It's not really *that* convoluted -- the arabic word 'salaam' means 'peace' and/or 'submission', depending upon context, but the meanings are quite close in any case. The word 'salaam' is closely cognate with the Hebrew word 'shalom' (peace :), and, obvisouly enough, produced the word 'i-salaam', or Islam, too.

> Muslims however seem pretty sure that it means
    > submission to Allah. That is the arabic translation
    > of the word.

Please see previous paragraph. Allah (al + illah) is the arabic word for 'god', as 'deus' is in Latin, 'θεος' is in Greek, 'Бог' in Russian, etc, etc.

> The Koran is the perfect and unalterable and sufficient
    > statement by Allah to the world.

I gather that this is what Muslims are required to believe, under threat of eternal damnation, or something similar (and where have we heard *that* before?)

> To be Muslim is to be in submission to the Will of Allah as
    > represented in the Koran.

Yep -- more-or-less what I said in my earlier posting. Glad to help you out!

> Forgive me if I take my teaching on Islam from muslims
    > and not from disinterested skeptics.

There's no need to be catty about this. I would like to point out that your earlier posting contained well-known, and well-rebutted, falsehoods about Islam. I was just trying to put them right in a forum where doing so might be useful, or at least, informative.

> All this is very nice but has Papa Ratzie actually shown himself
    > to be homophobic? Would the thread starter or some similarly
    > viewed individual care to convince me that the Pope is actually
    > prejudiced against individuals when he calls a behaviour evil?

Take a look at the the Vatican's March 2003 document, Considerations Regarding Proposals To Give Legal Recognition To Unions Between Homosexual Persons, signed by Ratzinger, which contains the following, frankly rather rich, line:

] Allowing children to be adopted by persons living in such
    ] unions would actually mean doing violence to these children

There is plenty more homophobic text within this document -- all of it empty posturing, rhetorical hand-waving, and deeply prejudiced windbaggery and I would challenge anyone to produce from it, a single sentence which emitted the slightest degree of human warmth or compassion, or respect for the feelings, or rights, of others, amongst its ~3000 words of high-handed moral certitude and damnation.

- robin.

Having read through the Vatican clip there supplied by Robin,
    ...I find NOTHING at all in any way that makes BenedictVI anyway Homophobic., instead I find a completley truthful document that lists the moral and scriptural reasons for opposing so called same sex marriages,...there is clear mention of respect and dignity for Homosexuals but also the honest answers regarding the devaluement of Proper/real marriage if these unions were granted licence in law.
    I have no problem whatsoever in supoorting this document, its supported by scripture, God's law and moral wisdom. Also as regards protection of Children ad possible "violence done to them" etc, well again they are correct. Rich line??..why so??..oh you mean because some clergy were absolutly guilty of dreadful abuse,,,the rest can'tspeak against it?..does that include all the married fathers around the world aswell?.just because most abusers are such - we as fathers can't say how much it disgusts us too?...again a common shall we say - tabloid type approach : "your church is guilty of this crime too in some quarters,,therefore none of you can comment"...again absolute nonescence. I think the Vatican document here actally clarifies the whole sound and reliegeous and moral thinking on this subject, and I for one cannnot seee how ANY SO CALLED CHristian can contradict it?
    Finally why arent all these folks up in arms against the laws of Islam and JUdaism on this subject????.Are they seriously gonna tell me these so called same sex unions are acceptable under those 2 great faith's laws???..not a chance. And by the way why was there no great public hoo haa when the gay pride crew were told to sling their hoooks and go somewhere else for their parade BY the moslem and Jewish leaders of Jerusalem earlier this year when they wanteed to hold that parade in Jerusalem??..In a rare show of religeous unity both Moslem and Jewish leaders told them to bugger (sorry for the pun ) off away from the holy city....homophobics too?? I doubt it.

ciao..Baggio

Excelsior wrote:
    Oh well. I guess the .2% of Roman Catholics who live in Ireland should dictate the teaching of the church that claims universiality?

Ireland is representative of the church in the developed world. The Catholic church is growing in those parts of the world where ignorance and poverty are the order of the day - in these places religion offers a way our of poverty, and a hot meal.
    Excelsior wrote:
    Your portrayal of Islam is most patently of a non-believing apologist. The Koran is not open to interpretation. Whatever sense there is in a theologically liberal Christian reforming their positions, there is no sense in a Mullah trying to diverge from the clear thrust of Islam. On top of that, Christianity is to Islam as Braeburn is to Granny Smith. Catholicism is to Islam what apples are to oranges. Whatever value this has in terms of whether Benedict XVI is homophobic, I know not.

So Sunni and Shi'ites believe the same things? Twaddle - unless you want to claim that Catholics and Protestants believe the same thing? I hope not.

Excelsior wrote:
    Forgive me if I take my teaching on Islam from muslims and not from disinterested skeptics.

You obviously haven't learned very well.

I did, perhaps naively, expect a higher degree of information about pending memetic threats to christianity to be present here, but it seems not to be.

Thanks. ;)

Now in order of Robin's response (but with input from Robin's robin-esque sidekick Eoghan-Psyche):

I actually don't think Catholicism should follow the path shown to it by Irish Catholics. I don't think that there is some moral advantage conferred on people alongside economic advantage. In matters of life, I will take guidance from a Zambian, impoverished and looking for a hot meal, just as equally as I take it from a Dub, laden with goods and looking for someone to hug him. I consider Eoghan-Psych's dismissal of modern African or South American's decisions about their lives to be arrogance.

I am not a Roman Catholic but I think they are answering the needs of their flock in co-operation with their Scriptures and tradition as best they can. I disagree massively with them on a whole range of issues but I don't think that the solution to an apostate nation, or whatever way the Curia would define Ireland, is to change the message.

You then share your opinion on how the Koran is a more liberal text than the Bible and you suggest that local flexibility has led to an Islamic growth. Your idea of decentralised structures are fascinating. I might bring them back to my Presbyterian Elders. :) Catholicism is not Christianity.

But all this was really written to support your belief that the Koran is a document with genuine flexibility in interpretation.

> Catholicism is to Islam what apples are to oranges.

Eoghan-Psych made my point by misunderstanding me. You were comparing Catholicism to Islam. Catholicism is more like Sunni-ism or the Shi'ites rather than to the lrager movement, Islam, which corresponds to the more general Christianity.

Islam means peace only in that submission to Allah will lead to peace. Peace is a product of Islam but Islam is the life long process of submission.

While your linguistic insights are interesting (I am not being sarcastic anywhere here, in case that is the tone) Muslims, in their practice, live as Islam meaning submission.

You then had some more of those comments that can come across as a little mean on the web but don't really need response. Then, finally on the Islam digression, you rightfully challenge my cattiness (I am sorry for using the word disinterested in such a sarcastic way) and wrap up my falsehoods in the interest of the Board at large. Here is where I disagree then. I think Islam means submission and wrapping a meaning of peace around it is a little unrealistic since the Islamic world defines it as submission. Sincerely, is this not a case of you reforming the identity of a group to suit your discussion's needs?

On top of that, I disagree that the Koran is a flexible document. I can cite lots of examples in Africa of Animist Christianity being practiced on a large scale and in my personal experience, of ancestor worship mixing with Christianity as the norm in Madagascar. There are Roman Catholic communities in Central and South America (and in the past, in the west of Ireland) who exalt Mary to co-redeemer, harking back to their tribal traditions. This does not show the flexibility in the Christian system. It shows Christianity being practiced badly.

Now the word badly is not well chosen there but I am typing this on the go but if you understand that I do not intend to suggest that the practices are bad in a moral sense but just in the sense of being consistent or coherent with the mainstream of historic Christianity.

To finally get around to making my point, Islam practiced as Islam should be practiced, allows a local autonomy in terms of organisational structure but not in terms of doctrine and authority which is clearly invested in the Koran. The Haddith is less to Islam than tradition is to Christianity. Anyway, all of this is digression, for which I apologise...

As far as the homophobia is concerned, to a huge extent I agree with your assessment of Ratzie's Gay Marriage document. He is not Rowan Williams. :) His writing style is staunch and austere and he seems incapable of writing anything that isn't theology.

However, where does his personal opinion turn into homophobia? I guess that is my question and it would relate back to Incitment to Religious Hatred legislative debate across in the UK but can Ratzie be called a homophobe because he believes that homosexual conduct is wrong and extrapolated from this, that homosexual union bearing children would be wrong?

Thanks for engaging in the debate. It is illuminating stuff.

I think it is perfectly justifiable to say that the Pope is entitled to his views on homosexuality. However, it is clear that Catholicism is only an interpretation of the word of God and Jesus Christ, and those interpretations have led to mistakes in the past. For example, the Church has in the past decreed that the world is flat, that you could buy your way into heaven, and that the Earth is the centre of the universe. Several of these mistakes have been acknowledged by the church, and refuted.

Therefore, I think it is fair to say that the Church has altered its stance in the past on certain issues because of further enlightenment. Despite the issue of homosexuality being more explicitly condemned in the Bible, there exists the possibility that the Church's interpretation could be incorrect. Therefore I think it is rather unwise for Pope Benedict to come out and say that the message cannot change because of modern enlightenment.

Having said that, he may (note this is not and opinion I share) be correct. Perhaps this is God's will, and perhaps it should not be changed becuase of modern enlightenment. However, I think it would be incorrect to not challenge that assertion on a regular basis.

Off-topic, I'd just like to say that I think this has developed into an excellent thread, despite its... humble... beginnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Sorry if this is just a dumb point, but doesn't writing a blatantly homophobic document that decries homosexuality as being evil, mean that you're a homophobic?

Jomanji,
    ...no because the sexual activity of homosexuals is the immoral and un-acceptable part, as it is NOT compatible with nature and Gods design of humanity centered around family life where children are conceived and born naturaly . It's not the fact that a person is homosexual!.., in that regard as is stated in the documant and in the chatecism itself: homosexuals should be treated with respect and given the dignity that every human is entitiled to, they are encouraged to live a life of chastity and seek Grace from God thru prayer and faith. I see nothing Homophobic in this I DO see homophobia in people who harrass and assault homosexuals , that IS NOT acceptable in the CHurch as decreed in the chatecism.

ciao'...Baggio...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Extended from jomanji's question, isn't it generally condemned because homosexual acts can never result in the birth of a child and that sexual activity was designed, as God's gift or otherwise, to create children through an act of union? Assuming I'm right on that, does the Church see homosexual acts on the same par as hetrosexual acts using contraception and, if not, why are homosexual acts singled out further if they are against the same idea?

It depends - I'm not sure homosexual acts are singled out for criticism by the church more than contraceptives. And in one case, the contraceptives can't talk back! Its natural that the church's stance on homosexuality provokes more debate.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

The Church was in general hostile to sexuality from its earliest time. This seems to be in reaction to the prevalent mores of the Greco-Roman period of the time. By opposing the percieved looser morals of that era, it differentiate itself. The perceive ideal state would be been celibacy in service to God, with marriage (as per Paul to the Corinthians) being a second best choice.
    I cannot see that stance changing in modern times.

> I am not a Roman Catholic but I think they are answering the
    > needs of their flock in co-operation with their Scriptures
    > and tradition as best they can. I disagree massively with
    > them on a whole range of issues but I don't think that the
    > solution to an apostate nation, or whatever way the Curia
    > would define Ireland, is to change the message

I think the interesting phrase in this is the "needs of their flock" and one could useful discuss this at some length, as well as the exact nature of the stifling interdependence of inerrant-authority and believer-in-inerrant-authority, and how each needs the other to create and justify its own existence.

Treating, as I do, religion (of any kind) as a meme -- an idea within society which propagates from mind to mind, much as a gene does within an organism -- is a useful way to think about religion in general, as well as more specifically, the problems which the church is now encountering with its *own* propagation in Ireland and elsewhere. In the case of this, we can see why the church is failing to propagate in its current state -- it's simply unable to, because the population which gave rise to the currently existing institution, no longer exists. The only way, therefore, in which the church can continue as an institution is either (a) to change with the times to make itself more appealing to the subject population, or, (b) as it is attempting to do in the person of Ratzinger, to attempt to change the times themselves, to revert conditions to what he believes that they were when the institution as it now exists, was created.

Whether or not it succeeds in either adapting to the changing times, or adapting the times to suit itself, depends to a very large extent upon the subject population (specifically, its educational level), and it's going to have frightful trouble with that, since it's lost control of the schools, where the most impressionable humans go to learn about the world. At an adult level, the church is no longer able to confer automatic acceptance within society, through public adherence to its own rituals, so people's interest in continuing these rituals declines.

Bearing these propositions in mind, it's interesting to compare church attendance patterns within the US over the last while, with those in Europe. Within the US, religion is linked firstly, very strongly with the apparatus of state (as it was in Ireland until recently) and the security which the state is believed to provide, and secondly, through the application of a disappointing range of modern marketing techniques (pre-build marketing surveys, telephone sales, mass-marketing, 'guerilla' sales techniques, etc) can make itself as appealing as it wishes to be, by simply adapting its message to its subject population. The text of Mencken's Homo Neanderthalensis, which I've referred to several times on these boards, is relevant here, as it accurately describes the matching of message to population and the consequent self-imposed and self-glorifying ignorance which a subject population can willingly wallow in. A brief quote from Mencken's dismissive, but hardly inappropriate, text, might be useful, as it explains why ludicrously uninformed notions like creationism continue to exist and propagate:

] The inferior man's reasons for hating knowledge are not
    ] hard to discern. He hates it because it is complex --
    ] because it puts an unbearable burden upon his meager
    ] capacity for taking in ideas. Thus his search is always
    ] for short cuts. All superstitions are such short cuts.
    ] Their aim is to make the unintelligible simple, and
    ] even obvious. So on what seem to be higher levels. No
    ] man who has not had a long and arduous education can
    ] understand even the most elementary concepts of modern
    ] pathology. But even a hind at the plow can grasp the
    ] theory of chiropractic in two lessons. Hence the vast
    ] popularity of chiropractic among the submerged -- and
    ] of osteopathy, Christian Science and other such
    ] quackeries with it. They are idiotic, but they are
    ] simple -- and every man prefers what he can understand
    ] to what puzzles and dismays him.

Anyway -- what we see in practice is that churches in the US are built purely to self-propagate, which they do with remarkable success, while within Europe, churches + church attendances are collapsing, because they are unable to adapt to be effective propagators within the changed circumstances they now find themselves in.

As for the homophobia? Well, that's just a side show to appeal to people's inbuilt biological prejudices against male homosexuality -- when was the last time you heard anybody, religious or otherwise, rant against lesbians? This curious asymmetry, which is easily understandable from a biological point of view, is never addressed by religion, lest anybody notice it and question it.

In case anybody's still interested in notions of memetic selection and religion, you can find two further interesting, and longer, articles here and here.

I'll try and get around to answering some of the other points in the coming days.

- robin.