Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interesting Cork?

• 17-04-2005 1:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭

right, my boyfriend and i always end up going out for a drink every fri night- is there anything that someone can reccommend for us to do in cork??? im actually quite bored with the scene, theres nothing but pubs these days

• Registered Users Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

maybe instead of going to the pub try the Kino.. it has some good pics.. other than that.. maybe go bowling with a few friends.. bit of a laugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Bright Smile

ya the kinos a good idea, might try that, thanks cork girl...i hate the shoes in the leisure plex though, they freak me out that so many other ppls sweaty feet have been in them! :eek: hit me with loadsa ideas please ppl???

the mardyke is better for bowling I think, I was there during the summer and the shoes aren't as manky as the ones in the leisureplex!! if that helps!!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

right, my boyfriend and i always end up going out for a drink every fri night- is there anything that someone can reccommend for us to do in cork???
    Asked and answered.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=179552

There's this thing called a "search engine"...?

adam

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

jaysus.. I havent been bowling in flippin' ages. Always meant to head down to the place in Youghal to see what its like. Anyone been down there?

What place in Youghal?

isnt there a bowling alley/arcade/casino type place out there? The bowling part is supposed to be quite good. Ehh Perks? that sounds right.

Didn't know Perks had a bowling alley. Haven't been near the place since they moved from their previous location.

adam

• Registered Users Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭radiospan

The Craichouse comedy nights are moving to the Half Moon next week I think. They were very good the few times I went to them in Nancy Spains.

Even the local amateurs are very good, there's one guy, Donncha O'Chonaill (I think that's his name), who just cracks me up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

Well, I know I suggested it before, But Area51 on North Main Street, you can whoop ass playing games! sooo much fun! (and a cheap night too!)

Are they still running those Improvisation nites? They were brilliant, held 2 nites a week, one was in The Bodega I think it was 4euro cover charge and the other was up on McCurtain St. somewhere no cover charge.. supposed to be brilliant laugh ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭radiospan

Cork_girl wrote:
    Are they still running those Improvisation nites? They were brilliant, held 2 nites a week, one was in The Bodega I think it was 4euro cover charge and the other was up on McCurtain St. somewhere no cover charge.. supposed to be brilliant laugh ;)

I think that's the Snatch Improv thing? I've just seen that once, but a good laugh all right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

How about taking up a new hobby... ammmmm
    tia chi springs to mind!!! (see other post) :cool:

plazzTT wrote:
    I think that's the Snatch Improv thing? I've just seen that once, but a good laugh all right.
    yep that's the one! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭CHUCKLEZ

That place perks ye were on about Have A website:

www.perksfunfair.ie

Was down there for the weekend they opened up a new part in the not added on the site yet.

CHUCKLEZ wrote:
    That place perks ye were on about Have A website:

www.perksfunfair.ie

Was down there for the weekend they opened up a new part in the not added on the site yet.
    link doesn't work for me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Try a new kind of music and go to a live performance - classical/jazz/whatever you don't usually listen to.

Cork_girl wrote:
    link doesn't work for me?

nope.. tis dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭CHUCKLEZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 kmacc

They have updated the website... I hang out there playing bowling its a great place to spend a few hours....

try this http://www.perksfunfair.com/east_cork_superbowl.php

or http://www.eastcorksuperbowl.com

kmacc

I can't believe they called their restaurant MacPerkies and got away with it. It's not a franchise surely?

adam

Hmm... anyone wanna go bowling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭netron

right, my boyfriend and i always end up going out for a drink every fri night- is there anything that someone can reccommend for us to do in cork??? im actually quite bored with the scene, theres nothing but pubs these days

go down to Schull and visit the planetarium?

http://www.westcorkweb.ie/planetarium/

or do a course in Douglas Comm?
    http://www.dcscork.ie/adulted.html

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Judes

Try the theatres - either the Everyman Palace, the Granary or the Opera House, there's always something happening on a Friday night - plays, music, comedy - nothing like a bit of live theatre!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Cork_girl wrote:
    Are they still running those Improvisation nites?

They're in the Comedy Club on Thursdays now. 10pm. 5 euro admission. Must go myself but all the lads say they're working in the morning or unemployed and flat broke. Bastards :(