Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

she looks at other men too much?

• 11-04-2005 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

okay, first off maybe I am overreacting a bit, but need advice.

I have been going out with this girl for a year and a half. I am in love with this girl and she has told me the same. Everything is great in our relationship except for one thing: some aspects of her behaviour leave me feeling a little cold.

If we are out in town and socialising, she seems to have a lot of "eye time" for other guys. Now, I know we all look at other people, I do it myself and that is no problem but when some guys walk by she stares at them for seconds directly and a few times my attention has been drawn to her snapping her neck to attention at some guy that is walking by and then holding her stare until she realises I am looking at her and then the eyes go down. On one occasion, she has nearly fallen over herself trying to get a better view of one particular guy who was walking by (and he was very good looking and well built, fair play to him!) while I was sitting right beside her. On another occasion after a few drinks she was seriously curious about the size of one of my friends "member"! I kid you not. I have told her that when she does these things and asks these kindof questions, it makes me feel a little odd about her motives and since then I notice that it happens less, but I still see her doing it. Now when I say "see her do it" I mean it is long stares in front of me with no attempt to hide it! I dont know, it makes me feel uncomfortable. I dont go in for all this modern crap and sometimes want my girlfriend to stop showing so much sexual interest in other men, I thought this diminished in women when they are in love with someone? I dont want to sound like an old prude, and I understand and even think its healthy to admire others when out, but she leaves me cold the way she does it. I feel she is not being herself when out with me and somehow I am restricting her in that way. I am now seriously thinking about giving this one a miss. Advice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bonzai bob

I don't think you're overeacting at all, i think we all do it to some degree, but jeez, she can tone it down a bit imo.. In the long run this won't do your self confidence any good if she keeps doin it, so if it continues maybe you should look elsewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

think you might be over reacting i was wicked jelous of my ex girlfriend untill i realised that i did it myself as much as she did, its a natural thing. we all turn the head if we see a fine young one walkin down the street. dont think that women are any different, and the things she says, it looks like the girl has a sence of humour, when she asks you stuff like how big your friends "member" is then turn around and say something funny or go ask him how big it is in front of her. :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

IfI dont go in for all this modern crap

perhaps that's your problem?

and sometimes want my girlfriend to stop showing so much sexual interest in other men

just cos you're on a diet, doesn't mean you can't look at the menu, don't tell me that you wouldn't have a look given the chance

I thought this diminished in women when they are in love with someone?

no
    if I see a good looking bloke, I'll still look at him, that's all it is you know, just looking, like you would a Van Gogh....

I dont want to sound like an old prude, and I understand and even think its healthy to admire others when out, but she leaves me cold the way she does it.

your g/f needs to learn the art of subtly ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

I don't think you're over reacting at all. If you were a girl posting about your boyfriend everyone here would be saying to dump him.

Thing is, women should be able to control their urges to "look" a bit better than men. Thats what 'Girl Power' is all about isn't it? Looking while out with her friends is one thing but doing it blatantly on front of you is totally unacceptable.

I'd be of the opinion that if she is doing this so obviously on front of you and asking about your friends 'members', you can only imagine what she's doing when shes in a nightclub on her own.

Dump her. (IMO)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

I have been going out with this girl for a year and a half. I am in love with this girl and she has told me the same. Everything is great in our relationship except for one thing: some aspects of her behaviour leave me feeling a little cold.

If we are out in town and socialising, she seems to have a lot of "eye time" for other guys. Now, I know we all look at other people, I do it myself and that is no problem but when some guys walk by she stares at them for seconds directly and a few times my attention has been drawn to her snapping her neck to attention at some guy that is walking by and then holding her stare until she realises I am looking at her and then the eyes go down. On one occasion, she has nearly fallen over herself trying to get a better view of one particular guy who was walking by (and he was very good looking and well built, fair play to him!) while I was sitting right beside her. On another occasion after a few drinks she was seriously curious about the size of one of my friends "member"! I kid you not. I have told her that when she does these things and asks these kindof questions, it makes me feel a little odd about her motives and since then I notice that it happens less, but I still see her doing it. Now when I say "see her do it" I mean it is long stares in front of me with no attempt to hide it! I dont know, it makes me feel uncomfortable. I dont go in for all this modern crap and sometimes want my girlfriend to stop showing so much sexual interest in other men, I thought this diminished in women when they are in love with someone? I dont want to sound like an old prude, and I understand and even think its healthy to admire others when out, but she leaves me cold the way she does it. I feel she is not being herself when out with me and somehow I am restricting her in that way. I am now seriously thinking about giving this one a miss. Advice?

i bet you never look at another woman?

half the population are men. of course she is going to look at them.
    looking at a man does not constitute 'sexual interest'.

i mean, if it was someone with no arms or legs and she was staring morbid facination, would this be different than staring at brad pitt?

why?

if she has to change herself to be with you, then she is better off without you to be honest.

Ha ha. What a joke. Thats true for someones looks or personality. It doesn't apply to actions.

If that was the case though I'm going to head out with the lads every night and get pissed and never clean up the house or wash the dishes.

Thats just the way I am and I shouldn't have to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Linoge, I don't think women should be able to 'control' their urges to look better than men. Resisting the urge to swing your head around to stare at a member of the opposite sex while with your significant other is not particularly hard, obviously the GF needs to develop either a little self-control or perhaps greater respect / consideration for her BF. If this constitutes her 'changing' for the BF and she is unwilling to do it, yes, he's better off without her. Everyone changes somewhat when in a relationship, let's be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I thought this diminished in women when they are in love with someone? I dont want to sound like an old prude, and I understand and even think its healthy to admire others when out, but she leaves me cold the way she does it.

I notice that rarely do people read the OP properly.

Of course we all look at the opposite sex regardless of our availability - but do we do it for seconds at a time? make it painfully obvious? As the OP said, whip our necks around to catch better looks while in the presence of our significant other?

The OP aknowledges that its normal, but to a certain extent

His GF seems to way over do it, and you are NOT sounding like an old prude.
    GF needs to develop either a little self-control or perhaps greater respect / consideration for her BF

Well said Ionapaul, this is exactly it. As it is, she doesn't sound like she has the greatest of respect for you.

My girlfriend never looks at other guys - sometimes, I might see a well built good looking guy walking by, and I look at him in jealousy, expecting her to be staring at him as well, but then she is just like giving me this look "why an earth are you staring at another man?!"

And I'm no tom cruise. So while a certain level of appreciation of other people is normal, your girlfriends excessiveness is not acceptable.
    thought this diminished in women when they are in love with someone?

It does in alot of cases, if not stop it completely, it certainly tones it down....In fact I'm a man, and apart from maybe some actors on TV in the privacy of my room, I never really look at other girls anymore! :)

ionapaul wrote:
    Linoge, I don't think women should be able to 'control' their urges to look better than men.

That was meant to be a joke with a jab. Allbeit not a very funny joke with not much of a jab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I cant understand some of the responses from some people. If you think it is ok for your GF to snap her head around (or up if she is sitting down!) and stare at a guy who is sitting right beside us when we are out then I feel sorry for you, genuinely. Where is the romance in that? When your GF *blatently* and obviously, in your face, shows you that she is sexually attracted to other men all of the time then forget it. It loses its appeal and as one reply mentioned, what is she like when I am not there to at least put a natural lid on whatever it is she is getting up to ?? This girl is 28 years of age and I am trying to understand her behaviour so that I can make a decision about her. I am not a prude and have never felt like this with any other girl before. Before I saw this behaviour in her I never worried about her going out with her friends, now I wonder what she is doing. The times I have met up with her in a pub after she has had a few, she has gotten to know every drunk bloke in the place and on one occasion, in front of me, this drunk asshole started singing in her ear!! Funny I know, but what type of woman am I describing here? Cos I dont know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

It doesn't matter where she gets her appetite as long as she eats her dinner at home tbh. But have you tried telling her you feel a little jealous sometimes? Everybody does from time to time and it just requires a little bit of reassurance. Don't got saying you don't want her looking at other men though, I suspect that would be bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

At that rate she should be allowed to be polygamous because she could have been before going out with him. That's way too cut and dried, and the kind of thing you'd be pointing out to another poster. As said before, the majority of the population seem to respectfully lessen their staring when around their other half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Get her sunglasses as a present - it might look less obvious then. Everyone looks but it's annoying if they're very unsubtle about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Assuming this isn't just a load of mad jealousy and paranoia in your head, has she ever done anything about it? Has she ever gone off with anyone else?

No? Ok, so whats the big deal. You never look at hot women? On TV, on the street? Come off it.

Everyone has hormones and appreciates whatthey see as beauty. Deal with it. So long as she cares for you and is faithful I don't see the big deal.

Alternatively, if you want to make a big deal about it, either (A) talk to her and not a bunch of internet strangers

or

(B) Start being very obvious about checking out other women (you know, talk to their breasts and stuff). Works reaally well if you include her family members in this, especially her mother, but becareful you don't go too far and typedef her sister, or if her sister is a minor <snip - bold syke>.

Incidently, option (B) may get you dumped, and if it did, you'd deserve it.

psi, you come off it. Firtly, for those who say women are the same as men in this regard, cop on. They are not. They dont look as much, just go and read your womens magazines if you dont believe me.

Secondly, if you think it is appropriate for my GF to fall over herself staring at blokes in front of ME, her BF, then you are the one with the serious problem and I pity you, I really do.

And no, to my knowledge she has not done the dirt, but that is not the point and just shows you dont get it do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

If she is acting like this after a year and a half, after 3 she will be shaggin away from home, gauranteed. Talk to her about it first, but if nothing changes, dump her asap.

op wrote:
    psi, you come off it. Firtly, for those who say women are the same as men in this regard, cop on. They are not. They dont look as much, just go and read your womens magazines if you dont believe me.

Secondly, if you think it is appropriate for my GF to fall over herself staring at blokes in front of ME, her BF, then you are the one with the serious problem and I pity you, I really do.

And no, to my knowledge she has not done the dirt, but that is not the point and just shows you dont get it do you?

Probably not, but then I'm quite self assured, happy and confident in myself , so I don't let silly little things like that worry me.

Women look as much as men in my experience.

Women's magazines tend to tell women how the magazines feel they should think, and aren't representative of how they do think, otherwise women wouldn't be bothered buying them in the fist place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Original Poster you are overreacting to some of the posters on this thread, you are being extremely defensive of your thoughts on this matter, one could say "paranoid".

Reading your post the only advice I have for you is "Speak to your girlfriend about this". Otherwise - what are you trying to achieve here?
    Are you tring to get everyone's advice? If so you are getting it so please don't attack other people's views.
    Are you just having a rant? If so then this isn't the place for that.

Come off it mate, pull the finger out and sort this out with your girlfriend. If you want to have a discussion about it here please try and respect the views of the posters here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

its seems to mean that she might be doing it on purpose! maybe to make a point?

Have you been making her feel cold with out knowing.. has your atention droped after the 1 year mark? you say since you spoke she's lessened but now does it right in front with out trying to hide it.. this sound like an attention seeking thing.

I look at guys even when i was with my past bf.. and if he was very attrative i'd say it! and he did the same.

your not over reacting you've picked up on the feeling she's giving you now its time to find out why!

ASK HER NOT US!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

op wrote:

I'm a woman and I don't read womens mags!!

oh you know you can buy playgirl mag's full of nudy men!!
    I look at men admire what i see just as much as my male friends!!!
    op wrote:

you have the problem this is why you are here talking about it!!! :rolleyes:
    op wrote:

why dont you talk to her you sound very very jealous to me!

Maybe she's bored and is having a giggle!!!

psi wrote:
    (B) Start being very obvious about checking out other women (you know, talk to their breasts and stuff). Works reaally well if you include her family members in this, especially her mother, but becareful you don't go too far and typedef her sister, or if her sister is a minor, Havelock her sister.

Incidently, option (B) may get you dumped, and if it did, you'd deserve it.

Are you for real? First off you tell him that it isn't a big deal and that he is over reacting, then you tell him that if he wants to get back at her then to do the same thing and that if he did then he deserves to be dumped?

Congratulations on the dumbest post of the year so far. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Studies show that Women in fact look and perv more than men do (no, I've no link), but their superior peripheral vision means that (usually) they won't be caught in the act as much as men are, since they don't have to turn their head as much to take a glimpse.

Get a group of young women, give them a few beers, and you'll find they can be dirtier and more seuxally agressive than a similar group of young men.

bonzai bob wrote:
    Congratulations on the dumbest post of the year so far. :rolleyes:

bonzai
    have you read this forums charter with regards to flaming other posters?
    psi comments were tongue in cheek

consider this a warning
    B

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Is it not "attack the post, not the poster" ?
    Tongue-in-cheek is supposed to be obvious, otherwise it's trolling. I think that's in the charter somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I'm not going to flame anybody but really no-one has been really constructive here. What he is saying -

Is that she does it EXCESSIVELY. He knows himself its normal but only in moderation and to a certain extent. The behaviour of the girl he has described is one of a woman who I wouldn't be surprised for you to discover some day she has cheated on you and the said behaviour is NOT typical of your average female behaviour. Especially while not in the actual company of the said significant other.

People really should have a good long read of the OP and stop listing off standard replies that have little significance to the topic in relation to the actual problems facing the original poster.

its funny cos anytime I talk to her she gets defensive and "doesn't remember" so I think its an impossible situation. I think she is just that type of girl, they are out there you know. They dont seem to have any cop on in this way. I just dont understand how a girl who loves someone can honestly behave that way when she is out with them, it just makes no sense. I think if I listen to my instinct on this it tells me that she is not the girl for me and this type of behaviour will just p*** me off long into the future.

And I am not madly jealous, I have gone out with loads of women and this is the first time this has become an issue, I never noticed this before.

Right now, I am going to play it be ear, I am just going to say nothing and see how bad it gets and make my decision then. Some women have to learn the hard way I think! Thanks for all the advice!

Tongue-in-cheek is supposed to be obvious, otherwise it's trolling. I think that's in the charter somewhere.

just goes to show how much you know.
    i find my humour is often missed due to its incredible subtlety.
    in fact, i think you just missed the joke....

i think the OP should chill out, but hey, apparently my opinion is 'wrong'. and i never knew!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Welcome to the world of WOMAN! It's great to see a man getting to experience what we've been putting up with.... :D
    Well no it's not great really when it's making you feel like crap, you really just need to say it start out to her or better still do the exact same thing to her, believe me it won't take her long to get P'd off about it - maybe this might actually be your best bet seeing as she didn't really listen to you the last time ... good luck mate, & remember it's you she's going home with at the end of it all, is an otherwise good relationship worth loosing because of this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Well, my opinion is that what this girl is doing is extremely rude. A bit of looking ain't a problem, but the problem arises when she does it blatantly and all the time, and is quite obviously flirting with the whole male population in the pub. You have every right to be pissed off about this.

Everyone is different, some people might not care if their other half checks out other women, whereas others feel threatened by this. You said you don't mind if she does it but what bothers you is that she is so obvious about it. If it's come to the stage where she's totally ignoring you to check out other guys, then I reckon you do need to sit down and talk to her.

Has she been doing this from the start, or is this just recent behaviour?

Tongue-in-cheek is supposed to be obvious.

for it to be more obvious than it already was, it would have required pink neon lights and little red flags waving
    now
    can we all get back on topic please?
    B

neon lights are a bannable offense. as are red flag waving, and off topic-ed-ness.

its in the charter you know!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

just goes to show how much you know.
    i find my humour is often missed due to its incredible subtlety.
    in fact, i think you just missed the joke....

i think the OP should chill out, but hey, apparently my opinion is 'wrong'. and i never knew!

You mean you took that at face value? Amateur!

ravenhead wrote:
    Welcome to the world of WOMAN! It's great to see a man getting to experience what we've been putting up with.... :D

Like someone cheating on their partner down in Cork?
    Well no it's not great really when it's making you feel like crap, you really just need to say it start out to her or better still do the exact same thing to her, believe me it won't take her long to get P'd off about it - maybe this might actually be your best bet seeing as she didn't really listen to you the last time ... good luck mate, & remember it's you she's going home with at the end of it all, is an otherwise good relationship worth loosing because of this??
    Thats a fair point, why not talk to her about it and agree between you to point it out to her when she does it next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

maybe she's bored cause you've let yourself go and aren't giving her half as much attention as you used to?
    im sure you look at plenty of other women, and not just clothed ones on the street. :P so what if she's not subtle about it? she hasn't done anything wrong. yeah so maybe its a bit rude. she could say you jerking off to some airbrushed lady showing half her insides on the internet is rude too.
    it works both ways. everyone likes window shopping, even if they have no intention of buying things or even trying them on. i myself would check out and rapidly evaluate 90% of men i see, although i'd rarely see many head-turners. but then i like to be a bit more subtle about it. i may go round for a second pass ;)
    if its making you feel that insecure, then obviously speak to her about it. but dont go about it in an accusing tone or aggressive manner, she'll just get defensive, like you said. go with the old 'i feel.... blah...when you etc etc' instead of telling her to stop looking at other men all the time.

psi wrote:
    Like someone cheating on their partner down in Cork?

That wasn't really called for psi ..... :(

ravenhead wrote:
    That wasn't really called for psi ..... :(

Nor was the gross generalisation/stereotype in your post.

It doesn't quite fit commenting on appropriate girfriend behaviour imho, but apologies if this opinon offended you.

psi wrote:
    Nor was the gross generalisation/stereotype in your post.

It doesn't quite fit commenting on appropriate girfriend behaviour imho, but apologies if this opinon offended you.

No offence taken, & yes I agree with you - it was a generalisation, glad to see you're still you're lovely self! :p

Was working late, just in.

Listen thanks for all the advice. I mean we are all different at the end of the day. I am sure there are some guys out there who would not mind blatent sexual attraction being emitted by their GF in their presence, fair enough if thats what you accept more power to you.

I just think *some* women, and I mean some, have lost the plot in this day and age. At the end of the day guys who are looking for a quick shag would not mind this behaviour. On the other hand, decent guys looking for a potential *mate* (wife) will not accept this behaviour in the long run. If I had a daughter, I would wish all the luck, money, opportunites and great guys at her, but at the end of the day I would teach her the basics of respect and how to have good relationships with people. I think today, in the MODERN ireland (sic), you have a lot of women walking around who have taken things just too far. My GF is one of those, she has no self control and exhibits that whenever she is in the company of men. For that reason, I have dumped her tonight and feel good inside (but sad for her) about it. It really was a no brainer. I dont want to die from stress when I am 60. For those women who thought I was mad, really, guys want real women who can control themselves. Whatever about the battle of the sexes, that is a fact. No matter what happens in MODERN ireland (sic) and the modern world, some things will never change no matter how much some silly women want them to. Take it easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Spartan

You are all a bunch of muppets... well most of u at least, especaly u op... she looks at guys, so what, shes still with u, loosen up, i look at other women all the time, hell so dose my girlf (she's bi), half time she points em out to me, she has a good look at men to, i mean my girlf and i go to night clubs, and if she sees a hot guy shes goes off and dances with him if im sittin down or not a dancy mood... and she could dance as dirty as hell with him, i do get really jealous but it goes away after a few minutes cause i know at the end of the night she will be standin beside me and leavein with me... The basic of it, the more u keep her cooped up and her look away from other men the more she will want to look and maybe more... best thing to do is just tell her it makes u jealous if u want, but its better to think the way im gona tell u right now... when u see her look at a guy, she is still with u, he dosen't have her, only u, he is the one who should be jealous, not u... that simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭OY

*Page* wrote:
    ASK HER NOT US!!!

Totally agree!

I know you may not go for 'this modern crap' but you should open up the lines of communication with this girl. If you two are serious about eachother then you NEED to talk and sort it out.
    And if after you get through to her if it is still happening then maybe this one is not for you!
    I must admit that after a year and a half it is that critical stage of a relationship where it is either going to become awesome or it will go stale and personally I do not know if I could accept your situation. Everyone is saying that it is natural to look and that is fine but this is a little OTT! The girl is positioning herself to get better views right in front of you!!! That is a little weird.
    But anyway, you need to talk and figure this out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭isolde

I think today, in the MODERN ireland (sic), you have a lot of women walking around who have taken things just too far. My GF is one of those, she has no self control and exhibits that whenever she is in the company of men. For that reason, I have dumped her tonight...

you dumped her? cos she looks at other guys?
    to be honest, she sounds better off
    .... guys want real women who can control themselves.

what about people who can have a bit of a laugh?
    if you ask me she just sounds pretty confident in herself
    thats an attribute i would look for in someone, not punish someone for

best of luck to ya in your search for an old-fashioned girl

~ isolde.

will ya's lighten up!! No one is disputing the fact that she looks at other guys and no one is saying that it is wrong!!! But what is wrong is the fact that she blatently obvious and show little to no respect for the op. The fact that he dumped her shows that it's not just a casual look every now and again!!

OP: The fact that you are happy that you dumped her just goes to show that you are better off, best of luck.

bonzai bob wrote:
    But what is wrong is the fact that she blatently obvious and show little to no respect for the op.

no, the fact is you have one side of a story, and are unable to give any sort of proper advice based on that one side.

for all you know, the orginal poster may be a drama queen, and open your eyes in public constitutes 'staring at other guys'.

on the other hand, she could just well be looking at them and drooling.

you dont know.

my partner looks at other men. id be amazed if she didnt. in fact, id think it was downright unnatural. and sometimes, she even comments on them.
    and god knows, ive been known to say things like 'cor blimey' or 'phwoar' when i see some chick with great tits.
    but both of us are pretty confident in ourselves, and are confident and happy in our relationship that it means nothing. so you see a guy or a girl that if you were single, youd like to shag. so waht. there are beautiful people everywhere. really, there are. and people who want to fool themselves into beliving there arent, are, well, fools. your partner is going to see them. you will see them. but hoping your partner doesnt see them, is a stupid thing. and getting upset about it wont help. and thats what its about.
    its about not being confident, about getting upset because your partner sees other beautiful people, and you feel crappy.
    and thats your own problem to soplve.
    the fact that the person is with you should be enough, but some people need more. needy people.
    bonzai bob wrote:
    The fact that he dumped her shows that it's not just a casual look every now and again!!

the fact that he has dumped her suggests he is not happy. her nehaviour was clearly out of line with how he thought she should act, but that is not nessecarily what others think is OTT. again, you dont know.
    bonzai bob wrote:

OP: The fact that you are happy that you dumped her just goes to show that you are better off, best of luck.

the fact that he has dumped her, shows that he is not yet willing to face his own self confidence problem.
    and that she is better off without him...

no, the fact is you have one side of a story, and are unable to give any sort of proper advice based on that one side.

for all you know, the orginal poster may be a drama queen, and open your eyes in public constitutes 'staring at other guys'.

on the other hand, she could just well be looking at them and drooling.

you dont know.

my partner looks at other men. id be amazed if she didnt. in fact, id think it was downright unnatural. and sometimes, she even comments on them.
    and god knows, ive been known to say things like 'cor blimey' or 'phwoar' when i see some chick with great tits.
    but both of us are pretty confident in ourselves, and are confident and happy in our relationship that it means nothing. so you see a guy or a girl that if you were single, youd like to shag. so waht. there are beautiful people everywhere. really, there are. and people who want to fool themselves into beliving there arent, are, well, fools. your partner is going to see them. you will see them. but hoping your partner doesnt see them, is a stupid thing. and getting upset about it wont help. and thats what its about.
    its about not being confident, about getting upset because your partner sees other beautiful people, and you feel crappy.
    and thats your own problem to soplve.
    the fact that the person is with you should be enough, but some people need more. needy people.

the fact that he has dumped her suggests he is not happy. her nehaviour was clearly out of line with how he thought she should act, but that is not nessecarily what others think is OTT. again, you dont know.

the fact that he has dumped her, shows that he is not yet willing to face his own self confidence problem.
    and that she is better off without him...

Ok, I’ll say this one more time, NO ONE IS SAYING THAT HIS EX IS NOT ALLOWED LOOK AT OTHER PEOPLE, ALL PEOPLE ARE SAYING IS THAT SHE SHOULDN’T MAKE IT SO FúCKIN OBVIOUS.

So what if it is a confidence issue? What’s your point? She knows that it bothers him yet still continues to do it. What does that say about her? I think he is the one who is better off considering his gf didn’t even take his feelings into consideration, discretion isn’t exactly hard you know.

Hopefully both of them will now be happier or more satisfied following the break-up. I think the OP might have been way off the mark blaming 'modern Ireland' for his GF's behaviour - as I mentioned in an earlier reply, she was simply lacking self-control and / or respect and consideration for him. Nothing to do with modern Ireland! For most people (of either sex), it would be inacceptable for their partner to be so blatent in their staring.

Spartan wrote:
    You are all a bunch of muppets... i mean my girlf and i go to night clubs, and if she sees a hot guy shes goes off and dances with him if im sittin down or not a dancy mood... and she could dance as dirty as hell with him, i do get really jealous but it goes away after a few minutes cause i know at the end of the night she will be standin beside me and leavein with me...

Dirty dancing with another man? YOU must be the one with the confidence problem as it obviously bothers you as you say, it makes you jealous, yet you won't say anything to her. Are you scared she'll dump you if you do? Sounds to me she's having a good laugh at you.

Girating with anyone on the dance floor is taking things a bit too far. Its not a matter of "well, I take her home" and "she doesn't shag them", its a matter of respect and this girl obviously doesn't respect you. Op at least has the cop on to see when things go too far. So do the rest of us "muppets".
    bonzai bob wrote:
    So what if it is a confidence issue? What’s your point? She knows that it bothers him yet still continues to do it. What does that say about her? I think he is the one who is better off considering his gf didn’t even take his feelings into consideration, discretion isn’t exactly hard you know.

Why can't everyone understand this????????
    ionapaul wrote:
    I think the OP might have been way off the mark blaming 'modern Ireland' for his GF's behaviour - as I mentioned in an earlier reply, she was simply lacking self-control and / or respect and consideration for him. Nothing to do with modern Ireland!

I agree with this though. A floozy that was 50 years ago is still a floozy now.

Ahh I love a happy ending.

The confident fun girl escapes the clutches of the whiney, clingy, insecure little man and eventually find a nice confident man who she doesn't have to act like a 1950's housewife with to stroke his ego.

Like Spartan says, if she went home with you, then whats the problem. Even if she really really fancies the otehr guys, she likes you more. Of course, that didn't mean anything to you, because you don't want a girlfriend, you want someone to worship you.

Love, honour and obey eh?
    It really was a no brainer.

Sounds self referential to me.

Nah, the self-control and consideration comes under the 'Love' part, no need for 'honour and obey' to come into it! The 'she comes home to me at the end of the night' argument is as subjective as any other one we've seen so far, and as such will be meaningless to many people. If my significant other was not showing me the level of consideration and basic respect I both expect and show to others, I personally wouldn't give a rat's ass about her ending up in my bed, I would be unhappy at the situation. Maybe I'm whiney, clingy and insecure too?

psi wrote:
    Ahh I love a happy ending.

The confident fun girl escapes the clutches of the whiney, clingy, insecure little man and eventually find a nice confident man who she doesn't have to act like a 1950's housewife with to stroke his ego..

So your definition of a little man is someone with low self esteem?
    psi wrote:
    Like Spartan says, if she went home with you, then whats the problem. Even if she really really fancies the otehr guys, she likes you more. Of course, that didn't mean anything to you, because you don't want a girlfriend, you want someone to worship you..

Where did the op say this?

bonzai bob wrote:
    Ok, I’ll say this one more time, NO ONE IS SAYING THAT HIS EX IS NOT ALLOWED LOOK AT OTHER PEOPLE, ALL PEOPLE ARE SAYING IS THAT SHE SHOULDN’T MAKE IT SO FúCKIN OBVIOUS.

you know, writing it in larger letters makes no difference.

you know why, becuase i did not say she couldnt look at other people.
    once again, you have hopped on your little soapbox, havent read anything written and you just fancy hearing your own voice.

and neither did i disagree with anything you said, i just put a different slant on it, saying that since you have one biased side of an argument, i dont think you have the full story.

but you have your little rant if it makes you feel better. stick it in very large letters if you want. but try and read the post the next time dearie
    bonzai bob wrote:
    She knows that it bothers him yet still continues to do it.

oh, i didnt realise you knew her! you can say that with 100% certainty can you? i mean, iron clad 100% certainty?

bonzai bob wrote:
    What does that say about her? I think he is the one who is better off considering his gf didn’t even take his feelings into consideration, discretion isn’t exactly hard you know.

well great, but you dont need to continue to tell me your opinion.
    i got it the first time.
    just because i dont agree with you on some things doesnt mean that paraphrasing it, and writting in big letters will change my mind.

i mean honestly, havent you heard of putting forward an argument?