Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm pi$$ed off, racism?

• 09-04-2005 4:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭

I was pretty drunk, and i wanted a burger, a pretty standard request from a drunken Irishman.

I was in burger king, waiting to order, when a black man (could have been any man) skipped the queue by about six people, i was having none of it, and I started shouting at him.

He starts on that I'm a racist, and that i'm irate simply because he's black, his friend (spanish I think) is mortified, and very apologetic, but then the man in question puts his hands around my neck (literally) and starts threatening me in very literal terms...

Q. Am I not right in standing up to this, and telling said person to get the F... off, because he's digging himself a hole that'll swallow him whole? I threatened that if he didn't release me (putting hand on his face) toute suite that BK would run red...

I got abuse off an Irish girl who walked in on this, and then a guard in the place told me to drop it and get lost, who's country am I living in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,576 ✭✭✭✭Victor

One where de-escalating violence is preferring to escalating violence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Course you have a right to stand up for yourself but it seems in this day and age you can’t question the actions of anyone with out being a raciest or sexist unless they are a white male tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Ah the good ol' race card. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

I hate ****ers who skip the Q.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

happens to me on a daily basis, waiting for my bus home from work.

people of all countries queuing for the bus (20-30 people most days) and every day without fail people come along and jump the queue to stand wth their 'friends' who i'm sure they wouldn't say more than 3 words to in work unless they had to.

People of all nationalities pretty much, just push their way past, except the english and irish who just stand there trying to queue as best as their manners will allow.

I swear to god, one day it's going to get a little bit too much and I'm going to push some ignorant cvnt into traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,576 ✭✭✭✭Victor

vibe666 wrote:
    except the english and irish who just stand there trying to queue as best as their manners will allow.
    BAAAAAA!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Static M.e.

I think you are damn right !

Queue skippers are assh*les, further more if he grabbed your neck I would also try and have him charged for it or else kick the crap out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

should have called the gaurds if he had his hands around ur neck, filed charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

He was probably skipping the que as you had already ordered. They tend to do that in McD's. Not too rediculous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Chill out, it was a terrible incident that you ended up in. The guy who skipped was an A*shole. He could have been any nationality though - you get Irish people like that. And it was only one guy, you can't brandish all foreign people as being the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Working on a gay Pride night in a nightclub when the cloakroom literaly fell apart causing the tickets and coats to be seperated. Had to ask for description of coat to find them and if they were noticable in someway
    Guy " Is this because I am gay?" ( the whole place was full of gay people as it was a Pride night!)
    Me "Yes I singled you out and decided to loose your coat"
    Guy" You homophobic P**k"
    Me" Look, you have to bare with us as we try and sort this out if you give me a description of the coat I'll try to find your coat and if there is somthing noticable about it we will find it quicker"
    Guy" Look not every fairy has flambyount clothes"
    Me " I can't help you now you will have to wait"
    Guy "Give me my coat breeder "
    Me "Next!"
    Guy then slaps me accross the face
    Me" Move away, touch me again and you will be held untill the Garda arrive"
    Guy" Really?"
    Me " I hope nothing has happened to your coat either, there's an open bottle of bleach in here. MOVE AWAY!" He does
    I won't bore you with the rest of the details but the guy got banned from every Pride event. I being the bigger person did get his coat back to him undamaged but insisted on an apology first(that was a little petty).

No matter what the minority they all have idiots. If anybody is put upon they will get a chip on their shoulder. When living in Engalnd I got a slight chip over being Irish because of many remarks and probably overreacted to a few things. The problem is some people have more than a chip on their sholders and their minority/difference as an advantage and it's hard to tell them apart. Pubs and witty remarks are part of our culture other cultures have barber shops and shouting agressively to make a point. Lets hope we can figure out a way that they can meet and not cause trouble. The guy in the burger shop sounds like an idiot but it's the other people butting in I would be more worried about as they over compensate in a situation they know nothing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Guy then slaps me accross the face

i would slapped him right back,and a proper slap at that.

the cheek!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Which set of cheeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

We were getting a new head chef where I used to work, he's Indonesian. A black guy I was working with started making really offensive and racist remarks about him because he was asian, so I told him to stfu, and stop being a predjudiced muppet.

He then proceeded to tell me that it was 'impossible' for him to be a racist, because he was black, and that I was racist for telling him he was predjudiced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Eoghan-psych

Jr.Shabadu wrote:
    He then proceeded to tell me that it was 'impossible' for him to be a racist, because he was black, and that I was racist for telling him he was predjudiced.

Eh, come again?

Glad to see him doing his bit to remove the muppet tag. Moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Ive seen it before a few times, you cant say anything to a non-national now without being labelled a 'racist'. Its bollocks really, when it wasnt even the OP who brought up the subject of race, it was the dope who skipped the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Victor wrote:
    BAAAAAA!!
    My sentiments exactly. :D I don't think I've ever seen anyone queuing for a bus. Certainly not for a 39 anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Bloody Asshole. It's ****'s like that guy who give black people a bad name. And half of the ones that come into the store I work at are rude bastards like that one thinking they own the place. You should have floored him the minute he touched you mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I couldnt give a sh1te is a queue skipper or a gobsh1te was white, black, gay or red- if he doesnt stop acting the bollix he gets a whack in the nose regardless. MorningStar- ida jumped on that guys head if i were you, had the bouncers give him a few digs and throw him out the back. "Breeder?" :D LMAO, Ida replied in a rather childish, but nevertheless true "yeah, and so is your ma"
    Think about it :)

Reminds me a bit of threads ive seen in some music forums, where people equate a posters hatred of The Scissor Sisters to homophobia. I couldnt give a sh1t if Ron Jeremy was the lead singer and Jenna Jameson was on guitar, they are utter sh1te regardless.

I dont think bus stop skipping matters all that much- after all you are hardly ever left standing (although then again i live near the start of my route)

Mind you you can understand some of it. Ive been looking for work for a month now and only recieved one reply (the hours are sh1t, hoping for somethin better) out of maybe 20 places i applied to. If i was black and had some African name that obviously indicated it id be gettin a bit of a chip on my shoulder by now
    Mind you, it seems to me that alot of takeaway franchises have been acquired by foreign managers who bring in a load of mates from the homeland to work there. In nearly every Abrakebabra the manager and all his staff appear to be from the same country (usually China). Isnt fair, but thats life in guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Infini wrote:
    Bloody Asshole. It's ****'s like that guy who give black people a bad name. And half of the ones that come into the store I work at are rude bastards like that one thinking they own the place. You should have floored him the minute he touched you mate.

how enlightened.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Infini wrote:

Its comment like that that are worrying.
    How can he give black people a bad name? Because he is black???

Hes an asshole simple as that.Race,colour doesnt come into it.
    If people think a black man acting like a tosser is giving black people a bad name well that in itself,imo,is a racist attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

adox wrote:
    How can he give black people a bad name? Because he is black???

Well he's hardly giving black people a bad name because he's Iranian, now is he? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

theCzar wrote:
    I was pretty drunk, and i wanted a burger, a pretty standard request from a drunken Irishman.

I was in burger king, waiting to order, when a black man (could have been any man) skipped the queue by about six people, i was having none of it, and I started shouting at him.

He starts on that I'm a racist, and that i'm irate simply because he's black, his friend (spanish I think) is mortified, and very apologetic, but then the man in question puts his hands around my neck (literally) and starts threatening me in very literal terms...

Q. Am I not right in standing up to this, and telling said person to get the F... off, because he's digging himself a hole that'll swallow him whole? I threatened that if he didn't release me (putting hand on his face) toute suite that BK would run red...

I got abuse off an Irish girl who walked in on this, and then a guard in the place told me to drop it and get lost, who's country am I living in?

enough said.
    people thought you were a drunk racist. Some skipped a queue, big ****ing deal, you make a scene, you'll get a scene.
    Well he's hardly giving black people a bad name because he's Iranian, now is he? :rolleyes:

LMFAO

Well he's hardly giving black people a bad name because he' Iranian, now is he? :rolleyes:

So let me get this stright:according to this thread black guy acting like an ashole=black people bad?

Equating his rudeness/bad behaviour to his skin colour or race is what I find worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

theCzar wrote:

I got abuse off an Irish girl who walked in on this, and then a guard in the place told me to drop it and get lost,

Depends on exactly what you shouted at him, and whether it made any reference, implied or otherwise to his country/colour/etc. If all you said was something like, "hey, did you not see, there's a f***** queue" then he was being an asshole and playing the race card as an excuse to be one, but unless you posted up the exacting wording of what you said, we won't know now, will we?

who's country am I living in?

Thats a nice oul' chip you're carrying there. Careful now.

adox wrote:
    So let me get this stright:according to this thread black guy acting like an ashole=black people bad?

Equating his rudeness/bad behaviour to his skin colour or race is what I find worrying.

Are you ****ing defective!? If the original poster said that this one lads actions reflect badly on the whole, he's effectively saying the exact oppossite to believing the whole are typical of this lad's behaiveour.

How the hell can you manage to garble up what the guy was saying so badly is beyond me. Where the hell in this thread was anything stated about skin colour being the reason for a person's blatant twattery!?

Go read the ****ing thread again, and this time, don't throw around idiotic assumptions on what the original poster's beliefs are. :rolleyes:

Are you ****ing defective!? If the original poster said that this one lads actions reflect badly on the whole, he's effectively saying the exact oppossite to believing the whole are typical of this lad's behaiveour.

How the hell can you manage to garble up what the guy was saying so badly is beyond me. Where the hell in this thread was anything stated about skin colour being the reason for a person's blatant twattery!?

Go read the ****ing thread again, and this time, don't throw around idiotic assumptions on what the original poster's beliefs are. :rolleyes:

Nice considered post there Karl.The swearing and cheap insults are real adult.
    If you`ve got a problem with me then lets take it off forum and sort it out.

I suggest you read through the thread again as it already answers the few questions you managed to ask in you last post when you werent busy throwing your dummy out of the pram.

Are there any mods on these forums or is this normal poster behaviour? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

Placebo wrote:
    enough said.
    people thought you were a drunk racist. Some skipped a queue, big ****ing deal, you make a scene, you'll get a scene.

Had i been sober, i would have likely held my tongue and just been annoyed, but since i was drunk, i didn't, the scene that followed was mostly of his making.

I shouted nothing racist, "hey, there's a fubbing queue" frankly i didn't notice he was black until he started shouting this scene was because he was black.

adox wrote:
    cu@LAN Hungus!!!!!!!!

Seriously Adox, the op was discussing how he was annoyed that his perfectly excusable irritation at someone's actions were construed as having something to do with the person's race, as opposed to their actions.

He was not basing his judgement on race.

This is the point of the thread.

Jr.Shabadu wrote:
    Seriously Adox, the op was discussing how he was annoyed that his perfectly excusable irritation at someone's actions were construed as having something to do with the person's race, as opposed to their actions.

He was not basing his judgement on race.

This is the point of the thread.

Yeah I understand that Jr.Shabadu and I havent quoted the original poster at all,it was a different poster that I was referring to.

When I was talking about this thread,I should have specified the direction it seemed to be taking."its the like of him that give black people a bad name" or whatever the posters excat words were,I find a racist attitude adn I tried to point this out.

Karl Hungus then elevated the discussion to new heights with his constructive response.

All the more amazing as what I can see reading his profile he is supposed to be a mod? :mad:

adox wrote:
    Nice considered post there Karl.The swearing and cheap insults are real adult.
    If you`ve got a problem with me then lets take it off forum and sort it out.

I suggest you read through the thread again as it already answers the few questions you managed to ask in you last post when you werent busy throwing your dummy out of the pram.

Are there any mods on these forums or is this normal poster behaviour? :rolleyes:

Wow, you're basically asking me to come meet you for a fight because you can't engage in a discussion on a discussion board, and THEN you insinuate my immiaturity? You deserve an award for that one.

You still failed to point out anywhere the original poster (Or for that matter, anyone else on this thread) has stated that the behaveour of the man in question was because of race. Just shrugging, and practically saying 'find it yourself' isn't good enough.

You trapse into this thread, blurt out some unfounded twaddle just to go on a rant on what you yourself are making spurious assumptions on.

I see this as a thread where a man is expressing his disgust after being grabbed and threatened with physical violence, then told he was the one in the wrong by others. Obviously, you see this thread as something very different. You're making accusations that the original poster is proffessing the viewpoint that all black people are bad, and that race defines how one acts, without anything to go on.

So either put up or shut up, as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭jonski

Hmmm a topic that gets everyone hot under the collar .

We are probably all racist in some way and the current climate doesn't help it . Two examples ....

Media : Two white males get into a fight in town , it's reported as a fight ...a coloured and a white male fight in town and it's reported as a racist attack , go figure.......

Work place : Recently a construction business closed down here in town two guys working there that I know applied to another construction site , when asked what wages they would be looking for the answered just the standard union rate and the foreman replied that he couldn't hire them as he was getting polish crews for 1/4 of the price ....... now my two friends ( actually 1 is a friend the other is his mate ) are " aww " f*&k**g Polish " . Now , being on the outside and thinking rationally we say "how can you say that ? it's not their fault " Is it racism if you are angry because people from other countries are getting jobs here while you can't ?

And so it spreads.........Racism... the curse of the human race .

Wow, you're basically asking me to come meet you for a fight because you can't engage in a discussion on a discussion board, and THEN you insinuate my immiaturity? You deserve an award for that one.

You still failed to point out anywhere the original poster (Or for that matter, anyone else on this thread) has stated that the behaveour of the man in question was because of race. Just shrugging, and practically saying 'find it yourself' isn't good enough.

You trapse into this thread, blurt out some unfounded twaddle just to go on a rant on what you yourself are making spurious assumptions on.

I see this as a thread where a man is expressing his disgust after being grabbed and threatened with physical violence, then told he was the one in the wrong by others. Obviously, you see this thread as something very different. You're making accusations that the original poster is proffessing the viewpoint that all black people are bad, and that race defines how one acts, without anything to go on.

So either put up or shut up, as they say.

Karl,

Discussing is one thing.Shouting abuse is another and quite childish.
    There are ways of expressing yourself without being abusive and personal,a triat that seems lost on you from the few post I`ve read of yours.

I`ll say it again.I wasnt accussing the original poster of being racist or acting in a racist way at all!

adox wrote:
    When I was talking about this thread,I should have specified the direction it seemed to be taking."its the like of him that give black people a bad name" or whatever the posters excat words were,I find a racist attitude adn I tried to point this out.

AGAIN I offer you that if a poster says that this one persons actions reflect badly on the whole, he's effectively saying the exact oppossite to believing the whole are typical of this lad's behaveour. Such as when you said:

And pointing out your faulty logic is hardly "Shouting" abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

i remember in 1st year being sent to the principles office cos i had a row with a pakastani girl, she accused me of callind her a black bitch when the principle asked her what happened. and we had just fallen out cos she followed me around and kept on touching my hands and i told her to Fcuk off and she went to year head. I also got blamed for beating her up (i didnt) a few months after that. heh

! adox, you sure know how to make an entrance. You should read a few more of KH's posts, maybe then you'd notice how unusual it is for him to be so fuppin annoyed, and reflect on the inflammatory nature of your own posts.

Jr.Shabadu wrote:
    ! adox, you sure know how to make an entrance. You should read a few more of KH's posts, maybe then you'd notice how unusual it is for him to be so fuppin annoyed, and reflect on the inflammatory nature of your own posts.

In my experience there is no faster way to kill a thread than for people to start this line of discussion. This is an internet forum. People post things to internet forums. People post things that other people won't like, and won't agree with.

That's what the reply button is for - so you can say that you don't like things, and for other people to say they don't like you not liking those things, and so on back and forth through all eternity.

Is there *really* any need for people to actually have a discussion on how much they don't like the *way* someone said something, as opposed to *what* they actually said?

I call it the Argumentum ad Youbigmeanium - "your point is wrong because you are a big meanie boots".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Funny the little misunderstandings people can get when they think they might be being oppressed sometimes. Where I'm currently working (large place, lots of people working there) we had 2 minutes of silence on Friday morning at 9.

Nothing odd about that you might think, given the morning that was in it. Now to put it totally out of context, a guy at work died at the start of the week. Nothing to do with anything you might say (and you'd be right).

So this guy down the aisle, who happens to be non-caucasian, after the two minutes were up (to be fair, he did wait till after the relevant period) starts on about how the whole place is racist ("I can't believe how racist this place is") as some guy who was his mate who happened to be black working there died last week and we didn't have 2 minutes of silence for him.

Obviously I just asked him if his friend was the pope as well. Jaw dropped through the floor.

Some people are oppressed whereas some people should just ask the question before telling me how oppressed they feel because of a particular thing. I can save my dry wit that way for people that actually deserve to be put down in flames. There are plenty of those out there, in all sizes, shapes and colours.

And pointing out your faulty logic is hardly "Shouting" abuse.
    Are you ****ing defective!?

!

In my experience there is no faster way to kill a thread than for people to start this line of discussion. This is an internet forum. People post things to internet forums. People post things that other people won't like, and won't agree with.

That's what the reply button is for - so you can say that you don't like things, and for other people to say they don't like you not liking those things, and so on back and forth through all eternity.

Is there *really* any need for people to actually have a discussion on how much they don't like the *way* someone said something, as opposed to *what* they actually said?

I call it the Argumentum ad Youbigmeanium - "your point is wrong because you are a big meanie boots".

Point taken. However, I do feel that his post wasn't relative or pertinent, and that he just threw in an assumption he'd made through improper consideration of other people's posts.

By the way, 'Argumentum ad Youbigmeanium'- class!

[QUOTE=Jr.Shabadu
    By the way, 'Argumentum ad Youbigmeanium'- class![/QUOTE]

It's in the same league as the Argumentum ad Capslockum.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I hate ******, asian, american, yellow any kind of ****ing race I shall kill them all. I am so racist I have a swastika tatoo on mylower arm so people can see my believes.

adox wrote:
    !

And again you blatantly avoid any points I'm making.

Well done.

adox wrote:
    Blah I
    Blah II

Thunderdome time?

Lenny wrote:
    I hate ******, asian, american, yellow any kind of ****ing race I shall kill them all. I am so racist I have a swastika tatoo on mylower arm so people can see my believes.

Back under your bridge Lenny, before someone brings up the 'parent fusking' or 'dog tazing' threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Jr.Shabadu wrote:
    Back under your bridge Lenny, before someone brings up the 'parent fusking' or 'dog tazing' threads.

Stop being so racist against xenophobes!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

sceptre wrote:
    Obviously I just asked him if his friend was the pope as well. Jaw dropped through the floor.

LMAO :D:D:D

And again you blatantly avoid any points I'm making.

Well done.

Karl,

I was replying directly to one of the points you made.If you had quoted the full post it would show that.

You think that a poster saying "Its the likes of that **** that gives black peope a bad name" isnt in itself a racist mindset but quite the opposite?

If that is your point well then I disagree and hold a totally opposing view.

Now is there anything else that you think I havent answered?(Apart from your petty insults?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Happened to me before.

Scenario: outside nightclub
    With a bouncer. Big Black guy.
    Wouldnt let me in.
    No excuse offered
    Just "no"
    I said the least you can give me is a reason!
    He says "leave now before I lose my temper."
    I say - "do you think its a good thing for a bouncer to have such an easy temper?"
    He says "get the **** out of here before I kill you and pushes me away by the throat"
    I told him his manners were up his arse and he shouldnt be working as a bouncer!
    I called him a bastard!

He responds loudly- "you just called my a black bastard!"

I said I didnt ."Are you fcking deaf on top of everything else."

He says louder - "how dare you, you racist".

I protested until I had to walk away cos I ended up being nearly lynched by a gang of Irish women!!!

"oh my god your disgusting!"
    "how dare you be racist!"

I hadn't said anything racist to the guy.

Fierce frustrating given the amout of genuine racism in Ireland. Does nothing to help eradicate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Myth wrote:
    Thunderdome time?

Yup. :cool: