Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Review of carlisle health and fitness club Crumlin/terenure

• 31-03-2005 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

yo, just saw the review sticky and noticed this wasn't included so I thought I'd give ye my own views on it. I've been a member of a few gyms before so I've an idea of the kinds of things that make a difference in a gym and the kind that really annoy/put you off.

First thing you'll notice when you enter the gym is the drive way into it. They have the highest speed biggest ramps I've ever come across anywhere and they nearly put me off going to the gym. You have to literally crawl across them, easing the car up on to them and then gently dropping it back down, like mounting a kerb. Anyway, once you negotiate four of them, you're in. No problem at all with parking. Plenty of spaces, though as usual everyone wants to park the absolute minimum distance from the front door :). There's also a covered motorbike and bike shed.

Reception is nice, nice seating area where you can get food and coffee and they have an honesty system (enforced with cameras and security guards hidden in cupboards armed with submachine guns :D) of payment - take what you want and horse the money into a box. They have a hairdressers and barbers there as well which is good - 12 quid for a bloke cut.

Once you're in, the changing rooms are fine. Lockers are big, showers are ok, hair-dryers are free. Staying in the wet area, the pool is fine I think it's 20 metre. there are two jacuuzi's and they're always reasonably hot. Ditto for the sauna and steamroom. Sauna is properly hot - no facility to throw your own water on, it's an automated one but it works fine. -No proper cold shower or plungepool for when you get out though. Lukewarm is as good as you'll get. Also they pipe the radio into the sauna and in the evenings it's fm104 or whatever station has that awful late night talk show with people ringing in, and the volume of the radio is too loud. So after a tough workout and you want to relax, it can be really really annoying.

On to the gym itself. It's very new so everything is flash and everything works. I can't comment on how quickly broken machinery is repaired because the stuff is so new. Also, cos it's new every piece of cardio equipment has its own lcd tv screen with channel change and volume controls, and you can plug your earphones in. There are loads of treadmills, plenty of bikes, and then the rest are rowing machine and those odd eliptical trainer things specially designed to dislocate your knees and hips :).

Weights wise, they have the best free weights area which I've seen. Certainly much better than westwood clontarf, and also better than total fitness coolock. I have yet to be left waiting for a bench or a set of dumbells or whatever. The have those free weight dumbells with the runner coating so if you're lifting to failure you can just drop the bells when you're finished and you don't have to worry about annoying everyone else with the noise of crashing weights. They've a good weight range as well, certainly higher than I'm using for the forseeable future. - E.g. for 3x12 dumbell presses I'm using 2x25kg (55lb) dumbells and there are plenty heavier ones waiting for me!

There's the usual other stuff as well like cable crossovers and squat racks, plus some of the other neat stations you don't always get like free weight preacher bench and back extension.

All in all a good gym. It cost me 425 to join - no poxy membership fees (which I detest - money for bloody nothing except a swipe card and keyring :mad:) Also though, if you've heard the ads, if you join now, and lose 6 kilos in 6 months, you get your money back!!. So at the initial weigh in, eat like a pig for the two weeks before it, and line your pockets and shoes with lead weights and hey presto - free membership :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Easygainer

I never have understood why people go to a gym and drive around for ages or park illegally to get the spaces closest to the door - didn't they go there for exercise in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,598 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

that guy wrote:
    It cost me 425 to join - no poxy membership fees (which I detest

The €425 was for 6 months usage/membership? of the gym i assume you mean ?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Longfield wrote:
    The €425 was for 6 months usage/membership? of the gym i assume you mean ?
    For 12 months. Add an extra hundred and you get 16 months (possibly only a special offer at the mo). 'Course it's of the gym... dunno what you mean there. Includes access to the pool if thats what you're wondering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭that guy

425 for the year.

It's gas, your one tells me "that's a special offer valid only until 5pm this evening"

Two weeks later, I can still hear her giving other people the same line :)

One caveat actually is that, again because the gym is new, they haven't reached full capacity yet, and if Ben Dunne stays true to form, he'll cram it with members til its bursting at the seams, so in 6 months time it might be sh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Does anyone know if there is a reduced rate just to use the pool ?

No. There's no way they could monitor whether or not you're using the other equipment as well .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

that guy wrote:
    hair-dryers are free.

does any gym charge for hair-dryers?!

Yeah actually - I've been to several that have those vending machine type ones you have to put 50 cent into :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Those speed ramps are lethal - will completely f*ck up my car :mad:

Very nice gym though - plenty of weight benches. They really need some heavier dumb-bells though - they only go up to 30 kgs!

Steam room is never very 'steamy' though - probably coz its so big and there are ppl coming in and out the whole time.

But its by far the best gym I've ever used!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I agree those speed ramps are annoying, thats why I walk now. Whats worse is the inane crap that is FM104 being piped into the steam and sauna. As already stated, you just want to relax and chill out, not listen to Scissor Scissors or hear adverts for Harvey Norman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Airwaves

Hey whats the catch with the loosing 6kilos offer has anyone checked it out? do ye reckon it would be easily done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭mugenextreme

anyone have the opening hours ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bonzai bob

man, you could loose 6kg in 2 weeks, let alone 6 months!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr-X

bonzai bob wrote:
    man, you could loose 6kg in 2 weeks, let alone 6 months!

So whats the catch there not going to hand out free membership for nothing? anyone have the phone number handy ill give them a call and a piece of my mind

Well, the catch is that there is no catch, just human nature. Most people join a gym, use it like crazy for a month or two and then their attendance frequency tails off gradually and they put on all the weight they lost again. I do it myself all the time. I wouldn't say it was easy to lose 6 kg, that's not fair, but if you're in the right frame of mind it's certainly do-able. The problem is that say you lose the weight in 2 months - you have to KEEP the weight off for another 4 months, and that's when most people fall back into their old habits - "Hey I'm skinny now, I can eat what I like!" Next thing you're not going to the gym so much anymore, you get out of the habit, you couldn't be ar$ed etc, so you don't feel so great, so you go out on the beer yada yada yada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭mad m

Does anyone know if there is a reduced rate just to use the pool ?

Nope no reduced rate...Work it out though,i over heard a girl say to a customer its €495 for year but if he loses weight on the package now he gets it free.Even so €495 is great for pool and the year.My wife paided €595 at start for me and i got 16months membership.No doubt when the offer i am on is up,they will come up with some other mad offer to keep there members i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

Airwaves wrote:
    Hey whats the catch with the loosing 6kilos offer has anyone checked it out? do ye reckon it would be easily done?

Drink plenty of water before you go in the first day to get weighed. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

hey,

I am about to join Carlisle in Kimmage. Can't get over the price! But a few quick questions...

1. Does it get completely wedged in the evenings around 6pm time or is it manageable?
    2. Is that dodgy music still being piped into the steam room?
    3. Any sign of them changing those speed bumps? Is there ever anything said about them? They're unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

hey,

I am about to join Carlisle in Kimmage. Can't get over the price! But a few quick questions...

1. Does it get completely wedged in the evenings around 6pm time or is it manageable?
    2. Is that dodgy music still being piped into the steam room?
    3. Any sign of them changing those speed bumps? Is there ever anything said about them? They're unreal.
    1) Pretty much, but you should be able to find a machine. The weights are hard to get at around that time though.
    2) No idea. I would call 98fm dodgy music though and that is piped into the rest of the place :mad:
    3) Yes people have complained about the bumps but they're there on Ben Dunne's personal order, so there is nothing anybody can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Aishling

Ive just joined and have to say its the best Gym that Ive been to in Ireland. I was in a fab one in Sydney and no gym has come close, until Carisle. :D

The first few times I was there (6pm - 7pmish) I got a spot in the free weights no problem, but on Wednesday gone I couldn't make it until 7.30pm and I had to weight (haha) 5 mins for free weights. Not too long in the grand scheme of things I suppose, but when you have just finished another machine and wanted to kep the auld heart pumping, it is annoying:( . Anyway I don't plan on being there that late again so I don't mind.

Oh and another thing that is good is the lack of wankerness I see in the free weights part. Im a girl and in so many gyms Ive been to in ireland the guys posture around so much and scrowl at girlies who are using the free weights :rolleyes: (despite the fact that I know how to use them and dont faff around the place) Anyway in Carisle the guys seem a bit nicer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

The only compaint I have is that there are no normal bikes, just the recliners bikes, which I dislike. I used to ride 30k on a Saturday in my old gym on a stationary bikes but I find the recliner bikes awkward and a bit dull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cateo

id just like to say i used the hairdressers in the gym and went to a girl called kathrina and she was fab. got colour done and a cut and its the nicest iv ever had my hair, id really recomend her!!
    price was very resonable aswel 100 euro for half head of high lights and cut iv always paid about 50 euro more in the city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

that guy wrote:
    Weights wise, they have the best free weights area which I've seen. Certainly much better than westwood clontarf, and also better than total fitness coolock. I have yet to be left waiting for a bench or a set of dumbells or whatever. The have those free weight dumbells with the runner coating so if you're lifting to failure you can just drop the bells when you're finished and you don't have to worry about annoying everyone else with the noise of crashing weights. They've a good weight range as well, certainly higher than I'm using for the forseeable future. - E.g. for 3x12 dumbell presses I'm using 2x25kg (55lb) dumbells and there are plenty heavier ones waiting for me!

pssh...the free weight are crap! they only go as high as 30kg, which is why i left! i was a huge fan of the dunbell bench press, and i was looking to use 40's but when i joined i quickly noticed i cudnt! load of pants if u ask me!!!!! just the free weights do! rest i like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 ironkay

Nah, its a good gym for the price, if you know your training u can train almost anywhere, the fitness team are not great, but there is a really hot girl is the sales dept!! well worth going up for a look around:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭johnfás

I just joined this morning and will start using tomorrow morning. I got given a shed load of guest passes (about 12). How do these work, can I bring someone multiple times, do they need to pay the 20 euro guest fee or is that only after I finish with these passes? They look more like tour passes. Any knowledge in this regard would be most helpful. Thanks.

In regard to the studio classes, is it easy just to slip into them to see what they are like or are they very clicky?

also do men have to wear caps in the swimming pool (short hair)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 ironkay

johnf&#225 wrote: »
    I just joined this morning and will start using tomorrow morning. I got given a shed load of guest passes (about 12). How do these work, can I bring someone multiple times, do they need to pay the 20 euro guest fee or is that only after I finish with these passes? They look more like tour passes. Any knowledge in this regard would be most helpful. Thanks.

In regard to the studio classes, is it easy just to slip into them to see what they are like or are they very clicky?

also do men have to wear caps in the swimming pool (short hair)?

U can bring the same person for all the passes, 20 quid when uve none left, classes are really bad,non BTS qulalified instructors take these, u'd do a better job urself, u don't need a cap in the pool,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 dundrum man

quick question who is doing the circuit training classes
    and are they any good because the instructor when i was there did brill classes really worth while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

The main problem with any Ben Dunne Gym is that all he cares about is getting as many people as possible signed up. Join today and six mates can join for 200 quid.

Don't be surprised if the price you pay today is a hundred quid dearer than a thousand others who joins in september. He obviously makes his money by lots of people joining and not going, but so many people go to the gym these days, that it just results in chronic overcrowding.

I honestly don't know why a lot of people pay for gym memberships when they won't even walk to work, or to the gym for that matter. I find it funny the amount of people who join gyms to walk leisurely on a threadmill and watch TV, and pay for the privelege.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 johnbeau

Thanks for all the info in this thread - very useful. J

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Carlisle/Poserville :p is easily the worst gym ive ever been a member of! Its cheap alrite, just to get ya in the door, but then get ready to queue for a bench or machine!
    Nightmare to try and get a workout done!! I actually cant thing of one good thing about the place..... No, in fairness they have a few good instructors... Thats it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 deltas

I love the gym, mind you I am a girl and only use the cardio equipment. Have never had to wait, even at 5-6pm. The place is spotless, there is always someone in the changing rooms keeping the place clean. People most have stopped joining because the membership fees are constantly changing. At the start of the year they were €295, then €300, then €250, then back to €295 and now they are only €200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

I like it too.
    Pissed off that they haven't found holiday cover for the instructor, no classes at all from 3rd-24th August.:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

can anyone confirm that it is really over crowded? Im most interested in the weights/bench area. Also what time of the day is a good quiet time to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 deltas

I personally don't think its that bad, I never really use the weights. Over the summer it has seem to have quietened loads, even at peak times. I've been a member of here and DCU's, its no busier then DCU's would have been at peak times. Go have a look, they will let you walk around with one of the instructors. I love this gym personally, couldn't praise it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

can anyone confirm that it is really over crowded? Im most interested in the weights/bench area. Also what time of the day is a good quiet time to go?

its not that bad, Monday and Tuesday evening are the most crowded. Its a great gym though, and ive used a few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 greenmancharlie

anybody know the opening hours?

How about calling them??? :p

I'd recommend asking them for a couple of free passes so that you can try it out a few times. If they want the business am sure they'd give you one or two, most gyms I've joined before have done this for me.

Could be worth a try....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Ham Slicer

I just noticed the advertisement for the circuit training last night. €5 per class which lasta about 45 mins. Think they are at 7am and 10am.

Has anyone been to these? What are the instructors/classes like?

I suppose for a fiver I can't go too wrong just don't fancy getting out of bed at 6:30am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Angelica Rocks!

does anyone have the number for carlisle?? i have searched and googled and i cant find it!! thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

does anyone have the number for carlisle?? i have searched and googled and i cant find it!! thanks.

465 4040.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Angelica Rocks!

sound thanks.

Is this place still jammers?

Havent been a member since last year when it was always really full, has it quietened down with the opening of the place in Lucan or is it just as bad?

Id join Lucan myself but theres no pool...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 mccy02

Hi

I was looking at the membership fees and it's

250 for one person for a year
    215 each if 2 people join and
    190 each if 3 people join.

Anyone out there interested in joining forces for cheaper joining fee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 jenbe

mccy02 wrote: »
    Hi

Hi Mccy02, there is another thread here with people looking to join:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055280151&page=105

I'm hoping to join this week and am available to join any evening. Send me a PM with your number if your able to join some evening this week. Thanks, Jenbe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 mccy02

Great stuff, will do.

Any third person out there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 jenbe

Great stuff, will do.

Any third person out there??

Yes, I have a third. Can you send me your number and what day and time would suit you?

Hi Mccy02 - can you check your private messages - I have sent you my mobile number. Send me a text if you can join tomorrow evening at 7pm. thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 JakeByrne123

Hey silly question but does this gym have WiFi? Just cause it would be great to listen to my own choice of radio on my iPhone and some genius at Apple thought it was a good idea not to put a radio on the iPhone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Rower2

Hi

if youre looking for more weights etc... youre better off looking at your fitness gym in harolds cross.

i really didn't like carlisle. plenty of equipment plenty of idiots too. ive seen people spitting on the floor, bursting spots in mirrors, blokes with their tops off, posing, posing, posing, some girl started on me in the sauna once (i won that one). its just drama in there. also the ergometers/rowers are awful. the chain snapped on one and that was a thump into my stomach. (i know how to row so wasn't messing with the machine or anything). drama drama drama