Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the worst area in dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Fatima Mansions. So bad that no-one actually lives there anymore and it's just where most of the drug-dealers operate from 24 X 7.

It's basically the Smithfield Market of Smack.

I'm expecting the Roddy Doyle novel about cheeky, but lovable smak-heads anyday now.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Kernel wrote:
    Have you ever been to Darndale though?
    Darndale calmed down a little after Dublin Corpo spent a couple of million circa 1996 re-working the houses so that the front was the back, and vice-versa.

After the initial phase of disorientation, most of the crims got back to work within a year or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Darndale calmed down a little after Dublin Corpo spent a couple of million circa 1996 re-working the houses so that the front was the back, and vice-versa.

After the initial phase of disorientation, most of the crims got back to work within a year or two.

Yeah, tell me about it.. I've travelled all over this great county, and I have to say that Darndale has always been 'up there'. I'd feel much safer walking through Dolphin's Barn anyday. The newmarket area behind Cork street is rough enough too though. Oh, and I'll throw Neilstown into the equation too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Dunsink lane is so bad the police wont even go up there, if they do its in convoy,about four vans ,dogs and helicopter hovering above. I live just round the corner from the place. Handy for the oul dvds and fireworks at halloween though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

dogs and helicopter hovering above.

how do the dogs hover above?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

They have jetpacks strapped to thier backs, you not seen them hovering about before? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Debyaka

Kernel wrote:
    Terenure, rathgar and rathmines are grand areas man! Crumlin isn't bad at all anymore.. certain areas perhaps.. Firhouse sure ain't one of the worst areas around either... I think you may be going on a bit of an anti-southside rant there amigo, but when you break it down... there are probably more kips on the northside. :D

Sounds like YOUR trying to start a Northside Vs. Southside War there yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Debyaka

Slunk wrote:
    They have jetpacks strapped to thier backs, you not seen them hovering about before? :D

:D That i'd like to see..

• Registered Users Posts: 28,667 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

so, rather than start a new thread :), are there ANY decent areas left in Dublin then?

(Have to say the part of Blanch I'm in is great..lived on the Darndale side of Coolock for 14 years though and it was, and still is, a kip...completely different once you cross the Oscar Traynor though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

popinfresh wrote:
    I live in Blanch. Right beside "da duff". I don't know much bout the rest of dublin but I reckon Corrduff and Fortlawn are the worst in blanchardstown. Either them or Carpenterstown :D (You have to live in Blanch to get that)

As a young un i lived in one of the rougher hoods of Blanch, tbh the general rule is anywhere south of the shopping centre is relatively good, everywhere north east and west until you reach Dunboyne-ish is very rough, bar little enclaves of Corduff and Mulhuddart like Brookhaven and Warrenstown. Id say Warrenstown will stay alright, but the affordable housing areas will prolly see some trouble in the future

I think Blanch can be assesed in its pubs-to-violent-deaths/links to organised crime ratio
    lets see
    Brookwood Inn Corduff. At least one fatal shooting a year or two ago. Im sure someone must have been killed there in its Corduff Inn days, iirc someone was stabbed to death in the chipper too (great chipper i might add despite this, do some great fish and chip/burgers/whatever :) )
    Budabar- 2 murders in as many years
    The Shanty- its seen some trouble in its day, unsure of death rate. Did John Gilligan used to own it? Been a non fatal shooting or two i think
    Dolly Heffernans- My dad brought some mate from the country there one night not long after he had moved to Dublin. The ensuing riot meant there was no return visit

I know Cavan very well and Id rate their scum perhaps slightly higher than Dublin. Fair enough, there is less of a guns and heroin problem, but they are some hard kunts alot of them
    Longford is even worse :eek:

I dunno why, but I always feel a bit nervous when I do be on that rough estate near Sandyford industrial park at night(i know people out there). Dunno why,i never feel a bit going through anyhwhere in Blanch, this place just gets me for some reason, odd that

Ballybrack is another scobe island surrounded by poshies. I know some uberscum from there

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

stevenmu wrote:
    PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Worst I've seen was Dunsink Lane...
    Yeah, worst place in the country easily. There's a few places around I'm not happy going into at night but that's the only one I'm not happy going into during the day. Even the scumbags seem to steer clear of it for f* sake.
    Yeah I know, we went up there quite a few times (my gran was in the hospital in that area for a while, not sure what its called) and I've seen washing machines on the middle of the road and a microwave being thrown across it along with numerous bonfires along the way. We went up there one night and there was a crowd of people on the middle of the road, causing us to slow down. I just reached for the locks on the door and looked straight ahead! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I'm expecting the Roddy Doyle novel about cheeky, but lovable smak-heads anyday now.

yeah - the "salt of the earth" :rolleyes:

Usually called this by people that get their house featured in the Irish Times/random property section. A house that has it's own individuality/style (no uniform houses on estates for these people) and is located in a trendy but rough area of the city where the "neighbours are lovely" and the locals are "the salt of the earth" and are "grand once you get to know them" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Slunk wrote:
    Valley Park I take it? Its gotten worse since you left I tell you, sure if you check the hearld tonight, a few inocent people got shot by accident sunday with a sawn off shot gun. The place is a right kip.

Jayzus, you don't know your geography.
    That area was Abbottstown, home of the ATM gang which is half mile from Valley Park.
    Its odd, i live in Valey Park and it certainly is no kip.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    yeah - the "salt of the earth" :rolleyes:

Usually called this by people that get their house featured in the Irish Times/random property section. A house that has it's own individuality/style (no uniform houses on estates for these people) and is located in a trendy but rough area of the city where the "neighbours are lovely" and the locals are "the salt of the earth" and are "grand once you get to know them" :rolleyes:

Well, seriously speaking, the reason why Doyle portrays these people in his novels is perhaps because they are the only type of Dublin people with an original and unique character (whether it be good or bad). All the rest of us are just EU work drones after all, and not worth writing about. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

boards.ie after midnight can be quite rough !

POTM tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭shane0312

I heard Dalkey can be a bit rough after sundown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭bluto

I dont knoe bout anyone else but i think D4 has gotta be the worst part ofteh city all the rugby heads, the yeas and girls who wanna see you bank balance before going out. Give me the ballymun flats anyday

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Surprised nobody's mentioned Tyrellstown in D15. Was thinking of buying a property up there last year, but went up there late one night to check it out and didn't like the vibe I got. Nothing I could put my finger on but I felt like I shouldn't have been there at that time.

This came up in conversation over a pint with a mate sometime after, and he was telling me about a mate of his that bought a property in the same development. Apparently, on average, a car got nicked from the estate a least once a week.

Having said all that, the only time my car ever got stolen it was from a quite residential area of Ballsbridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Wow, a car being robbed only once a week :eek: I'm sure cars are stolen from D4 and so on a more regular basis than that ! One car a week is not bad at all for a large area.
    I presume you're talking about the new development in Tyrrelstown beside Hollystown golf course ? That's probably one of the quiter areas in all off D15.

I forget the name of the development, but it was just across the bridge over the N3 from Blanch shopping centre.

That's a car a week from that one estate/development, which would only be a fraction of the size of all of D4. Seemingly the area was like a magnet for local scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Ah, Castlecurragh ! Strangely, you're not the first person I've come across to mix the two up. Yip, it seems to be a bit of a magnet alright for local scum from outside of the development, pity really but I'm sure the people live in the area itself are decent enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭iregk

I tell you two areas you wont hear mentioned quite often, but monkstown is a kip, a friend works in the helth center out there and just two days after they got their astro pitch installed it was set on fire!!! honestly who sets an astro pitch on fire?

plus as soon as the lights go down dun laoghaire is one of the worst kips in ireland!!! i know many a taxi driver that work for a company close and none of them will go in once its dark...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Pinkchick03

What parts of Inchicore - or just all of Inchicore? Seems safe enough to me .... (only rent there!)

Anywhere at night is dodgy imo! Esp if you're a woman! City centre at night I'd say is the worst though

iregk wrote:
    plus as soon as the lights go down dun laoghaire is one of the worst kips in ireland!!! i know many a taxi driver that work for a company close and none of them will go in once its dark...

Well I do some work for a company in Dun Laoighre and I have noticed a lot of toothless drunken hobos shouting and trying to get money off you as you walk the street, but they struck me as harmless enough. Due to their cider-saturated brains, you'd probably be halfway down the street before their hand would start to make any intended stabbing motion.

• Moderators Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭LFCFan

Duckjob wrote:
    Surprised nobody's mentioned Tyrellstown in D15. Was thinking of buying a property up there last year, but went up there late one night to check it out and didn't like the vibe I got. Nothing I could put my finger on but I felt like I shouldn't have been there at that time.

This came up in conversation over a pint with a mate sometime after, and he was telling me about a mate of his that bought a property in the same development. Apparently, on average, a car got nicked from the estate a least once a week.

You're talking about Castlecurragh. It is having all that trouble because it is beside Mulhuddard/Ladyswell/Drumheath (absolutly disgusting place). I live in Tyrrelstown and believe me, it's one of the quietest, more friendly areas of D15. We even have a community website which has lead to some social occassions for residents, holloween parties for the kids, a football team and we now have a great town centre (just about to open). The only problem I've had in 3 years there is trying to decide what colour to paint the living room :)

My top 5 worst areas would be:

1. Dunsink area around Finglas - Need I say more. Use to drive through there going to and from work. They should just bomb the place some night!
    2. Mulhuddart/Ladyswell/Drumheath - Mainly because I've seen first hand what it's like and it ain't good. eg. one field beside it has 9 burnt out cars currently residing in it.
    3. Parnell Street (Gardiner St. End) - Have to get the bus from there and the amount of scum coming out of the pubs there is rediculous and I've yet to see 1 Garda walking around there. Last week I witnessed 3 skangers beating the heads of each other which spilt out onto the road and then they tried to nick a shovel and brush from a road sweeper to do more damage to each other. When this failed 2 of them nicked the bin/barrow yer man was pushing.
    4. Edenmore - Some fcuker tried to rob me when I was going to the video store there (this was back in the 80's when I lived in Donaghmede and video stores were scarce). I was only 9 at the time but fast :) so got away from him.
    5. Corduff - Again, because I've seen it first hand so I'm slightly biased but you can only comment on what you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

Ah, Castlecurragh ! Strangely, you're not the first person I've come across to mix the two up. Yip, it seems to be a bit of a magnet alright for local scum from outside of the development, pity really but I'm sure the people live in the area itself are decent enough.

Ive lived in Castlecurrah for over two years now and i love it... ive never come across any trouble at all.. maybe i am one of the lucky ones but i live in the part that is right beside Dromheath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

I lived in the Gardiner Street area for 2 months last year and that was fun! Though the people I lived with were worse scumbags than the locals. God it's good to be gone out of there, I'll never forget it!

ClareBear wrote:
    I lived in the Gardiner Street area for 2 months last year and that was fun! Though the people I lived with were worse scumbags than the locals. God it's good to be gone out of there, I'll never forget it!

Share a story or two there Clarebear.

Who were the scummers you lived with? What did they do? Why did you find gardiner street a kip?

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

i grew up in finglas west and in the eighties it was really rough , great place to grow up .But now i've moved to the south side Crumlin so i guess it was from bad to worse , but i much prefer to live in these so called working class areas rather than d4 d6 because everyone who lives in these areas are just not with they live in bubbles not in the real world . The rugby heads and co would'nt last a couple of hours in these areas {the real world} dublin is becoming full of people who are selfish and sad.

• Moderators Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭LFCFan

jazoo wrote:
    i grew up in finglas west and in the eighties it was really rough , great place to grow up .But now i've moved to the south side Crumlin so i guess it was from bad to worse , but i much prefer to live in these so called working class areas rather than d4 d6 because everyone who lives in these areas are just not with they live in bubbles not in the real world . The rugby heads and co would'nt last a couple of hours in these areas {the real world} dublin is becoming full of people who are selfish and sad.
    I'd rather live in an area of sad selfish people then people who will rob me and beat me up :)