Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mosney

• 21-03-2005 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭

Has anyone been to Mosney recently. Passed it on the train the other day. What ever happened all the red Coats how strange were they i rember they brought out a crap single. my favorite day there has two bee the 2 days i spent at homelands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

right this is obviously a bet.

but is it :
    how many forums i can post the same thread on
    or
    how quick i can get banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

No more red coats, boats or rides sadly.

Its a refugee center now. Food and board free of charge for 400 foreign nationals..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Its a refugee center now. Food and board free of charge for 400 foreign nationals..

Really?

Used to go there all the time as a smallie. Ah simple times :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

aaah i remember the dragon slide in the pool. used to go there a lot.

most people call it Mosnia now :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

aaah i remember the dragon slide in the pool. used to go there a lot.

most people call it Mosnia now :rolleyes:

LOL!!

Ye, ohh the memories, I was lucky enough to live about 3 miles away as a chisler, used to walk the tracks up a couple of times a week during the summer break with the lads and act the maggot all day. Swimming pool, boats, that antigravity thing(big round wheel that started on its back and went up on its side), EVEN THE TRAIN :)

:( good aul times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Mosney was an awful sh1t hole. A few friends of mine had summer jobs there when we were in school, oh the tales they have. Syringes in beds, scraping green mould off cuts of meat...mmm.

eth0_ wrote:
    Mosney was an awful sh1t hole. A few friends of mine had summer jobs there when we were in school, oh the tales they have. Syringes in beds, scraping green mould off cuts of meat...mmm.

jAYSUS i FEEL AWFULL NOW FOR HAVING ALL THE GREAT MEMORIES, get back into your hole ye miserable ****, tales me arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭sailorboy

goverment put assiulum seekers there now closed up
    another piece of irish heratadge fucckd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Ahh the good aul days. Remember getting caught going through a hole in the fence. Last time I tried that one! The security guards drove us to the front enterance and had to walk back to Laytown via Jullianstown. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭bluto

Ha Jaysus. All the mammories come flooding back. A mate of mine used to work there ah the birds. i REMEMBER GETTING TROWMN OUT OF THE NIGHTCLUB THERE ON NIGHT NY SOME FAT b~STaRD WITH A HANDLEBAR MUSTACHE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

bluto wrote:
    Ha Jaysus. All the mammories come flooding back. A mate of mine used to work there ah the birds. i REMEMBER GETTING TROWMN OUT OF THE NIGHTCLUB THERE ON NIGHT NY SOME FAT b~STaRD WITH A HANDLEBAR MUSTACHE
    ;_;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

What a terrible experience, those chalets were bad enough for a week but for longer - no way.......

I heard it is terrible down there for the refugees. The food is brutal - think Jamies School dinners type of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

I went there a few times for the Community Games. I remember roaches in the bath and some weird brown stuff in the corner of one room. But it also had the Kosy Kitchen, and Funtropica, the big blue slide, the G-Force yellow cage thing, the Satellite and the bumpers. And the swan boats on the lake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

I don't think they operate any of the rides anymore, i think there is only an indoor football pitch in operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

back when ireland was a kip we had to make do with mosney i remember going with my family as a kid , the rest of the extended family bunked in there would be 3 families in one shallet .i supposeits still the same now with the fugees. happy days ahhhhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

was there once on holiday, and me and my brothers and were out on the lake and this guy with his 2 sisters stood up in the boat and starting rocking the boat and shouting "Its a huge storm" " We may get turned over" etc etc The women were screaming like mad things. It was hillarious.

The same day i was on the go karts and i got lapped by the leader, i got pissed off, so floord it and tried to unlap myself but didnt see the finish flag or the white gate across the track until the last second, had to made a sharp turn for the pits but was going so fast i couldnt stop so i ended up hitting the guy who lapped me so hard while he was getting out,his car ended up out on the track again. I made a quick exit of out there after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

The whole place must be weird to be in. I mean an old army barracks that was changed into a theme park in the 50's on a shoestring budget. This has now been turned into a refugee centre. I'd love to go see what they have done with the place. What did they do with the main village part? What's the ballroom used for? The massive pool? All the pool tables? The cinema?

Are they just there garhering dust or have they been demolished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

they're still there, just locked up.

Where did the Community Games go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

true story....

you remember in the pool, they had windows and you could see into dan lowrys bar and hte shop?? well i knew my parents and others were in dan lowrys bar so i dived into the people and started waving........

my f***ing togs came off!!!!!!!!

Was Dan Lowry ever a real person and did it have anything to do with dan lowrys in cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

Ah the memories :)
    We went there for 16 years without fail.

How many people remember the swimming pool before they converted it to Funtropica! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

what was funtropica?? all ican remember is the windows, the big inflatable slide and the gragon slide which i wasnt allowed on!

i rem some guy did a poo in the pool once and we all had to get out....they then blew their whistles expecting us to go back in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

eth0_ wrote:
    Mosney was an awful sh1t hole.

It still is ... as are most of the small towns near it.

what was funtropica?? all ican remember is the windows, the big inflatable slide and the gragon slide which i wasnt allowed on!

The whole pool was called Funtropica , before that it was just a big swimming pool. Used to give swimming lessons every evening. Then the year I was finally old enough to go for swimming lessons they'd changed the whole pool and no more swimming lessons :(
    Very distressing at the time!

Bard wrote:
    It still is ... as are most of the small towns near it.

That there is fighting talk pilgrim

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Are the pools even full anymore? It would be a great little business venture "Return to Mosney", for all those folks like me who went there real often from school!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Pity the place isgone i enjoyed it even though it was a kip. I thought the big pool was far better that that funtropic rubbish!

Ye funtropica was the beginging of the end, the pool was much better plain and simple, I even went as far as using the outside pool instead.. balls shrinkatthethought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Last time I was there it was for this Star Trek Experience thing that they had on.

It was pretty good, they had lots of props from all the series on display and I even managed to sit in Captain Kirk's original chair.

Other than that I've always hated the place. I think I went there twice as a kid and hated it both times. I can't swim, so the whole pool aspect had no appeal for me. And that stupid cinema only ever seemed show Smokey and the Bandit movies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

jazoo wrote:
    back when ireland was a kip .

It still is !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I remember the water-slide which went under the swimming pool. That was cool.
    cinema only ever seemed show Smokey and the Bandit movies.
    OMG! Didn't know that, otherwise I'd have gone to that cinema. I love Smokey and the Bandit! Proberly why I now love the Gumball race every year :)
    Enii wrote:
    What a terrible experience, those chalets were bad enough for a week but for longer - no way.......

I heard it is terrible down there for the refugees. The food is brutal - think Jamies School dinners type of thing.
    Its free, they're not been prosacuted, they get food... its an asylum place. Not a holiday camp (not anymore, anyhoo's).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I was there in the sixties as a kid.

it was Butlins then.

remember the snooker room, platform board in the outdoor pool, donut machine and a lot of drunks fighting at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Was there a couple of times and, even though it wasn't exactly wonderful, it was the best Ireland had at the time and I enjoyed it :) The Coke slide was great, I vaguely recall an underpool bit too. The bumper cars (which you could actually bump with a vengeance, not like the dump 'dodgems' where you're not supposed to hit anyone :rolleyes: ) We did the lil boat on the lake thing too.

Ahh memories :)

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

unless I'm mistaken the deal to turn it into what it is now was for a 5 year period which is up at the end of the year Linky so you never know we could see it re-open or a redevelopment in the near future.

Tippex wrote:
    unless I'm mistaken the deal to turn it into what it is now was for a 5 year period which is up at the end of the year Linky so you never know we could see it re-open or a redevelopment in the near future.

I believe the land adjacent> around the old army camp is being turned into one of those new rural towns, Planning permission for 5000 houses, shops , industrial land etc.. so wouldnt be a bad idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I remember roaches in the bath and some weird brown stuff in the corner of one room.

That brown stuff was probably my vomit. Last time I was there as a kid, there were these strange small brown fly things going around. I think I ate quite a few of them, and that night went on to projectile razz all over the shop. It was brown. Maybe they didn't clean it up!

How many people remember the computer place down by the path to the beach?

Ah the roller skating rink.... was never the same after they converted it to the crazy golf.

Chewing gum wasn't sold in any of the shops

For all my years going there was always the same ticket officer around to check the tickets when getting into mosney ;)

Hey it might have been a ****e hole but the memories are good ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Man, hah, we used to stay in mobile homes for the entire summer... I did that from the Summer of '92 to the Summer of '98. The place was an absolute dive - but when you stay there for twelve weeks and have a seperate community of friends that you only see at that time of year, it added a certain element of fun to it.

They're supposed to be flattening the place in 2006... about time too. Built on a shoestring and it SHOWS.

Yeah ia remeber the guy at the train Station. I think he retired a short time ago. He was a hell of a nice guy who would always remember your name. I think he ran the train atation in laytown during the winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Yeah, it's been gone like 4-5 years now aint it ?