Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€10,000 guaranteed,

• 18-03-2005 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

Next Wednesday in the Westwood hotel,Galway.Register @7.First hand 8sharp.
    €75buy-in. One top-up allowed for €50.
    4000 in chips.20 mins blinds. Top 9 get paid (all cash-no tickets)
    Prizepool is €10,000 guaranteed.
    Tournament Director-Donal MacAonghusa
    Assistant Director-Richard Neilson
    Tournament manager-Fintan Gavin
    There will be fully trained croupiers at every table with two running croupiers.
    Also admin staff will record all top-ups.
    Extra prizes include instance €200 cash bounty on a celebrity.
    Highest hand award is ticket valued@€150.
    7foot screens will display poker clock.
    Prize fund is guaranteed 10,000 regardless of numbers.
    Refreshments served at break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

If buy ins plus rebuys minus reg fee is greater than 10K will the prizepol be greater than 10K or is it capped? When you say 75 Euro buy in. What's the reg fee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

For the record nicky.
    Prizepool is €10,000, capped or subsidised, dependent on entrants.
    There is no registration fee.
    We expect 100 to 120 runners.

So basically the prizepool is same as before (taking into account the 8 tickets to supersats) but now it costs more to enter? Is that correct?

Dont know what you mean by prizepool being the same before.
    we have never run a €10,000 guaranteed.
    This is not a satellite. This is a cash tournament. So I'm not sure what your getting at. All details are clearly listed and I'd be happy to give anyone any further information about this or any other event.

Yes the prizepool was 8,000 before but that did not include the 8 tickets worth 275.

So 8.000+(8*275) = 10,200

So now there is efectively 200 Euro less going back to the players but you want them to pay $20 more than before.

If 120 players show up that's €2600 ((20*€120)+(10,200-10,000)) more in profits for pokerevents, than what you would have gotten with the old structure.

Nicky,
    What are talking about? You must be referring to another event.
    Or else your chancing your arm once again.
    The value of all tickets awarded at all pokerevents tournaments are taken out of the prizepool, unless stated. Every satellite I ever played or witnessed this is the procedure.
    Again you are talking about something you dont know about.
    This is a €10,000 CASH GUARANTEED event, which is the first in Galway.
    Buy-in is 75euro with one top up of €50.
    If you have something you want to say, say it, dont waffle on about something your not sure of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

You make it sound like you are doing the punters a favour.
    Why don't you charge a reg and not cap the event?

Did it occur to you that the reason it sounds like I'm doing the punters a favour is because I am.
    Lets be honest who else in the west of Ireland is stageing top class events with guaranteed prizepools.
    Your point about the reg fee is taken, and while we do this in our larger events, I will introduce it to smaller tournaments when the numbers are more stable and I know the exact overheads.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

when is your next event in Dublin...?

Red cow inn hotel next Thursday.
    €5000 guaranteed. See event list on site for full details.

Is that capped also?

Nicky,
    What are talking about? You must be referring to another event.
    Or else your chancing your arm once again.
    The value of all tickets awarded at all pokerevents tournaments are taken out of the prizepool, unless stated. Every satellite I ever played or witnessed this is the procedure.
    Again you are talking about something you dont know about.
    Buy-in is 75euro with one top up of €50.
    If you have something you want to say, say it, dont waffle on about something your not sure of.

I was referring to the previous Satelite tournatments which were 50+5 for 8K guranteed. I KNOW the satelite tickets were not included in the original prizepools. If you read my post carefully I said that in the very first line.

I'm certainly not waffling, and believe me when I have something to say I do come out and say it, which is quite obvious from my posts. I thought what I was saying was very clear and factual. I don't know how I can break it down in to more understandable parts just for you but I will try...

Since they are now not included in the prizepool, and the prozepool has increase approximately the value of the satelite tickets WHY are you charging more for people to enter?

Nicky I sure it's you that needs to read more carefully.
    We never guaranteed a €8000 prizepool.
    We guaranteed a €4000 fund and doubled it during Irish poker tour satellites due to massive numbers.
    INCLUDED in the pool were tickets to super-satellites. Value of tickets came off the pool.
    This is a different tournament. This is a cash tournament, which is different to a satellite. e.g satellite winner won 3000/ 2750cash and ticket worth 250 (reg fee of 25 was paid on the night)
    Winner of 10,000 guaranteed will win something like €5000cash.

Is that capped also?

Pool is a €5000 guaranteed pool, which will be eiher capped or subsides pending on numbers.
    Davey you have free ticket to this event e-mail me if you are interested in attending.

How do I have a free ticket?

I want you to take the pepsi challenge.
    I'm giving you ticket worth€50, you pay €5reg, you play and give educated opinion on the event.

Thanks for the offer but Westwood is too far out of the way for me. I'm sure your event is run very well etc., I never questioned that. I just have a problem with capped events.

Ticket I'm offering is for next Thursday in the Red cow hotel Dublin.
    If you can't make it, no problem. If you can e-mail me.

Still too much of a trek for me, thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Ill play and write a report on it if you want

Nicky I sure it's you that needs to read more carefully.
    We never guaranteed a €8000 prizepool.
    We guaranteed a €4000 fund and doubled it during Irish poker tour satellites due to massive numbers..

So you did guarantee a prizepoool of 8K. So what if you doubled 4K. It's the same thing.
    INCLUDED in the pool were tickets to super-satellites. Value of tickets came off the pool.

The value of all tickets awarded at all pokerevents tournaments are taken out of the prizepool,..

"Inclued in the prizepool" "Taken out of the prizepool' Whatever, That actually means you were ripping people off for more than I thought in the 50 Euro satelites. In one tournament players must have paid close to 15K not including the reg fee. How can you justify skimming 7K from a prizepool? If the tickets are worth 250 and not 275 that means players who won tickets still pay a reg fee for the supersat. So the prizepool as you've stated was 8K.

So basically the prizepool has increase by 2K and is capped at 10K. You are now charging 20 Euro more to enter so for every player over the 100 who enters you are then making more money than you would have with the satelite structure.

Why on earth can't you just charge a standard reg fee and increase the prizepool in accordance with the numbers like any normal poker tournament? This is the first tournament (outside of a pub) I've ever seen where you don't know how much is reg and how much goes into the prizepool. Show some transparency here. There is absolutely no mention of prizepool capping on your website. 10K guaranteed does not mean 10K and no more and you should make that clear for people travelling and investing in your tournaments. If you are saying that the prizepool will remain at 10K whether there are 100 players or 140 players then that is a pure rip off, plain and simple.

Nicky,

I'm not sure where you are getting your information, as you are completely misinformed.
    Firstly pokerevents never skimmed 7k or anything like it off any prizepool.
    Have you ever being at any of the Irish poker tour satellites?
    I dont believe you have or you would hardly come out with the false figures you have being doing.
    I've posted correct information about all our events. It's plain to see by all, and what is advertised is exactly what players get at our events.
    If you want the corect information, I suggest you actually come to one of our events and give a proper analysis. I'm willing to pay your entry fee this Wednesday.
    If your not coming up dont bother responding to this.
    Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I don't understand where you get the idea that you can dictate other people's right to reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I am going to dip my toes into this thread.

I have just had a look at the schedule of events on your site and this is the description of your event at the red cow - word for word.

Bi - Weekly satellites
    5000euro Gtd
    50+5 Buy in
    NL Holdem
    Double Chance

Whilst I applaud the fact that someone is running tournaments on a larger scale than the card clubs can accommadate it disturbs me that the advertising is not "Up front".
    Sure it says that 5000 is guaranteed and the fact that you are gauranteeing a prize pool is honourable. However to then cap it when oversubscribed is not fair on the genuine punters. I was planning on attending some of these as I heard good numbers were attending. Because of the numbers attending I would have been expecting a prize pool much larger than 5000 euro. I think I am not alone, In fact I am definately not alone in expecting all the money taken in to be paid out in prizes unless specifically stated on the promotional material. Especially when you are taking a reg fee.
    The only events I have ever seen that take money out of the prizepool for expense do not have a reg fee and the amount is specified beforehand. Ie: 8% at the world series, 6% + 3% tips at the EPT.
    I don't care what the reg is as long as it is the only money being taken from the punters, however as you have a sponsor your reg should not need to be too expensive.
    If I have written this based on old information then Update your website to reflect the true details and add that the prize pool is capped. For your own good. If you get the wrong group travel to this event and then find out money is taken out of the pool you are likely to have serious problems.
    Also the website says it is double chance yet I see a lot of posts making references to rebuys. If it is a rebuy event then again you should change the website info.
    I will take a trip to play at some point and I write all my trip reports up on my blog. I hope to be able to just write about bad beats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

"Pokerevents" - Are you Fintan Gavin?

DapperGent wrote:
    I don't understand where you get the idea that you can dictate other people's right to reply.

DapperGent
    Read all corrospondance, it's going round in circles. I'm simply suggesting to nicky to come to event(I'm willing to pay his fee) and then give his opinion.
    If He is not willing to do that (and he is not that far away) Than conversation over. As He has published several inaccurate remarks about event and he is not willing to see for Himself, them I'm not interested in talking to Him on that subject. I'm in no position to dictate to anyone, and what your quoting me on needs to be taken into context.

Shortstack wrote:
    I am going to dip my toes into this thread.

I have just had a look at the schedule of events on your site and this is the description of your event at the red cow - word for word.

Bi - Weekly satellites
    5000euro Gtd
    50+5 Buy in
    NL Holdem
    Double Chance

Whilst I applaud the fact that someone is running tournaments on a larger scale than the card clubs can accommadate it disturbs me that the advertising is not "Up front".
    Sure it says that 5000 is guaranteed and the fact that you are gauranteeing a prize pool is honourable. However to then cap it when oversubscribed is not fair on the genuine punters. I was planning on attending some of these as I heard good numbers were attending. Because of the numbers attending I would have been expecting a prize pool much larger than 5000 euro. I think I am not alone, In fact I am definately not alone in expecting all the money taken in to be paid out in prizes unless specifically stated on the promotional material. Especially when you are taking a reg fee.
    The only events I have ever seen that take money out of the prizepool for expense do not have a reg fee and the amount is specified beforehand. Ie: 8% at the world series, 6% + 3% tips at the EPT.
    I don't care what the reg is as long as it is the only money being taken from the punters, however as you have a sponsor your reg should not need to be too expensive.
    If I have written this based on old information then Update your website to reflect the true details and add that the prize pool is capped. For your own good. If you get the wrong group travel to this event and then find out money is taken out of the pool you are likely to have serious problems.
    Also the website says it is double chance yet I see a lot of posts making references to rebuys. If it is a rebuy event then again you should change the website info.
    I will take a trip to play at some point and I write all my trip reports up on my blog. I hope to be able to just write about bad beats.
    Good points, and I have taken them on board with the view of changing lower limit tournaments to same structure as the bigger buy-ins.
    Trouble is shortstack these events are actually subsidsed rather than capped.
    These events have cost me money. So it's quite annoying to listen to people going on about skimming pools when I'm actually taking money out of my pocket to guarantee funds in order to promote the game.
    However i'm confident the future will bring more sponsership and thus more payouts to players, and profits for promoters. Thank you for your good assestment on the subject.

bohsman wrote:
    "Pokerevents" - Are you Fintan Gavin?
    Yes
    and your own name?

My name is Oscar Fred. A couple of questions.

1. How many people played in Galway.

2. Approximately how many people re-bought and how many topped up.

Hi Oscar,

We had between 106 and 150 runners at our satellites in Galway.
    Tournaments now being run can be anything between 75 and 125.
    Approx 25/30% re-buy and another 20/25% top-up. These figures vary, however you have a good idea I'm sure yourself of statistics with a 4000 starting stack and 20min blinds.
    We also run 250/500/6000 tournaments which are total freezeouts.
    I'd recommend partiscipating as they are very professionally run with tournament director/tournament manager/assistant director and croupiers at every table.

Nicky,
    Firstly pokerevents never skimmed 7k or anything like it off any prizepool.
    Have you ever being at any of the Irish poker tour satellites?
    I dont believe you have or you would hardly come out with the false figures you have being doing.
    I've posted correct information about all our events. It's plain to see by all, and what is advertised is exactly what players get at our events.
    If you want the corect information, I suggest you actually come to one of our events and give a proper analysis. I'm willing to pay your entry fee this Wednesday.
    Good luck.

Fintan, thank you for your offer but I've already seen the super satelite. I don't need to find out about the €50 events. The information (for the most part) is right there on your website. Also, although I may not be far away I do have to stay overnight which for a small buy event with a capped prizepool isn't worth it.
    We had between 106 and 150 runners at our satellites in Galway.
    Tournaments now being run can be anything between 75 and 125.
    Approx 25/30% re-buy and another 20/25% top-up. These figures vary,

I'm a little surprised that only 55% would buy back. I would expect much closer to 90% to have done so by the end of the add on period in such a low buy in event, but I will take your word for it. Either way, lets say 55% added on at the 150+ player event. That means the prizepool was (150*50)+(83*50) which is a total of 11,650 which could be the absolute minimum that was paid in non reg fees by players at that event. Including reg fees this amounts to 12,400. 4,400 of that goes to pokerevents.

So what you marketed as a 50+5 double chance event looks more like €65+€35 in fees in terms of the prizepool. That ratio can also grow more in pokerevents favour with more players and more buy backs. This probably explains why there was a below average buy-back percentage. They realised they were just handing over €50 they weren't going to get back if they finished ITM. Do you not think this is ludicrous?

I'm sorry Fintan, but you are not going to win experience players over with blatant false advertising and stating that a prizepool is guaranteed 8K is exactly that. Guaranteed does not mean capped. $5 reg fee means everything else goes into the prizepool. Sort that out and then I will give pokerevents the credit they deserve.

You could improve your events greatly by actaully listening to what your customers have to say instead of jumping down their throat. Offering people free buy ins but doing nothing to improve the event quite frankly doesn't cut it.

On another note Fintan, I have a right to express my opinions. I'm a very up front outspoken person and I expect people to respect that. I may not agree with what you have to say but I will defend your right to say it. I don't take personal attacks and insults lightly and I'd appreciate an apology at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Lads,

I think you are being a bit unfair on Pokerevents here. I also do not like a capped prizefund, but in fairness, Poker Events is being run as a business and hence does expect to make a profit every now and again. As long as it is within certain paremeters players may be willing to enter in their tournaments, if you are not that is your choice, as is telling people why you are not entering but I think that you have made your point. (I am sure Fintan has a love of the game, but that will not put dinner on the table.) Expecting him to be able to compete with the card clubs is about as unrealistic as expecting the card clubs to compete with the Internet sites reg fees. The clubs have their profits taken from a variety of games, as well as reg fees, and rakes from cash games. I do not think it a realistic expectation for people to expect Pokerevents to make their profits from charging the same reg as a card club into the only tournie he can run that night. Also, the clubs have fiarly fixed costs, where as pokerevents would fluctuate with venue and region. I think he is bringing poker to parts of the country that would not see a tournie from one end of the year to the next, and only seems to be getting grief for it. I have played in one of these tournies and was happy enough leaving it that it had been well organised, and that there had not been too much sliced off the prize fund.

Just my tuppence worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Approx 25/30% re-buy and another 20/25% top-up.

I played in two nights at the Westwood and I have to say from what i saw there where more topups than the 20/25% you have stated. Everyone on my table on both nights topped up at the break! I would believe the rebuy figure a little more but only just.

I also have concerns about the prize money being given out not just for me but for the majority of the guys who are palying but dont actually realise where there money is going. :(

murfie wrote:
    I played in two nights at the Westwood and I have to say from what i saw there where more topups than the 20/25% you have stated. Everyone on my table on both nights topped up at the break! I would believe the rebuy figure a little more but only just.

I also have concerns about the prize money being given out not just for me but for the majority of the guys who are palying but dont actually realise where there money is going. :(

Are the number of rebuys displayed on screen for everyone to view? If not was the number of rebuys/top-ups announced at the end of the break?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

NickyOD wrote:
    Are the number of rebuys displayed on screen for everyone to view? If not was the number of rebuys/top-ups announced at the end of the break?

It was not announced anyway the nights i was there and the rebuys and topup where not displayed on the screen. A guy asked about it alright and the explaination was the counting system on the poker clock did not work?

murfie wrote:
    It was not announced anyway the nights i was there and the rebuys and topup where not displayed on the screen. A guy asked about it alright and the explaination was the counting system on the poker clock did not work?

Is that true Fintan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

murfie wrote:
    I also have concerns about the prize money being given out not just for me but for the majority of the guys who are palying but dont actually realise where there money is going.
    This is the problem that most people have, if pokerevents were 100% clear about how the prizefund would be calculated and let the players know how many topups/rebuys were bought then there probably wouldn't be much comment. People would either play or not play.
    Waylander wrote:
    I think he is bringing poker to parts of the country that would not see a tournie from one end of the year to the next, and only seems to be getting grief for it. I have played in one of these tournies and was happy enough leaving it that it had been well organised, and that there had not been too much sliced off the prize fund.
    But it's important that the organisers are 100% transparent about how much is being sliced off the prize fund and advertise it as such right?

Rebuys were on the screen in the Red Cow but I do not remember if they were announced when the freezeout commenced. Having said that I do think that it would have been possible to rebuy and top up as I was not asked for my name when I topped up. We were told before the tournie you would only be allowed rebuy/top up only once so I do feel this could be a problem area.

But it's important that the organisers are 100% transparent about how much is being sliced off the prize fund and advertise it as such right?[/QUOTE]

I agree with you Luke, but I do think that this can be hard to establish exact costs before the event, or they may vary from event to event, which would add to costs as there would then be different print jobs for each event. If players know the prizefund is capped (and this is where I feel the issue is) then they know what they are playing for before play starts. I think maybe the problem is the ambiguity of a "Guaranteed Prize Fund". Perhaps stating the prizefund would be E5,000 regardless if no of entrants and rebuys etc would be a better way to phrase it.

Waylander wrote:
    I agree with you Luke, but I do think that this can be hard to establish exact costs before the event, or they may vary from event to event, which would add to costs as there would then be different print jobs for each event. If players know the prizefund is capped (and this is where I feel the issue is) then they know what they are playing for before play starts. I think maybe the problem is the ambiguity of a "Guaranteed Prize Fund". Perhaps stating the prizefund would be E5,000 regardless if no of entrants and rebuys etc would be a better way to phrase it.

Not really. They can take a fairly close guess as to how many players will attend an event. They then have all the information they need to take a pesimistic calculation of their cost. With this they can charge a suitable reg fee.

Nicky, your remarks that pokerevents is making a fortune out of these events really pissed me off from the start. The reason being because it's total nonsense.
    If my responses to you have being cold to the point of offence then I apologise ,and I wish our debate will produce an event that is better run and a customer that is totally satisfied. However It is very hard to take you seriously when you twist the facts.
    These events are not moneyspinners. Look at the overheads. Weight it up.
    I am trying to bring the thrill and excitment of tournament poker to people across the board, and I'm depending on seasoned players like yourself. Your points have being taken on board as with other good suggestions I have recieved from people on this site, and I intend to make changes to pokerevents smaller buy-in events.
    What I am planning is for the €50's to be a €50 plus 25/30 with all re-buys top-ups into the pool. This will barley cover costs so I would have to charge a yearly membership fee. I'm not sure how it would work as I'm positive some events will have lower pay-outs. But it is clearer to the players what house takes.
    In answer to the other main questions, firstly all re-buys and top-ups are clearly displayed on the poker clock. The point that they were not at the first event was due to the fact we did not know how to use this facility on the clock.
    Also all top-ups and re-buys are recorded by Ruth our admin girl who only gives out chips even to the amount of names she recieves. These names are ticked off on our tournament draw sheet, so clearly no one can rebuy and top up.
    Waylander, The fact that you topped up without being asked your name would make sense, as we have fairly sharp directors who know already who has bought back. Also all croupiers are advised about this also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

DapperGent
    I'm in no position to dictate to anyone, and what your quoting me on needs to be taken into context.
    Context is important but between this statement and the other thread you’ve made a number of posts similar either in tone or intent. That is refusing to engage with a point, or attempting to undermine the point made or person who made it. I’m sorry for taking these out of context and from another thread but I’d prefer not to split this response across both of them.
    Answering moranic question to people whose interests are dubious is a waste of my time.
    You did actually go on to answer the questions, which was good but there is nothing from his post to indicate an ulterior motive to his questions. Insinuating such is a cheap attempt to undermine his position in the minds of the people reading. I find that dishonest. I don’t mind you calling him a moron (though he isn’t one), I’ve said far worse on boards. :)
    What I mean by "real" is the people who interested in the long term growth of the sport and support efforts made by promoters who are trying to bring poker to the wider audiences.
    If people are not interested in this that is understandable, I'm sure they will find other passions in life. In the meantime, those making the effort and actually doing it , should be supported.
    I found this one really annoying. This is an attempt to give yourself a bye from critcism of your tournaments simply becuase you ran them in the first place. You’re also attempting to claim altruistic intentions with regard to running them when it’s a business venture. I don’t mind anyone trying to make money out of the non-playing side of poker I do mind people misrepresenting such attempts as altrusim. I find that dishonest.
    The only people getting away with anything is people like yourself you are doing nothing to promote the game, but yet like to think themselves as some authority on tournament poker in Ireland.
    Same thing again.
    I've read your comments more than once, and I suggest you take off them sunglasses your hiding behind, and look at the overall picture. You are completely full of your own woofully negative, dubiously motivated opinions.
    You should stay away from the sats like you've said ,and the super-sats and all other live events, you are a true bluffer, to the point of being fake.
    I know between these two threads it must seem like nearly every poster in the place is gunning for you and it would be easy to become convinced that there is some kind of agenda or dubious motivation. There isn’t. It should simply convince you that people who know anything about poker just fúcking hate capped prize pools. And with good reason.

I’m going to respond to Waylander’s post as a means to illustrate my feelings on them.
    Waylander wrote:
    I think you are being a bit unfair on Pokerevents here. I also do not like a capped prizefund, but in fairness, Poker Events is being run as a business and hence does expect to make a profit every now and again. As long as it is within certain paremeters players may be willing to enter in their tournaments, if you are not that is your choice, as is telling people why you are not entering but I think that you have made your point. (I am sure Fintan has a love of the game, but that will not put dinner on the table.)
    I don’t mind him making a profit at all. I’m glad he does and will. It’s his methods of profit making that I have a problem with.
    Waylander wrote:
    Expecting him to be able to compete with the card clubs is about as unrealistic as expecting the card clubs to compete with the Internet sites reg fees. The clubs have their profits taken from a variety of games, as well as reg fees, and rakes from cash games. I do not think it a realistic expectation for people to expect Pokerevents to make their profits from charging the same reg as a card club into the only tournie he can run that night. Also, the clubs have fiarly fixed costs, where as pokerevents would fluctuate with venue and region.
    Yep poker clubs run their tournaments as loss leaders to bring in people for cash gaming and gambling, without those revenue streams Poker Events has to charge a higher registration fee. Nobody (I think) is disputing this. They just want the juice that they’re paying to be clearly visible. And to be clearly visible before the event starts.
    Waylander wrote:
    I think he is bringing poker to parts of the country that would not see a tournie from one end of the year to the next, and only seems to be getting grief for it.
    I applaud him for bringing good sized and well dealt (by all accounts) tournaments to parts of the country that don’t get the chance very often. If I lived in Galway I’d probably play them despite the fact that I don’t like the way the juice and payouts work, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

Why I hate capped prize pools (not directed at anybody):

1. You don’t know what rake you’re paying. The registration fee only forms one part of the rake I’ll be paying. After that the rake will change depending on the number of entrants i.e. the proportion of money I’m handing over to pay for costs/profit for the organiser (as opposed to prize pool) is both beyond my knowledge (at the start of the event) and beyond my control (at any time). I have no idea whether I’m getting value for money. All I know is that my value for money gets worse the more people who turn up. It doesn’t matter if Poker Events really are running the smaller tournaments at a loss to generate revenue for bigger tournaments, they clearly believe they will turn a profit on the whole deal together (fair play to them) and the amount of money I give over is part of that whole shebang.

As a customer I deserve to know what the juice is and I deserve to know before the event starts. I don’t care if a reg fee of 50+15 or 50+20 would give the same one-night loss to Poker Events at least I would know where I stood and I wouldn’t be in a situation where every person who played in the event cut my equity in the prize pool.

2. The money gained by a win is unreflective of the difficulty in attaining it. If we have a situation where the prize pool is the same for the week 150 people turn up as for the week 100 people turn up then we have a situation where someone won the 150 runner tournament gets paid exactly the same amount as the person who won the 100 runner event. This is for a win that is 50% more difficult to achieve. How is this fair?

Finally the way I see Poker Event’s use of capped prize pools is this: they are accruing the advertising benefits of a low reg fee and a guaranteed prize pool while exposing themselves to the risks of neither (over the course of a few events).

It is a method of using a low advertised reg of 10% (one of the only things that people see) along with a guaranteed prize pool (the only other thing that people see) as a means of advertising the events. With the capping of the prize pool the effective rake is much higher than 10% and disguised. With the capping of the prize pool the risk of having to pay out more than taken in (never likely at the best of times) is ameliorated by being able to use a good turnout at one event to cover a poor turnout at another, the losers being the saps who had a far smaller chance at the same prize pool for the same money.

Capped prize pools are good for promoters and bad for players. None of you should play in them, I won’t be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

I think Dapper Gent is very smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

But I am somewhat exhausted by the negativity expressed on this subject.
    I wish pokerevents the very best in their business and shall play in an event. Then I shall make up my own mind as to whether the event is value for money (although for me it probably will be since I'm such a winner).

Every point that critics of pokerevents have made here may be true (may be) however may I suggest that that posters express their opinions in the same manner as if they were speaking to the fellow face to face.

I say these things as someone who has been unfairly accused of ripping off Irish poker players on this site. It is easy to be vehement but wiser to be courteous.

I wish you all well. Please remember to be courteous if you respond to me, as it is a small world, and I very sensitive, easily hurt even.

Cheers Des!

I have no doubt that these events are well run and I am delighted to see well run tournaments in Galway (being a Galway man myself) All I want is clarity it is only bad for live poker if online players play their first live tournament only to see the prizepool raped.

It is unfortunate for organisers of tournaments in Ireland that Kilcock happened but it did, I have spoken with organisers dealers and people who have played in Galway and the Red Cow and all have been happy Ill be more than happy to play once the reg etc is sorted, I will play either the Cork or Dublin Super Sats if Im not in work, from what Ive heard theyre not capped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I've met Fintan, and he is a genuine guy, out to make a few quid, but aren't we all?

In fairness, he is on a learning curve with these events, so I'm sure this board is providing some important, if not always positive feedback to help him improve things.
    ("You can always tell the pioneers, they are the ones with arrows in their back")

One thing important to stress is that he has gone out of his way to operate his tour on a professional basis, no shortcuts regarding venues, dealers, tournament directors, advertising, sponsorship etc...

It is not a fair comparison to compare a tour of this sort to a card club, or on-line for that matter, they are different business models, the same way as you can buy a magazine subsription on line at a dramatic discount, compared to what the subscription would be through the magazine offline, compared to what the cost would be if you bought each edition seperately.
    Do we ask where the retailers to justify their reasons for different price points?

The other point as well, from his target market point of view, is that this tour is aimed at Joe Public, who is going to be hit by the Poker whirlwind very soon for the first time, after the Paddy Power launch, Sky Poker Channel etc.... not the 'veterans' who presently play in card clubs in the cities. I've seen in my sleepy wee town in the west of Ireland poker nights start up in a couple of pubs for the first time ever, in the last couple of months ... there is a storm a brewing, and Poker is going to be huge, and he wants a piece of the action.

So the veteran, experienced players have their card clubs to play in, whilst Fintans tour is introducing live Poker to the masses .... different market, different business idea.... Some people buy Micras, some buy Mercedes .

When a band plays at a concert, do you know all the cost breakdown, and what the promoter is making out of it? ... No, you base your decision to go or not, on the perceived value for money of the ticket, can you get one, and is the band any good?

Please note, I'm not as such defending Fintan, if the event has some technical or procedural shortfalls, which I'm sure will be addressed, but I would defend his right to develop his business as he sees fit .... the market (including me, you, boards, and the general public) will decide whether to consume his product or not..... That's business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Almost 50 posts on this subject, that can be summed up in four points;

~ Fair Play for organising these tournies, it's great to see someone promoting Poker on a wider scale in Ireland, hope you do well and get the support out of it.

~ Be upfront about what your charging for the tournament, if it's a 50+50 reg say so, that way we all know what we're getting into and you don't have to worry about dissatisfied punters boycotting your event. Remember the two golden rules of marketing

"You'll tell 3 people you know about a good experience you have, and 10 people about a bad experience you've had"

"If you highlight a problem area with a good or service and upon using that good or service again you find that the problem has not been rectified, you won't put anymore business their way and you'll advise your friends to do the same"

You're only going to make money for as long as people come and play in these tournaments, create enough bad press and you won't get any players. It's better to make 10% on 200 people than 50% on 10.

~ Get rid of the capped prize pools, if I beat 150 people then I expect to win more money than if I beat 90, simple mathematics. (probably a redundant point in my case but still :D)

~ You have an opportunity to be very successful and make a lot of money. Your organisation and professionalism when dealing with these events is to be applauded, but if you continue to take advantage of your customers you'll find that someone else will step in offering the same service at better value, then you're in trouble. You'll only maintain a competitive advantage for as long as you're offering the best value possible while making a profit for yourself, at present I don't think you're doing that.

Ok who's first in line to stone the marketing consultant ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

I think it's time for a bit of "wait and see"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

bmc wrote:
    I think it's time for a bit of "wait and see"...

Agreed. Fintan has been given all the feedback he needs. Give him a chance to react to what he feels is necessary. At the end of the day, it is everyones individual choice as to whether they play or not.