Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Took this girl out on saturday

• 22-02-2005 1:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭

Now, friend of mine who is alot older than me asked me in the pub one night to fix the computer for his daughters because it was coming up with a lot of "weird things". so i said no problem.the next day i arrived up after work and the man called in his eldest daughter to show me where the computer is show whats been happening with it.so i started looking at the computer and she started telling me all the things that went on witht the machine. so i explained to here what the problem was and what i was doung to fix it.

We got talking about other stuff while the computer was running a few things.This is when i relised how georgous this girl was.I mean absolutaly stunning!!after about 2 hours talking i had to go home because it was getting late. i had to come back a few days later to reinstall a few things.so i did

so i arrived back a few days later and she was there and started telling me what had been still going on with the pc. so i totaly wiped the machine and reinstallled the os so we got talking again while this was going on. she was saying that she had no friends over here as she spent most of her life in the states. here b/f is after going back to college in south africa and she has no one to go out with anymore.so i asked here if she was interested in going out with me that night.so she said yeah and she was loking forward to it.

I picked her up in taxi that night and we set off.so we went to a disco bar to start off and all was going well, we had plenty to talk about and had a great night. then we headed off to a night club and everything was going well. i didnt meet anyone i know so we could spend the time together. we where sitting around the table and we were talking then all of a sudden her hand where touching my hands and her hands where touching my legs. so i thought "here we go" (maybe i was reading it wrong i thought) so then she asked me up to dance and we where dancing very sexualy as it might happen and we were enjoying each others company.so the club finished and she said it was way to early to go home, i said i know im still up for anything.so we ended up getting a few drinks and goiung back to my place. so i turned on mtv and we sat there on the couch chatting so after a few hours i thought i as getting more signals( the eyes and the body poshture) so i went in for the kill and was rejected nicly not shouting and screaming. so i apoligised and we got back to talking and i got her a taxi home and got a peck on the cheek as she left and said she had a great time.

I know this is long please bear with me.

I got a txt off her when sahe got home saying something along the lines of "i had a great night it was a lot of fun. sorry if i gave you the wrong idea but thats not what i wanted sweet dreams xx". so i thought thats ok.

then i get a message off her the next day saying i hope you are still bringing me to the cinema on friday. i forgot that we had made plannes durring the night to go to the cinema. so i said yeah sure."ill pick you up from work and we ill go straight because i have to do sumthing later on that night" so she said that was cool. i said "you choose the cinema because im taking you out" she text back saying"no no that would be like a date we are going out just as friends" i knew this already but i was tring to be a gentle man about it lettinh her choose the venue and i would pay.

So we are going this friday and i have never been looking forward to going out with someone as i am this friday.

WHATS GOING ON!! IM GETTING MIXED SIGNALS!!! I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO!!!!

HELP!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,938 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

No you're not getting mixed signals, you're failing to accept the clear signals you're getting. She doesn't want to play with your plumbing. She's looking for a friend.

Girls touch their friends, odd that. If she was into anything more believe me she would have really let you know.

Bad luck, stay friends, have a laugh, and maybe then score one of her new hot female friends when she starts to make a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

I'd have to agree. She has clearly stated that she's not into you in that way but still wants to hang out. She seems to just want a friend but if ye end up spending alot of time together you never know.

I wouldn't try anything on with her until you are dead certain that you are getting the right signals and even then she knows you like her in that way and will prob make the 1st move herself if she finds herself attracted to you in that way.

Anyway good luck, hope it works out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

http://www.intellectualwhores.com/whyiw.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

god, shes flirting. its not a crime. it doesnt mean she wants to shag you rotten.

although, i am at a loss as to how anyone can have an intellectual conversation in a club. im too busy being deafened by loud crap music and too stunnd to speak over the price of drinks usually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭AlisonB

no i wouldnt call it flirting believe me .. if she wants you she'll take you!
    just a word of advise ... don't tell her to F&*$ off just because she just wants to be friends.... men have a tendency to do that! - a bad case of what's in it for me. I think you will eventually be with each other if you hold out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Combination of a prick tease and a intellectual whore (Thanks for the new term corinthian....i shall use it wisely ;)), by all means be friends with her if you enjoy her company and can bare the thought that she will touch you, let you move very close to her, even rub up against her on the dance floor...but never anything more.

I've been there before my friend...sooner or later the preverbial sh!t will hit the fan...i'd make a clean break now, before you grow "feelings".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

LOL. I like that! :D
    Although I don't think that that term neccessarily refers to this guy, well not at the moment anyway due to the fact that she has said that she has no friends and already has a boyfriend. If the original poster remains her friend and the status quo remains, well then yes he is being treated as an Intellectual Whore!

To the original poster. Have you ever just hung out with a girl that was a bit of craic but you didn't particularly fancy?

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The girl already has a boyfriend. She obviously thought you'd respect that (which obviously you didn't) and just wants to be your friend. *Maybe* she is sizing you up as a replacement for her current boyfriend and wants to get to know you better before jumping ship so to speak but I doubt it. From the sounds of things she's just a tactile person who enjoys your company and thinks you're worth having as a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

...tring to be a gentle man about it lettinh her choose the venue and i would pay.

Stop doing this. Check yoself before you wreck yoself. ( That works on a few levels.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

again, she just wants to be friends. Its the classic nerd conundrum - always the friend never the boyfriend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

she's a head wrecker, and playing mind games with you... tell her where to go

AlisonB wrote:
    just a word of advise ... don't tell her to F&*$ off just because she just wants to be friends.... men have a tendency to do that! - a bad case of what's in it for me. I think you will eventually be with each other if you hold out..
    Were he comfortable with a platonic relationship with her, this would not really be an issue, unfortunately it doesn’t look like it and suggesting that he should suffer blue balls in the hope that she ‘might’ change her mind and dump the present outlaw biker boyfriend in favour of him is frankly a pretty cruel thing to suggest.

If the original poster is indeed uncomfortable with a platonic relationship with her then he should probably diplomatically cut her loose and move on. Of course, if he hangs on he may get the girl in the end, but what are the chances of that? Life’s too short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

For now, it's pretty obvious she just wants to be friends.

However, long-distance relationships tend not to last and you might (note the might - no guarantee) be the one she comes to for sex once she gets fed up of the South African guy. Still, best not to get too emotional about the whole thing. Carry on as friends now if you get on with her and find other girls to go out with.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Keep going out with her, on a platonic level. That way you'll attract women. Well, you might, at least...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Now, friend of mine who is alot older than me asked me in the pub one night to fix the computer for his daughters

Just thinking. Does this friend of yours know that you want to bang his daughter?

B.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

BaZmO* wrote:
    Just thinking. Does this friend of yours know that you want to bang his daughter?

something well worth considering if you intend to remain friends with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Id say he does know. In a roundabout way, he just wants to get his no friend daughter laid/friended up.

Beruthiel wrote:
    something well worth considering if you intend to remain friends with him
    No... must be strong... resist temptation...

Hmm, I twisted my mind until that made sense and I have to conclude that one of us is very, very sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Oddysseus

although, i am at a loss as to how anyone can have an intellectual conversation in a club. im too busy being deafened by loud crap music and too stunnd to speak over the price of drinks usually!

wise words! ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

please do
    or I'll be tempted to ban you
    for life...
    :p

DubGuy22 wrote:

I've been there before my friend...sooner or later the preverbial sh!t will hit the fan...i'd make a clean break now, before you grow "feelings".

That's probably too late. I think he has feelings. He is touched. Just read his first post here. try to read it! ;)

just my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

Odd that. Other women would be screaming "my god. Why hasnt he got the hint yet".

Theres just no pleasin some folk.

K-

Id say he does know. In a roundabout way, he just wants to get his no friend daughter laid/friended up.

Rofl :D
    Oddysseus wrote:
    That's probably too late. I think he has feelings. He is touched. Just read his first post here. try to read it!

just my opinion

Fair enough Oddysseus..but there's a big difference between one night hanging out with her, and a month / a year / years drooling over her and finaly being told he will never have her.....i mean he'd hardly be crying himself to sleep if he accepted it now!!

And when you're that attracted to a girl, i don't care what any guy says, it's impossible to just be friends, he will always have alternate motives in the friendship, and will always be trying to get in there...bet off saving yourself a lot of hard work and time just to be disapointed.

Just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭VirtualNemesis

people dont get me wrong.i had no intention to go out and kiss her. i was going out as friends. but i probably as you say got the wrong signals. i have no problem going out with her as friends. i enjoyed her company. just needed clarification. thanks guys and gals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

I wish I had girl problems. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭combs

... the pc. so i totaly wiped the machine and reinstallled the os
    This is the part of the story that stood out for me. Did you really have to wipe the HDD? If it was to do with spyware - the most common of home PC problems - could you not have got rid of it without performing a complete re-install? The re-install should be used only as a last resort, when all other attacks have failed.

people dont get me wrong.i had no intention to go out and kiss her. i was going out as friends. but i probably as you say got the wrong signals. i have no problem going out with her as friends. i enjoyed her company. just needed clarification. thanks guys and gals
    Oh, well if you’re comfortable with the situation, no worries.

I’m just not sure why you needed clarification...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭VirtualNemesis

trust me it was the last resort!!!

yeah, yeah! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Oddysseus. No need for abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Victor wrote:
    Are you joking Victor? He has a bunch of smilies next to a "yeah, yeah!". Classifying that as abuse is bit strong?

thank you. I see that similar. :)

Victor wrote:

I don't see the abuse, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

It happened between 19:00 and 19:05, the post is deleted but still remains for moderators of this board to view.

Oddysseus, as stated - no personal insults please.

Gordon wrote:
    It happened between 19:00 and 19:05, the post is deleted but still remains for moderators of this board to view.

Oddysseus, as stated - no personal insults please.

I beg your pardon! where is an personal insult in this thread I made?
    I just don't get it.
    Explain, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

You called cerebral cortex a fag.

Gordon wrote:
    You called cerebral cortex a fag.

you saw that? LOL

Okay, he wrote me a PM and complained about it. I appologized for that.

Sorry, I'm new here. Gimme some days to get used to this board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

combs wrote:
    This is the part of the story that stood out for me. Did you really have to wipe the HDD? If it was to do with spyware - the most common of home PC problems - could you not have got rid of it without performing a complete re-install? The re-install should be used only as a last resort, when all other attacks have failed.

you hero :D

Anyway to thread starter, I doubt you'll ever be anything more than a friend, she shouldn't of flirted so much but let's face it we all do it.

If you're happy being friends with her all is well, prob torture you a little though, just make sure you always know where you stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

.......drop her like shes hot.
    Chaaaach.

The first post was soooooooo long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

so i totaly wiped the machine and reinstallled the os

I trust you 'backed up' her personal data?

combs wrote:

Chances are if you had done this she'd now be your girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

To the OP, long distance relationships can make you feel a bit asexual, as you can neither get with your honey nor anyone else. I'd say there's a good chance she's simply looking to attract someone that will pursue her a bit and thereby remind her she's still a sexual being and can attract guys if she wants.

In other words, she's looking for a puppy dog. Unless you're 100% happy to just have her as a friend and can completely ignore any flirting she throws your way, I'd steer clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

god, shes flirting. its not a crime. it doesnt mean she wants to shag you rotten.

Any time I've seen you in a pub, the loud music is NOT the reason you are unable to have an intelligent conversation..... ;)

syke wrote:
    Any time I've seen you in a pub, the loud music is NOT the reason you are unable to have an intelligent conversation..... ;)

Cheers! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

She told you that she has no friends but has a boyfriend. You were sized up and categorised right there and then, before you ever went out. You didn't make the good category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I got a txt off her when sahe got home saying something along the lines of "i had a great night it was a lot of fun. sorry if i gave you the wrong idea but thats not what i wanted sweet dreams xx". so i thought thats ok.

Sorry dude, but it ain't mixed signals at all. She told you where you stood that first night you went out. She just wants to be friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

HELP!!!!!!

Leave the 'friends zone' - if she doesn't wanna 'play with yer plumbing' (as someone so succinctly put it!). I say leave it as it is & walk away. Will be better in the long run for your head. You're a man, you've a rod, so go fishing elsewhere!!!!!!

::: ven0mous :::

Man....listen, i know you said you're happy just being freinds etc.etc., but you're also REALLY attracted to her...and you like her...
    Thats how it starts!! You'll be friends, you'll have a great time, take her for drinks, cinema, dinner, whatever....you'll keep getting these "mixed" signals (by any mans standards mixed, but from an outsider looking in friendship signals), she'll dance sexy with you, put her hands on you, cuddle up to you...affectionate girls do this with there friends, especially if she has no one here, she'll be looking for a close friends and affecton. You'll keep building it up in your head, and i guarentee by the end of it all, you'll end up growing strong feelings for her, and you'll go for it, and be disapointed! I've seen it a million times, with me and other people!
    See my earlier posts....but if you really think you'll be ok, be friends, but don't say you weren't warned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

DubGuy22 wrote:
    Man....listen, i know you said you're happy just being freinds etc.etc., but you're also REALLY attracted to her...and you like her...
    Thats how it starts!! You'll be friends, you'll have a great time, take her for drinks, cinema, dinner, whatever....you'll keep getting these "mixed" signals (by any mans standards mixed, but from an outsider looking in friendship signals), she'll dance sexy with you, put her hands on you, cuddle up to you...affectionate girls do this with there friends, especially if she has no one here, she'll be looking for a close friends and affecton. You'll keep building it up in your head, and i guarentee by the end of it all, you'll end up growing strong feelings for her, and you'll go for it, and be disapointed! I've seen it a million times, with me and other people!
    Why is it that women don't understand that men have "needs" too. :D