Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pesky Kidz!!!

• 16-02-2005 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,064 ✭✭✭✭

Bloody kids are outside my house playing footie and screaming and shouting - it's like they've all come out of hibernation after winter or sumting!? Whats the deal with calling the cops to get rid of them - it pains me to even think abt since i'm only 26 but I've got the stereo on and they're still doing my (and the cat's) head in and I'm escared the ball might hit my precious motorbike!!! The hd in a build I've been working on passed away today so I'm also trying to get some work done here!!! :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Well, technically it is noise pollution, so if you called the guards, they would probably tell them to move along...but stop being such a kill joy :D

Cant you just go out and ask them to move to the park or their gardens or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

ah jaysus
    there only kids

why dont you put on a big crombie overcoat, light up a cigar and hide in the bushes,

that might scare em off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Buttmunchy

Go out, Snatch their ball, and say "**** off or the ball gets it." Lol. lmfao.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,064 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Nah I can't go out to them!! It'll ruin my cool-girl-with-motorbike image!!! :D They're all abt 15 or so I reckon....

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 729 ✭✭✭popinfresh

Get a set of ear-plugs. Problem solved

tis ok - its gone all quiet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I blame the parents.
    Disgrace etc...

/oldFogey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

I think the problem is that lots of them are on their midterm this week. Otherwise they'd all be at home and not terrorizing people with their football and shouting and other anti-social activites like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Ciaran_Dub

tk123,

I know exactly how you feel my self and my fiance live in an end house in an estate in Drogheda and a kid in one of the houses to the side of us insists on kicking his football up against our side wall and once a week the ball goes into our garden. It would be more then once a week but it takes him about a week to come into us. Last night I was in bed at 9pm (i have to get up at 5am for work in Dublin) and he was kicking the ball against the wall and we could hear it in bed. Last week his brother was hitting a hockey ball against the wall and I swore he was hitting it against the gable of the house and when I looked out the upstairs window i scared him and lo and behold what happens ball hits the gable at the window level.

Now call me a kill joy all you like but facing our house is a green that is about 3/4 the size of a full football pitch but these kids insist on playing against the wall. When the hockey ball hit the gable it landed in the garden its a nice new play thing for our dog. Like I said call me a kill joy but I am convinced that they are going to break one of 3 windows on our gable, break the window on our shed or worse still a hockey ball will hit our dog. Now if our dog gets hit god help the little runts I will kill them.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ciaran_Dub wrote:
    (i have to get up at 5am for work in Dublin)
    Can I call you a looney isntead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

when do they play (time )
    and how close to your house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Speaking as one who was once a kid that annoyed his neighbours with his football but who has since grown up and seen things from the other side of the fence (so to speak) I'd had have to say ... get over it ya whinger.

It's just harmless fun and he'll have grown out of it by the time he starts getting a sniff of the poontang. Plus in all my time kicking balls around I managed not to break a single item of my neighbours property so unless he is a total mong you shouldn't worry in that regard either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

i used to play tennis at the side of the house, well in between mine and the house next door, i used to hit the ball against my wall then let it hit off the wall behind me....they'd always come out to me....they're moaners and we hate those neighbours so it was great to annoy them

Can I call you a looney isntead?

Yes you can, I am a software developer contractor so I got to go to werever I get a contract :(

Pigman, I completely agree with you but in my case there is a great big field to play in that he could use. We hear the kids outside all the time and it doesnt bother me one bit but when someone is playing with a hockey ball up against the side of my house and it goes over the wall there is a chance he could hit my dog. You ever been hit with a hockey ball??? they are not exactly soft!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

**** sake, what a bunch of moaners, let the poor kids bounce their balls against your walls, for **** sake, is it any wonder kids turn to drugs when they are complained about for kicking a ball against a wall.

Cactus Col wrote:
    **** sake, what a bunch of moaners, let the poor kids bounce their balls against your walls, for **** sake, is it any wonder kids turn to drugs when they are complained about for kicking a ball against a wall.

Have you not read my posts in my situation the kid has the same distance to the green as he does to the wall at the side of my house!! I think its a fair complaint to make on my side.

You kick a ball against a wall because it bounces back. If you go onto the green there's nothing to make the ball come back to you. If there was more than one guy having a game of football, or heads and volleys, or world cup, then yeah go to the green, but one guy? Of course he's gonna kick it against a wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Ciaran_Dub wrote:
    Now call me a kill joy all you like but facing our house is a green that is about 3/4 the size of a full football pitch but these kids insist on playing against the wall.
    yeah but when you kick a ball in a field you have to run after it but when you kick it off a wall it bounces back to you!!! let the kids play with their balls!!! :) ah crap you got there before me!!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

When you give him the ball back do you not tell him to play on the green or he won't ever see it again?

unless there right out side your house you cant do much. it would be like tell your neibours up the road not to drive past your house!!!

I dont normally get to give the ball back the missus does. I have told him once already that he was to be more carefull that I was fed up wit it going over into the garden and explained the dangers. His brother hasnt got the hockey ball back, the dog put it under the shed and I am f**ked if I am going try and get it back.

Cajun_tiger, not strictly true, there is plenty can be done, noise polution, loitering. Mind you I wouldnt do it, Im just not going to go running after the little runt if the ball goes in the back he will get it back when I am ready.

All that will do is encourage him to climb over your wall and get it back himself. Greater chance of him causing damage, and of injuring himself and sueing you.

not if its during the day. noise polution only come in after a certain time.

since when is it ileagal to play in your own estate??

god i'd thought people would be happy to see kids playing foot ball rather than smashing up stuff, burning bins, breaking trees and all of that type of sh!t that most of them do.

jaysus ye bought an end house overlooking a green, what did you expect?

one kid kicking a football?
    how old is he 9, 10 ?

wait till hes 15, and has a few more mates,
    that green is where theyll be every friday night and probably most week nights.

your probably going to go insane if you cant handle a football,
    and if you make yourself out to be an old fecker now, god love you when they do start drinking ;)

not if its during the day. noise polution only come in after a certain time.

since when is it ileagal to play in your own estate??

god i'd thought people would be happy to see kids playing foot ball rather than smashing up stuff, burning bins, breaking trees and all of that type of sh!t that most of them do.

As i stated in another post last night it was after 9. I believe the noise pollution would definately come into affect then. Plus I'm not sure if there is a time on it because if a car or house alarm is going off at any time of the day you can still be prosecuted for noise pollution.

If a kid tries to sue for climbing a wall and injuring himself trying to retrieve a ball then likewise a case could be brought for tresspass.

Let just get one thing straight I have no problem with the kids playing I never once stated that I did, I even said the kids are out in the field and the noise doesnt bother me. My concern is for my dog and damage to the house. Nad I do believe that is a a valid reason to be concerned

i was replying to original poster...

the whole dog thing is something to be concerned about. also if the ball goes into your back garden your property, burst the ball say the dog got it.

damage to your house from a football?
    is it made of cardboard?

fair enough the hockey puck , hit hard enough and going straight at its head could injure a dog, but the kid would have to get into your garden to perform this shot.

i dont see how your not being uptight about this.

the kid'll get some friends and move into the filed at some point ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

tk123 wrote:
    Nah I can't go out to them!! It'll ruin my cool-girl-with-motorbike image!!! :D

/wolf whisltle :cool:

Ciaran_Dub wrote:
    As i stated in another post last night it was after 9. I believe the noise pollution would definately come into affect then. Plus I'm not sure if there is a time on it because if a car or house alarm is going off at any time of the day you can still be prosecuted for noise pollution.

If a kid tries to sue for climbing a wall and injuring himself trying to retrieve a ball then likewise a case could be brought for tresspass.

Let just get one thing straight I have no problem with the kids playing I never once stated that I did, I even said the kids are out in the field and the noise doesnt bother me. My concern is for my dog and damage to the house. Nad I do believe that is a a valid reason to be concerned

when your windows get smashed at halloween, you'll probably know the reasons.

Just to clarify MY issue was that I live on a small road and there was about 20 teenagers, who don't live on the road screaming and shouting. I'd had a bad day and a headache at the time so it was just pi$$ing me off. The funny thing is that the kids were all friends of 2 sisters who's dad used to call the cops on EVERYBODY until his kids their teens!!! :D I don't have a problem with them playing footie etc - as long as the ball isn't smacking off our car or my precious bike. If the ball comes over the back fence I usually just shout over are they looking for a foorball and then throw it over to them...

Chalk wrote:
    damage to your house from a football?
    is it made of cardboard?

fair enough the hockey puck , hit hard enough and going straight at its head could injure a dog, but the kid would have to get into your garden to perform this shot.

i dont see how your not being uptight about this.

the kid'll get some friends and move into the filed at some point ;)

You ever see a ball go through a window?? There are 3 on the side of the house plus brain pipes and sewarage pipes. The hockey puck is a hockey ball? accidents happen and he wouldnt need to be in the garden to hit the dog.

Who siad he is playing against the wall on his own??? I didnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Keano_sli

I have a great idea, don't live in an estate! :D

Ciaran_Dub wrote:
    Who siad he is playing against the wall on his own??? I didnt.

you did when you said there was "a kid" who kicked his ball against your wall ... never mentioned anything about there being a group.

in all my years of playing football against walls, in gardens and on the street ive never seen a window smashed,
    and that was in the old days with single layer cheapo glass in wooden frames,
    none of this pvc double glazing ;)

fair enough, i was thinking of how pucks travel, maybe the dog could be injured by a hickey ball, [never seen one that wasnt a light piece of plastic] but id be more worried about the windows by that.

it was brought up a few times that if he wasnt on his own hed play in a field and you never disc-credited the argument.

Cactus Col wrote:
    when your windows get smashed at halloween, you'll probably know the reasons.

Explain???? what exaclty have I dont wrong so far but warned the kid to be more careful and not run around to get the ball every time he kicks it ouver. trust me I could be a bigger asshole about it if I wanted to be. ie next time he wants his ball back get his parents to come around for it?

Also Cajun I think it was urself that said since when is it illegal to play in an estate? its not but it is illegal to play on a public highway ie the road itself. Might be getting pedantic but its true.

Cactus I apologise I did say a kid but there are times he is there with his sister or older brother aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

Damage to the house?....... ffs
    They are kids.

Ciaran_Dub wrote:
    Explain???? what exaclty have I dont wrong so far but warned the kid to be more careful and not run around to get the ball every time he kicks it ouver. trust me I could be a bigger asshole about it if I wanted to be. ie next time he wants his ball back get his parents to come around for it?

sorry read it as if you were thinking about reporting the kid for noise pollution, and coming down harder.

but come on, we used to go down the side of the road as kids all the time, an advantage to playing (as a group) against the side of a wall is that you don't have to running after the ball every 5 minutes as a goal is scored.

we had a field close by, but didn't usually go there when we were just having a game of heads and volleys or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

When I was a kid we had a person in the neighbourhood from hell. We would play "Curbsies" or "Squares" (Don't ask me to explain). Anyway the ball would occasionally go into their front garden. They have a small wall and just grass (cut really short). You could walk in no problem and get the ball.

For some unknown reason one day they came out when the ball went into the garden and stuck a knife in it and then kept it. So at the time the parents were around to complain (not mine). They kept this up a lot until finally we moved one door down. Then the fun started.

They would sit outside on their wall and if a ball even wandered by onto the curb outside the house in it would go and get flattened. Shower of muppets. Add to that they were getting annoyed people cycling by their house on the curb that they built (I am not kidding) a moat. A huge ditch in the driveway part that required planks for them to get the car out. For everyone else walking by had to go onto the road (cul-de-sac so not a big issue).

Things came to a head when the next door neighbour was cleaning the car and the neighbours told him to stop it as some water was coming into their garden. He told them to F'off and proceeded to spray the car in such a way it drowned the muppets complaining to him. He went in to get something only to hear the neighbours mother kicking the crap out of the back door so he went upstairs and proceeded to dump a whole basin of water on her. It was hilarious.

She then went and had him charged for assault, which was as far as the rumour goes went against her. She got done for criminal damage and he couldn't be charged for assault because she was on his property when she was drowned.

No prob Cactus, I would never report a kid for something like that in a million years. Certainly dont want to be seen as the grumpy neighbours or cause an arguement with our neighbours we get on very well with next door and two doors up but they agree with us it would drive them mad. all I want to do is protect my property which includes my dog and I think that is fair.