Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got Played, feeling bitter towards women

• 13-02-2005 02:33AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Well, ive never been a player myself. I suppose thats what made me an easy target for this muppet. She played me anyway, ill tell you how if you want but for the moment ill just say what my issue is.

I suppose even though it was a ****ty feeling being played I still have to admit, Im better for it, am alot wiser now to things, but at the same time I'm having massive time fighting the resentment towards modern women that has allways lurked in me.

Yeah ok, Im a very Politicaly correct kinda guy most of the time, **** that now though, stereotyping, generalising incomming....

Ive never had a problem pulling women in nightclubs, i figure it was my looks that helped and my confidence. Im not charismatic so it must be these.
    I have great confidence because I quickly learned to key to getting confidence. Fake it, and fake it well, when you see its results it creates real confidence.

Anyway, Ive allways found I could never convince or simply appeal to women for more than a one-night stand or shagbuddies. Reason Ive learned now...

I know what women are attracted to and seriously yes im getting up on my high horse, and its shallow **** and I dont like it.

Money.
    High social status / power.
    Demand.

Money: Self explanatory, how much will you spend on them = plus points.
    High Social status / power: Gives the girl the extra look-at-me factor, more attention.
    Demand: Is this guy in demand from other women? Yes = Plus points. Is he also turning down other women? Yes = Plus points. Reason, girl is the-**** if she gets him, ect...

Things they say they care about but dont actually give a **** about.

Honesty
    Intelligence
    Looks
    Personality

Thats kinda fair enough, but if thats the case **** off I wouldnt be caught dead with a girl like that. But the fact is, I have yet to meet a woman these days who isnt like this, who isnt self obssesed.

I come from a good family who I believe were raised well, Im a decent guy, but when you start seeing your sister turning into one of these you realise its just the new trend.

The crap you were tought as a kid, that all girls fantasised about their wedding day because they were such romantics and devoted to relationships ect..
    Crap, its a fecking massive "look at me" day for her.

So Ive decided enough is enough, I wont have anything to do with these women. Ive told my mates this and they agree with me, except to the part where it concerns not bothering with them anymore, they say "thats women these days man, like it or lump it". So thats it, Im holding out for a woman that wants to be with me, becuase she wants to be with me. Not because of how pretty she will feel because shes with me, not because of the extra attention she will get because she is with me and not for the money that will be spent on her because shes with me.

Are there any women who are like that actually out there?

Another thing that bothers me is the lads. Every guy I talk to about this agrees with me, and they dont like it, but they still dont do anything about it, because they think itll hinder their chances of scoring.

Why is that? Because women have this massive power at the moment in terms of relationships, lads blindly step up and await to be picked, even though half of my friends who have girlfriends are way to good for them.

And for some reason I feel compelled to say this to any women who read this post. Just because you might be good looking doesnt entitle you to ****.

Personality matters.

-end rant-

I hope you could understand my issue in that rant, I get carried away easily :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

So, in essence, people are stupid. Yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Don't give up hope man, there are definitly less materialistic, more deep chicks out there... although you probably won't find them slutting it up in nightclubs píssed out of their heads. (wild generalisation I know, but when in Rome... ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I play girls just like your sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Big Ears

cheesedude wrote:
    I play girls just like your sister.

who knows you could have played his sister :eek: .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭loup

Could I suggest you look for these women, NOT in nightclubs, but through shared interest clubs eg. paintballing club, night class etc? I know it sounds mad but it really works! I met my hubby through college...

Most of my friends met their partners at family events (eg weddings), college, or through dating services (Maybe Friends.com..2 of my friends met their partners here).

Believe me I KNOW the type you are talking about but there are a lot of us nice gals out there!! Honestly! Don't give up hope, you sound like a nice bloke but meeting women for a long term relationship is not likely to happen in a nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

Aww, poor little boy :D Getting screwed over by one girl doesn't really entitle you to tar all single women with the same brush. Have to admit, while reading your post the thought "does the term "you reap what you sow" mean anything to this guy?" Not trying to start a flamewar here, but sort of bragging about your looks and your luck in scoring followed by a ill-thought out "Women are eeeevillll!!!1" theory makes me think that you were a smidge more influenced by alcohol and sexual frustration than sociological circumstances and er.. what are those things called? Oh yes. Facts.

Anyway, I can only speak for myself, and with regards to your theory of what's important/not important to women, I must disagree and here is why...

Money?
    Personally speaking, I was going out (briefly) with a guy who could only talk about his outward displays of wealth (his clothes, his car, his huge penthouse apartment, his stocks, his holidays). Not only was I bored to the back teeth listening to him, but I also felt a bit sorry for him - yes, he worked damn hard and had earned these luxuries, but they were all the poor sap could talk about. I was unimpressed. Boasting and bragging aren't the way to this gal's heart ;)

High Status?
    I'm not sure if I understand this correctly. Could you elaborate a little?

Demand?
    Yes, nothing better to bring the worst parts of my personality out than a gang of girls chasing after "my" bloke! :rolleyes:

As for the things you claim women don't care about (honesty, intelligence
    looks, personality) - again, don't tar all of us with the same brush... although it has to be said that I'd rate looks higher than third place though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭anna20

dont feel bad!from a female perspective i agree, there are girls like that BUT its the same for us. there are plenty of guys that are only interested with the image that they will portray if they are seen with a certain type of girl.ur best bet is to just be patient, a girl will come your way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 3cups

Is it at all possible that this woman you "pulled" based on your good looks and apparent confidence spent a while with you and found out underneath you were really a whiny boring ****, even if you may not think so yourself, and thus legged it as far away as she could? Of course then you'd be looking to offset this feeling and hence come up with the "being played" angle.

Face up man, you may not be the catch you seem to think you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Ok let me get this straight ... you pulled a girl in a night club and now you are bitter about the fact that is didn't turn into a relationship? Sorry, but WTF?

How exactly did she "play" you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭tck

Empatia wrote:
    Well, ive never been a player myself. I suppose thats what made me an easy target for this muppet. She played me anyway, ill tell you how if you want but for the moment ill just say what my issue is.

I suppose even though it was a ****ty feeling being played I still have to admit, Im better for it, am alot wiser now to things, but at the same time I'm having massive time fighting the resentment towards modern women that has allways lurked in me.

Yeah ok, Im a very Politicaly correct kinda guy most of the time, **** that now though, stereotyping, generalising incomming....

Ive never had a problem pulling women in nightclubs, i figure it was my looks that helped and my confidence. Im not charismatic so it must be these.
    I have great confidence because I quickly learned to key to getting confidence. Fake it, and fake it well, when you see its results it creates real confidence.

Anyway, Ive allways found I could never convince or simply appeal to women for more than a one-night stand or shagbuddies. Reason Ive learned now...

I know what women are attracted to and seriously yes im getting up on my high horse, and its shallow **** and I dont like it.

Money.
    High social status / power.
    Demand.

Money: Self explanatory, how much will you spend on them = plus points.
    High Social status / power: Gives the girl the extra look-at-me factor, more attention.
    Demand: Is this guy in demand from other women? Yes = Plus points. Is he also turning down other women? Yes = Plus points. Reason, girl is the-**** if she gets him, ect...

Things they say they care about but dont actually give a **** about.

Honesty
    Intelligence
    Looks
    Personality

Thats kinda fair enough, but if thats the case **** off I wouldnt be caught dead with a girl like that. But the fact is, I have yet to meet a woman these days who isnt like this, who isnt self obssesed.

I come from a good family who I believe were raised well, Im a decent guy, but when you start seeing your sister turning into one of these you realise its just the new trend.

The crap you were tought as a kid, that all girls fantasised about their wedding day because they were such romantics and devoted to relationships ect..
    Crap, its a fecking massive "look at me" day for her.

So Ive decided enough is enough, I wont have anything to do with these women. Ive told my mates this and they agree with me, except to the part where it concerns not bothering with them anymore, they say "thats women these days man, like it or lump it". So thats it, Im holding out for a woman that wants to be with me, becuase she wants to be with me. Not because of how pretty she will feel because shes with me, not because of the extra attention she will get because she is with me and not for the money that will be spent on her because shes with me.

Another thing that bothers me is the lads. Every guy I talk to about this agrees with me, and they dont like it, but they still dont do anything about it, because they think itll hinder their chances of scoring.

Why is that? Because women have this massive power at the moment in terms of relationships, lads blindly step up and await to be picked, even though half of my friends who have girlfriends are way to good for them.

And for some reason I feel compelled to say this to any women who read this post. Just because you might be good looking doesnt entitle you to ****.

Personality matters.

-end rant-

I hope you could understand my issue in that rant, I get carried away easily :p

http://www.intellectualwhores.com/masterladder.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Empatia wrote:
    Well, ive never been a player myself.
    Ive never had a problem pulling women in nightclubs,

Anyway, Ive allways found I could never convince or simply appeal to women for more than a one-night stand or shagbuddies
    Riiiiight....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

This is just a bitter rant at being fooked over by a girl, and your entitled to it!!
    We've all been there man, but im a firm believer in what comes around goes around (call it Karma or whatever), but you'll be back to your best form, and with anyluck, she'll get fooked over big time! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Women don't value looks?? Man you are not thinking straight. Women are human and just as suspectible to sucumbing to looks as guys are, it's just that fewer guys give a **** about what they look like than women. You are bitter, fair enough, but look at it this way, alot of men have huge amounts of trouble pulling in the first place, so you are alot better off than some people I know.

And personally i consider pulling at a club as looking for a one night stand and not a search for a long term relationship.

If you want to whine then fair enough, but please don't rant about how your looks aren't helping you to get a relationship. It's just not seemly... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Sure, a lot of modern women fall into the "cars and money" category. They're called bitches and they've been around forever and always will be. Same as the type of guy who wants to have a relationship with Pamela Anderson (or as close as he can get). These type of people deserve each other and their mid-thirties divorces so as far as I'm concerned they're welcome to each other.

On the other hand, you have nice people. Women who want a decent looking, fun to be with guy and guy's who want the same in a woman. To anyone in this category financial security etc are only a small part of the overall package. The girl I'm currently seeing earns over twice what I do, has a nice apartment whilst I live in a pretty dingy house-share but she doesn't seem concerned by this so I'm not going to be either.

People are people, some are nice, some are bitches, some are bastards and like Sarky pointed out: most are stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭TattyTeddy

I totally don't agree with you man. I think you're feeling pretty angry about this girl who played you. Seeing as you were quite stereotypical, I'm going to be stereotypical too. You seem to me to be one of those jock blokes I see ten a dozen of up in college every day. Brimming with "confidence" and "manliness". If this is true, then it's a damned true fact that you hook up with the turbo sunbed, shovelled make uped "girls" who I also see ten a dozen of in college. I really don't believe that women only care about money demand etc coz it's simply not true, you and your friends are simply after shallow girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

Empatia wrote:

Yep, they're running away from you macho-'confident'-types as fast as they can, and not looking for true love in night clubs, of all places. You're just looking in the same places and you're going to keep meeting those same types of girls. There is, believe it or not, more to life than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Doodee

Playa, Hold meh Down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Empatia

wow ok, have to clear up a few missunderstandings before I go on.

First off, Im not one of those macho blokes at ALL, im not built and im not skinny if you know what I mean.

With regards to my looks, I never said I was the **** because I know Im not. Im not tall, im not built, I just have a pleasent face.

Pulling women in nightclubs doesnt mean your a player.. let me elaborate why.
    I said I never had trouble pulling women, that is to say this much..
    I was average when it came to pulling in nightclubs.
    And no i never used chat up lines, infact! Fact! The women I ended up pulling from nightclubs were allways people I had known before hand and went out with them to the nightclub, or women who showed just as much interest in me.

And yes maybe foolish of me, but I did expect more than one-night stands from women i pulled in nightclubs. A bit niave maybe.

vibrant wrote:
    Aww, poor little boy :D Getting screwed over by one girl doesn't really entitle you to tar all single women with the same brush.

High Status?
    I'm not sure if I understand this correctly. Could you elaborate a little?

Ok first off getting screwed by this one girl, and infact she didnt even play me bad just the usual "lead you on, bring you out, kiss other blokes infront of me, follow me home, tease, just-be-friends speach, rinse repeat". What led me to finally confess was that this is girl who even confesses in confidence to her girly friends that she is a player, is friggin exactly the same as most of the other women in the country, the only difference is she is atleast honest to herself about her shallowness.

High Status: Well lets face it, part of the charm in those movie star blokes girls like is that they are seen on TV, and Oooo youd get to be seen there with him. Too a lesser degree the popular guy in college, ect everyone knows him and likes him, so hes allways around people, so your allways seen, plus you must be the-**** to have caught him.

Confidence is such a bull**** buzz word that floats around at the moment, like all those young marketing students in america constently going on about their ambition with the blue shirts with white cuffs and collars.

Its misrepresented the whole time.

Young Lads who in general have very little confidence generally think they can fake it by acting bravado.
    That is not confidence.

When I say I have good confidence, it just means that Im not shy and would walk up to a girl in college and ask her out.

And its more driven by the fear of regret in the future than some massive value I have for myself.

Worthwhile relationships aren't common in someone's life. You need to be patient and wait.

Don't stress yourself out over not being in a relationship at the moment, or not having something more with someone you met and were with. Everyone goes through barren patches, and since you can pull women and have confidence the chances are that you'll meet someone worthwhile and have a good relationship.

There's no need to be so worried about it. As I said before there are people alot worse off than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭TattyTeddy

you bug me

TattyTeddy wrote:
    you bug me

Play nice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

Empatia wrote:
    High Status: Well lets face it, part of the charm in those movie star blokes girls like is that they are seen on TV, and Oooo youd get to be seen there with him. Too a lesser degree the popular guy in college, ect everyone knows him and likes him, so hes allways around people, so your allways seen, plus you must be the-**** to have caught him.

Dude, this could be applied to men too. If I was in a nightclub and Jordan/Abi Titmuss/Rachel Stephens/any other mens magazine cover star was in the same building, do you think I'd get a second glance?! Do you think any of the other females in the building would? ;) Same could apply for "the popular girl" in college/work/circle of friends. Sorry mister!

Finally, hopefully saying this without sounding like a complete cow... but I don't think your problem is women... I think it's the chip on your shoulder! (Sorry).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

you have some good points and i have felt like that, though some girls will see your personality as really attractive, more so than money\status, just have to find em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Empatia wrote:

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Yeah, coz you know, the [i[last[/i] movie star I dated...

Ah but sure never mind, you're among friends here:

SHE IS TEH WHOARE!! SHE DUMPETTED MEH!! ALL WIMMIN R SCUM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

What age are you? Or what age group 'women' are you targeting?

I'm young (under 20) and im lucky enough I guess ive had a gf for the past year and I got with her when I had pretty much nothing.

Now im working for a successful company, so for my age im pretty well off. I have a flashy car, a motor-bike and a speedboat and most of the girls I meet already know about my posessions before they even know me and it instantly attracts them to me. It makes me sick. They always say "oh your the fella that has the car, etc..."

Oh god im so lucky that I have a gf who wants me for me.

-End semi rant- :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

gee, you fancied a chick and she didnt fancy you back.
    tough luck.

yeah, you got real played there fella.

oh, and then you moaned on PI about it to make yourself feel better. hey, if you want in intellectual girl and dont give a toss about looks, why dont you head on down to weightwatchers and pick up a fatty. its stistically proven that 9 out of 10 fat chicks are in mensa, while only 1 in 500 birds with with slim waists can make the grade.

last thing you want is to be called shallow after a rant like that, so best get your glad rags on, buy a couple of packets of jaffa cakes and a choco roll, and nip out an get yourself a non-playing chick.

and who says i cant be helpful?

You never gave him a location to obtain the said cakes

tesco.

4 packs for 1.50

now theres value!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Man, you're never gonna find a great chick with that attitude.

If it makes you feel better, my husband earns a meagre wage working for a charity...and I still think he's hot. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Oh Please!!! Get over yourself!! Are you this annoying in real life??? No seriously, has it ever occurred to you that you're attracting this type of girl because your behavior & the image that you're giving of yourself to other people????? I mean what normal guy(that normal down to earth girls would be interested in) keeps going on about their looks & what social status they have??? You must really only still be in collage! God help you when you get into the real world! I don't mean to be thoughtless, but you really are giving the impression that you're causing this yourself! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

My gf met me when I had no money at all, 3 years later and I'm not earning very much but we're about 10 million times closer than we were. I love her for her, and she for me! I dont have much money and I'm not hugely confident. BUT I am friendly and open and genuinely care about people... This nice guys come last thing is a crappy attitude, you're going to meet a lot of idiots out there, move on, you're doing ok, they'll still be idiots tomorrow.

Ross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

here here!

still, bet she wouldn't say no to diamonds! ;~)

all women have the potential to be nice & they all have the potential to be nasty as$ biches, it's usually down to the vibe they're getting from you that decides how they're gonna be!

here here!

still, bet she wouldn't say no to diamonds! ;~)

all women have the potential to be nice & they all have the potential to be nasty as$ biches, it's usually down to the vibe they're getting from you that decides how they're gonna be!

yes, just say no to ho's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Geez, if you hate all woman so much why don't you do us all a favour and become a hermit?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

could we all get back to the topic of this thread please
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Empatia

decided to reply this post now since Ive had loads of time to think.

Everything im about to say is that sort of thing EVERYONE allways tells you yet for some reason you seem to ignore it.

Its true about life, you dont realise when your on a high till your comming down, and you dont realise your on a low till your comming out of it...

I still stand by theories on what girls are attracted to, but for difirent reasons..

Money for example, for some women obviously it will be so they can shower themselves in gifts, for most though its probably because its a sign of a succesful male & no need to worry finacially.

I get it all now though. I was playing the nice-guy walk-all-over-me-please act the whole time, because I felt compelled to please everyone I met. Thats not to say now though that I deliberately infuriate people now.

Ive allways had confidence, because (while retaining any shred of modesty I can) know Im a good-looking bloke. And just as men make the mistake of thinking that women are attracted to their looks because we are attracted to theirs.

To coin a cliqué, Im just being myself now. I wont take crap anymore. Ive lost all bitterness towards women / people in general.

Despite comming to my senses and comming out of my rantings. I still feel the need to retort to some of you because I really think I hit some bare nerves.

tough luck.

You have no clue. She was interested in me, but I played the 'such a nice bloke act', she realised this wasnt what she was after which is fair enough and i cant blame her, but instead of being decent and just being honest or atleast just disappearing, she decided to gain from it, by trying to mess around with my head, see what she could get me to do, luckly due to my sometimes stubborn nature to do things that I cant reason to myself alot of what she wanted me to do, I never did, but not because I realised she was trying to play me, because i think alot about everythin.
    ravenhead wrote:
    Oh Please!!! Get over yourself!! Are you this annoying in real life??? No seriously, has it ever occurred to you that you're attracting this type of girl because your behavior & the image that you're giving of yourself to other people????? I mean what normal guy(that normal down to earth girls would be interested in) keeps going on about their looks & what social status they have???

I mentioned these things once, maybe twice in the whole thread which was dedicated to this type of discussion, please tell me you are not so niave as to believe everything that is said in this thread by me is all that occupies my mind. I get the feeling your just trying to backlash for any guilt you have of posibly being a bitch yourself.
    LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Yeah, coz you know, the [i[last[/i] movie star I dated...

Ah but sure never mind, you're among friends here:

SHE IS TEH WHOARE!! SHE DUMPETTED MEH!! ALL WIMMIN R SCUM!

Are you honestly saying that the fact that movie stars are so in the spot-light is not an attractive feature of them? waffle.

I did tar all women with the same brush and I agree that was un "PC" of me, but its in a sense quite true, players and normal women alike go for the same things in men, but for difirent reasons. Im sorry you might feel guilty about this, but its normal.
    TattyTeddy wrote:
    you bug me

Good arguement, I tried but couldnt come up with any defense.
    loup wrote:
    Could I suggest you look for these women, NOT in nightclubs, but through shared interest clubs eg. paintballing club, night class etc? I know it sounds mad but it really works! I met my hubby through college...

"To see what is in front of one's nose needs a constant struggle.." - George Orwell

So true, Thanks loup, I dont now how its possible but its so obvious, nightclubs are a bad spot to go looking for a decent relationship, people go there for fun ect. Feel embarrased needing someone to have told me this despite it being so obvious.

3cups wrote:
    Is it at all possible that this woman you "pulled" based on your good looks and apparent confidence spent a while with you and found out underneath you were really a whiny boring ****, even if you may not think so yourself, and thus legged it as far away as she could? Of course then you'd be looking to offset this feeling and hence come up with the "being played" angle.

Face up man, you may not be the catch you seem to think you are.

Youve hit the nail on the head there, but in the wrong context. Of course it was something I was giving off to these women. Im not a whingy borring git like you say but it was the whole "walk all over me please" attitude and some of the other "nice guy" (nothing really nice about them just massively inoffensive and dull really) traits.

But your wrong with the second part, and I am the catch I think I am, I just felt the need to go all Dr. Phil on people because I taught it was what they liked. I started doing stuff like trying to be so emtionally invovled and open, while repressing and downplaying my physical needs ect..

I dont mind being myself now though, Im a man ffs, of course I give more of a **** about sex than emtional stuff :P
    azezil wrote:
    Empatia wrote:
    Well, ive never been a player myself.
    Empatia wrote:
    Ive never had a problem pulling women in nightclubs,

Anyway, Ive allways found I could never convince or simply appeal to women for more than a one-night stand or shagbuddies

Riiiiight....

I see your point, but being able to pull women in a nightclub doesnt count as a player to me, it was never my intention to use these women for sex and then run a mile.
    claire h wrote:
    Yep, they're running away from you macho-'confident'-types as fast as they can, and not looking for true love in night clubs, of all places. You're just looking in the same places and you're going to keep meeting those same types of girls. There is, believe it or not, more to life than that.

Hmm, I see your point, but what do you mean by macho-'confident'-types?
    Im confident, im not macho but im not afraid of being hurt, I dont pick fights ever or anything.
    Im NEVER drunk! I never had a massive appeal to drink loads when I go out.
    I dont drive a punto with a racing stripe and 40foot alloys.

Anyway thanks for readin and replying to my thread, even if it was just to slag me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Lets face it, we all grew up with our parents jokingly telling our sister to find some ricj fella and settle down with him..

Regarding what the original poster is complaining about. Women have just as much right to do it as men do. However, the problem us guys have is that traditionally women have not behaved this way and we dont expect women to behave the way we do .. And now that we are relising that they are well able to do it, we are not one big happy..

While the attributes some men associate with a "good" woman may be looks, breast size, ability to wear a mini skirt, sunction power of her mouth and so on, some women associate power, confidence, nice car and so on as necessary attributes for a "good" man.. It is important to realise that these preference svary for everyone. Alot of women are certainly becoming as shallow as alot of us men..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Women are people, and as such, a lot of them are, like men, clowns. Every now or then some clown's gonna rip you off, be it by doing the dirt, stealing your car, rat you up to the pigs, wharever.

So say if one of your mates grassed you up, would you abstain from establishing friendships with others and encourage others to do so until you feel the world had learned a valuable lesson from missing the pleasure of your company? Cos man, that's clown talk, ok, some bitch fecked you over, raw deal buddy, don't deny yourself a chance to build bridges and establish new friendships/relationships, just slash her tyres/spray her with a pee filled super solker and be done with her.

Clowns piss me off bigstyle too, but you can't hide under the bed every time the circus comes to town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

Spacedog wrote:
    Women are people, and as such, a lot of them are, like men, clowns. Every now or then some clown's gonna rip you off, be it by doing the dirt, stealing your car, rat you up to the pigs, wharever.

So say if one of your mates grassed you up, would you abstain from establishing friendships with others and encourage others to do so until you feel the world had learned a valuable lesson from missing the pleasure of your company? Cos man, that's clown talk, ok, some bitch fecked you over, raw deal buddy, don't deny yourself a chance to build bridges and establish new friendships/relationships, just slash her tyres/spray her with a pee filled super solker and be done with her.

Clowns piss me off bigstyle too, but you can't hide under the bed every time the circus comes to town.

Spacedog is wiser than Mr. Myagi, Confucious and Cain from Kung Fu all rolled into one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

so you went to a meat market and got treated like a steak? WOW! never saw that coming.

it's a playground out there in 'clubland' and if you're tere you're either there to be a player or a playee.

now you've been both.

maybe it'll shake you up a little and teach you to treat women with more respect in the future.

of course, if you're after more than a player/playee relationship then you need to look elsewhere.

but if you go elsewhere with THAT attitude then you're going to get nowhere. treating a woman a certain way because of what the last one did is a sure fire way of never having a happy long term relationship as long as you live.

treat every woman like she's the first. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

You met a bitch, wow, well that has never happened anyone else before.

Everyone will meet a bitch/bastard in their time, and that is what it is all about. We are not living in the days when you meet someone for the first time and then it's wedding bells, it just isn't like that. After the first encounter with such a person you learn to recognise them and then weed them out of your life, be they a potential friend, gf or bf. It looks to me that you have only just figured out any of this. Thing is though that these kind of people have been around for quite some time, you just decided to plain ignore them.

I've met my fair share of bastards (yes, men aren't perfect, this may shock you, take a breath :p ) and have learnt to weed them out of my life quite effectively. I have learnt from my mistakes and will continue to do so, and so too, I hope, will you.

All men aren't bastards and all women aren't biches.

People ain't perfect, go figure.

A.

'the road to perfection is recognising our own faults'.

i think our original poster could learn from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

perhaps Spacedogs post isint the most elegently worded post I've ever read. But the points are spot on.

"Clowns piss me off bigstyle too, but you can't hide under the bed every time the circus comes to town" -- Genius

Empatia wrote:
    I mentioned these things once, maybe twice in the whole thread which was dedicated to this type of discussion, please tell me you are not so niave as to believe everything that is said in this thread by me is all that occupies my mind. I get the feeling your just trying to backlash for any guilt you have of posibly being a bitch yourself.
    I just had to reply to this - going back over you're first post, YOU talked about what woman are supposedly interested in when it comes to fellas & had no problem admitting - in a number of different ways that you had all these things - the social status comment being my own personal favourite! In posts like these you are giving people a small view of what you are like - I didn't say that YOUREGreat looks & money :rolleyes: were the only things that occupy your mind - but besides the fact that you got ditched by this girl, there really wasn't anything else in youre post except all that info ... I personally couldn't care what you think of me (ie the bitch statement - must have hit a nerve did i??) but honestly talking from a girls point of view, if you go around thinking that girls are only interested in what you have (money,looks etc) then you're going to attract dimwitts that are only after you for these things - women can pick up on what kind of man you are & from you're post you seem very materialistic which i personally find a huge turn off ... & if you want a girl that's worth being with you're going to have to get over thinking like that - there's no point having money & nice things if you've got no one to share them with .........

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Empatia wrote:
    Money for example, for some women obviously it will be so they can shower themselves in gifts, for most though its probably because its a sign of a succesful male & no need to worry finacially

lol
    I certainly hope you do not think that all women are like this?
    if you do, you are sorely mistaken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭MizzKattt

Most people base attraction on similar values although with varying degrees of percentages.

The basics values are:
    *Intelligence
    *Ethics
    *Personality
    *Appearance
    *Similar Hobbies
    *Misc. (Money, Cars, Job, Popularity, etc.)

A more helpful way to find a better match may be to change the percentage of the values you are looking for. As WhiteWashMan so eloquently put it:
    if you want in intellectual girl and dont give a toss about looks, why dont you head on down to weightwatchers and pick up a fatty. its stistically proven that 9 out of 10 fat chicks are in mensa, while only 1 in 500 birds with with slim waists can make the grade.
    If you really want to date a quality girl on the inside, are you willing to trivialize her quality on the outside? You may not always have to. Still, it is easier to find someone to appreciate you more that do not give a whim to superficial trappings.

What percentages of values do you think the ladies you are normally attracted to have?

Beruthiel wrote:
    lol
    I certainly hope you do not think that all women are like this?
    if you do, you are sorely mistaken

well, he did get played remember.

somehow i think we got a little bit of a biased side to the whole story, and as such, it should be taken with a pinch of salt.

Lets face it, we all grew up with our parents jokingly telling our sister to find some ricj fella and settle down with him.

yeah, but in all fairness, you have to let go of the apron strings eventually and start thinking for yourself. no, seriously.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by WhiteWashMan
    tough luck.

You have no clue. She was interested in me, but I played the 'such a nice bloke act', she realised this wasnt what she was after which is fair enough and i cant blame her, but instead of being decent and just being honest or atleast just disappearing, she decided to gain from it, by trying to mess around with my head, see what she could get me to do, luckly due to my sometimes stubborn nature to do things that I cant reason to myself alot of what she wanted me to do, I never did, but not because I realised she was trying to play me, because i think alot about everythin.

yeah, i bet she was laughing to herself as she pulled off the most daring cover-up since man never landed on the moon. but hey, youre the man remember.

i just dont think you are though

MizzKattt wrote:
    What percentages of values do you think the ladies you are normally attracted to have?

wrong question. most people ask the question:

what values does someone not have to have.

they do not have to be ugly.
    the do not have to have be a millionaire.
    they do not have to be a porn star.

in other words, most people dont have a list of criteria, so when they see someone that has a list, people often percieve it as threatening.
    for one simple reason.

if we all had a list of criteria, wed all be single. there would only be .05% of women in the world who would fit into it. that leaves 995 out of 1000 women without a chance of going out with me.
    people feel threatened, not that they would ever want to go out with me, but that they dont get the chance to turn me down.
    so suddenly i have a list, minding my own business, and suddenly, im vain and selfish and up my own arse, and shallow, because i wont go out with you.

as to what i think most women want?
    honesty
    a nice arse,
    any sort of sense of humour,
    knowledge of the clitorus
    the ability to hold a conversation
    the ability to remember a simple date (birthday)
    the ability to buy your own round.

what would women prefer if they could have it?
    ahh, who knows, people have different preferences.
    probably the above list, but more-ish....

as to what i think most women want?
    honesty
    a nice arse,
    any sort of sense of humour,
    knowledge of the clitorus
    the ability to hold a conversation
    the ability to remember a simple date (birthday)
    the ability to buy your own round.

what would women prefer if they could have it?
    ahh, who knows, people have different preferences.
    probably the above list, but more-ish....

Whitewashman you're list couldn't be more right!!! Are you really a woman????? :p:p