Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

off road rc

• 09-02-2005 5:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

hi , any one out there with large scale- 1/4 or 1/5 scale off roaders? where do you drive them?
    i bring my 1/4 scale off roader to the pheonex park or dollymount strand, great places to drive, frightens the hell out of people. would be better to race another off roader tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Any pics - I don't quite know what type of vehicle you are referring to :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 mannurse

no pics as of yet. it is a large scale off road rc buggy , like the fg marder but about 1 metre long. it has a very powerfull 32 cc two stroke engine. i'm going to put 8 inch jumbo kong wheels on it to make it like the fg monster truck. this thing is great.

• Site Banned Posts: 313 ✭✭revo

ive got a traxxas revo and looking to go out with sumone as it gets boring going up and down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 mannurse

if you life on the north side bring it down to dollymount strand on sunday mornings. its a great place to drive off roaders. thats when i usually head down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Any one around the kilkenny area with a off road rc truck I own a t-maxx and still didn,t break it in yet, i,ll be doing that on saturday hopefully. My freind has a cen st2 and he is having good sport with it. Im just saying that if anyone with an off roader are around kilkenny drop us a line. Might be able to go to the local skatepark and drive it there becouse there are nice vert walls and big quater pipes. :D

Darren_______Kilkenny

• Site Banned Posts: 313 ✭✭revo

hey im on the northside. just at fairview actually. would love to meet up with a few people but a sunday is brutal for me unless i have a good bit of notice. add me to msn if use have it revo2008PUTTHE@SIGNINSTEADOFTHISHEREhotmail.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

I've just bought an FG Marder. I'll be using it on the Curragh in Co. Kildare. Anyone wanna join me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

based in Tallaght here, got a savage/rush evo/carson stormracer/rs4 nitro looking for anyone nearby who's in to going out just for a bash around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

hey i got a stormracer 2 aswell and lookin for somewhere to bash and someone to bash with too :) i am in the north kiladare area but i am basicly sitting on the border of meath and dublin ;-/tallus wannna bash the buggs' ( i will never say that again, i promise) osme time?

lol anytime matey :-) seriously I'd love to

you dont mind bein there with a 13 year old do ya? yes i am probly younger than most if not all yas here :( / :) meh my bro will be there too if we do go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Flunked wrote:
    you dont mind bein there with a 13

Why should age matter ?
    I race touring cars every week with guys as young as 13... :cool:
    and you can add on at least 30 years to their age to come near mine..
    And I still think it is great fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

vectra wrote:
    Why should age matter ?
    I race touring cars every week with guys as young as 13... :cool:
    and you can add on at least 30 years to their age to come near mine..
    And I still think it is great fun :D

Aye, I was flying pattern ships and got my A cert at 13, age doesn't have any bearing on how you can pilot a model. Anyone who wouldn't race you because you're young, should be forgotten about anyway. :)

yah i was thinking they mighnt wanna go bashing with me cause i am young but meh :)

not at all hahah I'm 40 and getting younger by the year, my neighbours are slagging me all the time because I am alwys out bashng the cars around. Reliving my youth.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

tallus wrote:
    ..... my neighbours are slagging me all the time because I am alwys out bashng the cars around. Reliving my youth.

Not "reliving your youth" ....RC is "extending your youth" :p

coolwings wrote:

My thoughts exactly..:D

Well Tallus..
    at 40 you can still ad a few to that to equal my age and am enjoying this hobby to the full :D

Seems to be a good bit of interest in this thread. So how about we organise a meet somewhere? Looks like there would be a good few up for it!!!

coolwings wrote:
    excellent :-) I love that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Anyone into 1/10 electric buggies??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭mugenextreme

got a 1/10 hpi savage i want to get some use out of so if you guys plan on meeting up i am in .

hmm My savage is 1/8th :P

The Doktor wrote:
    Anyone into 1/10 electric buggies??

I have a Losi xxx that I dont use anymore if anyone is interested in making me a half decent offer for it.
    The back end needs to be re-assembled. I just dont have the time nor the interest...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭mugenextreme

oops dont know why i wrote 1/10 . its a 1/8 savage.

vectra if its a monster truck nitro powered lots of spares and cheap priced just remember me :P
    I wont be out with mine for a good while, ran out of range the buggy just got faster and faster by itself then turned and i feel like crying with the mess of the car it made!!!!!! anyone know where i can get a whole new front left area? and axel?

try Green Hobby and model, I did the same to mine a few weeks back. got spares, but think I only got the one left suspension bit :P if I find i have another one by all means you can have it.

Flunked wrote:
    vectra if its a monster truck nitro powered lots of spares and cheap priced just remember me :P
    I wont be out with mine for a good while, ran out of range the buggy just got faster and faster by itself then turned and i feel like crying with the mess of the car it made!!!!!! anyone know where i can get a whole new front left area? and axel?

So much for fitting a failsafe then :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭ViperGTS

Ok lads, someone has got to put their foot down. Are we gonna have a get together/bashing session? My JATO needs some buddies. I'm on the North side of Dublion so I an access most places. Any one up for it???? Ideas for dates/times and places need to be offered up

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 .B.R.

I really think we should get a meet organised, you could count me in with my maxx and my friend with his savage... I think the bmx track in marlay park is the best bet, have attached pics of it from when I was out on saturday... Am on the northside aswell, about 5mins from the track in St. Annes..
    Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Feck it, I'd love to meet up but I keep my maxx at home in Cavan :(

.B.R. wrote:
    I really think we should get a meet organised, you could count me in with my maxx and my friend with his savage... I think the bmx track in marlay park is the best bet, have attached pics of it from when I was out on saturday... Am on the northside aswell, about 5mins from the track in St. Annes..
    Brian

Bloody hell..!!
    If I had a place like that to run my trucks i would sell my leccie touring cars and stick with the M.T.'s full time .. :(

.B.R. wrote:
    Brian
    I like the look of that place, my savage would appreciate it too ;-)

would ya think buggies would be any good there? if they are, when i have repairs and a starnger steering servo and better batterys and umm..... yeah :P
    tho i really want a savage to bring there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

.B.R. wrote:
    Brian
    That track looks like it would be deadly for trucks! Was gonna make somethin similar myself at home a few monts ago when we had the lend of a digger, but the stupid digger broke down before I got the chance :(

Flunked wrote:
    would ya think buggies would be any good there? if they are, when i have repairs and a starnger steering servo and better batterys and umm..... yeah :P
    tho i really want a savage to bring there

And still no mention of a FAILSAFE...!!! :eek:

oh yeah.... one of those things im sure i could get one :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

.B.R. wrote:
    Brian

Whoah :eek: And to think im only about 3 miles from there! Must take the T-maxx outta retirement soon :D

tallus- Trust me the savage and maxx are at home out there..!:D

gs39t, I plan on going out this saturday or if not definatly saturday week with my maxx and my friends savage, so if you plan on going out drop me an email brianron@indigo.ie and maybe we could meet up..

And thats the same for everyone else the more the better.. Alot of talk about meeting up but still nothings happened, hopefully more join in on this!

Brian

Its a bit out of the way for me to be honest :o
    well. about 140 miles or so :rolleyes:
    Each way :eek:

I'd deffinately be up for a meet. Only thing is, I play football on a Saturday. it's not as if it's early morning either, kick off at 2 so it's more or less my day gone. I wouldn't mind a Sunday at all. Any one who's interested post available times/days and we'll def organise something. Thanx to B for gettin the Truck rolling per say.

John

Wouldnt say i can make it for a couple of weeks, but an early saturday or sunday would suit me.

How busy does it be up there anyway? And if the bmx track is in use is there anywhere else in the area we can use?

Gary

Well an early sunday would suit aswell.. The track isn't used for bmx or anything so its always free except for a couple of kids going up and down on there bikes but they always stop and watch the trucks and ask lots of questions like "how fast is does it go" :p ... Well John if your free this weekend or next we'll organise something.. Do you know how to get there?

Brian

marlay.jpg

Courtesy of google earth. Looks good! Car park right there too

sweet :-) that place looks cool

Yep, thats exactly it was going to post that picture aswell.! That google earth is great...

Anyone up for a meet in the Curragh? There is hundreds of acres of space to play in, including an old army offroad training area. Loads of hills and jumps there etc. Definately worth checking out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 325sport

id like a meet up with some of yee at some point,have to get new fuel and run in my new(2nd)t-maxx engine first though.

.B.R. wrote:
    Well John if your free this weekend or next we'll organise something.. Do you know how to get there?
    Next Sunday is pretty tempting alright. Dublin are playin this weekend so I cant make it. I've played ball out there a couple of times, have an idea. I'm not drivin at the minute so i'll be bussing it from Kilbarrack but i'll get there easy enough.

Thinking bout heading up to parnell aswell myself.. Who do ya play ball for? Well sunday week would suit aswell say around 11 in the morning?
    Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭no leaf clover

love that place once i get pullstart refitted to my savage will head out with my cousin, let ye no and cud have a laugh!! flunked-buggys are good there, couple of ramps have little extra bit on top, -too small for trucks-just right for buggys!!