Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flashing to overtake; acceptable?

• 05-02-2005 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭

If youre doing 60mph on a reasonable road, and someone drives up your arse and starts flashing his lights, would you feel offended? I was a bit tbh, I moved in to let him past, but I still thought it was a bit rude. I know its acceptable on the continent, but Id only seen it on the autobahns.

Opinions?

Ewan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

I know its acceptable on the continent, but Id only seen it on the autobahns.
    There you go, he could have been German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭rander00

Thats doesnt happen often, least i never seen it. Maybe the person wa si na hurry or some sort of emergency. You wouldnt know.
    I wouldnt be offended. Just let him by, without putting urself too out of the way.

Sure let them pass, if they want to go faster thats up to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

He looked like a young lad in his Da's Nubira to be honest with you, but he could have been German. In a 00D Daewoo. Happens :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its poor manners but good drivers see "trouble" comming and get out of the way! Some folk just wont wait on the other hand some folk just wont pull out the way or pick up the pace...the last time it happened to me it was a 5 series BMW driver...hmmmmm ;) and I was going the legal max when it happened.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

If your in front, drive how you like. It's up to them to overtake you. :rolleyes:

oh.. and don't you mean 100kph? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

last time someone did that to me was on the M50.

Was doin 120Kph (jap import, so has it all in KM), the left lane (as feckin usual) was doin about 90Kph, and some A$$$hole drove up my arse and started flashing his highbeams.

So I did the courtious thing, whipped the handbrake! :) , let off a bit of smoke rather than predictable brake lights.

he dropped back then for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭mackerski

If youre doing 60mph on a reasonable road, and someone drives up your arse and starts flashing his lights, would you feel offended?

If there's a driving lane to your left with space in it, and you weren't in the process of an overtaking manoeuvre, then you shouldn't feel offended, since you should have been in the left lane already. But I don't think that's what you're describing here. Were you on a road with hard shoulder? If so, then you may move onto it to allow a driver by, but you are not obliged to do so, and your decision might reasonably be coloured by considerations of convenience (yours) or politeness (his). Oh, or safety, so if ignoring him was going to cause him to tailgate you, and you could let him by without difficulty, then it's probably the thing to do.

As to the driver's own behaviour, I'd consider it inexcusable in all cases except where you were somehow in the wrong (as in a case of failing to keep left).

Dermot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭AMurphy

Rude, maybe, maybe not.
    I see no reason to flash or be flashed if I'm crusing along a reasonable road @60 and someone wants to pass.
    However, if I were behind some mutt, that does 35~40 ont eh turns, then speeds up to 6-~65 in the straight and back to 35 again on the next bend. or if they were hogging the center of a "tight" road, I may flash them.

However, if someone comes up my rear and I'm in some turns, then starts flashing and waving hands about, etc.... I might get awkward...

However, given driving tactics in ROI, I think it is worthwhile to drive with lights on, that way you might become aware of someone behind, before they start flashing.

Sometimes when passing on a tight road, with only inches seperating wingtips, I might turn on the mains, just to insure that the driver ahead knows I'm there and not make a sudden move out into the center of the road.... it has happened. Even I'm guilty. Didn't observe a car had crept up outside me in my blind spot, while trying to tune the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I was doing 60.00mph on the 60 zone on the M50 and there was a truck on my left doing 59.99, It took me ages to overtake him but I wasn't prepared to break the speed limit and overtake him quicker for guy flashing from behind.

I also think by not letting them overtake you if you are in the right, you are making the roads generally safer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

why on earth were you trying to overtake him so?
    Its driving like this, that you think is safe just because your not breaking the speed limit that can cause a potential accident, common sense should prevail in a situation like this and an overtaking manouvre should be completed as quickly(and thus safely) as possible, or if it cannot be complted safely (quickly) then it should not be attempted.

Cormie, im sure you looked in your mirror before you pulled out to overtake the truck, and you would have seen a car approaching at a greater speed behind, would you not think to yourself that for the sake or the .01 mph an hour faster you'll be going it would have been safer to stay behind the truck and not risk an accident by overtaking in such a ridiculous way?
    cormie wrote:
    I also think by not letting them overtake you if you are in the right, you are making the roads generally safer.

I would counter that the opposite is true, are you not safer if you allow someone to overtake you when safe to do so, than have them sitting behind you building up a head of steam because you wont let them pass and the possibly risking a dangerous overtaking manouvre that could cause an accident?

I was already in the lane overtaking cars that were going 50 or so. I knew I was gaining on the truck so I had every right to stay in the overtaking lane within the speed limit and complete the overtake. I'm not going to break the limit to complete the overtake just because somebody is flashing me to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,392 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I feel flashing can be appropriate in some circumstances. It sure is not appropriate when someone is flashing you when you are overtaking at the speed limit and re-entering the driving lane as and when you safely can
    mackerski wrote:
    If there's a driving lane to your left with space in it, and you weren't in the process of an overtaking manoeuvre, then you shouldn't feel offended, since you should have been in the left lane already

The golden rule. I tend to extend this rule to accommodate anybody that might want to overtake me, if that is possible in a safe manner

Unfortunately, an Irish driver's average awareness of what is going on is extremely poor and I'm not even going into the example of the feckyes brigade :rolleyes:

Simple example: car1 is doing 60 in a 100 zone in the driving lane. Car2 is overtaking at 65. A car is driving at 100 (or at 160 for that matter - it is not up to us to pass judgement and impose a sentence, it might be a doctor, a garda or what not)

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

cormie wrote:

You'll have to back that one up with a quote from the "Rules of the Road". Otherwise we'll have to dismiss it as the BS it truly is. Go to Templemore if you want to find out how to make the roads safer (assuming they've discovered how). "Making stuff up" is one of the biggest Irish driving sins.

Dermot

Sorry if I sound ignorant, but say for example, I am doing to max limit, and somebody flashes me once to pull into the hard shoulder and if I don't they back off and continue to follow at a reasonable distance behind me keeping in the limit, is that not making the roads safer than if they were to speed off ahead?

cormie wrote:
    Sorry if I sound ignorant, but say for example, I am doing to max limit, and somebody flashes me once to pull into the hard shoulder and if I don't they back off and continue to follow at a reasonable distance behind me keeping in the limit, is that not making the roads safer than if they were to speed off ahead?

You're certainly within your rights. And I might do the same too (for different reasons). But it's by no means clear that an annoyed guy tailgating a car at 100km/h is less dangerous than a happy guy with an open road in front of him at, say, 120km/h. Now, clearly, if he's the sort of lad prone to tailgating, he may well be dangerous on an open road too - maybe he'll choose a speed that's not only illegal, but also excessive. However, he won't be dangerous to you, and that's got to count for something.

Dermot

You finally dig, cormie?

BTW - did you pass your test?

My ads on adverts.ie:

Ok, I guess it is safer for me to let him pass and carry on.

Bit of confusion meeting assessor for test. I was there at 9.50, was supposed to meet him at 10. I gave IAM my mobile number and waited till 10.40 before going home, rang them at about 10.50 and they said he was there.

They said I would have to pay again for re-test. I said I paid for a test I didn't get and asked to speak to supervisor. Supervisor rang me back and rescheduled for the 10th.

They don't give mobile numbers to assessors. Quite an unprofessional set-up really, the assessor could have at least given IAM a call and got them to call me and rang him back. I was waiting outside reception waiting on him to "Find" me. Bit of a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

Only ever happened me once. It was a huge volvo estate (aren't they all). He came up behind me flashing his lights, i had copped him further back, closing on me rapidly. My first reaction was to get a bit childish, then I said to myself oh what the hell and let him pass. As he tore by I could see a heavily pregnant woman holding onto the ceiling straps in the rear seat. So the lesson is if you are really in a hurry, get your girlfriend to stick a pillow up her jumper and sit in the back, you can drive as fast as you want, noone will report you.Seriously though, I was glad then I let him go.

That's a terrible miscommunication on your test day, cormie :(

It is stressful enough to go and do your driving test, you can do without all that sh!te. Wish you all the best for the next time!
    cormie wrote:
    Ok, I guess it is safer for me to let him pass and carry on

Indeed safer for you...

My ads on adverts.ie:

stratos wrote:
    Only ever happened me once. It was a huge volvo estate (aren't they all). He came up behind me flashing his lights, i had copped him further back, closing on me rapidly. My first reaction was to get a bit childish, then I said to myself oh what the hell and let him pass. As he tore by I could see a heavily pregnant woman holding onto the ceiling straps in the rear seat. So the lesson is if you are really in a hurry, get your girlfriend to stick a pillow up her jumper and sit in the back, you can drive as fast as you want, noone will report you.Seriously though, I was glad then I let him go.

LOL, nought for me to add to that experience :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

Thanks:) Although it's only the provisional ignition test. I wasn't a bit worried or nervous. The only thing I'm worried about is doing it in another car. I don't think that's really fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Too many Irish motorist's view driving as a competition.
    God forbid if somebody tries to overtake them, it's the "He's not getting past me - so he's not!" or "I've GOT to get in front at all costs! mentality that seems to prevail with many drivers.

And it's that very attitude that causes so many accidents !!!

Drive at a sensible speed and use common sense - if somebody wants to pass : LET THEM PASS A.S.A.P !

I used to think that flashing lights was somewhat ignorant. But many years ago I bought the (excellent!) UK 'Police Drivers Handbook' which states that 'flashing lights is often necessary to alert drivers of your presence' (and no I'm not referring to high speed police chases!).

(A lot of drivers could learn from that book, i.e. advanced driving techniques.)

Silvera.

If it is safe and legal for me to go into the left hand lane I will. However the time I mentioned above it wasn't. So I didn't break the law to do it. But if for example, I am passing a number of cars with adequate gaps between them and I am about to pass another a 50 or so metres ahead of me and I am being flashed from behind, I will pull in left, let them pass and then pull out into overtaking lane again.

It hasn't happened much, I've only driven 15K miles in my lifetime but one time it did happen I was in a situation as mentioned above, passing cars, car flashes from behind, I pull in, I pull back out, see him flash car up ahead, car up ahead doesn't move to left hand lane, so the flashing car out of nowhere starts flashing a blue garda light and the car that wouldn't budge immediately pulls in left. The car was undercover, not a marked garda car.

So I will let them passed but I won't break the limit to do so. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭John R

There are many more dangerous things to do on the road than breaking the speed limit, cormie and passing a truck ridiculously slowly is right up at the top of the list. If for any reason that truck had swerved into your path you would have been in serious trouble.

Depending on the setup of the mirrors on the truck, at some stage during your "legal" overtake you could well have been in a blind spot of the truck driver. If it was a left-hand drive truck odds on you were completely invisible for a considerable length of time meaning that the truck driver could have unknowingly pulled out on top of you.
    There was a report on just this kind of accident on one of the motoring programmes a while back, apparently with the widespread use of LHD trucks in the UK by both continental and UK truckers this is becoming a very common accident on motorways.
    I know of a number of Irish truckers that also drive LHD as they do the majority of their driving on the continent.

Having a bit of cop-on and giving some thought to your driving habits will make you a much safer and better driver than rigidly sticking to the letter of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Correct me here if I'm wrong but aren't you obliged to make room for a faster moving vehicle as long as it is safe for you to do so. It doesn't matter what speed they are doing, it is not your duty to police the roads.

Irish motorists grasp of overtaking, lefthand lanes and just sheer commonsense is shocking.

John R, you are right for sure. I never thought of the LHD aspect :o I just don't want to get nabbed by the guards :(

cormie wrote:
    so the flashing car out of nowhere starts flashing a blue garda light and the car that wouldn't budge immediately pulls in left.

I have got to get me one of those lights...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

stratos wrote:
    LMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Speaking of trucks, I notiiced that there has speed has been reduced to 80km/h (from 55mph before) and they are restricted to the LH lane of dual carriageways.

As for flashing? I don't use the hard shoulder so if I'm doing the legal limit and you are behind me, tough luck. Only exception I make is if I was pulling a trailer, had mechanical difficulties or you're an emergency vehicle. On dualers I drive on the left unless overtaking but if I overtake a line of cars and a car is doing less than the limit in the overtaking lane, I will sit behind allow a few moments for him/her to move over, then maybe flash once. If I'm forced to undertake I'll give them a blast of the horn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Do you have the SI for that BrianD? when was the 80km/h limit brought in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Automan

Hey cormie do you have a full license? You do know that it is illegal for provisional drivers to drive on the M50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭djeclips

Usually If your paying attention you'll notice cars coming up behind you and how fast they do so.If I'm driving along and someone is closing in on me i'll move over to the hard shoulder with no hesitation as long as I can see it's clear.If he/she wants to go faster who am I to stop them.Siting on the white line will only piss them off and make them take a chance at passing you.

The main thing that wrecks my head is when your in a huge que of traffic(anyone driving to dublin from kinnegad onwords will know) and that prat is sitting on your bumper,not flashing or anything,just way too close.As mentioned before about standing on the brakes,or hopping up the handbrake,Not a fan of that.Just going to end up with your pride and joy geting wrecked some day.

Bond-007 wrote:
    Do you have the SI for that BrianD? when was the 80km/h limit brought in?

It was advertised in the paper a few weeks ago. New limits for car & trailer, double decker buses and HGV's.

http://www.gometric.ie/speedlimits.html

The "rule" about HGV's using the overtaking lane was published an official notice advertisement a few weeks ago as well. Can't find any online reference to that item.

BrianD wrote:
    Speaking of trucks, [...] and they are restricted to the LH lane of dual carriageways.

Are you sure about this part? There is, and has been for a while, a law barring trucks from the innermost lane of a dual-carriageway, but it only appies where three or more lanes are available.
    BrianD wrote:
    If I'm forced to undertake I'll give them a blast of the horn!

Who's forcing you? I'm surprised that a man with a zero-tolerance for speeding should be prepared to ignore other road-traffic acts just because it suits him. Do you consider that some things are more illegal than others?

Dermot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Opinions?
    Assuming you weren't in the right-hand lane on a dual carriageway, the guy was an ignorant shyster. Some day with any luck he'll have an accident at a level crossing.

I don't tend to pull into the hard shoulder. There's too much stuff there that can do bad things to your car (a few years ago my GF managed to blow two tyres when being nice to someone and pulling in). Equally I don't complain when someone's doing thirty on a single carriageway road with a sixty limit (OK, I whinge a little but it's their right to do so until there's a law that says they can't) but when an overtaking opportunity arises I'll take it. I don't have a problem with being overtaken and I don't have a problem with overtaking. Then again I don't tend to have that inferiority complex that so many Irish motorists have and I'm always just a little disappointed when I encounter a motorist who's compensating for having a small penis or being powerless in their personal life or whatever reason people have for that "he's not passing me" thing that Silvera mentioned.

I also work on the assumption that 99% of people that drive like tossers don't have a woman in the back of the car with a heavily dilated cervix. I reckon most of them don't.

However sometimes it's better to leave a genuine road menace pass. That way when he finally takes himself out on a bad turn he won't be taking you along for the roll.

cormie wrote:
    I was doing 60.00mph on the 60 zone on the M50 and there was a truck on my left doing 59.99, It took me ages to overtake him but I wasn't prepared to break the speed limit and overtake him quicker for guy flashing from behind.

I woudl say, on a 2 lane highway/road, pass smartly. Don't make a life long task out of it. You can settle back in at 60.001 ahead of the truck/whatever.

Wrong, your are not the police force, so if someone else wants to streak by at the speed of light, it's not for your to enforce the law and you are not making the road safer, quiet the contrary.
    Just pass smartly, pull back in lane and if there are any cops about, it's fairly obvious which target will get hit first..... so much the better for you. You always need some faster idiot to draw attention.

cormie wrote:
    I was already in the lane overtaking cars that were going 50 or so. I knew I was gaining on the truck so I had every right to stay in the overtaking lane within the speed limit and complete the overtake. I'm not going to break the limit to complete the overtake just because somebody is flashing me to do so.

If there was a space (larger then your car) between the 50mph bunch and the 60mph truck, just time it so you can slot in behind the truck let the streaker past and pull out again when he is past.
    Hogging the lane, just because you are already in the lane is not good.
    OTOH, depending on spacing, relative speeds, closing rate, etc. I may not have flashed, just went about you on the "slow" lane.

cormie wrote:
    Sorry if I sound ignorant, but say for example, I am doing to max limit, and somebody flashes me once to pull into the hard shoulder .....?

I have never been flashed to pull onto the shoulder, (of a 1 lane ea way), road. However, if I get eh impression that someone is itching to get past, even without flashing, I'll pull over (assuming the shoulder is not a minefield of potholes), and let them past. I'd rather have them on someone elses tail, not mine.
    I remember one occasion in and about Kildare. stream of traffic northbound.
    Idiot behind itching to get past, so I pull onto the shoulder, did not change speed, just pulled over. Next thing, the cars ahead braked... I did'nt. Before I knew it I had passed 4~5 cars on the shoulder. Pulled back into the traffic and carried on as before..... Got rid of the itcher at least.

Silvera wrote:
    Too many Irish motorist's view driving as a competition.
    God forbid if somebody tries to overtake them, it's the "He's not getting past me - so he's not!" or "I've GOT to get in front at all costs! mentality that seems to prevail with many drivers.

And it's that very attitude that causes so many accidents !!!

This I find true, even at very slow speeds.
    for example getting onto the highway in rush-hour (stalled) traffic. All card progresing about 5mph and you are trying to merge. Rather than make a few feet of room for you, they will hump the car in front to prevent you, as though the bumper of the car in front where their personal property. Don't ask me for an explaination, but it is universal, particularly in Asia. (except Japan and HK).
    In such traffic, target a very expensive car, they yield to scrap.
    But it is a pity people cannot get into the mode of every alternate vehicle....share the pain or gain. Amazing what sorts of a huff people can get into over a meer 10 ft of road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

mackerski wrote:
    If so, then you may move onto it to allow a driver by, but you are not obliged to do so

It's actually illegal to do so. You can't legally use the hard shoulder as a driving lane. It's something you'd never, ever be pulled for though and as long as it's clear I see no reason not to use it.
    cormie wrote:

I hate people on a crusade to make the roads safer. They often don't know the rules of the road themselves and end up making things worse. It's common courtesy to move over to let someone pass if it's safe to do so. It's also not illegal to break the speed limit during overtaking. It would have been much safer to bring it up to 70 to pass that truck.
    dudara wrote:
    Correct me here if I'm wrong but aren't you obliged to make room for a faster moving vehicle as long as it is safe for you to do so.

No. You're entitled to drive as normal regardless of what's behind you. Some courtesy and consideration for other road users is nice, but there's no legal requirement for you to assist people to overtake you. Of course there are exceptions.....
    sceptre wrote:
    Equally I don't complain when someone's doing thirty on a single carriageway road with a sixty limit (OK, I whinge a little but it's their right to do so until there's a law that says they can't).

........if you're driving too slowly that's also considered dangerous driving. I've only ever heard of one prosecution though.

I would say flashing lights to overtake is very rude and I wouldn't do it myself unless it was an emergency. The last time it happened to me it was a Garda car trying to get past. The IAM recommend that you flash your lights as you overtake to alert the driver you're passing and any oncoming traffic. I'm reluctant to do so myself because I think the gesture would be misinterpeted. I've said before people already flash their lights far too often for far too many reasons (anything from "thank you for letting me cross" to "get the **** out of my way" or "slow down ya mad bollix") so unless I really think the driver is not paying attention I wouldn't take the chance of causing road rage by being misunderstood.

It's actually illegal to do so. You can't legally use the hard shoulder as a driving lane. It's something you'd never, ever be pulled for though and as long as it's clear I see no reason not to use it.

You are mistaken, except about the bit about using the shoulder as a driving lane. Read your copy of the Rules of the Road and you'll see that it specifically mentions the option of making overtaking room (and that only) by pulling into the hard shoulder. Note that, unlike in other countries, our hard shoulders on non-motorway roads are marked out with dashed lines, not solid.

Of course, it goes without saying that you don't do this on a motorway...

Dermot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭Darwin

It's also not illegal to break the speed limit during overtaking
    As far as I'm aware, this is not correct, but I doubt anyone has ever been convicted for this alone.
    With regard to driving in the hard shoulder...if you're driving at the speed limit and pull in to allow another car by, I would say your insurance company would take a dim view of things if you were to hit someone or something while doing this.

Darwin wrote:
    if you're driving at the speed limit and pull in to allow another car by, I would say your insurance company would take a dim view of things if you were to hit someone or something while doing this.

I would expect my insurance company to take a dim view of me hitting things no matter where I was driving. Don't do that...

Dermot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,612 ✭✭✭BrianD3

AFAIK there's nothing in legislation or rules of the road saying that it's legal to break the speed limit while overtaking. If that were the case, then there would be a higher speed limit in the overtaking lane of a motorway, because we all know that that lane is only ever used for overtaking....On a single carriageway road I often feel it necessary/desirable/safe to break the speed limit while overtaking, that doesn't make it legal though and a cop would be 100% in the right to give me a ticket if he caught me.

As for flashing lights and impatient overtaking - this annoys me less than indecisive dawdling and wasting perfectly good overtaking opportunities. Let's say you're travelling on a national primary road. There's a truck going at 45-50 mph who decides not to pull into HS (as is his right) to let following cars past. Very quickly a big line of cars will build up behind due to the first few cars being too indecisive and afriad of their sh1te to overtake. And at the same time they drive up each other's arses, making it impossible for anyone behind them in the queue to move forward without taking a long line of cars + truck in one overtaking maneouvre :mad: Happened to me this morning, I was the 9th car in the queue. Managed to get by 3 of them but after that there wasn't a hope. The 3 that I overtook probably thought I was some "flash impatient bollix in a big car" :rolleyes: As already stated, many Irish drivers are begrudgers who have a phobia about anyone making better progrees than them.

And one funny thing I noticed - the line of muppets that were dawdling along at 45 mph on an N road drove through 40 and 30 mph zones at the exact same speed - it was very noticeable how they pulled right away from me when going through villages etc.

BrianD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭edmund_f

just scanning through this post..

agree or disagree

flashing lights just alerts driver to your presence

you should, where safe, allow faster drivers past

in a queue of traffic you should allow a safe space in front of you for faster cars to pull in to

you should not pull into the overtaking lane on a motorway unless you can complete your ovetaking manouvre without holding up faster traffic.

the best place for faster traffic is;
    (a) sitting on your bumber
    (b) in front ot you

which is more important
    (a) driving legally
    (b) driving safely

It's also not illegal to break the speed limit during overtaking. It would have been much safer to bring it up to 70 to pass that truck.

Safer yes, as we have discussed, but if a camera was on the road, I would have been done for breaking the limit, fixed cameras can't tell if you're overtaking or not.

In Glenegeary, there is a stretch of road that is 50kmph, I was travelling at 49/50 and some guy passed me. The road is about 600m long, with 6 cameras on it. Are you saying he wouldn't have been nabbed passing me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

Was on the Naas Rd, one evening last month. It was 7 o'clock so obviously dark. I was in the fast lane and caught up on a Punto doin about 40 mph :mad: I saw a motorbike hurtling up behind me and being a considerate road user that I am I pulled over a let him by, then realised it was a cop bike. He then got caught behind the Punto and proceeded to flash the bast*rd off the road. The Punto didn't budge though. Within 30 seconds the blue flashers came on, and 'Driving Miss Daisy' was waved into the hard shoulder and presumably summonsed!! I broke my b*ll*xs laffin!
    I think there should be more of this on the roads for deffo. But it highlights the serious lack of education of drivers currently using our roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,528 ✭✭✭✭Alun

cormie wrote:
    In Glenegeary, there is a stretch of road that is 50kmph, I was travelling at 49/50 and some guy passed me. The road is about 600m long, with 6 cameras on it. Are you saying he wouldn't have been nabbed passing me?

6 cameras in 600m ????!!!! One every hundred metres? 6 speed camera warning signs maybe, but not 6 cameras. Oh, and it's km/h not kmph :)

Mackerski wrote:
    Who's forcing you? I'm surprised that a man with a zero-tolerance for speeding should be prepared to ignore other road-traffic acts just because it suits him. Do you consider that some things are more illegal than others?

Try and visualise what is happening and you will see what actually happening. I overtake cars that are in the left lane by moving right and then I encounter a slow moving vehicle that stays in the overtaking lane. Two options - stay behind slow moving vehicle in o/take lane forming a line or move back to left lane. I move left and continue at speed limit effectively undertaking the car in the o/take lane. I generally give them a beep. Now depending on what traffic is ahead I may remain in the left lane or o/take as required.

No road traffic acts breached but the guy in the o/take lane is creating potentially dangerous situations for other road users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

AFAIK there's nothing in legislation or rules of the road saying that it's legal to break the speed limit while overtaking.
    The rules of the road book states specifically that the speed limit is 60mph unless uvertaking. So yes there is...
    And one funny thing I noticed - the line of muppets that were dawdling along at 45 mph on an N road drove through 40 and 30 mph zones at the exact same speed - it was very noticeable how they pulled right away from me when going through villages etc.
    Another phenomenon of Irish roads!
    I would expect my insurance company to take a dim view of me hitting things no matter where I was driving.
    As far as I know, if you hit something in the hard shoulder then you are automatically wrong. No ifs or buts. (It was on the radio a year or so ago)

I'm quite surprised by the general lack of willingness to allow others be on their way - even among the so called informed of the motors forum. If someone flashes you then it probably means they caughtup with you and you are now impeding their progress. Get over it and let them pass. Simple. If it does turn out to be a lunatic then rest assured that, sooner or later, he/she'll end up in a ditch....