Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway V Dublin

• 30-01-2005 8:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭

Well which do you prefer and why???????when it comes to the clubs,pubs,entertainment,atmosphere,size,people and anything else you can think of,which city comes out on top and why?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

*sarcasm* good question *sarcasm*

seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

I have never been in galway without it raining, so therefore i'm obliged to go with option b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Galway v Dublin?Are you taking the p*ss?

Why not compare Roscommon to Las Vegas?

Dublin is the greatest city in Ireland,if not the earth! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wayfarer

Galway defo. Dublin is full of tossers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Can't compare the two, since I was never really in Dublin all that much. So I'll Galway, it's great except for the price of rent among other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

Its very hard to beat Galway during Race Week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

not too fond of dublin

Galway for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Galway is just a little version of America! They all think they're so intelectual and smart just because they got donnie darko the first time they watched it and thaught it was amazing. There is only two catagories in Galway. Rockers or "moshers" as they might say and Hippies. Galway stinks. Up Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Dublin wins, just because Galway includes the evil place known as the Gaeltacht(sp?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ive never actually been in Galway, but from other people i generally get the impression that its a good bit better than dublin. Great night life and not as many scumbags lurking about. Better atmosphere all round, apparently

Well I should go sometime. I went before, but didn't go out anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I've lived in both, and I prefer Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Galway's too small, you're always bumping into people you don't want to bump into.

I don't like that.

They both have good and bad points.

Dublin has far more ameneties and the public transport is advantagous.

In Galway you can pretty much walk anywhere in less than an hour.

Only Human wrote:
    Galway is just a little version of America! They all think they're so intelectual and smart just because they got donnie darko the first time they watched it and thaught it was amazing. There is only two catagories in Galway. Rockers or "moshers" as they might say and Hippies. Galway stinks. Up Dublin.

Ironic.

You have got a major inferiority complex dude.

Blisterman, you're talking out of your arse re:Gaeltacht :)

I spent 3 weeks in that hellhole.

Blisterman wrote:
    I spent 3 weeks in that hellhole.
    And quite obviously you learned nothing.

There are Gaelteacht areas all over the country, not just in Galway.

Well, obviously I did. Thats why I hated it. Also the food was boring. potatoes every day. They're stuck in the famine days.
    Also, I hate solitude, and don't really like the countryside. And the people in my house were assholes.

And how many of the people in your house were from Galway?

The bleedin' Gaelteacht is by no means an accurate example of all of Galway, don't be so narrow minded and stubbern. Living with a Bean an Tí and 10 or so complete strangers for a month isn't an accurate representation of life anywhere let alone life in Galway.

Go back there when you're 18 or older and you'll realise your mistake.

I didn't say I hate all of Galway, just that the Gaeltacht brings it down as a county, like Ballymun brings down Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Blisterman wrote:
    Well, obviously I did. Thats why I hated it. Also the food was boring. potatoes every day. They're stuck in the famine days.
    Also, I hate solitude, and don't really like the countryside. And the people in my house were assholes.

How unusual for a bean an tí not to spend a fortune on top-quality ingredients and not to hire a top chef for cooking. :eek:

And *hello*, we're talking about the city, not the country.

As for Galway V. Dublin, I like both but they're too different to do a real comparison.

It's not that the food was cheap. i mean we had roast beef, and chicken, the problem was that it hardly changed.

But as I said, I will visit the city some time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Hard to compare the two really. Dublin has its advantages because of it's size, and as such they get all the big gigs in the country (could be a reason to hate it though) and the music shops up there have a tremendous advantages over those here in Galway. There's Bruxelles too. But in that said, Dublin is 98% hole, and the skanger ratio is through the roof. Galway has a completely different vibe altogether though, and I find it a much superior place to reside in, whereas Dublin is a nice place to visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 <R@IDER>

Hard to compare the two really. Dublin has its advantages because of it's size, and as such they get all the big gigs in the country (could be a reason to hate it though) and the music shops up there have a tremendous advantages over those here in Galway. There's Bruxelles too. But in that said, Dublin is 98% hole, and the skanger ratio is through the roof. Galway has a completely different vibe altogether though, and I find it a much superior place to reside in, whereas Dublin is a nice place to visit.
    who u calling a skanger im from dublin im not a skanger :mad: ,wh@t the f_u_c_k is a skanger any way :confused: , u bogger's so caught u in the skanger buzz u dont realize u are the skanger :D , pack of pussies wont even come to dublin , walking around s_h_i_t_t_i_n_g in ur pants , well i tell u something ye skanger u smell like s_h_i_t , where u from anyway skanger , that 2% buzz is out the window the 2% is the skanger's the rest of us is genuine dont paint us all with the same brush , u cant blame me from getting mad but u dont know me:cool:

And that, Ladies and Gentlemen, is my closing argument in the campaign to ban the resuscitation of stillborn babies.

Blisterman wrote:
    I didn't say I hate all of Galway, just that the Gaeltacht brings it down as a county, like Ballymun brings down Dublin.

Hehehehe.
    Yeah, good lad, you clearly have a valid opinion there, having had so much experience of a gaeltacht area.

And your youth is no excuse for such ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

<R@IDER> wrote:
    u dont know me:cool:

Said like a true 13 year old Skanger who watches too much Ricky Lake.

what the **** is wrong with the gaeltacht:confused:

R@IDER - you sure sound like a skanger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Lived in Galway most of my life, great city and great nightlife, have to agree with earlier comments on the fact it is too small, you always meet people you don't want to. hardly no traffic jams, we have 1km of a bus lane, also a lot of effort is required to pull in Galway

living in Dublin for the past 6 months, you hardly ever meet anyone you know (which is a good thing), good selection of pubs and clubs, a bus service that works sometimes, as for the women they really could not be any easier... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Lived in both and they both have their advantages.

Dublin Pros:
    A semi-working public transport network
    More big-name gigs
    Croke Park
    Better quality, cheaper hash
    It rains less.

Dublin Cons:
    Skangers, everywhere.
    D4 heads, everywhere.
    Traffic is unbearable
    €5 pints
    Can't cycle anywhere without some prick in a 4x4 trying to kill you
    A barrage of racism every time you sit into a taxi.
    It's colder.
    Junkies

Galway Pros:
    People are friendlier
    Less scumbags (though a growing minority of 'G4' tossers)
    You'll always meet someone you know when you walk down shop street yet the city's big enough to get lost in when you want to.
    Cheaper Pints
    Good Guinness is the norm, not a rare exception.
    Traffic moves a lot better
    Everywhere is within walking distance.
    Cheaper rent.

Galway Cons:
    It rains. A lot.
    No public transport worth a damn.
    Race Week: when every tosser in the country descends upon Galway.

I think Galway wins in a comparison of the two cities for me, though not by half as long a way as it would have if you asked me the same question last year.

Terrier wrote:
    as for the women they really could not be any easier... :D

ooooh!! :eek: strike one :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    ooooh!! :eek: strike one :D:p

I only speak the truth... :D

Does noone like Cork, or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Blisterman wrote:

Ah, there was a famine, because all the potatoes rotted in the ground... Therefore, how was eating potatoes like been in the Famine days?

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Blisterman wrote:
    Does noone like Cork, or what?
    No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭misswex

Definitely Galway!!

Nightlife is fantastic, excellent shopping and the majority of people are extremely friendly :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 the mavman

Galway a hands down winner due to it being by the sea. (irish sea doesnt count as its a dump) The only thing bringing it down is the amount of crusty,anti-war,free tibet,tree hugging scum and clueless stoners but i guess everywhere has its bad points

Well I meant in the days before the famine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Blisterman wrote:
    Well I meant in the days before the famine.

Sure you did, sure you did....

John

(Fool)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

the mavman wrote:
    Galway a hands down winner due to it being by the sea.

What sea would Galway be beside?
    Amz wrote:
    Galway's too small, you're always bumping into people you don't want to bump into.

Tell me about it, it seams as if half of the people from my town live there - that cant be a good thing. Then again, I mannage to bump into someone from home most times I'm in Dublin too - just not as many of them.

Hard to compare the two really.

Possible strangely, but for me it's like comparing LA to San Francisco…

Part of me sides with SF / Galway - you can walk nearly anywhere and the so-called good vibe and feeling of community. On the other hand, there is always an appal to LA / Dublin - better public transport, and a more anonymous feeling.

The first two also having slightly worst weather then the latter two.

I’ve never actually stayed in any of them for more then a week, so that’s a view of an outsider from the sticks looking in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Gonzorex

I'm very curious to know why Dubliners refer to anywhere outside Dublin (including Galway) as 'down the country'? (especially in reference to places on an equal or higher latitude). Surely it's some kind of unwarranted superiority complex?

Gonzorex wrote:
    I'm very curious to know why Dubliners refer to anywhere outside Dublin (including Galway) as 'down the country'? (especially in reference to places on an equal or higher latitude). Surely it's some kind of unwarranted superiority complex?
    Actually, its just the ill-educated scumbags that spend their summer holidays in bray who think that!
    I spend 2 months of the year in Roundstone, Connemara. Nice little Village with a couple of small local pubs. And I can honestly say I prefer that to Galway City.

Gonzorex wrote:
    It's not just Dubliners who say that!

Are you that insecure about where you're from that this bothers you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

Dublin, mighty, might Dublin, of course, where else?

Well, Dublin's great, apart from all the alcoholics, drug abusers, tossers, ****, assholes, flacid boring dublin 4 people, skangers, knackers, crazy religious people, theives, skangers, stupid polititions, skangers, salesmen, and taximen. I know I just pigeon-holed maybe half the population of dublin, but the rest of us are a great bunch of lads, honest. ;)

(I'm aware of the fact that most of the time Dublin-Type-Persons 1,2,3,4,5,7,8,9,10 and 11 I just mentioned come combined in many variations, but believe me, they can come as a seperate entity entirely, and also keep in mind that this post is purely antagonistic. :D )

I live in dublin, I have broadband, so it suits me. On the other hand, my aunt lives in galway, it's cold, windy, rainy and full of hills and cows... hmmm, hard decision I guess, but Dublin wins by a hair. ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Galway City = Cuba + Radisson => One hell of a weekend! :D

(1st year engineering trip - i feel sorry for anyone else in the afforementioned venues that nite!) :eek:

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Nightlife in Galway is great, as is the friendliness of people there. Dub is OK for shopping and gigging. If I was to move to either though, I'd choose Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

Well now, what have we here?

I notice alot of people commenting on how Galway is better because it doesn't have as many "skangers" in it...I think it all goes down to what age you are.

In Dublin, it seems that you get alot of 16-25 year old "skangers" whereas, in Galway, you get alot of 14-18 year old "skangers", depending on whichever age group you fit into.

I'd probably pick Dublin myself, but that's assuming it has some good snooker/pool halls, the gigs attraction can be conquered by a bus ticket, the nightlife is big in both cities.....the people being friendly here talk is simply bullhorn so I'm gonna pick Dublin for no apparent reason whatsoever.

Sir, (a+bn)/n = x , hence God exists; reply!

Fobia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Galway, by a considerable distance.

Don't get me wrong, I like Dublin, but there is a generally more agressive Air about the place, wheras Galway you're less likely to get any hassle in.

Galway is cheaper, you get better service in the Popular pubs and Clubs as generally the Bar staff aren't so far up their own arse as their Dublin Trendy bar Counterparts.

Plus it's a far more aesthetically pleasing City to Dublin.

Dublin does have better facilities and is better for a lot of stuff, but it really is getting to be an overpriced City.

If you are going by stereotypes of the people then its down to a question of which do you prefer. Scumbags & ponces or Little suicudal attention seeking Rockers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Gonzorex

Amz wrote:
    It's not just Dubliners who say that!

Are you that insecure about where you're from that this bothers you?

Well . . . as I said I'm more curious than bothered, I just don't understand this 'down the country' expression Dubliners use when referring to counties that are 'up' or 'accross' the country!. And who else apart from Dubliners say 'down the country'? (again a genuine question)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Blackjack wrote:
    Dublin does have better facilities and is better for a lot of stuff, but it really is getting to be an overpriced City.
    I spend so little time in Dublin for those reasons that I find it easier to compare Galway to London. Dublin is simply a skanky overpriced version of London with no functioning public transport, and loathsome customer service .

Most of what I ever needed from Dublin can be gotten cheaper on the hinterweb .