Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BSOP Grand Final

• 24-01-2005 10:24am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Last week's 10th place STT was a bit of a disappointment with only 4 players deciding to enter. This made the whole point of holding it a bit watered down but none the less it added 120 to the overall prize fund. Well done to DeVore for making it through.

The Grand Final will take place on Friday 28th @ 6:30pm in the Fitzwilliam Card Club. Please come along and support the players if you can make it.

The full line up is

KarlH
    TrickyD
    Waylander
    Hyzepher
    Kencleary
    Iago
    Henbane
    Davey Devil
    Krusty Clown
    Devore

The total prize fund is now €1320 and the top 3 will get paid.

1st - €700
    2nd - €400
    3rd - €220

Hyzepher

So who is going to win??? 25 votes

KarlH
    0% 0 votes
    TrickyD
    28% 7 votes
    Waylander
    8% 2 votes
    Hyzepher
    8% 2 votes
    Kencleary
    8% 2 votes
    Iago
    16% 4 votes
    Henbane
    4% 1 vote
    Davey Devil
    4% 1 vote
    Krusty Clown
    20% 5 votes
    DeVore
    4% 1 vote

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I'll be the guy maniacally laughing from the rafters in a black cape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

what does everyone think about paying a month's entry fee for the grand final to bump it up further in return for a more gentle grand finalish structure? mentioned to Mr. Dev Skinofhisteeth and thought it was a good idea, anyone else?

i say we all pay €25, bumping the prize pool to 1570, increase starting ships to 4000 and maybe even pay 4th something as well?

Karl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

sounds ok to me ;) as long as my 1st place gets increased as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

That sounds good to me also.

up to Hyzepher. think it might make it a bit fairer and since we have an early start time it should be ok.

an almightly hewer of a final table btw, real WPT stuff with every style represented! :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I'm ok with it as long as everyone agrees and there is no bullying about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭kencleary

I'm gonna be looking foward to this all week now :)

700 is a nice prize for a 25 entry fee on the night. I still can't believe DeVore made it in though, after slagging him all year for being on 0 points up until month 6/7 the jambag limps in through a STT.

As for the other competition, its an interesting line-up alright. Anyone care to open a book?

On form I reckon Karlh must be the favourite after leading all year in the BSOP and proving himself master of the STT.

Davey Devil & Krusty Clown are other strong competitors with proven tournament results.

Hyzepher seems to be doing very well in cash games and internet poker atm but can he maintain the discipline required for an STT?

Waylander i think is still something of a mystery to me. Despite playing him several times i'm still unsure what his style is. Managed to qualify for a Ladbrokes poker cruise though so definitely a force to be reckoned with.

No other player can read me as well as Henbane. That and his twin obsessions of abuse and winegums makes him dangerous, but the distractions of college have kept him out of the Fitz recently. Will he still be rusty on the big day? The allure of going to the pub before the game may also hamper his hopes of a victory.

Iago i think is gunning for the most improved player award in the BSOP. From all in with any draw to a more Sklansky-esqe (ie at least he knows what odds are now :) ) approach he's certainly changed his style over the past year. Can he maintain his discipline through the slugfest of Fridays game?

Like Waylander, TrickyD is a player i've played with several times but I have no idea what how plays. Also he's another player we don't see down the Fitz very often so will the lack of experience show?

Given his prodigious posting rate I think we all know more than we'd ever want to about DeVore's playing style. Abysmal record to date in this competition though. If he wins not only does he get the prize but also the prestigious "Jammiest git ever" award for managing to go roughly 6 months without a single point and still make the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭henbane

karlh wrote:
    an almightly hewer of a final table btw, real WPT stuff with every style represented! :)
    hewer?

sorry, trying to use the Dublin vernacular for whore.......haven't read Roddy Doyle so don't think i've actually ever seen it written down before :)

anyway, bitch of a final table.....either way it's on the game.

dadum tish.

kencleary wrote:
    Henbane... ...The allure of going to the pub before the game may also hamper his hopes of a victory.
    I've been sober all month until last weekend. Phear my sobriety!
    Anyone care to open a book?
    I'll book some action. Hyzepher, do you have the rest of the results not featured in the [thread=164258]standings thread[/thread]?

This must rank as one of the toughest tables ever - I'd say there will be fireworks early on - mark my words. I might adopt the "vacate the table for an hour" strategy and see who is left when I return.

btw - we could do with a dedicated dealer so if anyone is open to volunteering - I'll make sure you are compensated for your time

Hyzepher

I'm sure Dev will be free to deal after level one?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I'm happy to deal. Would like to be there to see how my investment goes anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Hyzepher wrote:

btw - we could do with a dedicated dealer so if anyone is open to volunteering - I'll make sure you are compensated for your time
    I might drop in early if I am playing the 50 game later. If no one else offers, i don't mind dealing a few hands for ye. Could be interesting to watch. If anyone else offers, take it, as I won't know for sure til closer to Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Hi i was just wondering what this little tournament is. If i go in on Friday will i be able to put a :rolleyes: to all these funny names on this website? Met Tom Last night so i know who he is? I also ran into Joe O'Neill who was having a serious run in the Tournament and had a massive super tanker in chips. He actually slow played (yes this is Joe im talking bout) pair of Aces, which I went all in with KQ and hit the brick wall. It was a good table to be at though, good fun. Anyway i might see you on Friday night. I am thinking of going in on Thursday so it depends on whether i have any money left or not!! Good Luck to one an all on Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

karlh wrote:
    ...real WPT stuff with every style represented!

I represent the randomness style, with what may seem at first to be really bad plays, but are in fact covert attempts to confuse all of the other players. In other words, way out or practise in 'real-life' games, too much t'internet recently... During the game, I may disconnect a few times, prod people to find out if they have pets or kids, and ask them what their favourite poker story is..

25 euro for extra chips is fine by me...

Krusty
    * chat banned *

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Ok, so here we go... I cant possibly win out of this eh? Either I win and I'm the "jamiest git alive" or I lose and I "should never have been there". Great.

Well I'm going to play to win but I am glad to be part of the final, however I got there.

I didnt realise we had organised the Fitz, I know this is last minute but what about that gorgeous table in Silks? I'll arrange it if Hyzepher (and the finalists) agree. It just that playing in the Fitz, while my second home, is disturbed by the regulars coming up and wanting to get in and asking what it is etc etc.

DeV.

i think it would be great to have a bit of an audience of regulars!? i think there will be a few people watching who can tell them whats going on and that they can't play. don't think it's a biggy.

would rather the fitz myself tbh, home turf and all that but don't mind if the majority rules otherwise.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Aye, having a load of us around for the finale would be great, it would make an end of it and then go for pints (or a cash game or the 50-In :) ). Actually personally I'd prefer pints. I dont think we'd have a problem with extras in Silks and it might be quieter for what will be a pretty serious game! Either way is fine with me, Fitz is very much home turf after all! I'm just looking forward to the game...

DeV.

I'd prefer the fitz.

I doubt a poker game is enough of an unusual occurence to cause your public to distract you.

pints after for definite! really looking forward to it!

happy to leave the venue up to a vote unless Hyzepher is sticking with the Fitz.

Yeah pints afterward sounds like a plan!

What about taking 50 (or whatever) from 1st place to buy a cheap trophy & a bottle of champers or somethin for the winner. Purely for a laugh of course, but if we do continue the BSOP this year too it could be good to have something like that to pass on from one winner to another.

i say a cheap tacky medal that you see some people using to protect their cards 'BSOP class of 2004' :)

Hee thats cool karlh!

karlh wrote:
    i say a cheap tacky medal that you see some people using to protect their cards 'BSOP class of 2004' :)

Can we get pictures on them?

Maybe a set of "BSOP Champion" chips?

DeV.

or a framed cert with the two cards that win the heads up :)

Initially I am against the Silks idea - I like to play in a familiar surrounding. Also I think they charge so that would have to come out of the fund.

I'll try and organise something for the winner.

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

To get back to a more serious note, can we have the money brought in, in a wheel-barrow by a scantily clad Shana Hiatt? Maybe have Mike Sexton and Vince Van Patten there for a toast afterwards?

Karlh; Great run in the heats but peaked far too soon. Missed the last couple of heats and is going to struggle early on to bring himself back from the mentality of internet play. Still a little on tilt from my Q9o busting his AA, if he can get his head around it could be one to watch. Early play will be significant 3/1

Davey Devil ; Davey "No Deals" Devil, the only one among us who believes that regardless of his stack he can beat everybody, call it confidence or arrogance but you have to respect it. Likely to go out when his top set is beaten by a hand drawing to a flush or straight. If that doesn't happen, hard to see past him. Slight favourite in my book 2/1

Krusty Clown Bring in the clowns indeed, don't let his jovial moniker distract you this is a seriously cool operator. Not one for bluffing he normally has the goods if he's betting. Watch out for him slowplaying those top hands, love nothing more than trapping people. Slight outsider for me 6/1

Hyzepher; Cruised through to the final without ever getting into top gear, one to watch and if he can peak on Friday it's hard to look beyond him. Certain to be in the reckoning and not afraid to throw his chips at a pot, himself and Davey are my two to watch. 2/1

Waylander; To paraphrase Dunphy "He's a good player, but not a great player" trips himself up rather than being badly beaten. Patience is the key to success here, if he can show some then he has a chance. 7/1

Henbane; Plays with his gut more often than not, it means big wins but big losses. If he can amass a stack early on then he's dangerous. Another for whom patience will be the key word of the night. 7/1

Iago; Ah yes the enigma, without meaning to wax lyrical what can I say. AA, 72o, K3s do you know what he has? Hell half the time he doesn't know what he has, watch out for aggresive raising, he's probably bluffing ;) if he can get lucky early on then could have a chance in the final reckoning. Unlikely to win, but a good value each way bet 10/1

TrickyD; Relatively Unknown, but tends to amass chips with frightening regularity. Has been known to throw out massive bluffs. Just make sure you call him at the right time or you'll be heading for home early. 6/1

DeVore; Name on the cup? From zero to hero at the last minute, playing in his natural habitat with his adoring public surrounding him. Has failed to rise to the occasion during the heats, self destructing with surprising consistency. If he's outdrawn by Henbane or Iago, he's likely to go out early. Circumstances have reduced his odds to 3/1 but this one could be a turkey ;)

KenCleary ; In league with Satan indeed, another player who likes to steal a pot. His good play has earned him a lot of respect thusfar. Most likely to go out when the cowboys don't hold up at some point, but one to consider. 4/1

DeVore wrote:
    It just that playing in the Fitz, while my second home, is disturbed by the regulars coming up and wanting to get in and asking what it is etc etc.
    DeV.

Get luke to put ye upstairs. But then that would involve explaining why prompting luke to send all and sundry up to see ye playing.

Poll added

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Iago wrote:
    3/1 ... 2/1 ... 6/1 ... 2/1 ... 7/1 ... 7/1 ... 10/1 ... 6/1 ... 3/1 ... 4/1
    That's a 187% book. Even by the usual Irish bookie standards, you're still a crook! :)

Crumbs wrote:
    That's a 187% book. Even by the usual Irish bookie standards, you're still a crook! :)

I gots ta get paid :D

Early betting has KarlH as clear Favourite bring his odds back into EVENS after a tonne of money was put on him.

Surprising lack of faith in Hyzepher has seen his odds increased and he's now out to 5/1

Iago and Henbane as expected are the rank outsiders in this field of 10 but both have been known to upset the form book before

I'll take a tenner on Hyzepher at 5:1

What are the odds on Henbane at this point then? Oh and 3/1 on me, 2:1 on DD and even money on KarlH is scandalous!! :p

DeV.

Iago

Are you actually taking bets or is just fun - cos I'd take some action.

Hyzepher

I'll have a tenner on Hyzepher at 5-1 please Iago!

Can we do each way bets? :)

DeVore wrote:
    I'll take a tenner on Hyzepher at 5:1

What are the odds on Henbane at this point then? Oh and 3/1 on me, 2:1 on DD and even money on KarlH is scandalous!! :p

DeV.

This is a lot of early pressure. The phone calls, the wife's finger in the post and meeting at the docks after the game have me thinkin' Iago isn't running a very straight book!
    :p

I had started it as a joke, but maybe it could be interesting.

I'll have to think up some groundrules, avoiding conflict of interest etc. and come back with a full set of odds..

Ok, I'm willing to take bets on this final if people want to lay them. This is more for fun than anything else and so I've put resrictions on betting amounts. I believe that this is going to be a fairly tight final with any of the players capable of winning it on the night. There are some players who may have a slight advantage but ultimately any of us can win it.

There are a couple of rules, set up to protect me (my bankroll!!) and the integrity of the game, these are as follows

1. You can't bet more than €10 on any one player to win.
    2. You can't bet more than €20 on an each way bet, i.e. €10 to win €10 to place
    3. You can't bet on a particular player losing
    4. Each- Way bets pay 1/4 of the odds for the first 3 places
    5. Once the game starts all betting is suspended
    6. If collusion is suspected between players the bet will be void and they'll get the beating of their lives ;)
    7. You can back yourself to win or place or both

Karlh 2-1
    Davey Devil 2-1
    DeVore 3-1
    Hyzepher 3-1
    Kencleary 4-1
    Krusty Clown 5-1
    Waylander 6-1
    TrickyD 6-1
    Henbane 7-1
    Iago 7-1

Would anyone be interested in a heads-up bet? I'm happy to bet €20 against anyone else that I finish higher than them :D

[size=-12]I'm not addicted to gambling honest[/size]

Ill bet you €20 heads up and I'll bet €10 on Krusty Clown to win, nice odds ;)

karlh wrote:
    nice odds ;)

I take it thats sarcasm yeah? Iago you're a crook! I don't even want work out the % on that book. In a ten man field you've got 6 players at 5-1 or less. You gotsa get paid indeed! :)

That said i'll bet 20 that i'll finish above you. ;)

kencleary wrote:
    I take it thats sarcasm yeah? Iago you're a crook! I don't even want work out the % on that book. In a ten man field you've got 6 players at 5-1 or less. You gotsa get paid indeed! :)

That said i'll bet 10 that i'll finish above you. ;)

Of course I'm a crook, you're talking to a guy you play Poker with whose opened a book on a game that he's playing in, and you expect me to be straight ;)

Any of the 10 could win it Ken, you know it as well as I do, it's as likely that I'll (well maybe not me), as likely that Henbane will win it as Karlh. There's no clear advantage for any of the players in it and we've all beaten each other on occasion before.

There's no home advantage, no preferred ground, no new multi-million transferred players. It's going to be tight and it's going to be tough..I'll take your bet as well Ken ;) I love being the outsider, no pressure, no expectation, give me my cash!

Karl, you're on mate, c'mon Q9o.. :D

I'll take a tenner on Henbane at 7:1. I'd take 50 at those odds if you let me!
    I'll take a tenner on Krusty at 5:1 too and 20 on Hyzepher at 3:1 each way (explain that again to me? if he places in the top 3 you pay out 4:1?).

Obviously I'm going to win etc but if I get some stupid poxy bad beat I want to be covered. :)

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    I'll take a tenner on Henbane at 7:1. I'd take 50 at those odds if you let me!
    I'll take a tenner on Krusty at 5:1 too and 20 on Hyzepher at 3:1 each way (explain that again to me? if he places in the top 3 you pay out 4:1?).

Obviously I'm going to win etc but if I get some stupid poxy bad beat I want to be covered. :)

DeV.

Each way is a quarter of the odds. so what you're actually betting is

10 on Hyzepher to win at 3:1
    10 on Hyzepher to finish 2nd or 3rd at a 1/4 of those odds

If he wins I give you 37.50 (30 for winning and 7.50 for placing in the first 3)
    If he finishes 2nd or 3rd I give you 7.50

If he finishes outside the top 3 you give me 20
    If he finishes 2nd or 3rd you give me 10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Nice.

I'll have 10 tw on Ken and 10 ew on Krusty. (Total 30). Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I'll stick €20 each way on henbane.

have we settled on a structure yet?
    have we all agreed to the extra €25 and increasing the stacks?

I'm happy to pay the extra and increase the stacks...I await confirmation of same..

I'm feeling very confident about this final, I really think I could finish in the top ten of this one :D

[size=-12]can't believe I haven't gotten a single vote on this, still if I won't even vote for myself how can I expect anyone else to..I only finished 4th in the qualifiers with 4 final appearances and even won one of those finals. Ungrateful, blinkered idiots can't see the wood for the trees in front of their eyes, I'll show them I'll show them all muuuhahahaha..[/size]

I got 2 votes and even I voted for Karlh.

I must crush him

DeV.