Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Goth Look, yay or nay?

• 18-01-2005 3:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭

what do ye think?

I say YAY! but only if it is done right, like this:

Goth%20sexy%20vamp.JPG

oh yeah, SEXI!

Goth chicks? 84 votes

ALL THE WAY!
    0% 0 votes
    nothing but!
    23% 20 votes
    I wouldn't say no
    1% 1 vote
    only a select few can pull it off
    15% 13 votes
    I could be persuaded
    57% 48 votes
    HELL NO!
    2% 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Oh dear god not another
    a)Goth look good or not, I think its great
    b)Its sh1t, They all want to be individuals looking the same
    a)no they don't it rocks!
    b)they're sad
    a)no they're not
    b)yes they do. You SUCK!
    a)no you do
    b)no, you do more
    ad infinitum
    Until a mod goes, "Less of this childs play! Spandex Yay or Nay!"

* I hate threads like these

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

DUDE! DAMMIT I didn't see the other board! ****E!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

If we're talking goth music, then hell yeah... Sisters of Mercy, Fields Of The Nephilim, Bauhaus, they rock, but this thread has nothing to do with music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Spandex!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Good looking goth girls are sexy. Unfortunately, most goths seems to be ugly (which probably explains why they became a goth in the first place.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I've seen some seriously hot goth chicks, I for one, like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.......

Not again....... This went on for days the last time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

The goth look makes hot girls look hotter, ugly girls look uglier and does absolutely nothing for guys no matter how hot/ugly they are IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I'm a girl and I think it looks nice on most girls. I can't stand it on boys.

Let's not have this thread descend into flaming, like all the other goth threads...

Dont worry, Mordeth'll shut it down soon enough, I'm sure if someone could be arsed to study it at least one Goth thread is started on boards every month.

I can't stand it on boys.

Why not?

Trent Reznor looks pretty damned swish, wouldn't you agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I got into a massive argument the last time about this...

Anyway, obviously sexy goth girls rock cos they were sexy in the first place, they just added a certain style to it, a darkness, not the innocent looking normal "britney" look... variety is the spice of life they say...

Do goth girls bite though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Why not?

Trent Reznor looks pretty damned swish, wouldn't you agree?

I stand corrected. Though I did mean boys my own age, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Chaos_Path

done properly, yes....not your average doomcookie - black lipstick,docs,t-shirt,bad dye job.

mmm, fields of the neff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

here are some yay

no no no no no no no no no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Mmm, goth look on girls = 4 teh w1n!!

Of course the usual caveat about making hot girls look hotter, etc is equally valid although I don't think even "mere mortal" girls can look hot if it's done right. It's more how the look is done than who does it I think. I've seen girls that would not grace the covers of FHM who looked very well when done correctly. I've equally seen what would be quite cute girls that looked woeful.

Anway ... I'm not goth (although I've been mistaken for it a great many times), so I'm safe :p

As a final aside, I do think guys can do it well too. Most just don't however.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

no no no no no no no no no
    LMFAO, the fact that one of them identified herself as well

not too sure

its not me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

lmao.
    just noticed that one of the google ads for this page is vampfangs.com :p

the goth look can look damn hot on some broads... looks horrific on most though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Goths: the sooner them teenagers grow up the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

not too sure

The first one, I like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Luckily Coronation Street is getting to grips with this issue as we speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

i know this is a very tired debate, but I would like to voice my opinion, however insignificant. I love the look, my family hate it, my friends hate it, but I really dont care cos it is me, it reflects me, and I have gone beyond giving a f*ck what any body thinks. I've dressed like this most of the way through my teenage years and Im gone into my 20s and I havent "grown up" as one person put it. as I said...I dont care what people think I know I look good!!!

i used to be one of thoses teens that couldn't make up their minds one day i was vamp goth (in real goth dresses from asha) then other days i was a sk8r with baggys and boxers the lot!! i always made me look the hottest though..

mixing the two looks used to work too

Nightwish wrote:
    i know this is a very tired debate, but I would like to voice my opinion, however insignificant. I love the look, my family hate it, my friends hate it, but I really dont care cos it is me, it reflects me, and I have gone beyond giving a f*ck what any body thinks. I've dressed like this most of the way through my teenage years and Im gone into my 20s and I havent "grown up" as one person put it. as I said...I dont care what people think I know I look good!!!
    Good for you. Everybody else is wrong - you are right.

Zulu wrote:

She's perfectly right Zulu. I used to get the same old tired debate from my Dad & older brother regarding the length of my hair. It's all boll*cks, and I find that people who use the "grow up" expression in that regard to be closed minded & lacking any sort of understanding of what it is they're criticising.

It's how you act, not what you wear that makes a difference.

Also:

[edit: disregard that commend Cajun - I checked the website and it's indeed from a goth function]

Zulu wrote:
    i know im right when i say i look good. whats the big deal with me having self confidence? i know i dont look good or feel good in other clothes. so if it makes me satisfied i aint going to change.

Lemming wrote:
    She's perfectly right Zulu. I used to get the same old tired debate from my Dad & older brother regarding the length of my hair. It's all boll*cks, and I find that people who use the "grow up" expression in that regard to be closed minded & lacking any sort of understanding of what it is they're criticising.

It's how you act, not what you wear that makes a difference.
    How you act, reflects your approach to life. "Conforming" to society is often seen as a heinous crime amongst adolescents - hence the "grow up" comments. A vast majority of adults "conform" because they realise - particularly with something as visible as fashion - a person will inevitable be judged on their appearance. While this might be wrong, it is a fact of life, and people accept this inevitability.
    Having the attitude of "...well I like it, so I don't care what anyone else thinks" is obviously reflected in clothing preference in this example. Such polar attitudes and definite ideals can be perceived as a potential character flaw.

I for one, see it as a type of revolt against mainstream fashion, or as a flawed attempt to be different and thus interesting. ...but what do I know, that is solely my opinion.

Nightwish wrote:
    i know im right when i say i look good. whats the big deal with me having self confidence? i know i dont look good or feel good in other clothes. so if it makes me satisfied i aint going to change.
    I just hope you're not an extream.
    Would you ever were pink say? or prehaps baby blue? or are you all black and white makeup?

Zulu wrote:
    How you act, reflects your approach to life. "Conforming" to society is often seen as a heinous crime amongst adolescents - hence the "grow up" comments. A vast majority of adults "conform" because they realise - particularly with something as visible as fashion - a person will inevitable be judged on their appearance. While this might be wrong, it is a fact of life, and people accept this inevitability.

I would also consider that a great deal many adults don't want to "rock the boat" and settle for dull, unimaginative second-best so to speak. Not everyone. I would also like to think that a great deal many adults would move beyond their initial supeficial judgement of a person based on their clothing sense because they're grown up right?

For posterity I would like to add the "heavy irony & sarcasm" warning into that question.

People who say "grow up" most likely have a lot of growing up to do themselves Zulu and are hardly in a position to comment to others using such a cheap, cop-out line.

Having the attitude of "...well I like it, so I don't care what anyone else thinks" is obviously reflected in clothing preference in this example. Such polar attitudes and definite ideals can be perceived as a potential character flaw.

I for one, see it as a type of revolt against mainstream fashion, or as a flawed attempt to be different and thus interesting. ...but what do I know, that is solely my opinion.

I have another reason for you:

"because I want to and I like it"

It's no a polar attitude however. Ironically your attitude of "grow up" is the more divisive and polar attitude.

As you said yourself indirectly before that bit, things are not so black and white. Yet here you are contradicting that very idea with your second paragraph.

Zulu wrote:
    Would you ever were pink say? or prehaps baby blue? or are you all black and white makeup?
    i wear lots of black eyeliner and nail varnish. i only wear black lipstick on very rare occasions. i dont like the colour pink, i never have. i used to wear blue stuff, but i just didnt feel right. i wanted to cover it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Wear what you feel comfortable in. **** the begrudgers who have settled for mediocrity.

Doctor J wrote:
    Wear what you feel comfortable in. **** the begrudgers who have settled for mediocrity.
    couldnt have put it better myself!

Lemming wrote:
    I would also consider that a great deal many adults don't want to "rock the boat" and settle for dull, unimaginative second-best so to speak. Not everyone.
    ...a sweeping comment - I hope you acknowledge. Perhaps they have resigned to the inevitable and are getting on with their lives and what is important to them. I doubt it has anything to do with "rocking the boat" and more to do with security, families etc..
    Lemming wrote:
    I would also like to think that a great deal many adults would move beyond their initial supeficial judgement of a person based on their clothing sense because they're grown up right?
    and I'm sure they would - if they bothered to get to know the person further, but first impression count for a lot, and people can be dismissed based on first impressions. Fair? No. Fact? Yes.
    Lemming wrote:
    People who say "grow up" most likely have a lot of growing up to do themselves Zulu and are hardly in a position to comment to others using such a cheap, cop-out line.
    Indeed. Hardly a killer argument though, is it?
    Lemming wrote:
    I have another reason for you:

"because I want to and I like it"

It's no a polar attitude however. Ironically your attitude of "grow up" is the more divisive and polar attitude.
    It is if you add "and to hell what anybody else thinks" after it.
    Lemming wrote:
    As you said yourself indirectly before that bit, things are not so black and white. Yet here you are contradicting that very idea with your second paragraph.
    Don't presume to know what I am "indirectly" saying.
    My second paragraph is "opinion" and a personal one at that.
    The first paragraph is a "point". I used paragraphs to emphasize that, ahh well.

Zulu wrote:
    ...a sweeping comment - I hope you acknowledge. Perhaps they have resigned to the inevitable and are getting on with their lives and what is important to them. I doubt it has anything to do with "rocking the boat" and more to do with security, families etc..

Did you bother to notice the bit about "heavy irony & sarcasm"? :rolleyes:
    And in any case, it is not a sweeping statement since I gave no percentages nor figures nor any indication of what i considered to be a "great many".

And on another note - what exactly is "inevitable"? That begrudgers will try to tell you how to live, act, and what to say and when to say it all because they claim they know better?

Do they f*ck!

I have respect for someone who does something that they consider is important to them and isn't doing it because "everyone thinks it's the done thing".

Anyone else .... BaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhHHHhh

and I'm sure they would - if they bothered to get to know the person further, but first impression count for a lot, and people can be dismissed based on first impressions. Fair? No. Fact? Yes.

As I said - hardly in a position to stand in pious judgement.... I do believe the exact phrase is "hypocrasy", and such people earn my eternal contempt.

It is if you add "and to hell what anybody else thinks" after it.

If it's not harming anyone else then why the f*ck should it matter? honestly?! Once again, get brow-beaten because someone else thinks that something that has no bearing on their life should be imposed upon you to meet their asthetic tastes.

The reason I suspect Nightwish inclided the "ant to hell with " after-comment was because she is sick to death of muppets preaching to her on things that they have no standing on which to comment. In much the same way as I felt about people commenting on the length of my hair and how "suitable" it was.
    Don't presume to know what I am "indirectly" saying.
    My second paragraph is "opinion" and a personal one at that.
    The first paragraph is a "point". I used paragraphs to emphasize that, ahh well.

Well pardon me for being in work your highness. It's alright if I accidentally don't seperate the end of a paragraph whilst commenting another isn't it? Are you sure?

A point - according to what exactly? Your "opinion". Don't presume to know what I'm saying "indirectly" I believe was your own terminology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

Zulu wrote:

im not even a goth and i wouldn't touch those colours with a ten foot barge pole. some people just have TASTE :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Not my bag.

Good for "variety" purposes, but not as a serious way of dressing. Depends on the lvel of "Goth" I guess. There are plenty of things that get cast as Goth which are just tight black leather. Now, tight black leather is goooooood on girls, but as I say, not as a serious "oh look at me for being so differently conformist" way of dressing.

But each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

yeah, i would never be 'goth' in the sense of seriously dressing that way all the time, although i find on nights out depending on where we are going, goth can be a fun, sexy and attention-getting way of dressing. but again, it would only be for 'dressing up' occasions as such. i have some goth-esque clothes, but i haven't worn them in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

TIGHT TIGHT leather trousers... long black hair... tight waistline... in Fibbers...

DOES NOT GO WELL ON GUYS!!! :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

"The Goth Look" looks best on 14-18 year olds. Especially when they're waiting for their parents to collect them from shopping centres ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

ok.. i think it loks pretty terrible any age.. esspecially when they are really pale/ whit make-up..

You know, I find it ironic that a lot of people would say the look itself is attention seeking, but just about everyone dresses up at the weekends with the intentions of seeking other's attentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

You can't beat a good pair of combats.

SyxPak wrote:
    You can't beat a good pair of combats.

Baulderdash! A great pair of combats beats a good pair any day.

Too much white make-up (goth) vs too much orange makeup (prep)

BOTH LOOK HORRIBLE

Nicely done pale makeup and black eyes and lips can look nice imho as can nicely done *normal* coloured foundation with coloured eyeliners/eyeshadows etc. What does this show? When it comes to makeup less is more.

Clothes: PERSONALLY I think that when goths have their own goth style, combining different styles and colours (red, black and purple) they can look gorgeous. Much nicer than orange skin and Abercrombie hoodies.

There is one girl in the year above me who is a goth. She is stuck up and arrogant and completely looks down her nose at most other people. She thinks that just cos she wears a Manson hoody that she is teh sh1t. Of course this doesn't apply to all goths but I HATE the ones who are arrogant about their gothicness, sure it makes her stand out, escpecially in my school but it doesnt make her any superior and thats what really gets to me, her delusions de grandeur.

i know the whole point of this thread is to see how many people like/dislike the gothic style, however, from reading a lot of the posts I can see that some people are judging goths without knowing them, just from their clothes. You can say the same about any perceived stereotype-do all tracksuit wearing people want to rob your car, do all rugby-shirt donning chino wearing guys speak with D4 accents, do all abercrombie wearing girls have daddys credit cord...no, that would be ridiculous. If someone feels good in what they wear, thats their choice. So get to know the girl or guy behind the white/black make up, they just might be a nice, kind person...then again, they could be horrible! (I know nice goths and ive met the mean ones too)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

WOW this is more popular than I anticipated! thanx for sharing your views, dudes n' dudettes

like I said, I dig the goth look, big time, but it can be taken too far:
    superbonusfatgoth.jpg
    :eek: *shudders*