Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Ad on TV

• 17-01-2005 9:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭

I know this was an old thread but I couldn't find it.

The gaviscon ad with yer wan directing the traffic is going to make me kick my TV out of the window pretty soon. I HATE THE AD !!!!!!

Anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Its an impossible call, IMO...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Crazy Frog. 'Nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

personally, my skin crawls every time i see that ad for uncle bens or whatever it is, with all those tools dancing around their kitchen pretending to be indian. how the hell does bringing your thumb and forefinger together in front of your face signify something's indian?? stoopid!

oh, and of course, the creators of crazy frog must die a slow and horrible death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Nicquitin CQ with that one giving up smoking..STFU woman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Harry2001

BuffyBot wrote:

:D agreed, shove a box of 20 in her gob to shut her up - what accent is that too?

as said Crazy Frog is evil!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Check the signs: check your speed, check the signs: check your speed, check the signs: check your speed, stfu:stfu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

i agree with all those but would also like to add that ****in halls soothers advert with the taxi driver???looks like it was made in the 80's for the ciNEMA.
    & oh id also like to smash the fookin glass headed demo man bastard & his wife back into sand...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

I hate those dubbed Kinder Bueno ads - I switch every time they come on :mad:

Or the Weathers Original ads..... "I remember when I was his age....."!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

BolBill wrote:
    I know this was an old thread but I couldn't find it.

Yeah, i started that thread by naming my top 3 Ads that irritate me.

My Top 3 were:

Lisa Simpson with the Irish accent ad
    The waste disposal ad with the frisky oul one and the gardener and..
    ..can't remember the 3rd ad off the top of my head..

Anyways, I think everyone pretty much hates that Lemsip Max Strength ad!

"This sorts the men from the boys!" :D

That Gaviscon heartburn ad with the woman directing the traffic is a real head-wrecker also.

And all those ringtone ads... Crazy Frog is especially annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

That RTÉ ad for Tuesday nights when they have Desperate Housewives and that plastic surgery program on is annoying me at the minute.

"Decision time"?
    Whats to decide? It's not like the programs are on at the same time. Makes no sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

ixoy wrote:
    Crazy Frog. 'Nuff said.

Agreed.

But also, what about the Disprin ad where they hot wire the car......."still in time for the airport". Does my head in!

Then there's the one for the butter with the teachers - "Ms. Kennedy......"

But just in case it wasn't clear, that fcukin crazy frog, aaaaaaaaagggggggghhhhhh

oh yeah, I nearly forgot "57777"

*counts to ten in an effort to calm down*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Agreed.

But also, what about the Disprin ad where they hot wire the car......."still in time for the airport". Does my head in!

Then there's the one for the butter with the teachers - "Ms. Kennedy......"

But just in case it wasn't clear, that fcukin crazy frog, aaaaaaaaagggggggghhhhhh

oh yeah, I nearly forgot "57777"

*counts to ten in an effort to calm down*

aaaaah Mssssssssss Kennedy can I roger you, sorry, I mean, ave sum butttteré :)

The Disprin one, classicly annoying, I mean I really though they were dis-mantling a bomb !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I am thinking of taking up smoking after this add.

Sue, suey I'm smooooking

She is the all time top of all worst adds ever bar none there is nothing worse, Not even the crazy frog add.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Crazy Frog wins it for me.

And any of those damn Claims Direct clones on digital tv. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭sickle

those annoying children in the Zafira ad pretending to be grown ups.
    arrrgh the accents are the worst!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭Buck Owens

"well Pal with out you around the Merger was going to go down the Pan"

haha What a Wanker!!!!

'For South Park Fans'...Shut the Fcuk Up right Now.

Also like to add that Mortage Ad with the Mafia guy in the couples bedroom and the Mam sitting in the corner and youire wan "MUM! what are you doing here?" in that Fair city American Accent. :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

That stop smoking ad where they have an aorta or something and squeeze all the gunge out - i don't smoke and it makes me want to puke..oh and crazy frog is a close second!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭_sheep

Crazy frog, and a close second would be any 'i threw myself down the stairs and won 15k compensation with national claims direct'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

The Lemsip Ad.. se sig..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

3rd) 'Shall I tell you about my life, said the man of the world' (actually I enjoy watching the car crash bit ... I just hate that awful droaning tune)

2nd) The recycling ads with that Hobbit & the grandma from 'give my head peace'.

1st) 'Ian I thought you were sick? With you gone our account with brylcream was about to go down pan. ACTUALLY PAL ... IT WASNT!' *wooh handbags ladies*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

How about all the ads for cleaning products that try and freak out mothers i.e.

"Do you know your childs high chair contains 50% more bacteria than your floor"
    Complete Bull****

"Your toilet brush is not clean you want one that sprays out white stuff"
    Yeah we know toilets brushes are not clean they clean toilets.

"Spray all these alpine fresh sprays" - yeah our sister company is a pharmaceutical and they will sell you drugs when you become allergic to all the toxins in the alpine fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

the Oz Brite one, like Cillit Bang , but much , much worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

"she'd say....Thank you for getting the grated cheese for the pizza, Johnny!"

I think you know the one I mean :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

"i poisoned my child with my dirty hands when making his sandwiches"

little **** deserved it i bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭Jonathanpbk

with cheese, please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

You know that one with the husband and wife in the kitchen at breakfast about the yoghurt and walking the dog...
    "Would you walk terms & conditions... I have a marginal rate of interest in that"

wtf????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

"go walking, it's fun to do. go walking, stepping out is good for u!"

UTV add for...er....walking

dont so much hate it, rather recognise how utterly pathetic it truly is.

damn u utv and ur ****ty adds!

You know that one with the husband and wife in the kitchen at breakfast about the yoghurt and walking the dog...
    "Would you walk terms & conditions... I have a marginal rate of interest in that"

wtf????
    you really missed the point of that ad, didn't you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Lol.. yeah.. that ad's quiet good i think... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

What about that one for being rewarded for good driving? At the start me man is doing 30mph and the sign says 40? Doesn't sound very good to me! And then the next guy sticks his hand out the window to signal to the other driver to stop, which is completely stupid! Oh crikey i didn't realise that you're car wasn't moving there, sorry! And the arm signal he used was the one to show that he is slowing down, there is no hand signal to tell someone else to stop! Errrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Zapho wrote:
    What about that one for being rewarded for good driving? At the start me man is doing 30mph and the sign says 40? Doesn't sound very good to me! And then the next guy sticks his hand out the window to signal to the other driver to stop, which is completely stupid! Oh crikey i didn't realise that you're car wasn't moving there, sorry! And the arm signal he used was the one to show that he is slowing down, there is no hand signal to tell someone else to stop! Errrrr!

Yeah and hes in an open top car and its a freckin' van coming up behind him, Stevie Wonder would be able to see over the car to whatever is making them have to stop !!!!
    Plus hes a smug looking bástard :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Any add asking if you have CCJs...Christ it sounds like something a cow would have. Also "Have you been in an accident lately...bla bla bla....." I really just hate ads, there are no more original ones on telly anymore. Even the Carlsberg ones are getting crap. And that one with your one giving up smoking, that's just the worst idea ever. You know some spotty kid new to advertising just threw that idea in there and the hangovered execs decided togo with it. She's even on bus stops now...."one week on and im doing fine"....Ive never wished cancer on anyone before but boy.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

elephant.co.uk, that's elephant.co.uk

and let's not forget the concern adds, a good cause?..... yes, do they piss me off?....... yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

i agree with a few others who said the crazy frog ad, it actually induces rage for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

crazy wanky frog ad and the tarot add on tv3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

fade2black wrote:
    Even the Carlsberg ones are getting crap.
    Argh, the music on that new one (take-away) drives me nuts; the oriental rendition of "D'ya think I'm sexy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

FIND: With those twogits ssaying find keano(KEANO!) find hector, find excitement....

Find the remote will ya lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mad_martian

the one with the manky fungus thing that lives under your toenail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

"go walking, it's fun to do. go walking, stepping out is good for u!"

UTV add for...er....walking

dont so much hate it, rather recognise how utterly pathetic it truly is.

damn u utv and ur ****ty adds!

That add is bad, but showing it during marching season up north is just awful

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The ads for Yakult with the geek going on about his "friendly bacteria"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

TV3s "Dial a Minger" late night chat line ads, and those new Fruice "Its a natural thing" ones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

"hi im barry scott and i use cillit bang"
    Who the fcuk is barry scott and why would i trust his opinion on why to buy this. what the hell is cillit any way and why would i wanna bang it.

i also hate that add with linda martain telling you to join some loan crowd... ya just cause you won the eurovision in 1908 and then went on to pollute our tv screen with 2 series of your a spa and then god knows how many painfull hours of the lyrics board does not mean i am gonna get a loan from some dodgy company that at the end of the day will prop reposess your house.
    how does that crap band on the lyrics board manage to know every fcukn song under the sun. what knobjockies!!!!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

That add is bad, but showing it during marching season up north is just awful

class reply mate!
    good 'un!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Crucifix wrote:
    Argh, the music on that new one (take-away) drives me nuts; the oriental rendition of "D'ya think I'm sexy".

Thank God someone else finds that ad annoying!!!!
    I literally change the channel every time that comes on, and it's on a lot.

1) Irritating music
    2) I hate carlsberg
    3) I hate football

And that goddamned mutherfrikkin' sonofabitch frog!!!!!!! I HATE THAT FROG!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

tintinr35 wrote:
    "hi im barry scott and i use cillit bang"
    Who the fcuk is barry scott and why would i trust his opinion on why to buy this. what the hell is cillit any way and why would i wanna bang it.

Hi! I'm Barry Scott. You may remember me from such movies as "Operation Julie" and "Ernest Goes to Jail"

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0778869/?fr=c2l0ZT1kZnxteD0yMHxzZz0xfGxtPTIwMHxwbj0wfHE9YmFycnkgc2NvdHR8aHRtbD0xfG5tPW9u;fc=2;ft=20;fm=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭d@rk l0rd

"I can hardly boil an egg" kitchens.

The Baileys one where they start spinning around.

The one with the traffic cop in the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The crazy frog ad and the new yellow bird one , come to think of it any ring tone ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

wtf????
    I love that ad!
    If you look up some new-fangled dictionary with video on it for 'mature joke' i.e. not including toilet humour, that pretty cool dictionary would play that ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

2 other really bad singing ads have popped up lately. One for a magazine called "Pick Me Up", with a bunch of fupping eejits singing Build Me Up Buttercup (some in stupid voices for comedy effect) and its absolutely terrible.

Even worse is the new ad for KFC (a man singing to his girlfriend asking for a bite of her food, and her singing back 'no'.). I just sat there shaking my head thinking "how can they make them any worse?". Then I thought of the frog.

Even worse is the new ad for KFC (a man singing to his girlfriend asking for a bite of her food, and her singing back 'no'.).

It didn't bother me as much at the start, but now that I've seen it 4524154 times it's beginning to grate - although, I have to admit, the asian guy standing there in the background listening to all the awful singing and just casually taking a bite of his burger is class