Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are women getting more violent?

• 04-07-2001 5:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭

I saw this in today's news:
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">A 27-year-old woman is due in court today charged with robbing the house of
    two elderly bachelor brothers on the Offaly/Meath border last summer.
    81-year-old Paddy Logan died and his 83-year-old brother Peter was badly
    injured, after raiders broke into their home in Castlejordan on 5 June last
    year.

The woman, who is from West Dublin, was arrested in the city and taken to
    Tullamore Garda Station. She's due to be brought before the local district
    court later today. Christopher Doyle of St Fintan's Grove in Lucan in
    Dublin has already been charged with Patrick Logan's murder.</font>

Are younger women/ girls getting more violent? Or is it a case of them having always been violent, and it has now become more "acceptable" for them to express it? It seems to me that many more women are getting into brawls, beatings and swarmings.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Renton

I'd have to agree, Women are always going on about "Equal Rights" and all that malarky, but at the end of the day, they still abuse their femininity too much,

Take this for example, A woman hits a man, its grand, A man hits a woman, its scandal

Equal Rights ? IMHO If they want to have equal rights, it must be equal in every way.

RentZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Ri-ra

Er, I was trying to start a conversation about why it is that more and more young women are getting into fights. And I'm not talking about cat-fights, but beating the s h i t e out of each other. A stroll through Dublin of a Saturday night seems to confirm this.

There also seems to be a rise in the number of female school bullies.

I'd be curious to hear what any women have to say about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭androphobic

Hmm well maybe you're sorta right but, from my experience, the vast majority of fights are still between guys. Then again, I live in the bogs. smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

well in all fairness ri-ra, you are talking about dublin women.. there are no other women in the country that are anyway near as violent as dublin women..

good point renton - if women want to be treated as exact equals then all these social taboo's need to be gotten rid of. So I'm off out to smack some women around smile.gif

I have some theories about the hoopy ear-rings too but I probably shouldnt get into it...

ahh hell

Basically, stay away from women with HUGE hoopy earrings (specially in dublin). The bigger the hoops, the higher the rank therefore the more violent.

"You have been warned!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭JustHalf

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by androphobic:
    Hmm well maybe you're sorta right but, from my experience, the vast majority of fights are still between guys. Then again, I live in the bogs. smile.gif</font>
    The bogs?

Please tell me you mean the slang for an area outside of Dublin, and not the slang for a toilet smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

In Dublin, tracksuit + huge "gold" hoopy earings + big "gold" ring on each finger = run for the hills!

John (yes THE John!)
    "Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government."

[This message has been edited by Puck (edited 06-07-2001).]

I wasn't saying that men aren't responsible for the majority of violence. I'm just saying that I've noticed an increase in female violence.

I'm not just talking about Dublin women, though. I was in a Donegal pub recently and I saw a fight start between two women. One cracked a pint glass over the head of another, before laying the boot in. Their boyfriends eventually had to haul them off each other. It was really something to watch.

I've also seen reports from the states where there is a lot of concern over the rise in female violence.

Now, I'm not saying that I can't believe women are violent because they should be lady-like. I'm saying that it's interesting that younger women now seem to think of violence as an option for getting what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Renton

You do all know that this is all the Spice girls fault with their Girl Power Sh!te .. Everything was grand before those stupid Girl Power Fanatics

But, as I say, the way we have to be gentlemantly to them, Do what they want and keep them entertained, is a load of crap if they actually do want "Equal Rights", Theres two sides to this coin.

RentZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

I blame the GAA and beefy heffers.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by DadaKopf:
    I blame the GAA and beefy heffers.</font>

OOOOokkkkkaaaaaaayyyyyy.....

A troll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by androphobic:
    Hmm well maybe you're sorta right but, from my experience, the vast majority of fights are still between guys. Then again, I live in the bogs. smile.gif</font>

bogger :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭androphobic

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by JustHalf:
    Please tell me you mean the slang for an area outside of Dublin, and not the slang for a toilet smile.gif</font>

yea, the former. wink.gif

Anyone care to tackle the topic? smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Magwitch

I will! Ladette culture is not becoming not dominent but noticable. However 15% of calls to Shelter, the womans organisation for battered wifes were from Men who were abused by their spouse. This is a small percantage of the actual amount who would not admit it. Women commiting violance has not increased substially I believe (though concictions have) just it is more public now that maraige is not the norm where it takes place indoors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

Hmm, when I get beaten up around my area I don't see any scandal. The whole generalisation of female's wanting equality annoys the hell out of me. Some females buckle under men, some females want equality, and some want dominance. It's the same with men, could say all men want dominance, which is untrue. Some men also want equality and some would like to be dominated.

As for girls getting more violent, I know I'm a very passive person when it comes to violence, being 5 foot 3 and skinny puts me out of beating anyone up anyway. Although the way I dress on nights out usually makes some trendy slag want to beat me up, or even one of her boyfriends. Perhaps it's because people generally become more physical when drunk, and women of today drink alot more, especially those lager drinkers.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Puck:
    In Dublin, tracksuit + huge "gold" hoopy earings + big "gold" ring on each finger = run for the hills!</font>

Just take away the earings and the finger rings, and you've got my life philosophy.

It's just a tail, but I'm sort of attached to it.

Lucy la morte.

[This message has been edited by Lucy_la_morte (edited 07-07-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭scutchy

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lucy_la_morte:
    being 5 foot 3 and skinny puts me out of beating anyone up anyway.</font>

I should perhaps explain this to the 4 ft 8 middle-aged skinny woman in my Aikido club. That said, knowing her, she'd probably just make me eat mat again ;-)

Actually, you're three inches taller than the founder of Aikido - and even when he was terminally ill with liver cancer, (quite skinny) he was still regarded as one of the best fighters on earth.

And you'd probably be fairly tall for the average Taiji club in China - not the kind of people to mess with...

Thought you might appreciate this story: (It's True)

During the late Ming dynasty the chinese court was paralysed by infighting between numerous factions, uprisings by various secret societies shook the country and a number of rebels and nobles declared themselves emperors. A general serving on the freta wall, named Wu San-kui opened the gates to the Manchu living to the north, hoping to use them to seize the throne. Instead the Manchu conquered China and drove Wu into exile.
    Many Chinese viewed the Manchu as barbarians and wanted to see them driven out of the country. Secret societies became even more numerous, but their lack of coordination enabled the Manchu to suppress them individually. I turn, the Manchu imposed numerous regulations on the native population and viewed any institution of consequence as a threat. One such institution was the shaolin temple. The monks there saw the hostility of the manchu and knew that sooner or later they would have to fight them. To prepare for this, several masters gathered to devise a new style of kung fu that could be learned more quikly than the current one so that the new monks could help to defend the temple effectively. Before the new style could be comleted though, the temple fell through treason. Only five monks and nuns survived to flee. One of them was the nun Ng Muy.
    During her travels she worked to complete the new style of kung fu that had been planned. Then she came to a vilage where she met a young woman named Lim Wing Chun. Lim Wing Chun loved a young man from the village, but a bandit chief had been attracted by her beauty and had forced her father to promise her to him. Ng Muy wanted to help the girl. She told the bandit that Lim Wing Chun had sworn to marry only a man who could defeat her in single combat. To prove worthy, he was to meet her in one year. During that year, Ng Muy taught Lim Wing Chun her new style of kung fu. When the combat took place, the bandit was quickly defeated and Lim Wing Chun left the village to marry her love. The kung fu style named for her was kept a secret of her family and only a few outsiders learned it. This changed only, when Yip Man opened his school in hongkong in 1949 and began to teach publicly. His students have sometimes different interpretations of his teachings, leading to the substyles that exist today.

Anyway, back on topic:
    I feel that society these days is conditioned to believe that women are weak and can't (or shouldn't) defend themselves. Bóllocks. (can one swear on these fora?) Have a look at our history: Queen Maedbh, some woman for the spear fighting. Fionn Mac Cumhaill, trained by female warriors. Celtic women always took part in battles, Native Americans (well, the woodland tribes anyway) had female warriors, feudal Japan, female Nipponka... the list goes on.

It was only with the advent of a patriarchal society here that this began to change. The "Women are weak and shouldn't defend themselves" attitude has so permeated our society that it has even crushed the mother's basic instinct to protect her children (look at the cases of abuse that have gone unstopped for examples.)

I for one would like to see it changed.

Very well put scrutchy.. After all, in some other species the female is the 'stronger', due to her protection of her young. However, men are generally better built, not due to society but because of the structure of a female body (post-puberty). Women do however have the advantage of grace ( smile.gif) therefore making them better at methods of fighting for not as largely built people (ie. those of eastern arts).

Perhaps I should learn a martial art to defend myself, after all it's not entirely down to physical strength.

Lucy la morte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

I hope so baby RAAARRRR wink.gif

(YEH I KNOW ITS UNPRODUCTIVE FUGGOFF biggrin.gif)

Oh and renton you have a point but i think hittin women is still wrong unless in the case of the women scutchy hangs out with biggrin.gif but the same point can be used in lots of other things.

Citer le Cordeaux "JennyRooba" biggrin.gif

[This message has been edited by SpiraL (edited 09-07-2001).]

Originally posted by Lucy_la_morte:
    ...However, men are generally better built, not due to society but because of the structure of a female body (post-puberty)...

Meh - it's a mixed bag - you have equal lower body strength potential, better flexibility, a lower center of gravity, plus the patented "how could you hit a girl?" look followed by a swift kick in the... you know. Besides, all decent martial artists train for fights involving armed or multiple opponents, and two guys generally have the advantage over one.

>>Perhaps I should learn a martial art to defend myself, after all it's not entirely down to physical strength.

If you're anywhere near DCU you can train in my club for free, tuesdays and thursdays from 7 to 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

What’s happened to all the pacifists?

Learning a martial art is all well and good but it's absolutely no use to you if someone has jumped you from behind and is holding you down.

I took up Kendo (I think tongue.gif) when I was ten or eleven. On my first day one all the new people where taken off by one of the junior instructors. She happened to be female but that is off no relevance. She was teaching us basic blocks. After perfecting them against the air she then wanted to demonstrate so she asked me to throw a punch at her. I asked her was she sure, she replied yes. I was expecting to be thrown across the room as soon as I moved. I threw the punch and floored her. The head guy came running over to see what happened. I explained that the instructor asked me to hit her so I did. Of course I did not realise that I was meant to throw a slow motion punch at her. Now this did not sit right with me. Here was this girl a high belt I think purple. Who could not defend herself against a punch that she was expecting. How the hell was she meant to defend herself from an unexpected attack?

A lot of these martial arts work really well in practice or in competitions but if it does not help you in real life situations.

Join an athletics club and learn how to run faster. It’s the best solution in the majority of cases.

I'm a pretty fast runner when I'm being chased and I think that if you are up against the odds then there is no shame in legging. However I'm a lazy little sod and I don't get chased that often so I don't get much excercise right now. However I was thinking of taking up a martial art to keep fit and learn a bit of control (I'm a bit clumsy) so is this DCU thing open to anyone?

OK so I know this is a bit off topic so sorry.

John (yes THE John!)
    "Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government."

Originally posted by The FANJ:
    I took up Kendo...

Kendo - the way of the sword.

I can only conclude that you are talking through your **** mate.

She was teaching us basic blocks.

Blocks do not exist. If you have ever been taught a block, you've been taught a heap of ****e.

What you have found is a McDojo. They're expensive babysitters, fluffy clouders, or pandering to wannabie fighters.

A lot of these martial arts work really well in practice or in competitions but if it does not help you in real life situations.

Perhaps you could explain that to the last four guys who ****ed with me? The guy with the knife might take some convincing...

Join an athletics club and learn how to run faster. It’s the best solution in the majority of cases.

Hey, if you'd care to prove any of what you've just said, I'm up for dogg brother's rules...

Learning a martial art is all well and good but it's absolutely no use to you if someone has jumped you from behind and is holding you down.

check out www.sherdog.com - the video section. I think you'll find that scenario comes up quite a bit...

However I was thinking of taking up a martial art to keep fit and learn a bit of control (I'm a bit clumsy) so is this DCU thing open to anyone?

Hi Puck, as long as you're over 17 you're welcome. There's a membership fee of £2 a year (which I'll waive for Lucy as I feel she could do with the lessons) but otherwise it be free.

What is it you learn?

I used to do Tae-Kwon-Doe myself a few years ago, but I found it to be weak compared to my sloth. And I was getting good at it, too! smile.gif

Sounds good to me scutchy! smile.gif I might show up. I'll be the scruffy looking guy with a gecko on my left arm. wink.gif

John (yes THE John!)

[This message has been edited by Puck (edited 10-07-2001).]

Originally posted by JustHalf:
    What is it you learn?

I did about 4 years TKD myself, (TKD Assoc of Ireland) but gave it up when I started college. I now train in Matsumuro Seito (an okinawan karate style) and recently started Aikido. (The two blend horribly tongue.gif) I've also dabbled in Muay Thai, Sport Karate, (bit of a laugh) western boxing (I sucked - too much to unlearn) and probably a few more as well wink.gif

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Puck:
    Sounds good to me scutchy! smile.gif I might show up. I'll be the scruffy looking guy with a gecko on my left arm. wink.gif

</font>

Can you make it by 7 tonight? Or thursday? Same bat times next week if you can't tongue.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by scutchy:

Perhaps you could explain that to the last four guys who ****ed with me? The guy with the knife might take some convincing...
    </font>

Any serious martial artist I have talked to has always had the attitude that the best defense is to not get involved. Failing that, the next best option is to run away swiftly.

I think you may also have missed the bit which said "a lot of martial arts". Some are useful in street fights. Some are not. Very few cater for drunks and junkies who are incapable of feeling pain due to substance abuse.

You get one shot - do you drop him (break his leg for example), or just try hurting him. If you do the former, you can go to jail for excessive violence, especially if you throw the first blow. if you do the latter, you risk not putting him down and ending up with your ass handed to you.

Your martial art (or combination of arts) may be good for self defense. However, it should never give you a sense of over-confidence.

Remember...confident, c0cky, dead.

Oh yeah, while I think of it...
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    Blocks do not exist. If you have ever been taught a block, you've been taught a heap of ****e
    </font>

Funny that. Wu Shu Kung Fu contains at least the following :

Centre guard
    Inner fist block
    Break out and outer fist block
    Rising fist block and downward block
    Inner and downward fist block
    Rising elbow block
    Downward inner fore arm block
    Open handed upper cross block
    Double downward knife hand block
    Lower bridge hand parry
    Deceptive hands
    Upper and lower palm blocks
    Rising wrist parry
    Rising wing hand parry
    Inner wrist parry
    Outer palm heel parry
    Hooking mantis parry
    Rising, Outer, Inner and Downward parries
    Jamming palm block, with catch and pull
    Downward fist cross block
    Snake hand parries
    Double palm push

I would be very wary about calling Wu Shu a "McDojo" or a heap of ****e - its pretty shaggin dangerous.

For anyone who is not familiar with the syle, Ray Park (Darth Maul, The Toad in Xmen, Headless Horseman for ground fighting scenes) was on the British nation Wu Shu team, who are currently one of the best in the world. Large parts of the fighting style he uses in these movies are taken rdirectly from Wu Shu.

An ex-colleaguie used to train in Wu Shu with him. It is not a McDojo, and it sure as hell uses blocks.

I could also give you a list of a massive number of other martial arts which contain blocks, but I'll limit myself to one :

Pencak Silat (or just Silat for short) uses blocks and parries. AFAIK, it is almost unique amongst the martial arts in that there is no "sports" version of it - it remains a true combat-oriented fighting style.

So, scutchy, given that you were a bit scathing of someone elses uncertainty about their martial arts information, I think I will use your own words against you - you are talking thru your **** .

jc

[This message has been edited by bonkey (edited 10-07-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Topic:

</font>

Yes.

*** WHACK!!! ***

I mean no! NO! *ow!*... /me rubs sore head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭R. Daneel Olivaw

Well from what I have read and seen (and learned a very small bit!), kick boxing is really the only "martial art" that would be good in a straight fighting situation, as it basically involved trying to beat your opponent to a pulp. It's far more aggressive and essentially violent compared to the more art-like practises of Karate and so on (as someone said, very good in practice or in competitions).

I saw a very good show on one the Discovery channels on martial arts (Discovery somethingorother), which showed how Tae Kwon Do as we know it today is split into two types - the original art of fighting type thing, and the modern thing you'll most likely see around.

What was impressive is that if learned properly, it looked awesome. There were 10 year old kids that could do round-house kicks like Van Damme.

The one that was used to train The Matrix actors (can't remember the name, wasn't a "mainstream" one at the time) is also meant to be right up there, as used by Bruce Lee (but then again, he was a master of just about everything).

I suppose Judo would be best to avoid damaging someone in a fight, as it's about wrestling basically, and not an aggressive type of art.

Personally speaking of course, I don't get picked on, but I think kick-boxing would be best if you actually want to know how to throw a good punch (a real punch), how to block and throw off a punch (most muggers throw slow punches I think, and are sloppy and very easily blocked if you see it done, you could learn how to throw a jab and block within around 5 mins).

Also, you would learn where to kick them, how to hurt them, but not break something, same goes for blocking kicks. Guy I know who did military service in Singapore for 2 years showed me how to block a knive, all very simple.

I reckon find a kick-boxing club and learn that. You'll find that if you know how to throw one decent punch and land it, you'll have no trouble.

It also looks cooler as you can do the whole Tong Po thing from Blood Sport, but I guess not as cool looking as The Crane (ehehe).

Danielson, wipe the floor!

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by R. Daneel Olivaw:
    [BGuy I know who did military service in Singapore for 2 years showed me how to block a knive, all very simple.[/B]</font>
    You believe you can block a knife, and youre asking for trouble.

You can only block a knife if you are better than the person wielding it, and he doesnt get lucky, and you dont get unlucky.

Assuming someone facing you with a knife doesnt know how to use it is the first step on the road to a hospital or a coffin.

jc

[This message has been edited by bonkey (edited 11-07-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

my mother could kick all your combined ar$es
    she just got her 3rd dan in shotokan and used to fight on the irish national team.
    so there

Your Imps Demand Cable...

You'd think you'd show a bit more discipline then, eh WWM? smile.gif

You are either irredeemably stupid or consummately ignorant - should I flip a coin?

However, it amuses me to respond to your drivel in the hopes I will dispel some of the waffle you have made public.

Any serious martial artist I have talked to has always had the attitude that the best defense is to not get involved. Failing that, the next best option is to run away swiftly.

Yes mate. I STARTED a fight with four guys, making SURE one of them had a knife. Let's examine your options:

(1) Not get involved. I was walking my brother home. He was quite drunk. If I don't get involved, he doesn't see another birthday. Not an option.

(2) Run away. Well, they came for us in a car... how fast can you run?

I've avoided a hell of a lot more fights than I've been in.

I think you may also have missed the bit which said "a lot of martial arts".

I define a martial art as something that teaches you to fight well. I also acknowledge the existence of Martial Dances, Martial Sports, and Martial Spirituality / Healing.

Very few cater for drunks and junkies who are incapable of feeling pain due to substance abuse.

<sigh> Let's play the alphabet game, shall we? (Do they still teach that in kindergarten?)

Aikido: Introduce Mr Skull to Mr Concrete or Mr Wall. Break wrist, elbow and shoulder. Ditto to other arm.

Bare Knuckle Boxing: Beat them to death. Anyone who thinks the Guv'nor couldn’t have taken a few drunks deserves a kicking.

Capoeira: Lure them into a kick that removes their head from their body.

8 Drunken Immortals: Rip their throat off. (You TRAIN while drunk in this style)

Escrima: Cut their throat, stab to the heart...

F

Goju Ryu: Let them hit you. Laugh. Headbutt them. Punch them once. Watch them fall over.
    Hapkido. Put a few of their ribs through their lung. Mess their arm up with a throw.

Iaido: In about two seconds, draw your sword, open their torso and return it to it's scabbard.

Judo: Get 'em on the ground and break something
    Jujitsu: Rip their throat off, remove their arms, gouge their eyes out...

Kickboxing: Tap them lightly in the face with your foot. Get the sh*t kicked out of you. (next post)

Lua: Break their bones, dislocate their joints. That's all this style does...

Matsumuro Seito: Turn off various parts of their body. Give them a herniated disk in their neck (fatal). Break their femur. Break their pelvis. Break their skull. Mess up their knees. Drop them on concrete. Follow them down. Break some more stuff.

Ninjitsu: Throw sharp pointy things at them until they're dead.

O

Philippino Knife Fighting: Self-explanatory.

Q

R

S

Tae Kwon Do: Put a few of their ribs through their heart, destroy their legs, drop 'em on the ground, kick them in such a way that they land head first.

U

Vale Tudo: Brazilian, means "Anything Goes". Not a style, more a rules system for sparring. Look into it...

Wado Ryu. Punch 'em once and watch 'em fall down.

You get one shot - do you drop him (break his leg for example), or just try hurting him. If you do the former, you can go to jail for excessive violence, especially if you throw the first blow. if you do the latter, you risk not putting him down and ending up with your ass handed to you.

The Irish legal system: He who wins the fight, goes to jail. A blackbelt was attacked by some bloke with a knife in Limerick - while the guy was struggling on the ground after losing the knife he hurt his own shoulder. Guess who won the court case? What's your point, by the way?

Remember...confident, c0cky, dead.

Take on four blokes... expect to die.

And now, on to Wu Shu, a dance form invented by the Chinese a couple of decades ago, designed to look good for demonstrations and on TV, as any halfway decent Wu Shu practitioner will tell you. Like Jet Li for instance - check out his site.

But anyway, back to your examples:

Centre guard - that's letting them hit you. It works if you've done conditioning, internal training, or are just plain hard.

Inner fist block - you... punch them. Nice block mate.
    Break out and outer fist block - done properly, this is a forearm strike to someone else's arm, designed to put that limb out of commission.
    Rising fist block and downward block - as above, but to a kick
    Inner and downward fist block - ditto
    Rising elbow block - it's an elbow
    Downward inner fore arm block - hits a kicking leg
    Open handed upper cross block - it's a grab for a knife defence, or an escape from a choke hold
    Lower bridge hand parry - it's a parry
    Deceptive hands - no idea what that is
    Upper and lower palm blocks - palm heel strike to your opponent - not a block.
    Rising wrist parry - it's a parry
    Rising wing hand parry - it's a parry
    Inner wrist parry - it's a... in future, I'm ignoring anything that says parry. They're obviously parries, and proof you're an idiot.
    Outer palm heel parry
    Hooking mantis parry
    Rising, Outer, Inner and Downward parries
    Snake hand parries
    Double palm push - ... Am I alone in thinking this is a PUSH!!!?

My initial comment was a generalisation: Blocks I know: Muay Thai - use shin to block low kicks. Bare knuckle boxing: use forehead to block punches.

I would be very wary about calling Wu Shu a "McDojo" or a heap of ****e - its pretty shaggin dangerous.

No, it looks good on TV. It's what it's designed to do, and it does it very well. Read Jet Li's site mate, it isn't designed for combat.

For anyone who is not familiar with the syle, Ray Park (Darth Maul, The Toad in Xmen, Headless Horseman for ground fighting scenes) was on the British nation Wu Shu team, who are currently one of the best in the world. Large parts of the fighting style he uses in these movies are taken rdirectly from Wu Shu.

You just proved my point matey...

I would no more want Ray Park backing me up in a fight than I would Dr Carter fix my broken leg. An extreme example, but WU SHU IS FOR DEMONSTRATIONS, AND LOOKING GOOD ON TV! ACCEPT IT!

An ex-colleaguie used to train in Wu Shu with him. It is not a McDojo, and it sure as hell uses blocks.

It does what it sets out to very well, and practitioners can handle themselves in a fight, but the focus is on looking good.

I could also give you a list of a massive number of other martial arts which contain blocks, but I'll limit myself to one :

Or none, as the case is so far...

Pencak (sic) Silat (or just Silat for short) uses blocks and parries. AFAIK, it is almost unique amongst the martial arts in that there is no "sports" version of it - it remains a true combat-oriented fighting style.

Nice shot at spelling that mate... wanna try again? And I'll bet my firstborn you're confusing blocks with parries or forearm strikes.

So, scutchy, given that you were a bit scathing of someone elses uncertainty about their martial arts information, I think I will use your own words against you - you are talking thru your **** .

You can't be talking through your **** ... no human could hold that much shít.

Hi mate, just wanted to correct a few assumptions on your part...

well from what I have read and seen (and learned a very small bit!), kick boxing is really the only "martial art" that would be good in a straight fighting situation.

There are two types of kick boxing:
    (1) a style invented in the states by karate practitioners to get 'round insurance laws
    (2) What we have here

What we have here is sport orientated. The goal is to tap (no power required) your opponent while wearing gloves and footpads above the waist. The ref will then stop the fight. You always spar in your weight division, there are no weapons, no multiple opponents, the fight never goes to the ground, there's no grappling, and if someone lands a decent hit, you get a breather. In my opinion, this training will not transfer very well to a real fight.

It's far more aggressive and essentially violent compared to the more art-like practises of Karate and so on (as someone said, very good in practice or in competitions).

As someone else said, care to explain that to the last four guys who fúcked with me tongue.gif It isn't violent if you aren't doing groin shots, leg shots, joint manipulation, groundfighting...
    I saw a very good show on one the Discovery channels on martial arts (Discovery somethingorother), which showed how Tae Kwon Do as we know it today is split into two types - the original art of fighting type thing, and the modern thing you'll most likely see around.
    Too true - a martial sport and a martial art. Those white skull guys were cool! They patrol the border in Korea - they aren't allowed shoot the Nth Korean soldiers for political reasons, so they challenge them to mortal combat. You don't get more realistic than that, and they do TKD, Mool Sool Do, Hapkido - traditional martial arts.
    What was impressive is that if learned properly, it looked awesome. There were 10 year old kids that could do round-house kicks like Van Damme.
    Van Damme sucks. The only fight he was ever in he got his a$s handed to him by a hell's angel. Watch his movies - there's no power in his kicks, and they're always big flashy efforts off the right leg.
    as used by Bruce Lee (but then again, he was a master of just about everything).
    No he wasn't wink.gif He discarded massive chunks of styles that he couldn't immediately see a use for. His groundfighting wasn't great for a start. In fact, he never mastered a single style...
    I suppose Judo would be best to avoid damaging someone in a fight, as it's about wrestling basically, and not an aggressive type of art.
    Only if you're doing it horribly, horribly wrong. What happens if you dump someone on their head on concrete? Or break their arms? Quite damaging...
    I think kick-boxing would be best if you actually want to know how to throw a good punch (a real punch), how to block and throw off a punch (most muggers throw slow punches I think, and are sloppy and very easily blocked if you see it done, you could learn how to throw a jab and block within around 5 mins).
    (1) Kickboxers punch for speed, not for power. Look at a backfist for example. In fact, jabs aren't allowed in most competitions. (2) Blocks shouldn't exist. Theyre parries or forearm strikes taught badly.
    Also, you would learn where to kick them,
    above the waist, in accordance with the rules tongue.gif
    Guy I know who did military service in Singapore for 2 years showed me how to block a knive, all very simple.
    I've got a rubber knife - I guarantee that if what you're doing is a block, I'll be able to get it to your throat.
    It also looks cooler as you can do the whole Tong Po thing from Blood Sport,
    Wasn't Tong Po the Muay Thai guy from Kickboxer? (Note - 99% of that film was Muay Thai)
    Damn long post... I'm getting brekkie...

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Death Sentence:
    jesus sutchy, are you a fÜcking master of martial art or did you copy it from a book fÜck sake, thats one monster post. good too.

</font>

Entheusiastic amateur tongue.gif thanks mate.

Bonkey, I'll get back to you later. I realise I'm being agressive, but I do genuinely feel that martial arts are a matter of life and death, and false information about them is the equivalent of complicity in GBH.

You got me on blocks - they exist to a limited extent in some styles. I'll post later - busy at the moment.

And I of course acknowledge that training will not make you unstoppable. Probably should have mentioned that one wink.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

And I of course acknowledge that training will not make you unstoppable. Probably should have mentioned that one wink.gif

</font>

ahh, you are young grasshopper......
    but you will learn.

Your Imps Demand Cable...

Bonkey, I'll get back to you later. I realise I'm being agressive, but I do genuinely feel that martial arts are a matter of life and death, and false information about them is the equivalent of complicity in GBH.
    </font>
    You obviously have strong feelings about them, and know a fair bit. I just dont think agression lends any credence to the message you are trying to put across. If anything, it detracts from it.

Hmmm....maybe we should kick up (heheheh) a seperate thread for this one...

jc

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by bonkey:
    Originally posted by scutchy:
    </font>
    You obviously have strong feelings about them, and know a fair bit. I just dont think agression lends any credence to the message you are trying to put across. If anything, it detracts from it.

Hmmm....maybe we should kick up (heheheh) a seperate thread for this one...

jc

Perhaps I'm a tad passionate about it wink.gif I'll start a new thread on it.

Scutchy I was not talking through me **** . You very very careful when quoting me to leave out (I think tongue.gif).

I did not reply to this thread looking to start a fight with you and I was giving my opinion on martial arts.

Block ok deflecting attacks punches wathever you want to call them.

I don't care what you think but running from a fight is always the best solution.

You really must have issues if your bragging about four muppets that you personaly managed to kick the crap out off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

rymus , are you on something ? those big droopy earrings ? look at the typical cork bird, a huge heifer of a lass, monster earrings and a smile like she was born inside out ffs, i know the dub girls are rough but that takes the biscuit <<<all of them. :O

"that island has freedom written all over it, sir, that's cuba"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

jesus sutchy, are you a fÜcking master of martial art or did you copy it from a book fÜck sake, thats one monster post. good too.

"that island has freedom written all over it, sir, that's cuba"

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">And now, on to Wu Shu, a dance form invented by the Chinese a couple of decades ago, designed to look good for demonstrations and on TV, as any halfway decent Wu Shu practitioner will tell you. Like Jet Li for instance - check out his site.
    </font>

Lets have a look at Mr. Li's site. In fact, its so informative in "proving" your points, I will copy some comments of his on the subject :

Wushu adapts to suit the continually changing survival needs of people. Survival as the purpose remains constant; the only things different are the threats and circumstances in which people find themselves. First, as I’ve already said, people used wushu to protect themselves from nature. Then the human race graduated from a nomadic lifestyle to settlements. From one settlement sprung multiple settlements. Then suddenly people were fighting one another, so the forms of wushu evolved to adapt to person-to-person fighting.

This is indeed interesting. Your "dance form" which is several decades old is defined by *your* reference as predating mankinds evolution of settlements. And it is clearly defined as a "survival" based fighting style.

But lets read on a bit, lest I have misunderstood Mr. Li....

Finally, on the issue of self-defense. My knowledge and experience in this area of martial arts are limited, as my focus and training have been on the other three aspects of wushu practice. I cannot give a specific opinion on the subject.

What? Mr. Li admits to not having trained in self defense, nor to being knowledgeable enough to offer an opinion on the efficacy of the subject.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">No, it looks good on TV. It's what it's designed to do, and it does it very well. Read Jet Li's site mate, it isn't designed for combat.</font>
    I just read it, copied and pasted from it. It is an art which is millenia old, continuously evolving, and is very much about survival. And he also said that he cant comment on it as a form of defence. Now, which part of this shows its a decades old dance form which is crap for defence, and which was designed to look good which is why its used on tv? I sure as hell cant find that bit.

A bit of closer reading would also reveal that WuShu is a generic term for "martial arts". Some additional reading would also point out that what is commonly known as kung-fu is more correctly known as WuShu.

So - I really would like to know how I am the idiot when you managed to read this site and think it was a martial dance style which is only a few decades old.

If you are going to use the web to back your argument up, you could at least find a reference which says what you claim it does.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Pencak (sic) Silat (or just Silat for short) uses blocks and parries. AFAIK, it is almost unique amongst the martial arts in that there is no "sports" version of it - it remains a true combat-oriented fighting style.

Nice shot at spelling that mate... wanna try again?
    </font>

Given that its original name is Indonesian, I hardly think the Anglicised spelling of it is important. The two most common spellings are Pencak and Pentjak. Given the vagaries of english, these can be pronounced almost identically, neither of which is en exact match for the original native term, but both of which are reasonably close.

I also doubt that the correct spelling of it was central to either of our arguments.

In either case, both the original martial form, and the more modern limited form (Pukulan Pentjak Silat Bukti Negara) use extensive moves, which the practitioners refer to as blocks. You wish to debate semantics with them (block vs parry/strike) go ahead - but if the person who develped the modern style refers to it as a block, I'm pretty sure he means that its a block. They do recognise that blocking is a last resort - a good offense will eliminate the need for blocking if done correctly. I would agree that blocks in general are not terribly effective. This does not mean that they do not exist, nor that they are without merit.

Which reminds me. Earlier you said that there is no such thing as a block, except in McDojos. You then said that there are two blocks that you know of, one from muay thai, which I presume you dont class as a McDojo (great term by the way) sport in your listings. So either there's none, or there are some. Make up your mind.

Oh - hang on - you did. You said your initial comment was a generalisation. Lets see this generalisation one more time shall we....
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    Blocks do not exist. If you have ever been taught a block, you've been taught a heap of ****e
    </font>

Thats not very general....in fact it is pretty specific in what it says.

And just in case you missed it (because you seem to have), my basic points were :

1) No need to be so scathing on other people's knowledge of marital arts, especially when they have already admitted to not being sure (i.e. you told someone he was talking out of his **** for not remembering the name of the martial art he did, even when he said he wasnt sure he remembered correctly)

Even if you are the export on marital arts you seem to think you are, you should have the common courtesy to be polite about others lack of knowledge, rather than ****y and abusive - something which you have again manged to show while answering my first post.

2) Expousing martial arts as the solution to looking after yourself is a very dangerous thing to do, but its the impression I got from your posts. I will agree it is useful, but it should never be advocated as a panacea - its limitations and failings should always be stressed.

Given your apparent knowledge of the subject, I would have assumed you would have done this. Instead, you seem to have implied that one or two martial arts arent worth a toss, and the rest will all let you drop someone as needed.

You are portraying yourself as an unstoppable martial arts machine, and god help anyone who picks on you in a fight. You are encouraging others to take up martial arts. You have not once yet shown the maturity to warn people that top-class martial artists (FIGHTING martial artists, not McDojo practitioners) can still get their asses handed to them in a fight, and most will readily acknowledge this.

And now we've managed to get completely off topic....doh!

jc

[This message has been edited by bonkey (edited 11-07-2001).]

I don't think I'll be in DCU this week. I've a bit of a cold which is why I'm hiding in DNC from the rain at the moment.

Oh wait... I think it's stopped! smile.gif

John (yes THE John!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 BigCharlie

Only if you pay them enough. smile.gif

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by The FANJ:
    I don't care what you think but running from a fight is always the best solution.
    </font>

Hi FanJ - First off, I owe you an apology. I could have phrased my response a lot better. However, your comments concerned self defence, and your advice was poor at best.

You claimed that:

Blocks don't work. I agreed with you, and pointed out that if you were taught a block (as I define it) it wasn't any good.

Martial arts don't work in real life situations: I gave an example. I wasn't bragging. I didn't think an appropriate comeback was "I can do the chair splits" or "I can bench my bodyweight and squat twice it" or "My shins are hard enough to kick metal poles" or - that's bragging. What I posted was an example of martial arts being applied to real life situations.

What did you expect?

You claimed that "Learning a martial art is all well and good but it's absolutely no use to you if someone has jumped you from behind and is holding you down."

I responded with video clips of this situation. I note you have not retracted your comment.

To be honest, your opinion of martial arts is... wrong. Letting your post stand without rebuttal would be tantamount to GBH in my opinion.

And as to your latest comment, "running from a fight is always the best solution" - it isn't.

Sometimes it's best to drop them first.
    Sometimes it's best to give them your money.
    Sometimes it's best not to resist a rape.
    Sometimes it's best to run into a fight so your mates can get away.
    Sometimes it's best to kill.

A blanket comment like that is bad advice.

Once more, my apologies for the personal insults.

Originally posted by The FANJ:
    Scutchy I was not talking through me **** . You very very careful when quoting me to leave out (I think tongue.gif).

I was attempting to imply that your experience in the martial arts was insufficient to give credence to the opinions you voiced. It was a personal attack and the easiest option; you have my apologies - I should have tried to make my point more politely.

I did not reply to this thread looking to start a fight with you and I was giving my opinion on martial arts.

If this refers to my offer to spar you dog brothers' rules, you should perhaps examine said rules:

"No judges, no referees, no trophies. One rule only Be friends at the end of the day. This means no one should spend the night in the hospital, and everyone should leave with the IQ that they came with."

According to these rules, I can lend you my battle axe if you want. You say martial arts aren't useful in real life situations - I offered you a relatively safe way to prove it. You can bring friends. You can bring blunt weapons. Hell, you can bring sharp pointy weapons or an Uzi if you like, as long as you stay within said rules.

(If anyone else is interested and has some prior training, I'm always willing to learn btw)

It was not meant in a threatening way, and I have no desire to fight you. I hang 'round with an eclectic bunch; such an invite is considered friendly. Perhaps I should spend more time in the real world wink.gif. If I gave you the wrong impression, I apologise.

Wrong I'm afraid.

Sometimes you have to drop them first.
    Sometimes you should give them your money.
    Sometimes it's a bad idea to resist rape.
    Sometimes you have to run into a fight so your mates can get away.
    Sometimes you have to die.
    Sometimes you have to kill.

Please think. You are giving advice on life and death situations. Your advice is wrong. Why do you persist?

You really must have issues if your bragging about four muppets that you personaly managed to kick the crap out off.

All but one of them could move under their own power afterwards. (Quite fast in fact tongue.gif) I reported the incident, and judging by the fact that the cops never called back, they all made some semblance of a recovery. You said martial arts weren't of any use in real-life situations, I provided you with a real-life example. Would you have accepted anything less? I did not intend it as bragging. (If I was bragging, I'd post a pic of me doing the chair splits wink.gif )

have you checked out www.sherdog.com yet btw?

*Ahem*

Obviously enough, I've messed up here. Can someone delete the superfulous posts?

Cheers.

[Scutchy hangs head in shame]

[This message has been edited by scutchy (edited 12-07-2001).]

Has this gone a little off-topic? smile.gif

Lucy la morte.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lucy_la_morte:
    Has this gone a little off-topic? smile.gif

</font>

Well, we're still talkin' violence tongue.gif

I'll try and keep it in the martial arts thread from now on.

Yes it has! (But I am not going to fix it tongue.gif) Sorry Lucy.

I did not mean a fight as in us going at it I meant an argument on these boards. Sorry when you type something it does not always come across as meant.

OK maybe when you are at a high level of expertise in martial arts, as you seem to be they will become useful in real life. From experience I have found that people do a self-defence course for a couple of weeks think they are great and it gives them a false sense of confidence. The possibility then is there that they get into a tough situation and they think they can deal with it so instead of making a run for it. They try take on an attacker this in my opinion will end in tears. The top martial artist have been doing it for years and I don’t think you can have a useable grasp of it in a few weeks or even a year.

I’d take you on in that dog brothers rules for the laugh if you really wanted, although I am pretty sure I would get my ass kicked.

You have to play me in a rugby match after how about that tongue.gif.

[This message has been edited by The FANJ (edited 13-07-2001).]

I did not mean a fight as in us going at it I meant an argument on these boards. Sorry when you type something it does not always come across as meant.

Ah - I should probably read more carefully in future wink.gif

From experience I have found that people do a self-defence course for a couple of weeks think they are great and it gives them a false sense of confidence.

I know - the McDojo concept again wink.gif I've seen ads that made me want to hurl - "No intimidating men to practice against!" "Learn to fight in a non-contact manner!" "Aerobic Kickboxing <snip> good for self defence!" "Learn to fight from one of Ireland's top point sparrers!" While I'd agree that there are a lot of bad teachers out there, I feel the fault lies in the teacher, not the art.

The possibility then is there that they get into a tough situation and they think they can deal with it so instead of making a run for it.

You've heard of Tae Bo? Billy Blanks (the guy who teaches it) keeps on saying that it's not for self-defence, it's just exercise, and certain persons keep on thinking they can fight because they've kicked air a few times...

The top martial artist have been doing it for years and I don’t think you can have a useable grasp of it in a few weeks or even a year.

The timeframe can be rough - in Aikido for instance there's a throw called the 20 year throw - a reference to how long it takes to learn it. And Muay Thai, although a relatively uncomplicated art, isn't much good until you've conditioned your shins and forearms. And are built like a tank ;-)

That said, I've got a nice stone bruise on my chest that I picked up through 4 inches of a foam shield - I was teaching a beginner (female, no prior training, not particularly fit) the correct technique for a sidekick. When she started, she was falling over. It took a half hour tongue.gif I know she'll have forgotten most of it by next tuesday, and a sidekick isn't going to get you out of everything, plus I doubt she's got the mindset for a fight yet.

I give it two or three weeks to basic competence.

Styles that will get you to a reasonable fighting level quickly are: western boxing, wing chun, jeet kune do... inspiration lacking at the moment. Martial sciences usually claim high speed development, eg american combatives.

You have to play me in a rugby match after how about that tongue.gif.

A mate of mine used to play - got his nose broken 6 times in his life - 3 rugby, 1 bike, 1 MA and 1 car crash. I know a fair few martial artists (well, they think of themselves as such :P) who would loose horribly to rugby players wink.gif Rugby is closer to full contact than a lot of MA clubs - sad really...