Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The New Years gym rush

• 06-01-2005 12:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

Boy do I hate this time of year. Its near impossible to get any rhythm going in your routine when you have all these clueless people ambling about and hogging equipment. Prima donna type girlie girls trying not to sweat on their new Prada gym gear. Or pimply, beer-bellied Ronnie Coleman wannabees with flabby arms doing wild tricep cable pushdowns for hours on end. Or that hairy, medallion man type, who leaves sweat stains on everything.

Come mid-February, things will quiet down again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭DukeDredd

So it's only fit & in shape people should use the gym then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

DukeDredd wrote:

Exactly, you new years resolution types will give up eventually... What we're trying to say is that there's no point trying at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

yeah, and while we're at it, we should only let Archeologists into Natural history museums, because nobode else has a f*****g clue what the bones and stuff are about anyway.
    Give me a break. open your own gym, and stop moaning at people at least trying to make a routine out of it. even if 1 out of 10 manage to break the 'it's too hard' regime, it's an improvement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Jefferson Darcy

DukeDredd wrote:

I knew I'd get a response like this.

Thats not what I was getting at at all. The problem is to do with general gym etiquette and gym management are as much to blame here in not really providing a good induction for newbies. Nothing to do with being in shape - my comment was aimed at the slackers who think they're the shiznitz cos they can swing a large barbell and then pose around like they own the place, or spend their entire session hogging a mirror so they can flex.

People who are serious about their training don't pose, always use good form, don't hog equipment and don't grunt dramatically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

I remember someone bitching about this same thing exactly this time last year, lol.

I am MAN wrote:
    I remember someone bitching about this same thing exactly this time last year, lol.

I'm not bitching! I'm whining :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Can anyone say Elitist? The first time you went to a gym did you know exactly what was goin on? I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭RedRules5

But I like seeing all the new 'girlie girls', makes going to the gym worthwile, especially since the work out seems to have little or no effect on me.
    As for people just hanging about and posing, my gym has TVs and guys just sit on the equipment watching the bloody things. Why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Thats not what I was getting at at all. The problem is to do with general gym etiquette and gym management are as much to blame here in not really providing a good induction for newbies. Nothing to do with being in shape - my comment was aimed at the slackers who think they're the shiznitz cos they can swing a large barbell and then pose around like they own the place, or spend their entire session hogging a mirror so they can flex.
    Absolutely. Managment should insist on an induction for everyone before handing over a membership card. A proper induction too, not the usual wishy-washy one you get. Some people mightn't like it, but it helps reduce the amount of newbies pissing off your regulars.

I arrived into an empty gym at 6.30 today, and an hour later the place was busier than I'd ever seen it at 7.30am. A lot of forty-somethings with big beer bellies, but at least they're trying.
    and don't grunt dramatically.
    LOL, just reminded me of encountering a guy who works in the same place as me, in the local gym. Every time he came to the end of his reps, there was always a big "HURURRURURRGH!!!" audible throughout the gym. :rolleyes:

seamus wrote:
    A lot of forty-somethings with big beer bellies, but at least they're trying.

Well this is good, if people's motivations for joining the gym are sound, then they will get results and they won't be whinging 3 months down the line when they're seeing the exorbitant joining fees going up in smoke. But for people who think ambling around or doing pointlessly light cardio while reading a book and then going home and gorging down massive meals and ten beers is doing them any good are wasting their time.

But exorbitant joining fees are half the problem, gyms rake the cash in up front so aren't really concerned with holding onto customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I was talking to one of the gym staff in my gym last week. It was 2pm, and he said he had taken €2000 in new memberships that day alone (it was still December). January is a huge month for gyms, and its when they make most of their money.

You can spot alot of the new members fairly easily.... Saw a guy last week. Expensive polo shirt, tucked into new shorts, football socks up to his knees, runners that were so new you'd need sunglasses to look at them, headband on his head, towel around his neck. Did a 10 minute cycle, 5 minute walk, and left.... One of the New Year Good Intentions crowd, but I doubt we'll see him past 20th January. (I'd love to be proved wrong, though)

Ah come on now. Is this going to turn into a slagging match because of what people wear when they go to the gym? We all started off with new runners, tshirt and shorts/tracksuit at some stage and will doubtless buy new clothes from time to time otherwise we stink out the place.

Its what they do while at the gym that is the issue, and again we all started off slow, its what your suppose to do unless you want a heart attack.

RedRules5 wrote:
    We all started off with new runners, tshirt and shorts/tracksuit at some stage and will doubtless buy new clothes from time to time otherwise we stink out the place.

Agreed, its not a fashion parade either. That said, you must admit some people look ridiculous in their get-ups.

You must go to a very well to do gym if the members look so ridiculous. Personally I have never seen anyone dressed in prada etc or looking ridiculous but then it is a down to earth place run on behalf of the local authority.

I don't begrudge anyone going to the gym. I applaud them. However, like Jefferson says, some new people do look a bit silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RonanC

Boy do I hate this time of year. Its near impossible to get any rhythm going in your routine when you have all these clueless people ambling about and hogging equipment. Prima donna type girlie girls trying not to sweat on their new Prada gym gear. Or pimply, beer-bellied Ronnie Coleman wannabees with flabby arms doing wild tricep cable pushdowns for hours on end. Or that hairy, medallion man type, who leaves sweat stains on everything.

Come mid-February, things will quiet down again.

Maybe this is only Limerick specific, but I've noticed a couple of people this week carrying around books such as The Commando Workout and copying each exercise direct from the pages with ferocious intensity. There's nothing like contorting your back into an almost horizontal position to get that first rep on standing dumbbell curls ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Absolutely right redrules5 - i have worked in gyms for years and yes you do see a massive increase in january and our goal was always to hold on to as many new members through proper inductions and follow up calls (which most gyms don't do).

ON the comment about those that are serious about their workouts - why be 'serious' why not go in with an attitude of fun and that you will enjoy the workout without the usual look on most of the 'serious' heads in the gym i.e. they will eat you up if you chat to them between sets!

Joining the gym can act as a catalyst for lots of other changes people make at this time of year e.g. giving up smpking, cutting back on the pints, so help them out and point them in the right direction as most of the instructors will be too busy helping the new eye candy ladies!

RonanC wrote:
    There's nothing like contorting your back into an almost horizontal position to get that first rep on standing dumbbell curls ;)

LMAO

You made me think of Johnny Knoxville going into the gym with that massive hard-on that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I bought some new gym clothes before christmas, including new runners! I'm scared to go to the gym now after reading these posts in case people think I'm a newbie :eek:

Roll around in the grass before going in, and you'll be fine :)

It was just an observation, kev. Don't let it put you off going in. Like transform says, it should be fun, and not taken too seriously. Good luck....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I joined a gym this month as work was paying for it. I dont think I would have joined otherwise.

I joined as it will give me something to do for a couple of evenings per week and I can get fitter at the same time... give the newbies a break... even you were a newbie once :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Few random points ...

I'd prefer it if my gym was not overrun with new aimless people, but I accept it is part of how gyms make cash and I get new equipment.

I dislike the attitude of many new people and I reserve the right to be amused by poor form and so on. I offer advice to some, but over the years it has become very selective. No, I do not care about them all.

I have my own training and I see many of the NY Resolution crowd as unworthy occupants of gym space who will gain little for themselves and hinder others for the next 4 weeks. A tiny handful will remain and fit in.

New people should be respectful and deferential to older and more experienced members of freeweight gyms. If people don't want to play by those rules they should stick with the machines where they can't hurt people.

I am sociable in a gym with people I know/recognise, but frankly I don't want random people coming up to me at this time of year looking to chat, and I dislike people who treat a gym like a coffee shop.

JAK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

I'm not long in the Gym (joined last summer, but just getting into a proper swing there since about october).

I generally wouldn't complain about new people joining the gym, however, I'm surprised by how busy it's gotten in there, I'm lucky enough that I haven't had to wait for the machines I want to use (but as I'm trying to lose weight I'm sticking mainly to threadmills and bikes at the moment .. with a little bit of rowing thrown into the mix) ... but last night I had to queue for the showers!

And being in a naked man queue is not the way I like to spend my evenings. Sure, it's not much of a complaint, but it'd be nice to not have to queue for showers, and not have to wait to get at your locker.

Jak wrote:
    Few random points ...

I'd prefer it if my gym was not overrun with new aimless people, but I accept it is part of how gyms make cash and I get new equipment.

I dislike the attitude of many new people and I reserve the right to be amused by poor form and so on. I offer advice to some, but over the years it has become very selective. No, I do not care about them all.

I have my own training and I see many of the NY Resolution crowd as unworthy occupants of gym space who will gain little for themselves and hinder others for the next 4 weeks. A tiny handful will remain and fit in.

New people should be respectful and deferential to older and more experienced members of freeweight gyms. If people don't want to play by those rules they should stick with the machines where they can't hurt people.

I am sociable in a gym with people I know/recognise, but frankly I don't want random people coming up to me at this time of year looking to chat, and I dislike people who treat a gym like a coffee shop.

JAK

I agree with everything you've said.

The gym I go to is extra busy at the moment. I can only assume it's a combination of newbies, and those who have had memberships for a long time but never use them, only now it's 'new year' and they should 'get in
    shape'.
    There seems to be lots of people wandering around aimlessly wondering what 'machine' to use next!
    To top it off, the showers are being renovated aswell, so if you want to shower, you have to share the kids locker room, which is not pleasant..
    Cactus Col wrote:
    ..being in a naked man queue is not the way I like to spend my evenings

I hear that!

K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

There seems to be lots of people wandering around aimlessly wondering what 'machine' to use next!
    To top it off, the showers are being renovated aswell, so if you want to shower, you have to share the kids locker room, which is not pleasant..

K.

Westwood?

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Cactus Col wrote:
    And being in a naked man queue is not the way I like to spend my evenings....

that has to be quote of the week... :eek:

logic1 wrote:
    Westwood?

That's the one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dwayneburke

hi folks!!!

I have had problems with my lower back for the last few years, I am a 6ft guy with a thin frame in his late 20's and was told that i would have problems with my back unless i started building up my back muscles i.e. by swimming regularly. (i recently really fecked it up which opened my mind to doing something about it)

My point IS i want to join a lesiure centre with a pool but i am a bit put off as to reactions of mates/gym staff etc i.e. just joining it for the new year!!! All i will use is the pool/jacuzzi/sauna I am not interested in the gym in the slightest (may have a tour that is it)Anyway they seem made busy at the moment anyway so may leave it till mid Feb.

BTW im doing this so im not riddled with back problems in later life NOT primarily to get fit!! if that makes any sense!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dwayneburke

hi folks!!!

I have had problems with my lower back for the last few years, I am a 6ft guy with a thin frame in his late 20's and was told that i would have problems with my back unless i started building up my back muscles i.e. by swimming regularly. (i recently really fecked it up which opened my mind to doing something about it)

My point IS i want to join a lesiure centre with a pool but i am a bit put off as to reactions of mates/gym staff etc i.e. just joining it for the new year!!! All i will use is the pool/jacuzzi/sauna I am not interested in the gym in the slightest (may have a tour that is it)

Anyway they seem made busy at the moment anyway so may leave it till mid Feb. BTW im doing this so im not riddled with back problems in later life NOT primarily to get fit!! if that makes any sense!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Cactus Col wrote:

And being in a naked man queue is not the way I like to spend my evenings. Sure, it's not much of a complaint, but it'd be nice to not have to queue for showers, and not have to wait to get at your locker.

Ah don't worry lads - if the gents was the same as the ladies used to be - shower curtins falling down, icky stained/cracked tiles etc - it'll be worth the wait it in the end. The new showers in the ladies are frosted glass cubicles with ***doors*** and the shower heads have adjustable pressure settings and there's a shelf and they redid the tiles too!! Oh and they have new cushions on the benches by the lockers!! :cool: Hopefully there won't be a stink of sewrage coming up the drains this summer thou! :rolleyes: