Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Desperate Housewives -- First on RTE2

• 30-12-2004 7:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭

So, it seems RTE are getting the drop on C4 yet again, airing 'Desperate Housewives' a day earlier than C4 from next Tuesday, January 4th 2005 on RTE2 @ 10pm.

Also...haven't seen it mentioned on the ads, but C4 is showing the DH pilot next Wednesday, January 5th @ 10pm, but it's followed by the second episode right after on E4 @ 11pm, so I shall be watching it Tuesday night on RTE2, then catching the second episode on Wednesday on E4 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

"Also...haven't seen it mentioned on the ads"

Really? E4 have been screaming from the rooftops about it - their 'revolutionary' idea apparently. I seem to remember a similar idea for 24 on BBC2/3 though :P...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

E4 have been screaming from the rooftops about it - their 'revolutionary' idea apparently. I seem to remember a similar idea for 24 on BBC2/3 though

I just saw one ad on E4 so far, twas the US one with the paperboy. Sky Plus makes it easy to miss most ad breaks :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Is it being called "Desperate Women" here? That's what I saw in the paper unless it was a mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

what's the revolutionary idea?

Just another show but it was really popular in the US so they're probably hoping it will provide a replacement for Sex and the City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

The show on before it on RTE2 is called "Desperately Seeking Surgery". Must have taken them a while to come up with that lineup.

Really enjoyed the pilot :D

The humour was mostly spot-on, and the direction & design of the show was really nice -- kinda looks like 'The 'Burbs' from the aerial shots :)

All the actresses except Gabrielle (the latina model) were excellent, especially Teri Hatcher and Marcia Cross. The light humour mixed with Twin Peaks-ish mystery worked really well. Can't wait to see more!

Anything with Jamie Denton gets my attention anyways :p

Roll on episode 2 tomorrow night on E4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yes, thumbs up there. Not quite Twin Peaks but some nice little secrets to come out. The trailer gave a completely different impression. Yep Teri Hatcher is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Must remember to catch it tomorrow on c4.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Moe79

I enjoyed it. I was a little unsure of it in the first ten minutes or so, started wondering if all the hype was justified and whether or not it would hold my attention.

But once I started to appreciate all the humour (like the kids running the old lady over in the supermarket, the Latino housewife racing home to cut the grass and Teri Hatcher burning down Paige from Knots Landing's house), it really strated to grow on me.

And there were some nice cliffhanger moments in the final minutes that'll definitely keep people coming back for more next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ms Beanbag

yeah, I thought it was pretty good. The official website gives details about the rest of the epsiodes for season 1, although theres not too many spoilers.
    Actually part of the outdoor set was used in 'the Burbs' in 1989!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Moe79

yeah, just read about the burbs connection! That's so cool!

I'm thinking it's a cross between the burbs and Knots Landing.

Actually part of the outdoor set was used in 'the Burbs' in 1989!!

Haha, I didn't realise that, but now it makes sense why it looked familiar :) It's about the only Tom Hanks movie I can stand!

It's not terrible but it's not wonderful either - I'd watch it if I was bored & tired but I wouldn't follow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Not too bad - will tune in next week to see more..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 897 ✭✭✭oxygen_old

"Desperate Housewives" was a loada tripe
    ** disclaimer: In my opinion **
    Threes an hour I will never get back

The characters are straight off of SATC
    For a start theres two Brunettes, one blond and one red hed.
    And the only reason they changed the ratio of blondes to brunettes is cause brunettes are more popular these days.

The characters personalities are the same as well

1. The main stable character out there lookin for love who is semi famous actress (Susan / Carrie)
    2. The other brunette (blond in SATC) saucy sexpot of a woman but really has a heart of gold (Gabrielle / Samantha)
    3. The character with a strong female work ethic who is straight talkin but really has a heart of gold (Lynette /Miranda)
    4. The perfect housewife looking who strives for perfection in her life but really has a heart of gold (Bree / Charlotte)

If this was "Sex and the city 2: the girls hit the burbs" I could accept it but its not its a whole new concept show.
    The only difference between this a SATC is a ridiculous DayTime soap feel to the plot.
    All my Children, etc. are for day time US TV. Not prime time European TV.

No reply eh? Ye are all to stumped to say anything about it.
    Thought so
    *smiles smugly to himself*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,296 ✭✭✭✭Basq

oxygen wrote:
    No reply eh? Ye are all to stumped to say anything about it.
    Thought so
    *smiles smugly to himself*
    Yeah......... that's exactly it! :)

On a more serious note, missed it last night.

Will record the 1st and 2nd episode tonight off C4 and E4.

The main stable character out there lookin for love who is semi famous actress (Susan / Carrie)
    2. The other brunette (blond in SATC) saucy sexpot of a woman but really has a heart of gold (Gabrielle / Samantha)
    3. The character with a strong female work ethic who is straight talkin but really has a heart of gold (Lynette /Miranda)
    4. The perfect housewife looking who strives for perfection in her life but really has a heart of gold (Bree / Charlotte)

Baloney and I contradict you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Anyone ACTUALLY get them out?????

BolBill wrote:
    Anyone ACTUALLY get them out?????
    Tut tut tut....! Sit in the corner, BolBill.

Over there..... further.... further.. further!

Now think about what you've said! :D

Apparently they're not THAT desperate!! :eek:

Papa Smut wrote:
    Apparently they're not THAT desperate!! :eek:

Hardly worth watching so. At least with Sex and the City you had !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭doh.ie

Comparisons to Sex And The City are unfair - this is a different kind of show. You can blame RTE, C4 and the newspapers for forcing the comparison.

This is more of a tongue-in-cheek prime-time soap pastiche with better characters and plots than you'd expect from a soap. I think it'll go a long way, and unlike SATC, should be quirky and dark enough to appeal to guys as well as the ladies.

Considering I could hardly stomach SATC, this was a breath of fresh air to me. And from what I've seen, it only gets better too.

doh.ie wrote:
    Comparisons to Sex And The City are unfair - this is a different kind of show. You can blame RTE, C4 and the newspapers for forcing the comparison.

This is more of a tongue-in-cheek prime-time soap pastiche with better characters and plots than you'd expect from a soap. I think it'll go a long way, and unlike SATC, should be quirky and dark enough to appeal to guys as well as the ladies.

Considering I could hardly stomach SATC, this was a breath of fresh air to me. And from what I've seen, it only gets better too.

yeah but in SATC you got some ACTUAL nudity. Not everyone has sex with their clothes on !! its far fetched methinks.

Me thinks, Bolbill, you really need pron, not entertainment!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Teri Hatcher Is A ****ing Ride. Wow She Is Gorgeous.

Papa Smut wrote:
    Me thinks, Bolbill, you really need pron, not entertainment!!!

Nah I was just winding ye up.

The characters are straight off of SATC

I think it's a bit early to pigeonhole the characters based on the pilot to be honest. If we'd all seen a season, and they were blatant SATC clones, then believe me, I'd be saying it too. However, that's not the case, and I like 'Desperate Housewives' based on the pilot last night :D

Also, ita with doh.ie, RTE & C4 want viewers to invite comparison to a hit show that ran for years, to drum up some business, but it's an inaccurate comparison at the end of the day, so I'm just glad I can formulate my own opinions, independent of what television promos say about a show. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Sex and the City?

I was never able to sit through more than 30 seconds of that sheeeeyyyte!
    I was able to sit through the whole of Desperate Housewives last night. I can see the comparison that some would make, but DH seems infinitely less irritating.. enjoyable even!

K.

TCamen wrote:
    Everything they do is so dramatic and flamboyant. It just makes me want to set myself on fire.
    On an un-related subject, love the Arrested Development quote in the sig, TCamen.

To continue the un-related subject, Arrested Development Season 2 tomorrow night on TV3 :D:D

PS -- I love Lucille :p

To further continue the un-related subject, seen the first 6 episodes of Season 2. Sheer genius!

Further discussion of said un-related subject....Damn you people and yer American cousins sending you the latest episodes :rolleyes:

Thank God for S1 DVD set! Mmmmm Lucille :D

Sorry,never watched "Arrested Development",might give it a go,all I know is the episode of Desperate Housewives I watched,nyways back to the thread.
    doh.ie wrote:

The plots in this are not more that I would expect from a soap. They are about right on the money what I would expect from a soap. Nothing much happened last night except for
    The narrator shot herself
    Yer man turned out to be an under cover cop

That is a slow burner of a plot, you will be three seasons deep in the crap before there is any development in it. At least SATC allowed you to dabble in and out with it, missing or catching a week here or there. This is a US attempt to reinvent "Dallas" or worse yet "Knots Landing". Those shows were fine back in the day but now viewers nowadays want a bit more from tv shows. Not to be lead along like a donkey following a carrot of a plot.
    And the only thing that was appealing to me as a male didn't happen
    (nudity not quirkiness)

Those shows were fine back in the day but now viewers nowadays want a bit more from tv shows. Not to be lead along like a donkey following a carrot of a plot.

I'm sorry, but I strongly disagree with that! I mainly watch shows that at least display something of an intent & plan as to where the series is going. For example, under your argument, we wouldn't have Carnivale, The Wire, The Shield to name a few series that rely heavily on an on-going storyline arc.

Also, if viewers want MORE from TV shows, how come it's acceptable for SATC to plod along with so little development that it's easy to dip in and out of?

Kinda contradicts the thrust of the argument, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I think this show is looking good.

TCamen wrote:
    I'm sorry, but I strongly disagree with that! I mainly watch shows that at least display something of an intent & plan as to where the series is going. For example, under your argument, we wouldn't have Carnivale, The Wire, The Shield to name a few series that rely heavily on an on-going storyline arc.

Those above mentioned shows ("The Wire" I know nothing about),are all highly original and innovative (Carnivale especially). In short they all bring something new to the table.
    Their plots while on-going develope alot faster that this one (on the bases of the first episode). Their is also the added benifit of watching something that feels new and original.

This show feels like all the other soaps I thought I saw the back off.
    This is a glorified soap with no new ideas,only a plot that will take forever to develop.
    This is so like old soaps such as "Dallas","Knots Landing","Melrose Place" etc. that it brings actresses over from both "Knots Landing" and "Melrose Place"
    TCamen wrote:
    Also, if viewers want MORE from TV shows, how come it's acceptable for SATC to plod along with so little development that it's easy to dip in and out of?

SATC developed strong sub plots each week and it was also alot more original than DH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭Big Ears

oxygen wrote:
    SATC developed strong sub plots each week and it was also alot more original than DH.

how many episodes of DH have you seen ?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

In an effort to try and divert the topic away from "It's utter crap on the basis of one episode", I will point out that I, uh, thought it was a bit crap, but chiefly because the funny bits weren't that funny - eg
    mother of 4 wading into the pool at the wake to get her kids out of it
    was possibly meant to be cringy-funny in a sort of David Brent style, but really just seemed a bit stupid - and the voiceover was too deadpan, to the point where it actually got on my nerves. I mean, yes, she's dead, but is the afterlife really like a heavy dose of Prozac?

I get the impression that the show is trying to be American Beauty : The TV Show, but none of the characters are really engaging enough. Except maybe the latino wife torn between loving husband and having affairs (
    the bit with her mowing the lawn didn't make me laugh at all - if this is the level of humour to expect, I doubt I'll be bothering again
    ). Meh. The pilot was certainly not worth the hype, although there's a chance it might develop into something interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

I actually thought it was quite good. I thought I'd be dissapointed, but am going to watch it next week. I didn't think it was amazing, but I want to know what that note in the wardrobe was all about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

I've heard many people and read articles in the newspapers comparing this new show with Sex and the City. I can't see the similarities between the two shows except the main characters are all female. I was never able to watch Sex and the City. I found it way too annoying and the characters were intolerable.
    This pilot of Desperate Housewives, however, was very entertaining.
    I put on RTE2 whilst rummaging for a DVD and ended up watching the entire show. T'was a good hour's entertainment and distracted me from the DVD search :p
    I'll be watching this show from now on... It looks very promising :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Sex and the City?

I was never able to sit through more than 30 seconds of that sheeeeyyyte!
    I was able to sit through the whole of Desperate Housewives last night. I can see the comparison that some would make, but DH seems infinitely less irritating.. enjoyable even!

K.

10 secs for me , irritating self-centred women. This one is worth another look, although on reflection that voiceover going all the way through might prove irksome.
    In defence of people who dimiss TV shows out of hand ( Me Me Me , criticism of Lost elsewhere :p ) after one sitting, some TV ideas just don't grab you or annoy the hell out of you and that's it. Entertainment is partly suspension of disbelief and sometimes you just can't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ms Beanbag

oxygen wrote:
    The characters are straight off of SATC theres two Brunettes, one blond and one red hed.
    No, have you watched the show? In fact there are 6 main female characters.(the dead 1 makes appearances in a few episodes!+ the main plotlines revolve around her life story)
    Susan, Edie, Mary Alice, Gabrielle, Bree, and Lynette.
    I think their hair color is inconsequential!!
    oxygen wrote:
    The characters personalities are the same as well
    1. The main stable character out there lookin for love who is semi famous actress (Susan / Carrie)
    stable? This character is anything but stable. shes divorced (Carrie would never marry) + this character relies on her teen daughter to give her advice and sort her sex life out!!!
    oxygen wrote:
    If she has a 'heart of gold', why is she cheating on her husband?!
    Also 1 long term affair (as can be seen from the season details) does not make her Samantha!
    If any character is based on a SATC gal, its obv Edie!! (Samantha)
    oxygen wrote:
    Bree is a cold hearted fussy b!tch (as can can be seen from when she attended the funeral), even to her friends. Although Shes Charlotte multiplied by 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

If you are a fan of SATC then you shouldn't look as this as the new SATC as you will prob be dissappointed.

Speaking as someone who doesn't like SATC, I have to say I like this show.

SATC was about 4 women in new york city and their day to day lives, more of a Diary then anything else.

This how ever is about (mainly 4 women as the voice over only really talked about 4 women) 4 women in the subburbs and their day to day lives which will hopeful will develop into something sinister. (However I hope that they get to the sinister point quickly because they may end up like twin peaks and have it going totally out of hand).

Watched the first episode earlier on Channel 4... recorded Episode 2 but will watch it later!

I really enjoyed it! Can't see how anyone could compare it to SATC. Though one scene -
    the scene near the start where Teri Hatcher sat down at the table next to the 3 other housewives and got a flashback of when they were all at sitting at that table with the now dead housewive. That could've been a SATC scene... but i think the death of the other housewive shows that it will never be like that again. Like a smart way for the creators to say 'this show will be no SATC'!
    That's my opinion anyways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

Eva Longoria, gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Teri Hatcher is looking extraordinarily well too. It's good to see she's ageing gracefully and not rushing off to pump her face full of melted barbie doll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Eva Longoria, gorgeous.

agreed

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

NoelRock wrote:
    Really? E4 have been screaming from the rooftops about it - their 'revolutionary' idea apparently. I seem to remember a similar idea for 24 on BBC2/3 though :P...

How is it a 'revolutionary' idea?
    Its upto ep 11 in the states so E4 are far from the first to show it