Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grinders

• 25-12-2004 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭

All this talk about footwear is getting my remiscant of the best pair of boots I ever owned, a pair of grinders, which unfortunatly got damaged and nowhere I know of seems to do them anymore.

I'm looking specifically for a pair of these, the real old english punk type boot. :D

So while the Docs are great, nothing compares to the old Grinders. Anyone know of a place in Dublin (Or better yet Galway, but I'm sure I've asked most places here) that does them? Much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

They look terrible, doc's too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'm quite fond of them, and that's what matters.

But what do you suggest instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Wouldnt be able to suggest a boot, I dont wear them at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

I have four pairs of docs ( two pairs of boots, two pairs of mary-janes :o ) and I can safely say that they are the most comfortable shoes I have ever possessed. I've tried on a classmate's dubes and docs are far more comfortable; dubes are like slippers, one needs a little bit of support in the shoes one wears from day to day.

Back on topic, I think I saw Grinders in China Blue in Temple Bar, but that was about two years ago and I may be mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Carlsberg

Eugh, if you have to get shoes get something normal like kenneth cole's reaction range...otherwise just go with dubes or runners. Those horrible massive boots just scream ANGST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Heineken

I was talking to this model(no bs) the other night and we both agreed that ANGST is possibly the most unnattractive thing ever. I mean, we know you're a loser, you don't need to shove the fact down our throats! LOL

Dubes...? What are dubes!? :confused:

And no way in hell am I 'going with' runners, I like a decent pair of leather boots that are going to last.

why does it matter if they last or not? youre not going to be like, stuck in a desert anytime soon.
    if it looks good as long as it lasts a few months its gravey baby

Carlsberg wrote:
    why does it matter if they last or not?

It matters a hell of a lot! Shoes are expensive, I certainly don't want to shell out for new ones every other month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Dubes...? What are dubes!? :confused:
    Dubes are what stuck-up D4heads wear. Look like crap tbh.

Ah, it's all making sense now. I'll certainly remember to ignore the advice of D4 knobheads in the future. I mean, honestly... Who in there right mind wouldn't be concerned by the longevity of their footwear?

As long as it looks good whats the problem? Its not like most shoes are horribly expensive or anything, unless youre buying proper ones you wont be spending over 200e

Rainbow kirby maybe they look like crap on YOU, thats more to do with you than them though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

do you wear dubes carlsberg?

Just wondering? I certainly don't think they look like crap.

Carlsberg wrote:
    As long as it looks good whats the problem?

Are you really serious?
    Are aesthetics really the only thing that's important to you? You've already established that you don't give a damn if a pair of shoes fall apart on you after a month "As long as it looks good", but what about comfort? Would it not matter to you if your shoes or boots were uncomfortable or even downright painfull "As long as it looks good"?

That mentality is sheer idiotic.
    Carlsberg wrote:
    Its not like most shoes are horribly expensive or anything, unless youre buying proper ones you wont be spending over 200e

Shoes that would cost over €200 wouldn't be 'Proper' it would be downright retarded.

Besides, when I buy a pair of boots I expect them to be functional, not just "Look good" and in this sense, I've already established that a pair of Docs or above mentioned Grinders are comfortable and last for ages, hence me asking.

On, and you still never even answered my question what Dubes are, spefically.

Shoes made by Dubarry, hence 'Dubes'.

Thanks for the answer. But looking at www.dubarry.ie I have to concur with Rainbow Kirby, they DO look like crap.

Do you consider yourself in with the in crowd, Karl? Personally I think they're a bit crap too, but I'd rather die in a flaming pink suit and a pair of smelly grinders than take fashion advice from you.

What the hell does that have to do with anything? So if you agree that they look crap, why are you so aggitated? And I didn't even give any fashion advice in the first place, so what the hell is your point!? You're a terrible troll altogether, you know that?

Theyre grand on girls, on blokes theyre a bit gay...karl hungus is looking for boots though so presumably its a girl (or else a bloke with really really bad fashion sense, hahaha)

how is 200e expensive for proper (ie dress) shoes? if youre buying decent ones you could be paying up to 500e for something nice like ralph lauren, prada etc

What the hell does that have to do with anything? So if you agree that they look crap, why are you so aggitated? And I didn't even give any fashion advice in the first place, so what the hell is your point!? You're a terrible troll altogether, you know that?

It's you're attitude in general which agitated me there.

Wait a sec, you're a girl?

No, I'm not a girl, how the hell do you have that idea? Do you honestly think that only girls wear boots? The mind boggles!

Oh and it's true, I've a gloriously bad fashion sense.
    Carlsberg wrote:
    how is 200e expensive for proper (ie dress) shoes? if youre buying decent ones you could be paying up to 500e for something nice like ralph lauren, prada etc

I thought you would've assumed that because I was looking for a pair of fairly casual boots, that dress shoes wouldn't be something I'm after. Although if you thought I was a girl, then I can see how you'd assume that something of the €200 price tag wouldn't be considered madness by me.

Anyway, nice as it is to have other options and opinions on the subject, I'm still after a pair of boots, so any help there would be cool.
    It's you're attitude in general which agitated me there.

And what attitude would that be?
    The attitude that I don't like shelling out on footwear that would fall apart after a month?

Carlsberg wrote:
    Theyre grand on girls, on blokes theyre a bit gay...
    Agreed. Totally dodgy. Especially the navy/white ones instead of brown/white.
    The attitude that I don't like shelling out on footwear that would fall apart after a month?
    And since when exactly do dubes fall apart after a month? If you've never owned a pair, then how would you know? I've had mine for aggges and they're still perfect. Maybe you're just a touch heavy on your feet...?

Chick wrote:
    And since when exactly do dubes fall apart after a month? If you've never owned a pair, then how would you know? I've had mine for aggges and they're still perfect. Maybe you're just a touch heavy on your feet...?

I mean that metaphorically speaking. I've never owned a pair of dubes, but over the years I've had many a pair of runners and shoes that have practically fallen apart very quick.

A decent pair of boots like Docs are not only what I find most comfortable, but they seem to last for absolutely ages.

Well like I've never owned a pair of docs obviously, so i dunno. But generally speaking im like really light on my feet so shoes always last me ages. maybe dubes dont last as long on guys like r something?

Yeah, I am fairly on the big-foot side of things at a size 11, so I could hardly be anywhere near 'Light' on my feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

i kinda like dubes i live in d5 my sister has them so does every1 else in my school so i dont coz their over rated....i wear vans ne1 like them?

Yeah, I am fairly on the big-foot side of things at a size 11, so I could hardly be anywhere near 'Light' on my feet.

So we're total opposite, I have really small feet. Pretty handy tho! So is all you wear just boots then? Do you not get sick of them?

*Adele* do you go to manor house by any chance?

no but my friends do...i go 2 holy faith...do u kno it?

Yep I know of it, don't know anyone who went there tho.

Ah! I'm gonna get a bollocking again cos of this "off-topic" bull****...I can't help myself!

ah well nothing we can do....other than stop.....NAH!now u kno sum1 who goes there me!yay what school do u go 2?

I'm in college!

lucky u wow,thats cool im a 1st year F*ck it :(

You do realise you got a thread locked because of this inane babble before, chick, and you'll more than likely be banned for constantly dragging every there on this board OFF TOPIC!?

fine but i did kinda make her :)

ok back on topic = i think grinders are kinda ugly no offence whoever likes them

*adele* wrote:
    ok back on topic = i think grinders are kinda ugly no offence whoever likes them

No offense taken.

So... did you buy a pair then?

Chick wrote:
    So... did you buy a pair then?

How could I if I'm asking in this very thread whereabouts I can nab a pair?

Oh yeah sorry though you were thinking of buying them... must be thinking of another thread r something!?

It was a desperate attempt to get back on topic!

Well, you're getting there. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

They look like a pair of boots which I used to get in Army Bargins. They may have something similair to what your looking for.

Army Bargins are located just off Capel Street, Dublin. If your heading north, from the bridge(the green bridge on the quays), its the left turn before the AIB bank.

They have very helpful staff. Bring you old Grinders, and they may have them, or something like them.

Thanks very much The Syco... I'll check it out certainly when I'm in dublin again, but no chance of bringing the old grinders, they're long gone in the bin. The sole gave out on them, and I was too thick to bother getting them repaired, thought I'd just buy a new pair, but alas, there was no new pair to be found anywhere.

Carlsberg wrote:
    As long as it looks good whats the problem? Its not like most shoes are horribly expensive or anything, unless youre buying proper ones you wont be spending over 200e
    Erm, spending more than €100 on shoes is a big deal for me. I've actually never done it, and neither do most people who don't live in that fantasy place where you and Heineken seem to live. You guys remind me so much of the absolute knob jockeys populating the UCD commerce block it's scary.
    Rainbow kirby maybe they look like crap on YOU, thats more to do with you than them though
    *lands a well placed Doc Marten to Carlsberg's testicles*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭combs

Outside of runners, footwear that costs less than €100 in Ireland will be garbage. You've got to pay if you want decent shoes.

In my experience you can't get boots like that even in Dublin; not Dublin city centre, anyway, which is what most people mean I think.

You'll probably just have to go online and buy them in the US, but beware of the steep import duty on leather shoes from outside the EU. You'd probably get them in London, but the UK isn't as good for online shopping so you probably won't get them online from there.

I dont know a single person who doesnt own at least one pair of runners / shoes that cost over 100e. You must have looked like SO classy at your debs in your dunnes stores shoes...

Yeah way to generalise everyone in commerce being a 'knob jockey', fight that machine. Just because most of the guys are too hot to even consider scoring you no need to get all mad :D

Karl Hungus if you need the boots for hiking or for paintballing or something thats fair enough so, Id say maybe check out army surplus stores or dedicated hiking places maybe

They don't do them in the army navy store, nor any outdoor shop, these aren't hiking boots or the like, and I didn't say I wanted them for any activity of the sort, I want them for casual wear.

Oh, and insulting someone's ability to score over the internet...

indenial.jpg

lol...

you have shown me sir with your high level of wit and novelty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭the smiley one

I can't believe what you (Carlsberg and Heiniken- oh the originality) are saying?! I mean wtf is wrong with someone liking a different type of shoes to you? And for those of us who don't have daddy there to give us money when we want it, longevity is kinda important in a shoe, just a little. And Dubes are just over-priced, unoriginal and sh!te - I don't have a pair but lots of ppl in my year do and it's pretty obvious they let the water in, which is crap when you live in Dublin and just paid €100 for the yokes

Go back to your Ross O'Carroll-Kelly "novels"