Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

unatractive nation?

• 20-12-2004 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭

put this in the wrong place, sorry, can a mod stick in in after hours, ta.

do you think we're an unatractive nation? was out with an english friend a while back, and she was just going on about how many ugly blokes there are in dublin, she's prety blunt.

if there's any non irish on here, would be good to get your opinon,

this is realted to men and women.

......... dont lynch me.

are we an unatractive nation 24 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 24 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i dont think this is a PI but....

yes i think in general, irish people are very very ugly compared to other nationalities.

ugly as sin tbh.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

bacon?

may I suggest to you that before you post any more comments/threads in this forum that you read the CHARTER
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

I think we have the most beautiful women in the world - i never really checked out the blokes
    What's she comparing it to the guys of the OC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Yes you're all ming0rs, i'm off to make my own nation *grabs Lex on his way*

Valid question. Not worthy of the madness that is the cuckoo's nest.(Sorry Pam!) Get rid into after hours/fashion appearance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

Irish people aren't ugly, they're an aquired taste. Like everything else in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

what's wrong with this quesiton?
    Beruthiel wrote:
    bacon?

may I suggest to you that before you post any more comments/threads in this forum that you read the CHARTER
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

azezil wrote:
    Yes you're all ming0rs, i'm off to make my own nation *grabs Lex on his way*

They can do such amazing things with genetics these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

ferdi wrote:
    yes i think in general, irish people are very very ugly compared to other nationalities.

ugly as sin tbh.

Ah sure the grass is always greener on the other side. Except of course for your english friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

I'm living in the UK and they aren't much to shout about. Although they don't have nearly as many BOP's as we have in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭el Bastardo

Depends on who's looking. Obviously we're just not exotic enough. I challenge that same person to find an adonis lookalike (or otherwise) in UK. It's just too close to home, isn't it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

hard to call,

us girls are : pretty, damn sexy or unbelievably ugly.

the men are : sexy, incredibly sexy, sick-makingly ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Slap your english friend for all of us please. That or use acid ala Robocop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

It's ok that we are unattractive, but the fact that we are unattractive and can't spell is downright disheartening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Irish people look, on average, better than English people but worse than French people.

There are many handsome Irish men but many red-faced, blobby types as well. :(

It might have something to do with brain parasites, if that program on RTE was right...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Definitely on the minging end of the scale, but charm is something you can never overmisunderestimate. Could be worse, we could be wretched and dull (I'm looking at you Germany, and I'm not liking what I see).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Yep, mingers the lot of us... we should all be put on an island somewhere.
    Hey, maybe that's how it happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

we're not great. i was in Nice and every single girl there was fine! dont recall seein a single ugly girl. though its 2 mins from Monaco so prob all fake. although, i was told they're all fine coz they have a mix between arab, italian, french and spanish blood which gives them good skin, and they all look after their bodies coz they live near the beach and its always bikini weather. full of models there. i was right at home there with my ravishing good looks that accompany my pasty skin!

PS this was only in Nice, in st tropez they're all mingers! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Evilution

Apart from myself ;) yer all mingin'.
    Seriously though, for all the effort we put into our looks, we just look crap compared to most other countries in europe. We're on a par with the states though.
    I've been to the likes of Amsterdam, Prague, Paris - the sheer amount of foxage crammed into those cities is unreal. Walk down, maybe, grafton street or dame street in dublin and you might see a few good lookin' wans though, but not nearly close to those other cities. It took the piss in prague - Wenceslas (spl?) square was like a catwalk at about 8pm.
    Ireland has been plagued by a nasty combo of beer guts and belly tops on Irish girls. Some of the sights in Temple Bar would make Ray Charles flinch :eek:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

bacon? wrote:
    what's wrong with this quesiton?

ready the PI CHARTER for the answer to that question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Evilution wrote:
    Ireland has been plagued by a nasty combo of beer guts and belly tops on Irish girls. Some of the sights in Temple Bar would make Ray Charles flinch :eek:

it's been said before and it'll be said again, clearly though the message is not getting through so I've taken to pointing it out in front of them. Desperate times, public shamings needed - although they seem way beyond that. Hideous blubber pouring out over the jeans. Enough to make an eskimo wet himself.

uberwolf wrote:
    ...public shamings needed...

F**k that, public floggings are needed. Rig up a gallows in the middle of temple bar and have public executions of blubberwhales and gut-thrusters round the clock.
    That'll learn 'em.
    Someone please tell them that less is most definitely more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Well when i was in toronto the hot women were fcukin everywhere!I mean out the window went "hot bird 3 o'clock" and in with "bloody crackers everywhere!"

Trigger! wrote:
    Well when i was in toronto the hot women were fcukin everywhere!I mean out the window went "hot bird 3 o'clock" and in with "bloody crackers everywhere!"

I heard that canada had a few good fillies alright.
    Try Prague though; you will NOT be disappointed.
    Heard that Copenhagan was loaded with minxes too.

Evilution wrote:
    I heard that canada had a few good fillies alright.
    Try Prague though; you will NOT be disappointed.
    Heard that Copenhagan was loaded with minxes too.

Oh it does! I was there 2 weeks and pulled something like 8 different women!And the good thing was i only had to go chat up 1!hehe i think maybe the accent helped! :D

Trigger! wrote:
    Oh it does! I was there 2 weeks and pulled something like 8 different women!And the good thing was i only had to go chat up 1!hehe i think maybe the accent helped! :D

Hmmmm, just had an idea for a holiday in the new year.
    8 women and you only chatted up 1???? Whats the secret?
    Seriously though, I read an article in the Irish Indo a few months ago by Eddie Lennon and he said that the women just come up and chat you up over there. Must be true.

Evilution wrote:
    Hmmmm, just had an idea for a holiday in the new year.
    8 women and you only chatted up 1???? Whats the secret?
    Seriously though, I read an article in the Irish Indo a few months ago by Eddie Lennon and he said that the women just come up and chat you up over there. Must be true.

Thats exactly it!seriously id just be sitting at a bar with my mate and women just come up to ya, 5 minutes later there handing me this like 13 digit number with their name aswell!hehe and i aint exactly some model or anything!......but the ice breaker was mostly "wow, you guys have a strange accent, where ya's from?"

well thats true, your stock is always increased a little when you're abroad, "i love your accent" etc....

was watching go last night, gas scene where that english lad pretends to be irish to score those two betty's, crap accent, but good example.

Trigger! wrote:
    Thats exactly it!seriously id just be sitting at a bar with my mate and women just come up to ya, 5 minutes later there handing me this like 13 digit number with their name aswell!hehe and i aint exactly some model or anything!......but the ice breaker was mostly "wow, you guys have a strange accent, where ya's from?"

bacon? wrote:
    well thats true, your stock is always increased a little when you're abroad, "i love your accent" etc....

was watching go last night, gas scene where that english lad pretends to be irish to score those two betty's, crap accent, but good example.

And i aint complaining thats for sure! :D

bacon? wrote:
    well thats true, your stock is always increased a little when you're abroadQUOTE]

Yes and no. I spent the summer in New Jersey in the USA. They were f**king immune to it. And me and my mate were the only 2 Irish fella's around.
    Dammit though, I HAVE to go to Copenhagan. Trigger hath inspired me.
    Ok, and now some hard truths. I've been going on about how mingin' Irish girls are (and they ARE mingin'), but what about the lads? Me personally, about average. But I think Irish lads aren't too bad. Well, the one's that make an effort anyway. Glad to say we're not as bad as the states though - they've gone all arseways. Go to New York for example; the lads wear more makeup than the girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Citizen Jake

Are we an attractive nation??? Charm, yes sometimes. Ignorance and duplicity, yes most of the time. Now on to looks...

Blokes: if we looked after ourselves better we could produce perhaps the most damn handsome people on the planet. Instead we are a pot bellied, red-faced nation (I count myself in this regard and if I could stick to my annual new year's resolution to keep fit then I woudn't :o ). Any attempt at bettering oneself in the clothes or gym department - apart from taking part in sports like football - is considered girly or gay. By virtue of this nation's weather and lack of other social outlets there is little else to do but indulge in beer. I enjoy many, many pints and have the figure to prove it.

Ladies: I travel the world a lot and can compare. Irish women suffer from the same defect as Irish men, many are beautiful and the majority if they could keep themselves in better shape could be famous the world over for being beautiful. I've met people from the States and Europe who testify that the Irish girls they meet during the summer working breaks are among the most beautiful in the world; not only do they have the fresh island look but they have the charm to carry it off. Unfortunately, Irish women have a propensity to be very beautiful when they are in their teens and usually by their mid-20s let themselve go, particularly in the weight department. I'll probably get scalded for saying this but there's nothing quite so disheartening than seeing a pot-belly on an otherwise young man or a giant arse wobbling down the street on what could be an otherwise beautiful and attractive female. There I've said it. Get thee to the gym guys and gals.

Also, better tailoring is needed. We don't know how to dress. Why is it that a Spanish or French girl looks absolutely fabulous in a pair of jeans (absolutely figure huggingly excellent) and Irish girls tend to either hide themselves or boast a droopy bum?

...giant arse wobbling down the street on what could be an otherwise beautiful and attractive female...

Just seen a few trundling down Grafton Street there.

Get thee to the gym guys and gals.

and stop eating 5hite food all the time!

I think there has been a huge improvement in Irish women though!I remember years ago you rarely saw an absolute georgeous woman around the place whereas now, me being in the city, they are everywhere!Risk getting serious whiplash sometimes walking around town! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

A lot of Italian girls I've been with can't stand italian men because they are so "vain" all "look the same" and "have no personality".

Think its just a case of the grass is always greener on the other side. I've never had problems with foreighn ladies :)

Trigger! wrote:
    I think there has been a huge improvement in Irish women though!I remember years ago you rarely saw an absolute georgeous woman around the place whereas now, me being in the city, they are everywhere!Risk getting serious whiplash sometimes walking around town! :D

It's because being pretty was a filthy, filthy sin and all pretty people went to Hell.

I blame the Catholic church for our lack of stunning humans of the opposite sex.

agree, my bro was saying same thing, he's 10 years older than myself.

the women were in a bleeeeedin jocker back in the 80's.

there is more hotties today, thats simply down to better grooming, the fact that there's more late teens, early 20's and there's more foreign gals about.

alot done, more to do. ;)

Trigger! wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

wft are bettys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Lexie

Lets be honest. If you had a choice between 2 very attractive males/females and 1 was Irish, the other foreign. Which would you pick? Now both are equally as stunning as each other. I know I'd go for the foreign lad. The concept/idea of them is foreign, new, exciting, unknown.

Also, better tailoring is needed. We don't know how to dress. Why is it that a Spanish or French girl looks absolutely fabulous in a pair of jeans (absolutely figure huggingly excellent) and Irish girls tend to either hide themselves or boast a droopy bum?

There are better shops in France and Italy. Here, it's very hard to find figure-hugging stuff if you're thin, jeans especially.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

simu wrote:
    There are better shops in France and Italy. Here, it's very hard to find figure-hugging stuff if you're thin, jeans especially.
    :mad:
    Why is that do you think?

I know, but not everyone in this country is overweight!

you part of that 10% too?
    simu wrote:
    I know, but not everyone in this country is overweight!

betty - girl
    *adele* wrote:
    wft are bettys?

Just because we don't have the shops for better tailored clothes - I defy anyone in this country to even know a tailor these days - does not excuse the proliferation of gigantic buttocks on Irish women. WTF!!! it's inexcusable, just like the army of pot-bellied men (me included).

Well, if pot bellies are inexcusable, wy aren't you diong something about it? :D

ha ha
    simu wrote:
    Well, if pot bellies are inexcusable, wy aren't you diong something about it? :D